New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

rexsmith

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

Postby rexsmith » August 16th, 2024, 8:57 am

is it 10 demerit points within 3 years or 2 years, somewhere i reading 2 yrs and other places i reading 3yrs, and if i had 2 points from 2023 and 6 in 2024, would the 2 points from 2023 be expunged in 2025 or would it remain until the 6 points from 2024 is erase in 2026?

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2024, 4:50 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah them is some wicked mc, esp the traffic wardens
I got 3 tickets within 8 months before demerit came out

first ticket was no seat belt because I reversed out of by a roadside roti vendor and was real traffic but somebody give me a chance
I didnt buckle up because they was popping they horn for me to come out so they could take the spot, a cop down the road spot me and give me a ticket
second was on highway by omeara behind a truck who slowed down on a yellow light and cause me to just catch the red by a hair.

third was by the savannah in barataria which is one way during school pickup hours, I didnt see the sign until late but I stopped with my wheels barely turned but the warden jump out and tell me stop and pull to the side and then tell me I inside so I break the law, a real mc, plus they make you drive in the street to make it look unsuspecting to other drivers
them wardens wicked because they never submit the ticket to the court until the very last day, i went 3 times to pay and the court ppl say best i come on very last day and if it not in court the judge with throw it out
of course it was submitted then. i heard they cant do that anymore since they replaced the ticket book system.
Once it get ticket for seat belt just before the points/machine system . Went to pay it the next day. Ticket book didn't reach yet. I tell the clark, it gonna come anyhow and I ain't want to waste time to come back so I paying it now one time.

That red light traffic camera set up gonna be drama in busy places.
U see thst easy millions by rush worth street intersection .
Where the traffic flowing but it jess stop and u get trapped in the intersection.

Law says us suposed to ensure that the way is clear before u enter the intersection . So that procedurally would mean each vehicle will have to wait till there is space on the exit lane, before entering the intersection , there fore gojng in one by one.... If u want to avoid being trapped by traffic stopping.

That is madness.

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2024, 4:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:https://guardian.co.tt/news/judge-rules-that-licensing-authority-policy-is-illegal-6.2.1954607.885c44a413

Judge rules that Licensing Authority policy is illegal

A Licensing Authority policy, preventing all transactions in relation to a vehicle until traffic tickets issued to authorised users are paid, has been deemed illegal and unconstitutional.

High Court Judge Avason Quinlan-Williams gave the declaration late last month when she upheld a case filed by auto body mechanic Neil Thomas against Transport Commissioner Clive Clarke and the Office of the Attorney General. She gave written reasons for her decision in a 21-page judgment on Monday.

In his lawsuit, Thomas claimed the issue arose after he purchased a Nissan Wingroad from a woman in July,2022.

After paying $30,000 to the woman, they went to the Licensing Authority’s office at Wrightson Road in Port-of-Spain to transfer the vehicle. A licensing officer inspected the vehicle’s engine and chassis numbers before verbally approving the transaction.

On February 13 last year, Thomas was dropping his daughter to school in El Dorado when he received a fixed penalty traffic ticket from a traffic warden for using his cellphone while driving.

When Thomas sought to have his vehicle inspected at a private garage the following month, he was told that he could not do so until a $1,000 ticket linked to the vehicle was paid. After explaining that he had already paid the ticket he received, the vehicle inspector told him it was not issued to him or the previous owner but to a third party.

Thomas confirmed the information through the Ministry of Works and Transport online database and sought to contact the driver who received the ticket. The driver advised him of the purported policy and advised that he pay the fine quickly as it would increase the longer it remained unpaid. He then contacted the authority, which informed him that the fine now stood at $1,500.

After his lawyers, led by Anand Ramlogan, SC, threatened to file a lawsuit over the policy, the ministry’s permanent secretary wrote to him apologising for what transpired and advised that he could have his vehicle inspected at any inspection station.

In the lawsuit, the defendants admitted that the policy was wrongly applied to Thomas, as they claimed that it is only valid if the vehicle was not transferred before it sought to enforce the unpaid ticket. In determining the case, Justice Quinlan-Williams considered the scenarios for issuing a ticket under the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act. She noted that the ticket could either be issued to an errant user of the vehicle or affixed to the vehicle.

Justice Quinlan-Williams ruled that Section 88(A)(3) of the legislation, which prescribed the sanction, could only be applied if the owner of the vehicle received the ticket or if it (the ticket) was affixed to the vehicle.

“The owner must be the offender to be liable for the traffic violation,” she said, as she noted that a driver who fails to pay their fine could have their driver’s permit suspended as a sanction.

She also noted that an unpaid traffic ticket could only have an effect on the vehicle that was used when it was issued.

“For instance, where the driver or owner has other vehicles registered in their name and those vehicles were not involved in the commission of the traffic violation, no sanctions can be attached to those vehicles,” she said.

“To allow the Licensing Authority to decide what property—other than that involved in the traffic violation—would go beyond the exercise of an administrative authority to aid the enforcement of the act,” she added.

