The Religion Discussion

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - God was Right! Pg. 238

Postby meccalli » April 10th, 2012, 11:30 pm

Indeed, consider David, a man proclaimed to be a man after God's own heart, yet he had to endure and face such terrible incidents during his lifetime all because he sinned and had to face the consequences. The sins of parents fall onto their generation just as in David's case until repentance is made.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 11th, 2012, 12:55 am

megadoc1 wrote:If you had watch what was posted you would learn that they were not making a case for Christianity but the case for weather or not it is delusional to believe in a creator or God ...but seeing that you did not gather that which was obvious what can I say to you now?

I really dont like typing a lot, cause I assume everyone here has a brain, but for your sake let me see how slow I could go...

I knew what they were talking about. No matter what they were debating It still leads back to making a case for religion either fricking way lol.

The question was "is god a delusion?" he said no because believing in a god is outside of the definition of delisuon because its somewhat, popular opinion (I'm paraphrasing here) that a God is indeed real. Now not everyone worships the same religion, There are literally hundreds of different religions in the world, and they all claim to be the one, true religion, and EVERYBODY ELSE is either ignorant or delusional. He is contradicting himself, because by his definition, Every religion is real, while the respective holy books (or scriptures, or whatever) clearly states the opposite. Now you get it? Jeez...

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » April 11th, 2012, 7:32 am

megadoc1 wrote:
mediahouse wrote:megadoc i like your quote

Jesus came to pay the price for us and to restore us to the father

who is the father you speak of???
try to learn about your prophet Jesus,there you would see who he revealed as father..I won't want to spoil it for you just read texts that
tells the life of the prophet Jesus, just as much as you do for Muhammad and get some revelation.....all you need to do is read....yo!

once you know jesus is a prophet i cool with that.

Jesus had no father FYI

Postby MG Man » April 11th, 2012, 10:02 am

meccalli wrote:Indeed, consider David, a man proclaimed to be a man after God's own heart, yet he had to endure and face such terrible incidents during his lifetime all because he sinned and had to face the consequences. The sins of parents fall onto their generation just as in David's case until repentance is made.

if that's true, your god has a really fcuked up value system there fella
and why is it any good event is the hand of god, but anything bad / unfortunate is a result of sin, the devil etc, and never god's will?

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 11th, 2012, 11:03 am

meccalli wrote:Indeed, consider David, a man proclaimed to be a man after God's own heart, yet he had to endure and face such terrible incidents during his lifetime all because he sinned and had to face the consequences. The sins of parents fall onto their generation just as in David's case until repentance is made.

Thats it, I'm done, you people are morons

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2012, 11:54 am

so what about these verses?
(Deuteronomy 24:16) - "Fathers shall not be put to death for their sons, nor shall sons be put to death for their fathers; everyone shall be put to death for his own sin."

(Ezekiel 18:20) - "The person who sins will die. The son will not bear the punishment for the father’s iniquity, nor will the father bear the punishment for the son’s iniquity; the righteousness of the righteous will be upon himself, and the wickedness of the wicked will be upon himself."

granted that "sins of the Father" concept is based on the "I am a jealous God" and hating me will fall on four of your next generations - and "Fathers shall not be put to death for their sons" claims to be dealing with the law of the land somewhere... shouldn't the term "righteousness" refer to righteous with God? Why talk about righteousness with man when works do not matter?

Anyway I'm falling into this same circular logic here.

My real question is, what makes the Bible right and the Qu'ran wrong or the Gita right and the Torah wrong? "Faith" is not a suitable answer for that question, because that would only explain why it is right for you alone - Belief in something does not make it true.

Postby meccalli » April 11th, 2012, 2:38 pm

Scoobert, to quote you would take up even more dead space, its your opinion, go frolic where i won't be bothering you by my posts, not that i'm telling you what to do. :wink:

When i say fall upon future generations, it's not as plain- so thanks for bringing it up.
The Bible would seem to be contradicting itself with verses like that,,,then..like these
1 Cor. 15:22- For as in Adam all die, so also in Christ all shall be made alive
in exodus 34 - yet He will by no means leave the guilty unpunished, visiting the iniquity of fathers on the children and on the grandchildren to the third and fourth generations."

