Price of Doubles Increased

Re: Price of Doubles Increased

Postby desifemlove » September 12th, 2016, 8:52 pm

place a tax on all fatty foods. this will ease the fiscal situation. if doubles eaters ball, firetruck them.....too much diabetes.

Postby desifemlove » September 12th, 2016, 9:01 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
pete wrote:You guys really taking on a cholesterol in eggs argument where the alternative is DOUBLES?

Well I agree boiled eggs are way healthier than doubles.

But they always tell you limit the yolk and eat the white part of the egg instead. I personally try to keep it under a dozen a week just for safety. But I do eat the yolk cause I not going to throw away so much of an egg.

Now remember exercise is crucial, if you do enough exercise you can eat a lot of crap and burn it all out. The problem comes from inactivity where the cholesterol and glucose can build up in the blood. If yuh bussin concrete for a living yeah you could eat whatever you want dan :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

doubles like most fried foods is high in calories.

as it's fried, it also has high fat content, and the bad fats.

5 doubles, which is the norm for a sitting, must have over 1500 calories. and then people does eat around 20 per day, so that's around 4000 calories. that's a lot for a non-active person, like an office worker, even if they does work out a lot. even an athelete shouldn't eat that much fat. but if people want big belly and see it as a status symbol, or to beyotch about not enough CDAP meds for hypertension or diabetes, cool, enjoy allyuh belly and lifestyle disease.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 12th, 2016, 10:15 pm

20 doubles a day? wtf who does eat so much? I must be does buy doubles once in a blue moon. lol
Also a lot of people with diabetes and hypertension have it not necessarily because of lifestyle choices but also because of genetics. There are people out there eating anything they want and don't get fat or sick.

Anyways any doctors here wants to comment on Statins?

https://www.amazon.com/Truth-About-Stat ... ds=statins

Found this, this woman is a cardiologist and a real MD in the US also an associate professor in the medical school. She says to stay away from Statins, my doctor prescribed Crestor which seems to be a statin? but I not paying $1000 for that. Apparently this is to reduce cholesterol in the blood because mine is reading High.

Can cholesterol be lowered through diet, exercise and healthy living? or would you still need Crestor? I would think a doctor would recommend weight loss first? I eat Healthy and do lots of exercise (because I do a lot of manual garden work I plant my own food) but I am still fat.

Postby pugboy » September 12th, 2016, 10:29 pm

So you are basically looking for stuff written against statins then
That is not exactly "conducting your own research"
Since you are looking for what you want

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: Price of Doubles Increased

Postby bluesclues » September 12th, 2016, 10:33 pm

pugboy wrote:So you are basically looking for stuff written against statins then
That is not exactly "conducting your own research"
Since you are looking for what you want

Mmmm allyuh learnin

*clap clap*

baigan

Postby baigan » September 12th, 2016, 10:38 pm

Y'all still arguing about this

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 12th, 2016, 11:04 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:20 doubles a day? wtf who does eat so much? I must be does buy doubles once in a blue moon. lol
Also a lot of people with diabetes and hypertension have it not necessarily because of lifestyle choices but also because of genetics. There are people out there eating anything they want and don't get fat or sick.

Found this, this woman is a cardiologist and a real MD in the US also an associate professor in the medical school. She says to stay away from Statins, my doctor prescribed Crestor which seems to be a statin? but I not paying $1000 for that. Apparently this is to reduce cholesterol in the blood because mine is reading High.

Can cholesterol be lowered through diet, exercise and healthy living? or would you still need Crestor? I would think a doctor would recommend weight loss first? I eat Healthy and do lots of exercise (because I do a lot of manual garden work I plant my own food) but I am still fat.

I could give you de low down on cholesterol and statins but the real question is would you do your job for free for a random guy on trinituner?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 12th, 2016, 11:07 pm

baigan wrote:Y'all still arguing about this

When ppl have too much time and free WiFi dat does happen.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 12th, 2016, 11:11 pm

drchaos wrote:I could give you de low down on cholesterol and statins but the real question is would you do your job for free for a random guy on trinituner?

You never know, anything is possible I mean Trump could even win.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 12th, 2016, 11:54 pm

Well my research finally ends here, these 2 links perfectly explains everything so its true, its not necessarily cholesterol that causes heart disease its the inflammation that causes cholesterol to stick instead of moving freely through the body, and it so seems the inflamation is caused by refined sugars and pretty much any processed food out there especially fried foods causing damage to the artery in the way a hard toothbrush can damage the skin after a long while. heh never knew this.....

Guess I boiling my eggs from now on.

Have a good day gents.

http://preventdisease.com/news/12/03011 ... ease.shtml

https://www.reddit.com/r/explainlikeimf ... nclog_our/

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 13th, 2016, 7:41 am

Plaque in your arteries is not just cholesterol, its also made up of lipids, proteins, calcium and immune cells.

Postby eliteauto » September 13th, 2016, 10:47 am

different "branch"
IMG_20160913_081443.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 13th, 2016, 8:47 pm

Red cap ain't raise yet...carry on

Miguel000

Postby Miguel000 » September 16th, 2016, 11:29 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:20 doubles a day? wtf who does eat so much? I must be does buy doubles once in a blue moon. lol

that's good, while the rest of them eat to their deaths, us eat like once a week :D

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » September 17th, 2016, 8:31 pm

eliteauto wrote:different "branch"

Saw one of my highschool friends recently selling doubles for a living. Quite sure she way better off than me right now :roll: .

