Communications Minister Vasant Bharath said members of Cabinet met on Monday to discuss the debate on the motion of no confidence in Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley.
The context of members’ contribution, however, were not vetted by the caucus.
Bharath said, “The caucus was held to give a general direction of the debate. So the general direction of the debate was discussed. We do not dicuss the content that is left up to the individual,” he said.
He said Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and other members of Cabinet were not aware of the contents of the contribution made by Tobago East MP Vernella Alleyne-Toppin’s speech before Wednesday.
Alleyne-Toppin will today make a statement regarding her controversial contribution.
In her address, Alleyne-Toppin suggested that Rowley was born as a result of rape that these circumstances have made him "aggressive" and "arrogant".
Speaking at the post-Cabinet media briefing this afternoon, Finance Minister Larry Howai, said his colleague's statements were discussed and Alleyne-Toppin was expected to make a statement "at the end of business today".
Howai said: "Some discussion was held on that and Ms Alleyne-Toppin will make a statement. She is expected to make a statement before the end of business today."
Howai said he was "a little concerned" about part of Alleyne-Toppin's contribution in Parliament.
"Part deals with questions which need to be answered. But I am concerned about the first part. If it so did occur one can
only have sympathy for the persons involved in a situation like that" he said.
shotta 20 wrote:Look at the poverty level, the unemployment levels, the unwillingness to work, social ills, drugs, murders, fatherless children, lack of proper housing etc etc etc... most prevalent in North pnm areas than south/central unc ones
IT’S ALL LIES
Roselyn Alleyne, the woman who Vernella Alleyne-Toppin alleged was raped 46 years ago by Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, is “disgusted” and horrified by Alleyne-Toppin’s assertion. And she cannot understand why people would “fabricate such lies”. In an exclusive interview with the Express yesterday, Roselyn Alleyne, who is the mother of Garth Alleyne, the 45-year-old son of Rowley, also stated Vernella Alleyne-Toppin is not a relative of hers. “She does not know me. If she sees me anywhere she would not know me. And that should sum up everything,” she said. Roselyn said she heard about Alleyne-Toppin’s contribution at Wednesday’s debate in the House of Representatives, on the no-confidence motion brought by the Government against Rowley. She said she received texts from Trinidad and Tobago, stating “me and my child were talked about” in Parliament. “And I asked why? We are happy people. I am here (in Canada) working hard in the cold,” she said. Both Roselyn and her son live in Canada. She has lived there for the past 30 years. “All of what she is saying on the news, take it from me, it’s all a lie,” Roselyn stated. Alleyne-Toppin had claimed Roselyn was a pupil of Roxborough Secondary School when she became pregnant by Rowley. But Roselyn said yesterday, she never attended Roxborough Secondary School. “When I passed Common Entrance, Roxborough wasn’t even constructed,” she said. Asked whether Rowley ever taught her as Alleyne-Toppin claimed, Roselyn said: “How could he when we are around the same age?” Roselyn said she is 63 years old. (Rowley is 65 years old). “I am old and hoping to retire soon,” she said. “Don’t listen to these people. Everything that they say is a lie. I have never communicated with these people (Alleyne-Toppin) and I am always home. I go home every year, for a week, two weeks,” she said. Told the reports were she was 13 or 14 when she became pregnant, Roselyn said: “Wow!” I think I am being confused with somebody else,” adding she became pregnant when she had already finished school and was at home, helping her mother who used to bake things in order to earn an income to send her younger sibling to school. “As I keep telling you, everything they say is a lie. And they need to stop,” she said. “I hear she is saying that he raped me for over four hours. That’s disgusting!” Roselyn said. Told Alleyne-Toppin had also stated she was kidnapped, Roselyn exclaimed: “What? Keith has to stop her because that is slandering somebody’s character. And when she talks like that, she is making me sound like something that I am not. Wow! Kidnapped, raped and dumped,” she said. Roselyn said in 2013 when her brother died, she returned to Tobago to attend the funeral. She said someone came around, asking members of her family if she (Alleyne-Toppin) and they were close, and “they were trying to persuade other family members to get me to sign false documents”. She said she brushed off the whole event. “I thought that was over. I didn’t know these people still going around with this thing,” she said. Asked what was the nature of her relationship with Alleyne-Toppin, who claimed to be a relative and therefore to have intimate details of her life, Roselyn said: “Excuse me?” I am not related to that woman. We are not blood relatives.” She said there were many people with the same last name who were not related. She said Alleyne-Toppin came to live in Charlotteville after her (Alleyne-Toppin) father moved there. She said it was a small village and everyone knew each other. “But we never knew them as being related to us because we couldn’t draw any connecting lines between the two families,” she said. She said when Alleyne-Toppin started elementary school, she (Alleyne-Toppin) and her (Roselyn’s) sister were in the same class and they also attended Bishop’s High School together. But, she maintained Alleyne-Toppin did not know her. She said she comes home all the time and she never met the minister. She added her youngest daughter, who returned to Trinidad and Tobago after finishing university in Canada, lives here now. “I realise these people are fishing but they are putting out the wrong bait to a whole country. And when you are fishing for something, you take stories from other people who may fabricate, but you have nothing to back it up,” she said. Roselyn, who said she had no interest in political matters, said Alleyne-Toppin was “slandering my name and it needs to stop. That is all I am interested in”. She said she was not angry. “She is slandering me to get at Keith. Attack the person that you want to attack but don’t slander my name. And if you are trying to get back at someone, don’t lie. It becomes a boomerang and we know what boomerangs do. “She has to apologise. And go and tell the public that the things that she has said are not true,” she said. “My business is fixed. All my kids are grown up. And Vernella Alleyne-Toppin has nothing over me,” said Roselyn.