But without any dispute the lesser is blessed by the greater. And in this case mortal men receive tithes, but in that case one receives them, of whom it is witnessed that he lives on. And, so to speak, through Abraham even Levi, who received tithes, paid tithes, for he was still in the loins of his father when Melchizedek met him. Hebrews 7.7

Lets say a father sins and leads his family into sinful nature, refusing to obey as well as teach his children and household the way of God. This is consequently leading his generation into the same behavior as himself. You see this all the time, young kids following daddy and mommy into wasteful habits. I don't like that generational curse*concept you hear all over for this reason, it isn't particularly scriptural, but the bible always sets examples and real life situations for us to follow rather than simple words. Take what you need when in need and prepare for future tribulations, its there for that. You can also expand on headship- males/fathers responsibility in the Bible where sin is said to have entered into the world through Adam, even though Eve is seen as the weaker link. The Hebrews quote also shows how blessing can carry through to the unborn.
Mg, God has his ways; everything he does good for us whether we sin or not is by grace, not by obligation in any means. Whether you acknowledge him or not is your decision. The only reason real Christians share the word, is through love for fellow man, not wanting them to go to a hell that we believe exists and to experience the true peace of heart that knowing God brings. Take it or leave it, no force feeding, the rest is in his hands.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 11th, 2012, 6:26 pm

good point meccalli

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 11th, 2012, 6:36 pm

mediahouse wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
mediahouse wrote:megadoc i like your quote

Jesus came to pay the price for us and to restore us to the father

who is the father you speak of???
try to learn about your prophet Jesus,there you would see who he revealed as father..I won't want to spoil it for you just read texts that
tells the life of the prophet Jesus, just as much as you do for Muhammad and get some revelation.....all you need to do is read....yo!

once you know jesus is a prophet i cool with that.

Jesus had no father FYI
I know Jesus had no father...remember I believe he is God
(the word become flesh) we speak about father and son in terms of relationship within the God head....

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 12th, 2012, 10:02 pm

MG Man wrote:i tort god was responsible
ent you guys claim nothing happens without his will n such?
no! it is said that God created the world and gave man dominion over it ..it is our will that determines what happens here...God is never responsible for things that go wrong on here, but he has a will that works when we chose to walk in it..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 12th, 2012, 10:09 pm

^ the world meaning Earth? or the world meaning the universe?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » April 13th, 2012, 12:11 am

so mega if you saying that Jesus is God are you admitting that God died for three days?

btw duane those verses you quoted are from old testament, when Jesus came they say he kinda didnt stipulate the mosiac laws, this is wat i was told by a bible thumper eh, hence the reason of no circumcision even though it was commanded to Abraham(A.S). and then Jesus died for their sins so even self if the sins fell into the generations they will be forgiven and saved because of this.. this concept really never ceases to puzzle me...
ppl does say islam is a hard religion to follow but i tink imho christianity has too many tangents.. we all no that ppl say islam is so many different sects but in the end there is only one right way and it is the way of wat the Prophet(saw) taught us and was transmitted onwards through the generations after in a unbroken chain. hard to believe but true. in the sunni way of islamic beliefs and concepts the only way you could cal yourself a scholar is if you have a permission to teach wat you learnt and this permission is given by the teachers who were given by their's and so forth until it reaches back to Prophet Muhammed(saw). there is only one right way in islam and that is throught the great majority which is the sunnis and all who vex loss....

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 14th, 2012, 10:22 am

turbohead wrote:so mega if you saying that Jesus is God are you admitting that God died for three days?.
that's right God in the flesh died and rose again from the dead ... you just need to research the christian faith to get an understanding of what they believe...Jesus is the word, that word was God that became flesh
God is the alpha and the omega, the beginning and the end,the first and the last

Rev 1:17 And when I saw him, I fell at his feet as dead. And he laid his right hand upon me, saying unto me, Fear not; I am the first and the last:
Rev 1:18 I am he that liveth, and was dead; and, behold, I am alive for evermore, Amen; and have the keys of hell and of death.

Joh 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
Joh 1:2 The same was in the beginning with God.
Joh 1:3 All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made.
Joh 1:4 In him was life; and the life was the light of men.
Joh 1:5 And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.

