Giant African Snail

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby adnj » July 19th, 2024, 9:41 am

Dizzy28 wrote:So I guess it was just a matter of time.
Last week saw a few GAS in the yard. One medium sized mofo and a few smaller ones. We don't have any plants in the yard but the neighbour have seim and pumpkin growing along the chainlink fence between us and him. That's more than likely where they feeding as I took some off the seim last night.

Been collecting the ones I see and placing in a bucket of bleach.

Not really feeling to read back this entire thread - what is a good poison to get and where can I get it?

Thiodicarb is imported by Carlsen Chemicals and is widely available under the trade name Thiovin.

Postby Chimera » July 19th, 2024, 10:00 am

thiovin banned and near impossible to find locally

Postby Chimera » July 19th, 2024, 10:02 am

i does soak veggie scraps in beer and put it a pigtail bucket on its side with some of the snail bait

that way the snails end up in the bucket and it easy to empty rather than rotten and smell stink

Postby adnj » July 19th, 2024, 10:08 am

Chimera wrote:thiovin banned and near impossible to find locally

I just found out that you're right about it being banned. I will need to keep my source to myself then.

Postby Chimera » July 19th, 2024, 10:21 am

buy it all out and stockpile

because when that done they not getting back any

i have about 15 small bottle i does only use i cut the grass and could maximum the use of the thiovin rather than waste it on tall grass

Postby j.o.e » July 19th, 2024, 10:21 am

adnj wrote:

I just found out that you're right about it being banned. I will need to keep my source to myself then.

I have some left from my last stash but what is the suggested attack then ? Can’t use bait alone

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 19th, 2024, 10:28 am

Bait works great

Sent from my SM-A325M using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Chimera » July 19th, 2024, 10:31 am

just cant use bait if you have dogs or lil kids running around yuh yard

it poisonous bad

Postby adnj » July 19th, 2024, 10:46 am

j.o.e wrote:
adnj wrote:

I have some left from my last stash but what is the suggested attack then ? Can’t use bait alone

If you spray with Thiovin, spray all vegetation including the lawn. Reentry is 12 hours. Reapply in 4 weeks.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 19th, 2024, 10:47 am

I have a sealed bottle here inno

Postby j.o.e » July 19th, 2024, 12:32 pm

PariaMan wrote:Bait works great

Agreed I am at the maintenance stage now with bait and I don’t see any but I have a friend who properly is overrun. Just this week I suggested the thiovin to him and now seeing it’s banned. Bait can’t help him at this stage …… his place infested.

Postby pugboy » July 19th, 2024, 12:39 pm

what about the beer and veggie scraps to get them to congregate then bait them there

j.o.e wrote:

Agreed I am at the maintenance stage now with bait and I don’t see any but I have a friend who properly is overrun. Just this week I suggested the thiovin to him and now seeing it’s banned. Bait can’t help him at this stage …… his place infested.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 19th, 2024, 4:31 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Only real solution is for him to put out as much bait as possible
I'm sure there are shops with tiovin on the shelves still (or under the shelf if you ask nicely)
And most important
Is to pick up and kill (chlorine water) as much as possible

It will take a while to see results, but it does work

Postby pugboy » July 19th, 2024, 5:09 pm

somebody needs to make an automated trap where they climb in a tray and with a sweeper mechanism to slide them into a bucket

Postby Chimera » July 19th, 2024, 6:19 pm

j.o.e wrote:

The bait helps massively

Postby *KRONIK* » July 19th, 2024, 7:04 pm

pugboy wrote:somebody needs to make an automated trap where they climb in a tray and with a sweeper mechanism to slide them into a bucket
U ever try to pull one of them BIGGGG MC off a wall or a solid surface?

They have some good suction inno

Postby pugboy » July 19th, 2024, 10:00 pm

it would need some wires to sense when they crossing via resistance like them leak detectors
then run a voltage across the wires which makes them release and curl up then sweep

*KRONIK* wrote:
pugboy wrote:somebody needs to make an automated trap where they climb in a tray and with a sweeper mechanism to slide them into a bucket

Postby pugboy » July 19th, 2024, 10:01 pm

Postby nervewrecker » July 19th, 2024, 10:19 pm

pugboy wrote:it would need some wires to sense when they crossing via resistance like them leak detectors
then run a voltage across the wires which makes them release and curl up then sweep

*KRONIK* wrote:

Pulse relay and time off delay relay can do this.
Relay pulses every 5 seconds or so with a 12V signal. As long as a snail is across two wires it makes the circuit and time off delay NC become open breaking feedback to the pulse relay as the signal is sent to the off delay that energizes the same conductors with a higher voltage. The NO on the off delay relay would have become closed to allow electricity to flow.

Can do a wiring diagram tomorrow. I using the geya GRT8-B1 relays.

Postby pugboy » July 19th, 2024, 11:31 pm

you have the functionality idea right

it could be done with an arduino and then activate a servo motor of some sort as a sweep like a windscreen

Postby pugboy » November 26th, 2024, 9:27 pm

Postby paid_influencer » November 26th, 2024, 9:31 pm

pugboy wrote:https://www.facebook.com/share/v/15JaB1FjoY/?

ent this have some rat lungworm

we does eat river conch which is a snail. long time i ent eat that tho, too chewy

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2024, 4:53 am

once yuh cook over 140f all the pathogens dead

Postby mero » November 27th, 2024, 6:20 am

88sins & timelapse, can we eat the GAS?

Have you cooked and eaten the GAS?

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2024, 8:06 am

an italian chap living in alyce glen is the one who brought them in for his own eating
if the white man could eat them who is we?

mero wrote:88sins & timelapse, can we eat the GAS?

Postby nervewrecker » November 27th, 2024, 8:25 am

pugboy wrote:an italian chap living in alyce glen is the one who brought them in for his own eating
if the white man could eat them who is we?

mero wrote:88sins & timelapse, can we eat the GAS?

That's white people just white peopling. Them does go pet gators, swim with sharks, eat food without "Shadow Benny" and all kinda absurd stuff.

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2024, 8:35 am

curry stew with pepper and coconut it go be just like conches

Postby mero » November 27th, 2024, 9:04 am

Wwgd? BYOS?

Postby bluefete » November 27th, 2024, 11:39 am

Saw the first one by me about 6 months ago. Dealt with it.

Nothing until 2 weeks ago. Saw a small one. Terminated.

Then this last big rain over the weekend - I saw 2 come down with the drain water. A small one, on Sunday and a growing one this morning. Terminated.

I have to keep monitoring my wall and the neighbour's wall every day. I am thankful for small mercies.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 27th, 2024, 12:23 pm

bluefete wrote:Saw the first one by me about 6 months ago. Dealt with it.

Nothing until 2 weeks ago. Saw a small one. Terminated.

Then this last big rain over the weekend - I saw 2 come down with the drain water. A small one, on Sunday and a growing one this morning. Terminated.

I have to keep monitoring my wall and the neighbour's wall every day. I am thankful for small mercies.
Just kill them as fast as u see them

Cuz as fast as u kill 1 adult, you prevent 100 younglings from being born