COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 1:27 pm

sMASH wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:. Also, don't touch your face unless you wash your hands first. You may also want to avoid wearing face masks.

Lysol, wipes, avoid contact and close breathing.

like yuh want meh hold meh breath and suffocate :lol:

if it protects health workers then it go protect me- if yuh squeeze up in ah taxi- yeah i could use wipes but the other options are unavoidable. they just doh want ppl to hoard masks so health workers could have them.

Postby alfa » March 2nd, 2020, 1:34 pm

MaxPower wrote:Any reason why these advisories and text messages are not in Spanish?

If you want to live here you learn to speak our language and not the other way around

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 1:45 pm

alfa wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Any reason why these advisories and text messages are not in Spanish?

If you want to live here you learn to speak our language and not the other way around

understandable to get a job and other things- but this is a public health emergency situation so it is a good idea- so if some ppl don't get the required awareness of what they should be doing wrt hygiene, isolation if infected, etc. because of their language it endangers all of us- it's not just for their benefit.

what if a vene cough on you and infect you?

triniterribletim

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name "COVID 19"

Postby triniterribletim » March 2nd, 2020, 2:48 pm

Masks already sold out everywhere. Tried calling quite a few medical suppliers, even the industrial suppliers and hardwares. The only options left are half/full face masks and filter cartridges. One of my contacts on the inside said that the Chinese cleaned them out a while ago. Wanted to get some for some family members so it didn't eat into my stock. Not looking like an option now though. The minute actual panic buying sets in, it'll be sheer pandemonium.

Postby MaxPower » March 2nd, 2020, 3:07 pm

redmanjp wrote:
alfa wrote:

understandable to get a job and other things- but this is a public health emergency situation so it is a good idea- so if some ppl don't get the required awareness of what they should be doing wrt hygiene, isolation if infected, etc. because of their language it endangers all of us- it's not just for their benefit.

Exactly, this is a critical situation of public health and now is not the time to be inconsiderate to others, especially Venezuelans.

Postby 88sins » March 2nd, 2020, 4:50 pm

Well, they all have to option to vacate t&t and head back to Venezuela maxcyat. And they should take you with them when they go, even if it's against your will.

Even better if they drop you off half way there and let you decide where you really want to be.

Postby paid_influencer » March 2nd, 2020, 5:51 pm

confirmed community spread in florida

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/03/02/us/f ... index.html

just lol if you think it not already here

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 6:30 pm

that is joke- Washington state has 6 DEATHS! not cases- DEATHS!

based on the 2% rate we could calculate that they have like 300 cases!

but i understand that Florida is closer to us in terms of direct flights- which is why i spray dong meh amazon package with lysol oui (it could survive on surfaces for up to 9 days eh :shock: )

Postby hydroep » March 2nd, 2020, 6:58 pm

My neighbour (hopefully) making 83 this year. Man strong like an ox, does be outside tending to his garden and doing most of his own home maintenance. But he's worried about this thing, specifically that there are no detailed plans forthcoming from our Government on how it will be handled.

The hospitals overcrowded as it is and things like medicines and oxygen lacking. They really cyar expect people to have confidence that the Couva Hospital will be able to handle the load if there is an outbreak.

Sh!tkickers and his band of merry Sh!tlickers could fly out for the best in medical care if necessary yunno, is we hadda ketch...:|

Postby paid_influencer » March 2nd, 2020, 7:12 pm

I think now is a good time to think about the rights of medical staff. nowhere in the hippocratic oath says you should be willing to lose your own life to treat patients.

if the hospitals are running out of masks, gowns, PPE, etc, would you go to work? that goes for nurses, doctors, receptionists, all the way down to sanitation staff that have to spend 8+ hours/day in epidemic conditions.

Postby sMASH » March 2nd, 2020, 7:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:I think now is a good time to think about the rights of medical staff. nowhere in the hippocratic oath says you should be willing to lose your own life to treat patients.

if the hospitals are running out of masks, gowns, PPE, etc, would you go to work? that goes for nurses, doctors, receptionists, all the way down to sanitation staff that have to spend 8+ hours/day in epidemic conditions.

this should be left for the darwin awardees. if u prefer u paycheck over ur training and education, then go right ahead and accept ur prize. the person ultimately responsible for ur safety is urself.

Postby pugboy » March 2nd, 2020, 7:23 pm

We gonna have to quarantine folks from Florida then, 14days in couva hospital

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 8:16 pm

sMASH wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:I think now is a good time to think about the rights of medical staff. nowhere in the hippocratic oath says you should be willing to lose your own life to treat patients.

this should be left for the darwin awardees. if u prefer u paycheck over ur training and education, then go right ahead and accept ur prize. the person ultimately responsible for ur safety is urself.

but ent deyalsingh say it have plenty mask for them?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 2nd, 2020, 10:07 pm

redmanjp wrote:
alfa wrote:

Exactly, this is a critical situation of public health and now is not the time to be inconsiderate to others, especially Venezuelans.