Joh 1:6 There was a man sent from God, whose name was John.
Joh 1:7 The same came for a witness, to bear witness of the Light, that all men through him might believe.
Joh 1:8 He was not that Light, but was sent to bear witness of that Light.
Joh 1:9 That was the true Light, which lighteth every man that cometh into the world.
Joh 1:10 He was in the world, and the world was made by him, and the world knew him not.
Joh 1:11 He came unto his own, and his own received him not.
Joh 1:12 But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name:
Joh 1:13 Which were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.
Joh 1:14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.

some translations rendered john 1:14 this way
amp Joh 1:14 And the Word (Christ) became flesh (human, incarnate) and tabernacled (fixed His tent of flesh, lived awhile) among us; and we [actually] saw His glory (His honor, His majesty), such glory as an only begotten son receives from his father, full of grace (favor, loving-kindness) and truth.(5)

GNBJoh 1:14 The Word became a human being and, full of grace and truth, lived among us. We saw his glory, the glory which he received as the Father's only Son.

ISBJoh 1:14 The Word became flesh and tabernacled among us. We gazed on his glory, the kind of glory that belongs to the Father's unique Son, full of grace and truth.

RYL_NTJoh 1:14 And the Word became flesh, and did tabernacle among us, and we beheld his glory, glory as of an only begotten of a father, full of grace and truth.

wuest'sJoh 1:14 14 And the Word, entering a new mode of existence, became flesh, and lived in a tent among us. And we gazed with attentive and careful regard and spiritual perception at His glory, a glory such as that of a uniquely-begotten Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.

HSCB14 The Word became flesh and took up residence among us. We observed His glory, the glory as the One and Only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth

turbohead

Postby turbohead » April 14th, 2012, 1:46 pm

i do not deny jesus being the word as it states in the Quran that Jibreel(A.S) said God says "Be and it is" to Mary... this is the Greatness of our Creator. one cannot simply say God is dead in flesh because he ceases to be God. the Creator cannot become the Created. He is where is before Creation and will be long after creation ceases to exists. there will be a point when all else upon the universe will cease to exist and will remain God, Jibreel and Angel of death till God commands him to take the life of Jibreel and himself afterwards and then He Allah will be Everliving...Ameen

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 14th, 2012, 5:54 pm

Jibreel = Archangel Gabriel

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » April 14th, 2012, 7:32 pm

Duane God is the almighty the bible was written in mans language which is imperfect. So sometimes it may seem as God contradicting himself. But what makes the bible better and more sure than any other religions bible is the consistency.

Look at this extract many believe that you will burn for ever in hell, but we know the bible was written (old testament in Hebrew and new testament in Greek).

With that said
The bible (revelation) says and the smoke of their torment ascendeth up for ever and ever etc. (does this mean that the wicked will burn forever and ever) further down in revelation it says and the righteous will walk on the ashes of the dead.

So a person reading this who is not spiritually inclined will say (but look how God contradict he self I ca trust de bible).
But remembering that the human language is imperfect men wrote as they understood

Now to connect it

Eternal means forever or everlasting
Olam in Hebrew
Aionios in greek
Means eternal or for as long as

So it simply means that the wicked in revelation will burn forever or as long as they take to burn
God is everlasting his mercy endureth forever and ever or as long as he is God
Sodom and Gomorrah was destroyed by eternal fire ( does that mean today that they are stil burning)

Or simply put as long as it takes

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » April 14th, 2012, 8:07 pm

Turbohead I don't understand ur post above what are you saying exactly so I won't misquote you.

Are you saying that the angel of death that God will, kill his son to become the only God?

Jesus said I and my father are 1 he that hath seen me hath seen the father
It's God the father
God the son
God the holy spirit

The son came to show us the father threw himself
The holy spirit allows us to understand what we read etc
As Luke 11 34-36 says your eye is the light of he body if it be single then the whole body is full of light etc.

Another scripture also says men rather darkness rather than light because their deeds are evil

God sent his son to reconcile us to the father

Mg man God does not cannot will not kill contrary to popular belief
James says
And when lust is concieved it Bringeth forth sin and sin when it is finished Bringeth forth death.
All the headaches and death and killings that happen and people blame God.God is love I.e he cannot sin or be tempted neither tempt he any man.

Satan knows his time is short and he is come to the earth with vengeance
Love cannot be forced by God when a person makes up his mind that he doesn't want God
The spirit of god withdraws it self then Satan takes control and wreaks havoc. Then God gets the blame.