Rowley hurt claims used to slander dead parents
A tissue of horrendous lies!
This is how Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley yesterday dismissed Vernella Alleyne-Toppin’s claim he was the product of a rape. “My father raping my mother in Mason Hall. Jesus Christ! Call anybody in Mason Hall and ask them if they have ever heard such a thing,” Rowley said. He said he was hurt a motion of no confidence was used to slander his dead father and his dead mother in the Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago. “I have an eight-year-old granddaughter. I just had a grandson. And they are now being told that their grandfather and their great-grandfather were rapists,” he said. “They (the Government) have to examine my dead father and dead mother to determine my fitness for office? This is real hurtful,” he said. “I have seen my mother and father going to fete. And you coming to tell me about rape?” he asked rhetorically. Rowley said his mother, Agatha Vassie Rowley, left him when he was one year old with his grandfather and came to work in Trinidad with Audrey Jeffers. “My mother was a well-known cook in the Breakfast Shed. She lived a decent, hard-working life.” Rowley said his father, Carlton Joseph, eventually married another woman who helped to raise him. “The only person whose white school shirts she washed was mine because her older children didn’t go to high school”. Rowley is known as family man who generally liked to shield his family from the glare of public life. He had previously ignored the persistent innuendoes coming from Alleyne-Toppin and United National Congress (UNC) activity as nonsensical political jabs that no one took seriously. His son, Garth, prefers the quiet life but keeps in touch with the Row-leys. Garth, who attended Bishop’s High School and lives abroad, atten- ded Rowley’s daughter’s wedding, along with his (Garth’s) daughter. Garth, family sources said, remains in touch with the Rowley family. PNM Women’s League condemns Vernella Meanwhile the People’s National Movement (PNM) Women’s League yesterday condemned Alleyne-Toppin’s statements. “Mrs Alleyne-Toppin, in a debasing attack on Dr Keith Rowley, Leader of the Opposition, placed on the Hansard Record an unadulterated and outrageous fabrication, stating, among other gross inaccuracies, that Dr Rowley’s conception was as a result of a rape, thereby accusing Dr Rowley’s deceased father of being a rapist! For Mrs Alleyne-Toppin, however, that was not enough, she went on to label Dr Rowley a kidnapper, paedophile and gang rapist, all fabrications, given life under the cover of parliamentary privilege,” it said. The Women’s League expressed its deep disappointment this slander was allowed without let or hindrance in the Parliament, resulting in a debasing of the Parliament itself. “Mrs Alleyne-Toppin’s utterances in the Parliament prove that she is a complete embarrassment to the Parliament, the people of Tobago East, the people of Tobago and the people of Trinidad,” the release stated. It added: “Mrs Alleyne-Toppin, by claiming that Dr Rowley was the product of a rape and is himself a gang rapist, has perpetrated one of the worst and most disgraceful acts of slander under the guise of Parliamentary privilege, and has crossed all boundaries of propriety.” The Women’s League recalled Dr Rowley entered public life in 1981 when he ran for Tobago West as a candidate for the PNM when his son was 12 years old at the time, and no such outrageous claims were ever made by anyone.
zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:The PP looked weak, desperate and politically bankrupt today.
They have lost the plot completely and are literally clinging to straws at this point.
Who was fired, got out or forcefully removed would've been glad to be riding out into the sunset now than to be standing with these fools.
