PNM in Gov't (2020-2025)

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby zoom rader » December 16th, 2020, 1:46 pm

Fi­nance Min­is­ter Colm Im­bert yes­ter­day de­clared that he “may” have po­ten­tial ben­e­fits as a re­sult of two tax stip­u­la­tions in the 2021 Bud­get.

He did so while pi­lot­ing a Fi­nance bill to pro­vide for cer­tain du­ties, tax­es and fis­cal mea­sures in the 2021 Bud­get which be­gin on Jan­u­ary 1.

On a mea­sure to cut cor­po­ra­tion tax from 20 per cent to 15 per cent re­gard­ing prop­er­ty de­vel­op­ment with projects com­plet­ed be­fore 2024, he said, “I may have a po­ten­tial ben­e­fit in this and I de­clare my in­ter­est.”

He re­peat­ed this when he dealt with an­oth­er mea­sure to in­crease a con­ces­sion to 30 per cent re­gard­ing wear and tear on plant and ma­chin­ery.

Im­bert was spot­light­ed in re­cent months as own­ing—with his wife—prop­er­ty de­vel­op­ment at 61-65 Pic­ton Street, New­town, Port-of-Spain. It in­volves lux­u­ry mil­lion-dol­lar apart­ments which will be sold.

On oth­er bud­get mea­sures, he said com­mer­cial ve­hi­cles will be ex­empt­ed from mo­tor ve­hi­cle tax­es but pri­vate cars of cer­tain en­gine sizes will still at­tract the tax. Im­bert said this was to stem rev­enue leak­age.

Over $1 bil­lion was lost since there were ve­hi­cle tax ex­emp­tions in 2016, he point­ed out. Some US$300 mil­lion in for­eign ex­change was lost due to pur­chase of 25,000 ve­hi­cles, in­clud­ing 20,000 pri­vate ones, he said.

Im­bert said he was hap­py the per­son­al in­come tax con­ces­sion al­lowed over 100,000 peo­ple—in­clud­ing cops and pub­lic ser­vants—who earn $7,000 and less to get an ex­tra $250 month­ly.

Im­bert firm­ly de­clared Gov­ern­ment ex­pects re­cip­i­ents to spend the $3,000 they’d have an­nu­al­ly on the lo­cal econ­o­my. He added this fol­lowed the prin­ci­ple of de­pres­sion-era econ­o­mist John Keynes, who ad­vo­cat­ed spend­ing one’s way out of a de­pres­sion. He warned of chal­lenges in 2021, in­clud­ing com­mod­i­ty prices, en­er­gy pro­duc­tion and sup­ply chain dis­rup­tions.

UNC sen­a­tor Wade Mark said the $3,000 ex­tra some would get was “crumbs from the mas­ter’s ta­ble.” He called for Im­bert to re­sign on the is­sues he’d de­clared in­ter­est in.

Mark said Im­bert had a third in­ter­est which he didn’t de­clare. He said an­oth­er Bud­get mea­sure al­lowed first-time home­own­ers to avoid stamp du­ty and peo­ple buy­ing apart­ments in Im­bert’s build­ing would save on stamp du­ty. Mark said if he’d for­mu­lat­ed law like that, the Peo­ple’s Na­tion­al Move­ment would “run me out of town!”

Mark fumed that the PNM was “an agent of big busi­ness” and on­ly for “friends, fam­i­ly and fi­nanciers.”

He said tax­es were be­ing left on pri­vate ve­hi­cles while com­mer­cial ve­hi­cles were ex­empt­ed, adding the UNC wouldn’t sup­port the bill. He was warned by Sen­ate Pres­i­dent Chris­tine Kan­ga­loo sev­er­al times about his deci­bel lev­el and lan­guage when he com­plained of PNM “tom­fool­ery, trick­ery, rob­bery, tief­ing!” —Gail Alexan­der

So Kant Impsbert gives himself possible Millions in benefits and Citizens gets to take home a lil $3000

That's same $3000 will now have to be added to pay house Tax and daily increases by the red government mob

Yep this is what Congo Eliteauto will never highlight

Postby eliteauto » December 16th, 2020, 2:00 pm

"Congo Eliteauto", ah like it!!. Thanks Zoombindranath

Postby De Dragon » December 16th, 2020, 2:02 pm

eliteauto wrote:"Congo Eliteauto", ah like it!!. Thanks Zoombindranath

Now self people going and envy yuh...........

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby Habit7 » December 16th, 2020, 4:04 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
Habit7 wrote:8000+ ppl come in the country, it is scandal that 1 is the AG’s son?

Did he apply for exemption?

After his private application for exemption letter get leaked too, what next do you need to fuel your incredulity?