Satan says gods laws are grevious to be borne and that they are hard and breaking upon man thus challenging gods authority. Self stepped in and Satan began to revolt (and there was war in heaven) he was cast down to earth and tempted eve and by one man (adam) sin entered into this world.

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » April 14th, 2012, 8:30 pm

Turbohead when I said consistent I didn't mean touched or untouched I meant constant just as death is constant or numbers are constant,

I am yet to find a person who believes in any other god besides the 1 true god if he can prove it then I will turn away from god above who I cannot see. But 1st he must prove me this

God made everything but he (who ever it be) says there is no god or his god is a stone a fish or a statue sooooo

I will bring a grain of corn and we will plant it, I will pray to my god to let it grow and he will pray to his god not to let It grow. Then we will see who has the almighty god. Because if his stone fish or what have you is a god chances are when he prays to it his god will hear him and stop my god from allowing the corn seed to germinate.

All religion has different things but the people who has the true religion don't practice it because of lukewarmness as revelation 2 points out

14 And unto the angel of the church of the Laodiceans write; These things saith the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of the creation of God;
15 I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot.
16 So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.
17 Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked:
18 I counsel thee to buy of me gold tried in the fire, that thou mayest be rich; and white raiment, that thou mayest be clothed, and that the shame of thy nakedness do not appear; and anoint thine eyes with eyesalve, that thou mayest see.
19 As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.
20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.
21 To him that overcometh will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcame, and am set down with my Father in his throne.
22 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.

Right now we are living in a grand and awful time
Remember God is not slack concerning his promises as some men count slackness

As mercy stil lingers God is calling us through his son to return to him for great will be the trouble to come upon this world such as never was since the beginning of time or wil there ever be hereafter all of us I myself, is intrusted gifts to save souls but we have lost our first love and god is saying again in revelation

nto the angel of the church of Ephesus write; These things saith he that holdeth the seven stars in his right hand, who walketh in the midst of the seven golden candlesticks;
2 I know thy works, and thy labour, and thy patience, and how thou canst not bear them which are evil: and thou hast tried them which say they are apostles, and are not, and hast found them liars:
3 And hast borne, and hast patience, and for my name’s sake hast laboured, and hast not fainted.
4 Nevertheless I have somewhat against thee, because thou hast left thy first love.
5 Remember therefore from whence thou art fallen, and repent, and do the first works; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will remove thy candlestick out of his place, except thou repent.
6 But this thou hast, that thou hatest the deeds of the Nicolaitans, which I also hate.
7 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; To him that overcometh will I give to eat of the tree of life, which is in the midst of the paradise of God.
8 And unto the angel of the church in Smyrna write; These things saith the first and the last, which was dead, and is alive;
9 I know thy works, and tribulation, and poverty, (but thou art rich) and I know the blasphemy of them which say they are Jews, and are not, but are the synagogue of Satan.
10 Fear none of those things which thou shalt suffer: behold, the devil shall cast some of you into prison, that ye may be tried; and ye shall have tribulation ten days: be thou faithful unto death, and I will give thee a crown of life.
11 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; He that overcometh shall not be hurt of the second death.
12 And to the angel of the church in Pergamos write; These things saith he which hath the sharp sword with two edges;
13 I know thy works, and where thou dwellest, even where Satan’s seat is: and thou holdest fast my name, and hast not denied my faith, even in those days wherein Antipas was my faithful martyr, who was slain among you, where Satan dwelleth.
14 But I have a few things against thee, because thou hast there them that hold the doctrine of Balaam, who taught Balac to cast a stumblingblock before the children of Israel, to eat things sacrificed unto idols, and to commit fornication.
15 So hast thou also them that hold the doctrine of the Nicolaitans, which thing I hate.
16 Repent; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will fight against them with the sword of my mouth.
17 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; To him that overcometh will I give to eat of the hidden manna, and will give him a white stone, and in the stone a new name written, which no man knoweth saving he that receiveth it.
18 And unto the angel of the church in Thyatira write; These things saith the Son of God, who hath his eyes like unto a flame of fire, and his feet are like fine brass;
19 I know thy works, and charity, and service, and faith, and thy patience, and thy works; and the last to be more than the first.
20 Notwithstanding I have a few things against thee, because thou sufferest that woman Jezebel, which calleth herself a prophetess, to teach and to seduce my servants to commit fornication, and to eat things sacrificed unto idols.
21 And I gave her space to repent of her fornication; and she repented not.
22 Behold, I will cast her into a bed, and them that commit adultery with her into great tribulation, except they repent of their deeds.
23 And I will kill her children with death; and all the churches shall know that I am he which searcheth the reins and hearts: and I will give unto every one of you according to your works.
24 But unto you I say, and unto the rest in Thyatira, as many as have not this doctrine, and which have not known the depths of Satan, as they speak; I will put upon you none other burden.
25 But that which ye have already hold fast till I come.
26 And he that overcometh, and keepeth my works unto the end, to him will I give power over the nations:
27 And he shall rule them with a rod of iron; as the vessels of a potter shall they be broken to shivers: even as I received of my Father.