The guardian usually does a segment en espanol, it might be good for it to go there.
I agree Max, public health concerns affect all, no matter where you from.

Postby rspann » March 2nd, 2020, 10:09 pm

Nigerian , Indian , Jamaican , Guyanese , Chinese and Spanish subtitles?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 2nd, 2020, 10:24 pm

rspann wrote:Nigerian , Indian , Jamaican , Guyanese , Chinese and Spanish subtitles?

The rest are very integrated since they either speak english or came in through official channels and likely have official support.

We have pockets of venezualans who came in through the backdoor, can't speak a word of english and it won't hurt to get the message out.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » March 2nd, 2020, 10:28 pm

Happy to be getting this text message four times daily about the virus. Really good initiative on the MOH part tbh.. I feel well protected

Postby redmanjp » March 2nd, 2020, 10:46 pm

so we wash hands etc. but how many ppl clean their phones? imagine you using your fingers on your phone then it rings, especially in the bathroom of all places and where do you put it? straight to your face!

Postby adnj » March 3rd, 2020, 12:08 am

redmanjp wrote:so we wash hands etc. but how many ppl clean their phones? imagine you using your fingers on your phone then it rings, especially in the bathroom of all places and where do you put it? straight to your face!
You don't answer the phone while in the washroom.

Postby MaxPower » March 3rd, 2020, 12:24 am

88sins wrote:Well, they all have to option to vacate t&t and head back to Venezuela maxcyat. And they should take you with them when they go, even if it's against your will.

Even better if they drop you off half way there and let you decide where you really want to be.

Why would they return to Venezuela? Things there inna mess still and life in Trinj sweet. Cant you see how happy they are? Affording descent apartments and driving cheap Japanese cars.

Both you and I know, that T&T will not let any Venezuelan suffer should they become infected. They will more than likely be treated before locals.

Come on Reek, stop thinking this is a dream....this is happening.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 3rd, 2020, 4:22 am

No what is a dream is the people in charge making wise decisions
less than a month ago they sent over 35000 mask to china
now they have a shortage in the Country
Why they doh have a second carnival next month, then we wont have to worry about the virus till after this

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 3rd, 2020, 4:55 am

hong kong phooey wrote:No what is a dream is the people in charge making wise decisions
Why they doh have a second carnival next month, then we wont have to worry about the virus till after this

have no fear, they practiced proper international relations

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 3rd, 2020, 5:58 am

triniterribletim wrote:Masks already sold out everywhere. Tried calling quite a few medical suppliers, even the industrial suppliers and hardwares. The only options left are half/full face masks and filter cartridges. One of my contacts on the inside said that the Chinese cleaned them out a while ago. Wanted to get some for some family members so it didn't eat into my stock. Not looking like an option now though. The minute actual panic buying sets in, it'll be sheer pandemonium.

a lot of people saw this coming and purchased mask since january, i myself buy n95 and 99 mask from amazom since it early january. since then i saying is not if it reach is when it reach.

Postby sMASH » March 3rd, 2020, 6:08 am

hong kong phooey wrote: less than a month ago they sent over 35000 mask to china

didnt see that coming,
*insert sarcastic captain kirk cartoon surprised meme here*

Postby Gladiator » March 3rd, 2020, 6:25 am

hong kong phooey wrote:No what is a dream is the people in charge making wise decisions
The PNM are really the masters of donkey logic...

Postby Ben_spanna » March 3rd, 2020, 7:37 am

Gladiator wrote:
The PNM are really the masters of donkey logic...

Because these "leaders" care more about how they LOOK rather than how they take care of their own people!

:roll: :roll: Banana jacka55 governing 101

Postby Gladiator » March 3rd, 2020, 8:24 am

Really China .... Really!!!

CNN
2 hr 5 min ago
China will evacuate its citizens from Iran due to coronavirus fears
From journalist Isaac Yee in Hong Kong

The Chinese Embassy in Iran is planning to evacuate Chinese citizens from the country as the coronavirus outbreak continues to grow, the state-run Global Times reported.

The first charter flight will arrive in Iran on Tuesday night, the outlet said. Chinese students stranded in the holy city of Qom, ground zero of Iran's outbreak, are among those who have registered for the evacuation flight.

Authorities in Tehran said at least 1,500 people have been infected in the country, killing 66, including a top government adviser.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 3rd, 2020, 10:18 am

move them from Iran and send them China...rowley up deh or wah

Postby rspann » March 3rd, 2020, 10:21 am

Well China is run by the red party.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 3rd, 2020, 10:24 am

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:

but ent deyalsingh say it have plenty mask for them?

My wife works mt hope in the lab and they have no masks :|