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 17th, 2016, 9:33 pm

TheOwnerPO wrote:
eliteauto wrote:different "branch"

Saw one of my highschool friends recently selling doubles for a living. Quite sure she way better off than me right now :roll: .

Financially maybe, but think of the ungodly hours spent frying bara and making sauces and chana, also having to operate a stand and sell doubles. The manual labour involved in making and selling doubles is more than I could take.

Postby Country_Bookie » September 19th, 2016, 4:36 pm

Plight of the doubles man
Sunday, September 18 2016

THE EDITOR: This letter is written in the hope of dispelling some of the stereotyping and broad generalisations associated with the doubles industry.

Yes, like every other business, there are unscrupulous players who tarnish the reputation of the trade.

But the majority of us work hard to run a profitable and stable business because, just like the lawyer, the school teacher, the mechanic and all the other entrepreneurs out there, we too have families to take care of.

The typical doubles vendor must wake up at midnight to begin the actual bara-making process. So while you are tugging on your blankets a little tighter, the team responsible for serving you a hot and tasty meal every morning must abandon their beds.

But the preparations begin long before that. The dough to make the bara would have been kneaded several hours before that, the channa cleaned and soaked, the green seasonings washed and blended, the sauces (mango chutney, pepper sauce, cucumber) prepared and ready.

Yes, it takes a whole team of people and long hours of preparation before the doubles vendor even presents himself on the spot where he serves you every morning.

A single doubles business employs about five to six people given the multitude of tasks to be carried out. Aside from people to do the actual cooking, we employ people for transportation, for the sanitation of the cooking area and utensils, to wrap and to cash.

Think of the number of doubles vendors you see across Trinidad and multiply that by five and you will get an idea of how many people are employed in the doubles-making industry.

Many people berate the doubles man, accusing us of evading taxes.

However, as the younger, more educated and knowledgeable generation takes over from our elders, we embrace changes that will ensure the profitability and continuity of our livelihood.

We register our businesses and pay taxes. We pay rent for the spots we occupy and we engage in proper record-keeping and accounting.

We have permits to prepare and sell food. Our kitchens are visited regularly by health inspectors.

What confuses me is that some people will go to a fine-dining restaurant, pay an inflated price for a meal, wait at least 20-30 minutes to be served, pay an additional service charge and then give their server a nice fat tip at the end, but still find it difficult to pay $5 for a doubles, which despite the price increase remains the cheapest food in the country.

There was a rise in the cost of living. We all felt the pinch. Many manufacturers were forced to raise their prices, doubles vendors included.

Yet it is the doubles man that takes the brunt of the “licks” as the media use him as the poster child for declaring price increases to the public, splashing us across front pages and headlining every radio and talk show across the country. This gives the public a very biased view of what is happening in the economy and makes it seem that doubles men (alone) are unfairly capitalising on the population.

Doubles is so well loved that many refer to it as the national dish. It is the cheapest and fastest food available in Trinidad. But it requires hard work and dedication.

It is my hope that this letter will shed some light on the challenges we face in this industry and that readers will understand us better.

Darren Seenath San Juan

http://newsday.co.tt/letters/0,233388.html

I think they do get licks unfairly from the media. Same trinis who beating up abt $5 for a doubles paying $35-45 for burgers and gyros.

I find it hard to believe that doubles vendors actually pay taxes tho.....maybe he means VAT.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 19th, 2016, 4:49 pm

Aren't flour, soya bean oil, chick peas (channa) and baking powder zero rated??

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » September 19th, 2016, 5:34 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Aren't flour, soya bean oil, chick peas (channa) and baking powder zero rated??

there are no zero rated items anymore since last budget

Postby MaxPower » September 19th, 2016, 5:38 pm

No one wants to hear about Darren Seenath San Juan sad story..

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » September 19th, 2016, 10:55 pm

I ain't buying.

Postby rollingstock » September 19th, 2016, 11:15 pm

Bought five this morning, was feeling greedy, drank a grape solo after. Fcuk the haters.

Postby rspann » September 19th, 2016, 11:20 pm

5 by nics and nads is only $10.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » September 20th, 2016, 4:49 pm

Eat one this morning only to look like I can afford it. $5

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2016, 5:07 pm

They should sell a smaller size for less lol

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 20th, 2016, 5:11 pm

They should sell a smaller size for more. ..

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » September 23rd, 2016, 9:08 am

pics...

South African

Postby South African » September 25th, 2016, 8:47 am

The last I've heard is that a meeting is the to be held later this month to determine and normalize the price of doubles throughout the country. The meeting was called earlier this month by the president of the DMA (Doubles Men Association).

Postby DVSTT » September 25th, 2016, 9:23 am

South African wrote:The last I've heard is that a meeting is the to be held later this month to determine and normalize the price of doubles throughout the country. The meeting was called earlier this month by the president of the DMA (Doubles Men Association).

Not sure if late o clock news article

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 25th, 2016, 9:29 am

if doing that with doubles then they should do so with every other item in the country...one price throughout all businesses