This all stems from Section 34-EVERY SINGLE THING. We haven't even gotten into Life sport. My advice if you're a huge PP supporter/financier etc- Keep your mouth shut, close up your cheque book, stay in your corner and focus on your private practise-your family and keeping out of the lime light. There is nothing to gain by supporting or openly backing these band of idiots for GE 2015.
Good citizens will not allow the PNM to rape and practice racism on citizens every again.
You want ppl to keep ppl quite while your mobs turns Trini into a Haiti.
Eh zr, tell dem about all the other countries that have African leaders and well they doing
Only African leader that doing kinda ok is Obama and that's because he's half white.
Can't recall any other, all the rest seem to be dictators and have mental health issues
rfari wrote:eliteauto, tell dem boy to pull the landdate file out
nervewrecker wrote:zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:The PP looked weak, desperate and politically bankrupt today.
They have lost the plot completely and are literally clinging to straws at this point.
Who was fired, got out or forcefully removed would've been glad to be riding out into the sunset now than to be standing with these fools.
This all stems from Section 34-EVERY SINGLE THING. We haven't even gotten into Life sport. My advice if you're a huge PP supporter/financier etc- Keep your mouth shut, close up your cheque book, stay in your corner and focus on your private practise-your family and keeping out of the lime light. There is nothing to gain by supporting or openly backing these band of idiots for GE 2015.
Good citizens will not allow the PNM to rape and practice racism on citizens every again.
You want ppl to keep ppl quite while your mobs turns Trini into a Haiti.
Eh zr, tell dem about all the other countries that have African leaders and well they doing
Only African leader that doing kinda ok is Obama and that's because he's half white.
Can't recall any other, all the rest seem to be dictators and have mental health issues
Was in the PNM office some time back. Have a photoshopped pic of Obama holding a PNM card.
Its a normal card in his hand but the person that modded the pic to have a card with a baliser did a really poor job.
Anyhew, ditto on what habit 7 said.
Any new oil finds?
IT’S ALL LIES
Mother of Rowley’s child on Vernella’s rape claim:
By Ria Taitt Political Editor
Story Created: Mar 26, 2015 at 10:05 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 26, 2015 at 10:05 PM ECT
Roselyn Alleyne, the woman who Vernella Alleyne-Toppin alleged was raped 46 years ago by Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, is “disgusted” and horrified by Alleyne-Toppin’s assertion.
And she cannot understand why people would “fabricate such lies”.
In an exclusive interview with the Express yesterday, Roselyn Alleyne, who is the mother of Garth Alleyne, the 45-year-old son of Rowley, also stated Vernella Alleyne-Toppin is not a relative of hers. “She does not know me. If she sees me anywhere she would not know me. And that should sum up everything,” she said.
Roselyn said she heard about Alleyne-Toppin’s contribution at Wednesday’s debate in the House of Representatives, on the no-confidence motion brought by the Government against Rowley. She said she received texts from Trinidad and Tobago, stating “me and my child were talked about” in Parliament.
“And I asked why? We are happy people. I am here (in Canada) working hard in the cold,” she said. Both Roselyn and her son live in Canada. She has lived there for the past 30 years.
“All of what she is saying on the news, take it from me, it’s all a lie,” Roselyn stated.
Alleyne-Toppin had claimed Roselyn was a pupil of Roxborough Secondary School when she became pregnant by Rowley.
But Roselyn said yesterday, she never attended Roxborough Secondary School. “When I passed Common Entrance, Roxborough wasn’t even constructed,” she said.
Asked whether Rowley ever taught her as Alleyne-Toppin claimed, Roselyn said: “How could he when we are around the same age?” Roselyn said she is 63 years old. (Rowley is 65 years old).
“I am old and hoping to retire soon,” she said. “Don’t listen to these people. Everything that they say is a lie. I have never communicated with these people (Alleyne-Toppin) and I am always home. I go home every year, for a week, two weeks,” she said.
Told the reports were she was 13 or 14 when she became pregnant, Roselyn said:
“Wow!” I think I am being confused with somebody else,” adding she became pregnant when she had already finished school and was at home, helping her mother who used to bake things in order to earn an income to send her younger sibling to school. “As I keep telling you, everything they say is a lie. And they need to stop,” she said.
“I hear she is saying that he raped me for over four hours. That’s disgusting!” Roselyn said. Told Alleyne-Toppin had also stated she was kidnapped, Roselyn exclaimed: “What? Keith has to stop her because that is slandering somebody’s character.
And when she talks like that, she is making me sound like something that I am not. Wow! Kidnapped, raped and dumped,” she said.