Postby De Dragon » December 16th, 2020, 4:21 pm

Habit7 wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:
Habit7 wrote:8000+ ppl come in the country, it is scandal that 1 is the AG’s son?

After his private application for exemption letter get leaked too, what next do you need to fuel your incredulity?

Isn't that application made to the MoNS? If there is a leak, they need to look inward, I mean the PM is currently flinging conspiracy theories around, but a "deep state" in MoNS?

Postby Habit7 » December 16th, 2020, 4:52 pm

Habit7 wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

Isn't that application made to the MoNS? If there is a leak, they need to look inward, I mean the PM is currently flinging conspiracy theories around, but a "deep state" in MoNS?

Please read properly, nobody said that his application was leaked.

The Govt prioritised the return of students studying abroad. GG could have flown up to Ireland watch his son sweat football and come back. Padarath flew out before the lockdown and saunter back in messing up his EBC registration. But because the AG's son, a student, flies back from Ireland allyuh clutching yuh pearls?

Postby zoom rader » December 16th, 2020, 5:37 pm

Habit7 wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

The Govt prioritised the return of students studying abroad. GG could have flown up to Ireland watch his son sweat football and come back. Padarath flew out before the lockdown and saunter back in messing up his EBC registration. But because the AG's son, a student, flies back from Ireland allyuh clutching yuh pearls?
The red Goverment PM daughter is not a student.

She lives and works in US.

She is not in stress nor arse wari gun toting son .

Postby Redman » December 16th, 2020, 5:54 pm

So Zoombindranath,
What is the problem....the form filled out incorrectly?

Postby De Dragon » December 16th, 2020, 6:01 pm

Habit7 wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

Fackstick, stop being so dotish nah :roll:

Postby Habit7 » December 16th, 2020, 6:57 pm

You need to respond with cogent points, not name-calling.

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2020, 12:06 am

Redman wrote:So Zoombindranath,
What is the problem....the form filled out incorrectly?
Has nothing to do with the form.

Borders are closed and only folk in dire need or stess are permitted to enter TT

Asre wari son and TT Congo PM daughter does not meet the requirements

Asre wari son lives a comfortable live .

PM daughter lives and works in US.

Both of them are not in financial stress or have urgent bussiness to attend to .

Postby Redman » December 17th, 2020, 7:05 am

But ZR were they given any help....where you see that they were given preferential treatment

Who is TT Congo PM?

one eye

Postby one eye » December 17th, 2020, 7:07 am

So much beating up here but if Kamla was in office we weren't going to receive vaccines anytime soon since sunlight kills covid.

As username Habit 7 asked it is a scandal that 1 is the AG's son? The other one asks if he applied for exemption instead of exempting himself from posting when he saw the form but probably did not see it properly with all that yampee.

Halfway brushed teeth with a few rotten teeth, toothpaste all over face, rushing just to come reply to a post with his usual asinine rubbish that just wastes space on the thread. He knows himself.

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2020, 7:10 am

Redman wrote:But ZR were they given any help....where you see that they were given preferential treatment

Who is TT Congo PM?

Where they stranded ?
In stress?

You defending Jackarsesness you Little Kant

Postby Redman » December 17th, 2020, 7:16 am

Asking a question is defending?
I would have aproblem if they pushed him ahead of people in the queue.Is there evidence of this?

The young man is a citizen.Entitled to come home..same rights no more no less.

No need to get vex....we have enough of the useless blathering from Dragon.

You haven't answered the question on your 'TT Congo PM'

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2020, 7:31 am

Redman wrote:Asking a question is defending?
I would have aproblem if they pushed him ahead of people in the queue.Is there evidence of this?

Both Arse wair Son and Rowlee daughter are not in stress ,stranded or have urgent business

If you and others cant see this as preferential treatment then you all are bigger kants that expected

TT boarders are Closed .

Your PM said he is too black to be the red government PM, Best fitting name for him is the Congo PM same way you all label Kams as de Injdian PM.

Postby Redman » December 17th, 2020, 7:36 am

Are those the only criteria for exemption?

Stress, stranded or urgent business.
Link the criteria please.

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2020, 8:17 am

Redman wrote:Are those the only criteria for exemption?

What you want to defend that Arse Wair and Congo PM little well taken care son and daughter must visit TT for xmas ?

TT boarders are closed

Postby Redman » December 17th, 2020, 8:31 am

So you don't have any details
Have no info.
And youv launched the tirade none the less.

I don't appreciate the competition for the award.

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2020, 8:46 am

Redman wrote:So you don't have any details
Have no info.

The criterias are very vague and lines in the hands of the red Goverment.

They Pick and choose who they want by case by case basis depending on the Crisis.

Coming to TT to be with daddy for Xmas while being well taken care of in other countries is not a need .

