Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby The_Honourable » April 27th, 2017, 9:06 pm

^^^ But me and RASC stated that earlier. Local Government Reform before property tax. All money collected going to the consolidation fund. Government want the money directly hence why they didn't do any reform since the LGE elections.

From what i gather so far, squatters on state lands are exempt, the Land Settlement Agency will deal with them *sure*

Squatters on private lands will pay the tax for their structure while the owner of the lands pays tax for the land.

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2017, 9:10 pm

Churches have to pay tax also?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 27th, 2017, 9:21 pm

pugboy wrote:Churches have to pay tax also?

Hmm good question but I doubt most of them might get a bligh for being a religious institution

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 27th, 2017, 9:29 pm

Bess I start a church on my empty lot yes ... For once in my life I can say Jesus do something for me lol.

MADMAN1

Postby MADMAN1 » April 27th, 2017, 9:47 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Well this is new. Kamla taking the blame for something!!!

Indeed. definitely a start.

Everything is blame Kamla Blame Kamla...
Dats all you Pnm preaching to cover your own incompetence.

An you wonder why the country like this....

Postby The_Honourable » April 27th, 2017, 9:57 pm

Nah, all religious places of worship are exempt.

Postby Dave » April 27th, 2017, 10:14 pm

I worship in my home!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 28th, 2017, 1:51 am

Churches do NOT pay Taxes.

Its the reason a tertiary education school in St Augustine that offers degrees is actually registered as a church.

$h@dy

Postby $h@dy » April 28th, 2017, 6:12 am

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 28th, 2017, 6:40 am

$h@dy wrote:Image

But somehow he would get a rental value that will be very small

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 28th, 2017, 6:48 am

rowly know 99.9% of squatters are his supporters...how he go make them pay tax

Postby hydroep » April 28th, 2017, 7:34 am

Imbert was (again) in full damage control mode at the Post Cabinet news conference, empathizing with the population and assuring that “The Minister of Finance is not going to fine anybody. Neither is the Commissioner of Valuations” with respect to the $ 500 penalty for failure to provide the documents requested by May 22.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,242893.html

Thing is, this is the same man who said that the Property Tax would be implemented using the valuations from the previous Land and Building Taxes system. That position has clearly changed.

Not sure anyone trusts him at this point nuh... :|

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 28th, 2017, 8:32 am

So we have a minister who is a Multi-millionaire and he is vex with himself for having to pay a property tax???

Postby Dave » April 28th, 2017, 9:00 am

Bread and eat it too syndrome

Postby Dizzy28 » April 28th, 2017, 9:27 am

MADMAN1 wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

But we are not blaming Kamla.....she did that on her own!!!!

reece.JPG

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 28th, 2017, 10:19 am

The_Honourable wrote:

Nah, all religious places of worship are exempt.

Nice. How much land going for in Guanapo? Asking for a friend.

Postby toyolink » April 28th, 2017, 10:40 am

Until we start seeing the assessed rental values everybody nervous.
Landlords, I am sure will stop putting monthly rental costs in ads in the papers.
US $3000 properties and up ............this is real trouble if used a new bench-marks.

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2017, 12:00 pm

hydroep wrote:Imbert was (again) in full damage control mode at the Post Cabinet news conference, empathizing with the population and assuring that “The Minister of Finance is not going to fine anybody. Neither is the Commissioner of Valuations” with respect to the $ 500 penalty for failure to provide the documents requested by May 22.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,242893.html

Thing is, this is the same man who said that the Property Tax would be implemented using the valuations from the previous Land and Building Taxes system. That position has clearly changed.

Not sure anyone trusts him at this point nuh... :|

rowley does.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 28th, 2017, 1:07 pm

Well thats it I migrating to the Beetham so I won't have to pay any tax.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 28th, 2017, 1:27 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Well thats it I migrating to the Beetham so I won't have to pay any tax.

Move to the closest river bank! Tell them yuh shack could wash away when rainy season start, or else you want a HDC house!

Postby Redman » April 28th, 2017, 1:45 pm

Here we are failing to take a necessary step due to asinine execution systems.

Postby toyolink » April 28th, 2017, 2:42 pm

Those of us who may panic and look to 'pay something' to get desirable tax payables, are best advised to play by the rules.
When all is considered, relevant authorities would much prefer proper submissions in order to meet the govt deadlines for income and with man-power limitations having to do site visits is a recipe for comess.
I certainly plan to work by the rules and thankfully my files/documents have been securely maintained.
Remember fear mongering in many instances is engineered to facilitate payments to the smart men.

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2017, 2:44 pm

how rentable is a place without water?

if u have to value a property, and it has no running water, what sort of deduction will be made for that public amenity?

MADMAN1

Postby MADMAN1 » April 28th, 2017, 4:12 pm

MADMAN1 wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

But we are not blaming Kamla.....she did that on her own!!!!

reece.JPG

A.jpg
A.jpg (10.3 KiB) Viewed 3240 times

rebound

Postby rebound » April 28th, 2017, 5:09 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
rebound wrote:
sMASH wrote:^^u had five years to fix it.

But you are fine with the one who took 18 months to break it???? :roll:

No he is Not fine with that.

But there is nothing we can do, we fully expected PNM to do this they even made it clear they would do it. That is why we voted her in because we couldn't trust the PNM so we put our trust in her because for years she claimed to fight for the poor to do the right thing.
We put all we had into her party we nearly destroyed the PNM by giving the UNC a 2/3 majority.

The first and last thing she did when she got into office was drink Rum. She did absolutely NOTHING about this property tax. For what its worth atleast the PNM didn't lie they said they were going to anal rape us so credit must be given to Rowley for holding his promise.

If you're happy after someone anally rapes you because they told you they were going to do it, power to you...but I would not be in agreement or happy.

To each his own..

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2017, 5:44 pm

^^ i going the axe de tax motorcade sunday in filicity .

i am NOT okay with this additional burden.

Postby matr1x » April 28th, 2017, 6:19 pm

Everyone need to be on alert. The request for information is not a legal document.

For someone to enter your premises they must have authority. And there is a process before they can.

Postby RASC » April 28th, 2017, 7:28 pm

It's month end... Watch people spend their ENTIRE yearly tax allotment in drinks/hoes/gambling this weekend

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 28th, 2017, 7:49 pm

RASC wrote:It's month end... Watch people spend their ENTIRE yearly tax allotment in drinks/hoes/gambling this weekend

Funny thing is this is actually true.

But with that said, it would be criminal to pay this Tax without local government reform. None of us want to give our money to corrupt officials. Or classic ignore UNC areas but only fix PNM areas.

Atleast before we could say well is oil money so small thing, but now it would be like you living in UNC area and you paying tax but it going to PNM area. The only way this Tax will be accepted by the general public is with local government reform something Rowley promised.

Postby RASC » April 28th, 2017, 7:51 pm

Rowley dropped the ball here... No surprise really. Not seeing anything sweeping, revolutionary or innovative as of late.

A Kamla less UNC would've crushed the current PNM. Alas what did I say? With her at the helm... PNM will be a two term party. Easy