Justice Quinlan-Williams issued a series of declarations against the policy including that Thomas’ constitutional rights to not be deprived of his property except by due process of law, and to equality before and protection of the law had been infringed. She also ruled that the policy applied in the case was unfair, illegal and irrational.

Dealing with compensation for Thomas, Justice Quinlan-Williams stated that $12,600 would suffice with the declarations granted.

“The court did not find any aggravating factors. Rather the potential damages were mitigated based on the rapidity with which the defendants corrected their error and admitted the wrong,” she said.

She also pointed out the policy, introduced by an amendment to the legislation in 2017, was relatively new when it was unfairly applied to Thomas.

“The introduction of an entirely new system geared towards improving the enforcement of traffic offences with the ultimate goal of reducing traffic violations is one that ought to be applauded,” she said. The State was also ordered to pay Thomas’ legal costs for the lawsuit.

Thomas was represented by Kent Samlal, Jayanti Lutchmedial, Natasha Bisram, Robert Abdool-Mitchell, and Vishaal Siewsaran.
To me this would have been common sense and logical and fair .
But the authorities seem to do the utmost crap , and leave it to the citizens to. Challenge it and get to to a sensible status.

The authorities do not own trinidad and are giving citizens a bligh to live and operate in their country .

They supposed to just regulate things for fairness and general safety .

If the people don't want sumting, then that should be dealt away with.

But that would mean the majority of people supporting change.

But pnm people like how the whip does feel on the back.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 17th, 2024, 9:59 pm

Does anyone know what was the outcome/resolution of this.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 605a2.html

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » August 21st, 2024, 4:11 pm

So why is the driver must get the ticket and demerit points for lack of vehicle maintenance like inspection and not the owner, the driver will get suspended from driving and the owner can still drive the uninspected vehicle after

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » October 17th, 2024, 8:20 am

anyone have ever been to virtual court for a traffic ticket? what was your experience like and what was the outcome. I am contesting a traffic ticket, the first time appearing was for a hearing and 2nd time coming up is for a trial, what is this trial like and is this the last of it or is there going to be more court days? and do the police officer who issued the ticket needs to be in court and what happens if he doesn't show?

Postby redmanjp » October 18th, 2024, 7:03 pm

rexsmith wrote:So why is the driver must get the ticket and demerit points for lack of vehicle maintenance like inspection and not the owner, the driver will get suspended from driving and the owner can still drive the uninspected vehicle after

no one can drive an uninspected vehicle once it's past 5 years - the owner would be fined

killercow

Postby killercow » October 18th, 2024, 9:34 pm

rexsmith wrote:anyone have ever been to virtual court for a traffic ticket? what was your experience like and what was the outcome. I am contesting a traffic ticket, the first time appearing was for a hearing and 2nd time coming up is for a trial, what is this trial like and is this the last of it or is there going to be more court days? and do the police officer who issued the ticket needs to be in court and what happens if he doesn't show?
The police has to submit to the court who will then make available to you the summary of evidence. You then have to submit to the court your summary of defence which will be made available to prosecution. Depending on which district your matter is being heard and if the ticketing officer comes to court, the case may last anywhere from a matter of months to years.

Sent from my G8142 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby redmanjp » October 20th, 2024, 12:49 am

A traffic case lasting years? Wtf.

How many days are u actually in court?

killercow

Postby killercow » October 20th, 2024, 7:06 am

redmanjp wrote:A traffic case lasting years? Wtf.

How many days are u actually in court?
Because of the backlog of cases, yes. Depending on the magistrate, anywhere from 3 to 7 appearances. There are some who waste no time and throw out the case if the police doesn't show up on the date of trial. Then there are those like Prince who will entice you by giving you a 50% discount on the fine if you pay the ticket right away (what they don't tell you however is that the demerit points still apply and remain the same), or keep adjourning to frustrate you into paying rather than coming to court for years.

It really comes down to a person's disposable financial reserves, patience level, and how important one thinks points on his / her permit will affect him / her.

Sent from my G8142 using TriniTuner mobile app

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 15th, 2024, 5:36 am

Anyone have a list of the new fines that take effect from 18th nov 2024

killercow

Postby killercow » November 15th, 2024, 7:56 am

screwbash wrote:Anyone have a list of the new fines that take effect from 18th nov 2024
I saw the newspaper article where it was stated that MOWT made public the new fines, but a check on their website up to last night yielded no such information. Additionally, I have not been able to find it any where else. I guess we'll just have to wait until Monday when Rohan said the new updates will take effect.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 16th, 2024, 1:01 pm

The Ministry of Works and Transport has made amendments to The Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic (Amendment to the Ninth Schedule) (No 2) Order, 2024 specifically as it relates to changes to traffic fine and demerit point system, with a focus on reducing penalties for certain offences and establishing new rules for disability parking permits.