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » April 14th, 2012, 8:52 pm

I saw in earlier posts fellas were saying that "do what you want god will understand etc or I make my own destiny"

Revelation 22 18,19 is specifically for those who know what is of God and willfully teach men to disregard gods law and practices of it not being obligatory etc God states

18 For I testify unto every man that heareth the words of the prophecy of this book, If any man shall add unto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book:
19 And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.

With that being said if we knew the accuracy of every thought word action and deed committed by us and the heavenly angels exact record of them we would choose what how where and when we say things. James states thou believe there is one God, thou spear well. The devil do too and tremble.

Duane this ones for you

Scientist needs proof to see god really exists right faith is not enough I have 3 simple questions answer me them
1.what wakes you up in the morning is it faith or we of our own self
2.if I am holding a 4 by 16 concrete block in mid air but you see no string or anything holding it, and I say by faith I am holding this block in midair would you make void my statement tO prove your knowledge right?
3.can you show me any other religion book or person who has mastered DEATH?

God is everlasting forever eternal beginningless endless
Muhammad
Ghandi
Salas see eye
Mother theresa
The popes

What do all these people above have in common Duane?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » April 15th, 2012, 12:15 am

'19 And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.'

take note and retink over history the bible and its versions..revisions and so forth, the prophecy in this verse is kinda clear cut.

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » April 15th, 2012, 2:27 am

Yup it is it doesn't falter at all that's y it's called the two olive trees As spoken of in revelation 11:3-11

3 And I will give power unto my two witnesses, and they shall prophesy a thousand two hundred and threescore days, clothed in sackcloth.
4 These are the two olive trees, and the two candlesticks standing before the God of the earth.
5 And if any man will hurt them, fire proceedeth out of their mouth, and devoureth their enemies: and if any man will hurt them, he must in this manner be killed.
6 These have power to shut heaven, that it rain not in the days of their prophecy: and have power over waters to turn them to blood, and to smite the earth with all plagues, as often as they will.
7 And when they shall have finished their testimony, the beast that ascendeth out of the bottomless pit shall make war against them, and shall overcome them, and kill them.
8 And their dead bodies shall lie in the street of the great city, which spiritually is called Sodom and Egypt, where also our Lord was crucified.
9 And they of the people and kindreds and tongues and nations shall see their dead bodies three days and an half, and shall not suffer their dead bodies to be put in graves.
10 And they that dwell upon the earth shall rejoice over them, and make merry, and shall send gifts one to another; because these two prophets tormented them that dwelt on the earth.
11 And after three days and an half the Spirit of life from God entered into them, and they stood upon their feet; and great fear fell upon them which saw them.

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » April 15th, 2012, 5:55 am

megadoc1 wrote:what is another irrational, unscientific quality of Faith ? the the so called "blind faith" as you called it?
the one you are yet to subject yourself to , even to begin to understand it?
c'mon duane..... yuh was sounding good until you mentioned blind faith, If you think I have blind faith then its clear that you don't have a clue of what I believe and you are doing to me exactly what you think I am doing to the other religions listed...should I be amused ? is it rational for you to do so ,especially in ignorance? please learn what I believe before you accuse me sir... because anytime you claim I have blind faith you are only showing me how much you don't know about me,what I believe or learnt and is coming to conclusions based on ignorance..
you believe, and you claimed that you and your group can cast out demons and heal the sick in the name of God. You want me to come and experience you doing this and I said that what I'd prefer to see is all the kids in the ICU and the hospital healed - Or is it that you can only heal people who come to your gatherings in Woodbrook?