You defending 5hit

If kams had done this you would have been to first to show the discrepancy

Postby Dizzy28 » December 17th, 2020, 8:56 am

So Redman....are you going to pretend the form doesn't say time away is 2 months. Unless he lied on the form (a crime btw) his declaration implies that he had to receive an exemption to leave during the closure of borders as well as an exemption to get back in once he finished his 2 months?

This is quite different from someone who left in Feb or March and still trying to get back in as it also implies he jumped ahead of people in the queue.

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2020, 9:14 am

You are here by awarded Jack arse of the day and soon to be kant of the year.

Postby Redman » December 17th, 2020, 9:23 am

So Redman....are you going to pretend the form doesn't say time away is 2 months. Unless he lied on the form (a crime btw) his declaration implies that he had to receive an exemption to leave during the closure of borders as well as an exemption to get back in once he finished his 2 months?

This is quite different from someone who left in Feb or March and still trying to get back in as it also implies he jumped ahead of people in the queue.

Well Im trying to figure out what the issue is- I dont know what the criteria is- and it is hard to discern ZRs BS from fact.

I have already stated that if it is that they jumped the line- its wrong.

Postby Redman » December 17th, 2020, 9:28 am

Redman wrote:So you don't have any details
Have no info.

The criterias are very vague and lines in the hands of the red Goverment.

They Pick and choose who they want by case by case basis depending on the Crisis.

Coming to TT to be with daddy for Xmas while being well taken care of in other countries is not a need .

You defending 5hit

If kams had done this you would have been to first to show the discrepancy

If Kamla did this

It would have cost 6M for the private jet.
SIS would have been the contractor.
It wouldnt have completed the journey, but the full cost paid as Mobilization.
and she would have had a welcoming ceremony at the airport,despite the plane not reaching

Like every other project they started

Postby Habit7 » December 17th, 2020, 9:42 am

He went in September, which could be the start of the semester and he returned when he needed to. Quite possible to continue online and do exams online. What is the scandal? Gary Griffith and his wife went to Ireland and returned too for an even shorter period, is that a scandal?

Young: Nationals free to leave TT
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/07/06/young- ... -leave-tt/

Rowley also said the criteria for granting exemptions to nationals who want to return home has not changed. "Applications are still considered on a case by case basis." Considerations for exemptions include when did the national apply to return; is the person elderly or has medical issues; are their families with small children seeking to return; are the applicants professionals or students and whether the application falls under government emergencies, exigencies or repatriation.
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/11/21/pm-pro ... tribution/

Postby De Dragon » December 17th, 2020, 9:51 am

Habit7 wrote:You need to respond with cogent points, not name-calling.

You contradict your self two lines apart in a reply and talking nonsense about cogency? You said it was leaked and then said nobody said it was? I mean, I consider you a nobody, but................

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2020, 9:53 am

Habit7 wrote:

He went in September, which could be the start of the semester and he returned when he needed to. Quite possible to continue online and do exams online. What is the scandal? Gary Griffith and his wife went to Ireland and returned too for an even shorter period, is that a scandal?

Young: Nationals free to leave TT
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/07/06/young- ... -leave-tt/

Rowley also said the criteria for granting exemptions to nationals who want to return home has not changed. "Applications are still considered on a case by case basis." Considerations for exemptions include when did the national apply to return; is the person elderly or has medical issues; are their families with small children seeking to return; are the applicants professionals or students and whether the application falls under government emergencies, exigencies or repatriation.
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/11/21/pm-pro ... tribution/
How do you explain Rowley daughter?

She lives and works in US and is not a student.

Postby De Dragon » December 17th, 2020, 9:55 am

Redman wrote:Asking a question is defending?

Of course every single time you're challenged with facts, you're usual asinine replies always follow the same pattern. You've yet to express an opinion on the PM's rant btw, as that is what I was asking about, not Tight Shirt Arse Wari children.

Postby eliteauto » December 17th, 2020, 10:05 am

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/h ... e8496.html

SEVERAL hundred nationals are expected to return home for Christmas, as part of a series of repatriation exercises.

Acting Principal Medical Officer in charge of institutions Dr Maryam Abdool-Richards said yesterday three repatriation flights are expected within the next five to six days.

One group of about 132 returning nationals was expected by 8 p.m. yesterday from New York, Abdool-Richards said during the Ministry of Health’s virtual press conference on Covid-19.

Another group of 132 people is expected from Barbados on December 18 and flights are expected from Miami and Canada in the coming days.

She reminded that repatriation exercises were dependent on the ability of the parallel healthcare system to host returning nationals either in quarantine or in hospital care if a person is found to be Covid-19 positive.

“The repatriation of returning nationals from high- and medium-risk countries, as per the Ministry of Health’s policy, is dependent on the availability of spaces in the State and State-supervised quarantine facilities,” Abdool-Richards said.