The Order also introduces three new offences related to the misuse of disability parking permits. A fine of $2,000 and three demerit points will apply for using an expired or altered disability permit, displaying it incorrectly will incur a $750 fine, and failing to return an invalid permit will result in a $500 fine.

Some offences have seen fines reduced from $1,000 to $500, with demerit points reduced from three to two. Others have been reduced from $750 to $500.

The legal notice was published on Tuesday, but the Ministry of Works and Transport said it was working on a public awareness campaign to say exactly which fines have been adjusted.

Minister of Works and Transport Rohan Sinanan said in June that the Demerit Points System remains an evolving framework that is adjusted according to practical outcomes and feedback. For example, in 2022, minor offences like defective fittings or blown lights were removed from demerit point deductions.

The Order will go into effect on November 18, 2024.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/mowt-am ... 694394353f

Postby mero » November 16th, 2024, 2:05 pm

How much demerit points allyuh on now? Still on 0 pts 2 years now since I was rehabilitated inshallah, know some ppl over 20 praying licensing don't brace them or do a dragnet.

Postby paid_influencer » November 16th, 2024, 2:35 pm

bad drivers gettinf a lil ease up for the christmas oui

killercow

Postby killercow » November 16th, 2024, 2:56 pm

mero wrote:How much demerit points allyuh on now? Still on 0 pts 2 years now since I was rehabilitated inshallah, know some ppl over 20 praying licensing don't brace them or do a dragnet.
_20241116_145332.JPG

I know this guy personally. He crossed 20 points years now, went licensing multiple times to conduct transactions (including renew his permit), and somehow he still driving.

Postby hover11 » November 16th, 2024, 2:57 pm

killercow wrote:
mero wrote:How much demerit points allyuh on now? Still on 0 pts 2 years now since I was rehabilitated inshallah, know some ppl over 20 praying licensing don't brace them or do a dragnet.
_20241116_145332.JPG

I know this guy personally. He crossed 20 years now, went licensing multiple times to conduct transactions (including renew his permit), and somehow he still driving.
Easy money passing

Postby hover11 » November 16th, 2024, 3:00 pm

paid_influencer wrote:bad drivers gettinf a lil ease up for the christmas oui
Paid,

You playing you ain know they have do something to appease voters. They trying a thing.

Postby mero » November 16th, 2024, 3:22 pm

killercow wrote:
_20241116_145332.JPG

I know this guy personally. He crossed 20 years now, went licensing multiple times to conduct transactions (including renew his permit), and somehow he still driving.
The system really is broken , same thing with my bredren lol. He renew his license too and he license currently saying active and he over 20.. them say no letter from MOWT reach in their mailbox so driving like normal collecting more points..

6 months was done long enough for me, even though I still drive almost everyday. Cyah imagine a year or two ban. And it have men risking it everyday on the PBR and ting

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2024, 4:43 pm

inshallah ?

U not no Muslim

Postby paid_influencer » November 16th, 2024, 5:51 pm

looking for correction -

"Inshallah" is for events that may happen in the future, similar to our saying "God willing"

Events which happened in the past have a different word, which I cannot recall right now. I think "Alhamdulillah," similar to our saying "Thank God" would be appropriate.

confirmation or correction either way is appreciated.

killercow

Postby killercow » November 16th, 2024, 8:10 pm

mero wrote:
killercow wrote:
_20241116_145332.JPG

The system really is broken , same thing with my bredren lol. He renew his license too and he license currently saying active and he over 20.. them say no letter from MOWT reach in their mailbox so driving like normal collecting more points..

6 months was done long enough for me, even though I still drive almost everyday. Cyah imagine a year or two ban. And it have men risking it everyday on the PBR and ting
I trying to understand how some people like my padna with 60+ points permit still marked as active while others who just crossed 10 getting letter in a matter of months. It's really confusing (although I heard that people who don't pay their tickets get priority for suspension).

Postby mero » November 17th, 2024, 10:26 am

Hear a skull running in licensing, $ 500 per demerit point removal. Land of the links, life nice here.

Postby zoom rader » November 17th, 2024, 10:48 am

mero wrote:Hear a skull running in licensing, $ 500 per demerit point removal. Land of the links, life nice here.
PNM implant

Postby hover11 » November 18th, 2024, 4:33 pm

screwbash wrote:Anyone have a list of the new fines that take effect from 18th nov 2024
Here you go
FB_IMG_1731961934527.jpg

Postby j.o.e » November 18th, 2024, 4:41 pm

We have disability passes ?

Postby pugboy » November 19th, 2024, 4:51 am

lollllll

j.o.e wrote:We have disability passes ?

Postby redmanjp » November 19th, 2024, 12:58 pm

hmm they actually reduce the fines and points there

Postby hover11 » November 19th, 2024, 1:25 pm

redmanjp wrote:hmm they actually reduce the fines and points there
Elections coming

Postby redmanjp » November 19th, 2024, 5:18 pm

so is there a fine and demerits points for simply parking in a disabled parking spot without a permit?

and does it apply to private car parks like malls?