man this never gets old... seems everytime this question is asked, megadoc1 quietly brushes it aside in the hope that no one searches this abomination of a thread and finds the source of these miraculous claims of yours :lol: :lol: :lol: should really call you the Artful Dodger... dance entertainer... dance

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 15th, 2012, 1:32 pm

illumin@ti wrote:
man this never gets old... seems everytime this question is asked, you quietly brush it aside in the hope that no one searches this abomination of a thread and finds the source of these miraculous claims of yours :lol: :lol: :lol: should really call you the Artful Dodger... dance entertainer... dance

awwww....why not use reason and prove otherwise? or is it that your idea of reason is to remain narrow-minded and irrational? I gave you guys invitation to prove me a liar and no one took the opportunity to prove otherwise (that offer is still open BTW) yet you just sat back in you ignorance and laziness to discover truth ,finding it reasonable to call me an artful doger? ...lol

whats amazing in this ched is that I have seen the ones accusing me of being narrow minded showed themselves to be nothing short of that..,the ones who claimed reason became most irrational putting their faith in a scientifically bankrupt idea such as evolution ie..(its reasonable to think the universe came from nothing but its a delusion to think that there is a creator who always was),the ones accusing me of using circular logic became guilty of doing the same and would believe anything as long as its not from the bible...its real kicks on here...................

turbohead

Postby turbohead » April 15th, 2012, 8:14 pm

red fraction i wasnt agreeing wit you...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 15th, 2012, 8:51 pm

Red Fraction wrote:Duane God is the almighty the bible was written in mans language which is imperfect. So sometimes it may seem as God contradicting himself. But what makes the bible better and more sure than any other religions bible is the consistency.
ok but the Gita and the Qu'ran are considered by the respective followers to be consistent and perfect as well.

So my question is - what proof is there that the Bible is right and the Qu'ran wrong, or the Gita right and the Torah wrong or vice versa.

Postby Bizzare » April 15th, 2012, 8:57 pm

history has proven every account in the bible.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 15th, 2012, 9:19 pm

Red Fraction wrote:Duane this ones for you

Scientist needs proof to see god really exists right faith is not enough I have 3 simple questions answer me them
scientists are not particularly interested in searching for God. Scientists are very interested in finding out how the universe works through testing and empirical evidence. Science by definition is "a systematic enterprise that builds and organizes knowledge in the form of testable explanations and predictions about the universe". If it is not testable with definite results then it is not science.

Belief in something does not make it true. There are billions of kids around the world who strongly strongly believe in Santa Claus, that does not make him real.

Red Fraction wrote:1.what wakes you up in the morning is it faith or we of our own self
The stray dogs in my neighbourhood gets up early every morning. Does that mean they have faith?

Red Fraction wrote:2.if I am holding a 4 by 16 concrete block in mid air but you see no string or anything holding it, and I say by faith I am holding this block in midair would you make void my statement tO prove your knowledge right?
I cannot void your statement until I observe, test and report on this "floating" brick. There is a scientific explanation for everything in the observable universe. Science does not work on faith. If it did then scientists wouldnt bother with medical research and they'd all just have faith that everyone will not get sick. Doesn't work like that does it?

Red Fraction wrote:3.can you show me any other religion book or person who has mastered DEATH?
The Bhagavad Gita and most Vedic religions including Bhuddism teach of reincarnation. Technically they teach that you never die, you only change form when you are reborn.

Red Fraction wrote:God is everlasting forever eternal beginningless endless
that I can agree with, as is the case with any similar concept.

Red Fraction wrote:Muhammad
Ghandi
Salas see eye
Mother theresa
The popes

What do all these people above have in common Duane?
I have no idea.

Haile Selassie I is believed to be the second coming of Jesus Christ, as the returned messiah of the Bible, God incarnate.

Humes

Postby Humes » April 15th, 2012, 10:41 pm

Bizzare wrote:history has proven every account in the bible.

Rubbish.