She noted that of 15 new positive cases reported on Tuesday, seven people were returning nationals.

Facilities coping

State quarantine facilities are currently at 75 per cent capacity, Abdool-Richards said.

There are now 13 State and State-supervised quarantine facilities in operation, she said, adding: “These repatriation exercises are timed on the availability of these facilities, which is dependent on several factors and not just the availability of occupancies. We have to take into consideration if there are positive Covid-19 cases, which would affect the sanitisation and decontamination of the facility. Also, there has to be an airing out period for that room or area for two weeks, as per (World Health Organization) guidelines.”

Two facilities are reserved for high-risk groups and those unable to self-isolate, Abdool-Richards said, disclosing that a cohort of deportees had arrived from the US requiring additional security. Repatriated nationals from high-risk territories like the US are required to quarantine for six days in State or State-supervised facilities, to be followed by a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test on the sixth day.

The returnee must then isolate at home for seven days, under State supervision.

Abdool-Richards also confirmed that Government has not yet ordered a Covid-19 vaccine and local authorities continue to monitor for certification by the WHO.

Trinidad and Tobago maintains close contact with the WHO and the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) for this purpose.

“The Ministry of Health will be guided by the WHO for the selection of a vaccine,” she said, adding that Government on Tuesday signed an agreement with PAHO for distribution of a vaccine by the Ministry.

She addressed reports of a mutated strain of the coronavirus coming out of the United Kingdom and said this was unlikely to impact the efficacy of a vaccine.

She said the Ministry was awaiting the Caribbean Public Health Agency’s pronouncement on if a mutation occurred.

All these people coming in are a mix of UNC people that WE didn't want here for elections and PNM people who jumped the line.

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2020, 10:22 am

eliteauto wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/hundreds-coming-home-for-christmas/article_82707956-406a-11eb-b7ef-9bcee65e8496.html

SEVERAL hundred nationals are expected to return home for Christmas, as part of a series of repatriation exercises.

Acting Principal Medical Officer in charge of institutions Dr Maryam Abdool-Richards said yesterday three repatriation flights are expected within the next five to six days.

One group of about 132 returning nationals was expected by 8 p.m. yesterday from New York, Abdool-Richards said during the Ministry of Health’s virtual press conference on Covid-19.

Another group of 132 people is expected from Barbados on December 18 and flights are expected from Miami and Canada in the coming days.

She reminded that repatriation exercises were dependent on the ability of the parallel healthcare system to host returning nationals either in quarantine or in hospital care if a person is found to be Covid-19 positive.

“The repatriation of returning nationals from high- and medium-risk countries, as per the Ministry of Health’s policy, is dependent on the availability of spaces in the State and State-supervised quarantine facilities,” Abdool-Richards said.

She noted that of 15 new positive cases reported on Tuesday, seven people were returning nationals.

Facilities coping

State quarantine facilities are currently at 75 per cent capacity, Abdool-Richards said.

There are now 13 State and State-supervised quarantine facilities in operation, she said, adding: “These repatriation exercises are timed on the availability of these facilities, which is dependent on several factors and not just the availability of occupancies. We have to take into consideration if there are positive Covid-19 cases, which would affect the sanitisation and decontamination of the facility. Also, there has to be an airing out period for that room or area for two weeks, as per (World Health Organization) guidelines.”

Two facilities are reserved for high-risk groups and those unable to self-isolate, Abdool-Richards said, disclosing that a cohort of deportees had arrived from the US requiring additional security. Repatriated nationals from high-risk territories like the US are required to quarantine for six days in State or State-supervised facilities, to be followed by a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test on the sixth day.

The returnee must then isolate at home for seven days, under State supervision.

Abdool-Richards also confirmed that Government has not yet ordered a Covid-19 vaccine and local authorities continue to monitor for certification by the WHO.

Trinidad and Tobago maintains close contact with the WHO and the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) for this purpose.

“The Ministry of Health will be guided by the WHO for the selection of a vaccine,” she said, adding that Government on Tuesday signed an agreement with PAHO for distribution of a vaccine by the Ministry.

She addressed reports of a mutated strain of the coronavirus coming out of the United Kingdom and said this was unlikely to impact the efficacy of a vaccine.

She said the Ministry was awaiting the Caribbean Public Health Agency’s pronouncement on if a mutation occurred.

All these people coming in are a mix of UNC people that WE didn't want here for elections and PNM people who jumped the line.
Jack arse

repatriation exercises means you are coming back here to live

The Congo PM daughter lives and works in US .

Asre wari gun shooting son is an alleged student living off on daddys free rent money .

When Xmas is over they gone, they are not repatriated

They are not under any stress