History's proven the miracles recorded in either Testament? History has proven the interactions between men and God described in the Bible? History has proven the life stories, or even the existence, of the majority of figures described in the Bible? Has history proven any of the details that make the Bible an actual Holy Text?

All history has proven is that certain locations, cultures and historical figures described in the Bible actually existed.

Postby RBphoto » May 2nd, 2012, 4:32 pm

Raises monacle... "makes Sense"

Being 'Born-Again' Linked to More Brain Atrophy: Study

Read more: http://www.philly.com/philly/health/132 ... z1tkL3kClW
Watch sports videos you won't find anywhere else

WEDNESDAY, May 25 (HealthDay News) -- Older adults who say they've had a life-changing religious experience are more likely to have a greater decrease in size of the hippocampus, the part of the brain critical to learning and memory, new research finds.

According to the study, people who said they were a "born-again" Protestant or Catholic, or conversely, those who had no religious affiliation, had more hippocampal shrinkage (or "atrophy") compared to people who identified themselves as Protestants, but not born-again.

The study is published online in PLoS ONE.

As people age, a certain amount of brain atrophy is expected. Shrinkage of the hippocampus is also associated with depression, dementia and Alzheimer's disease.

In the study, researchers asked 268 people aged 58 to 84 about their religious affiliation, spiritual practices and life-changing religious experiences. Over the course of two to eight years, changes to the hippocampus were monitored using MRI scans.

The researchers suggested that stress over holding religious beliefs that fall outside of the mainstream may help explain the findings.

"One interpretation of our finding -- that members of majority religious groups seem to have less atrophy compared with minority religious groups -- is that when you feel your beliefs and values are somewhat at odds with those of society as a whole, it may contribute to long-term stress that could have implications for the brain," Amy Owen, lead author of the study and a research associate at Duke University Medical Center, said in a Duke news release.

The study authors also suggested that life-changing religious experiences could challenge a person's established religious beliefs, triggering stress.

"Other studies have led us to think that whether a new experience you consider spiritual is interpreted as comforting or stressful may depend on whether or not it fits in with your existing religious beliefs and those of the people around you," David Hayward, research associate at Duke University Medical Center, added. "Especially for older adults, these unexpected new experiences may lead to doubts about long-held religious beliefs, or to disagreements with friends and family."

The researchers noted other factors related to hippocampal atrophy, such as age, depression or brain size, as well as other religious factors such as prayer or meditation, could not explain the study's findings.

More information

The U.S. National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke provides details on brain atrophy.

-- Mary Elizabeth Dallas

SOURCE: Duke University, news release, May 19, 2011

Copyright © 2011 HealthDay. All rights reserved.

http://www.philly.com/philly/health/132456883.html

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 5th, 2012, 3:53 am

Red Fraction wrote:Duane God is the almighty the bible was written in mans language which is imperfect. So sometimes it may seem as God contradicting himself. But what makes the bible better and more sure than any other religions bible is the consistency.
ok but the Gita and the Qu'ran are considered by the respective followers to be consistent and perfect as well.

So my question is - what proof is there that the Bible is right and the Qu'ran wrong, or the Gita right and the Torah wrong or vice versa.

The Noble Qur'aan is the PERFECT WORD of the One True GOD (ALLAH)...could anyone kindly point out ONE WRONG STATEMENT in it!! If you did (and you could never do it)...then you would be right and the One True GOD wrong?? That's contradiction!!!

No one disputes that there were revealed books before sent down by the One True GOD to messengers/prophets (not the present day fools who call themselves prophets) but can you provide PROOF of their preservation and authenticity...really be honest with yourselves!! It is this deception that has man, and specifically the followers of certain religions in the way that it currently is...divided and lost!

When The One True GOD sent down a NEW LAW or BOOK or CODE OF LIFE, what is mankind supposed to do? Like the Jews at the time of Jesus and seek to kill the Messenger? Or say "Well we have Our Law, so no thank you!" The ship is sailing, so get on board ppl!! The Pharoah tried to repent when he realized that he was overcome by the GOD of Moses but when death is imminent or the sun has set for the last time...then it will be too late.

So people seek guidance from the One True GOD with a clean heart, and HE will lead you to the TRUTH!!

Don't compare HIM with us and us with HIM!! Therein lies the mistake...we need to estimate HIM with the PROPER ESTIMATION HE DESERVES!!