Roselyn said in 2013 when her brother died, she returned to Tobago to attend the funeral. She said someone
came around, asking members of her family if she
(Alleyne-Toppin) and they were close, and “they were trying to persuade other family members to get me to sign false documents”.
She said she brushed off the whole event. “I thought that was over. I didn’t know these people still going around with this thing,” she said.
Asked what was the nature of her relationship with Alleyne-Toppin, who claimed to be a relative and therefore to have intimate details of her life,
Roselyn said: “Excuse me?” I am not related to that woman. We are not blood relatives.” She said there were many people with the same last name who were not related.
She said Alleyne-Toppin came to live in Charlotteville after her (Alleyne-Toppin) father moved there. She said it was a small village and everyone knew each other.
“But we never knew them as being related to us because we couldn’t draw any connecting lines between the two families,” she said.
She said when Alleyne-Toppin started elementary school, she (Alleyne-Toppin) and her (Roselyn’s) sister were in the same class and they also attended Bishop’s High School together. But, she maintained Alleyne-Toppin did not know her.
She said she comes home all the time and she never met the minister. She added her youngest daughter, who returned to Trinidad and Tobago after finishing university in Canada, lives here now.
“I realise these people are fishing but they are putting out the wrong bait to a whole country. And when you are fishing for something, you take stories from other people who may fabricate, but you have nothing to back it up,” she said.
Roselyn, who said she had no interest in political matters,
said Alleyne-Toppin was “slandering my name and it needs to stop. That is all I am interested in”. She said she was not angry.
“She is slandering me to get at Keith. Attack the person that you want to attack but don’t slander my name. And if you are trying to get back at someone, don’t lie. It becomes a boomerang and we know what boomerangs do.
“She has to apologise. And go and tell the public that the things that she has said are not true,” she said.
“My business is fixed. All my kids are grown up. And Vernella Alleyne-Toppin has nothing over me,” said Roselyn.
zoom rader wrote:Only African leader that doing kinda ok is Obama and that's because he's half white...
Sanctifier wrote:zoom rader wrote:Only African leader that doing kinda ok is Obama and that's because he's half white...
So only Obama's "white side" was able to contribute anything positive to his country's development?
SH!T... I've read some pretty stupid racist bullsh!t on this forum during election time but that is the most blatantly RACIST, ASSININE comment ever posted on 3ne 2nr.
It's just as "brilliant" as the bullsh!t posted about "using UNC ni**ers" by the ex-CDA pie-hole who got fired last week.
Take win, padna! Take win!...
The government does not find oil & gas.
The simply sell sized blocks of land or sea mass to private enterprises. It's up to the oil company to do research on finding any minerals.
One other point is that the government does not own any oil, they simply charged a tax on what comes out from the ground. Government does not have a team to look for oil.
Some companies withheld any findings to government untill they are ready to invest at the last minute ( business strategy) .
Redman wrote:The government does not find oil & gas.
The simply sell sized blocks of land or sea mass to private enterprises. It's up to the oil company to do research on finding any minerals.
One other point is that the government does not own any oil, they simply charged a tax on what comes out from the ground. Government does not have a team to look for oil.
Some companies withheld any findings to government untill they are ready to invest at the last minute ( business strategy) .
The bold parts are factually incorrect.
The GORTT through MOE awards licenses for blocks (onshore or offshore). The terms and conditions differ based on on shore /offshore and according to the type of license-Exploration and Prod License or a Production sharing contract.
The GORTT does not sell the acreage
While there a FEW OLD entities that I BELIEVE own the resource due to historical agreements...that pivot on the deed of ownership,
the rule of thumb is that the GORTT owns all the hydrocarbons and the the operator is paid to bring GORTT oil to surface.
Because of the quality of crude ....some of the East coast oil is bench marked against Brent and exported directly with GORTT collecting a royalty.
eliteauto wrote:rfari wrote:eliteauto, tell dem boy to pull the landdate file out
all dem fellas stop coming inside by me for meetings, now pass on meh bike and all Special Advisors/ Aides outside so meeting prob taking place
I willing to help dem for 75% of Rodney Charles salary WWGD PP?
Barbados - black (92.4%) or mixed (3.1%). 2.7% of the population is white and 1.3% South Asian. The remaining 0.4% of the population includes East Asians (0.1%) and Middle Easterners (0.1%)zoom rader wrote:Sanctifier wrote:zoom rader wrote:Only African leader that doing kinda ok is Obama and that's because he's half white...
So only Obama's "white side" was able to contribute anything positive to his country's development?
SH!T... I've read some pretty stupid racist bullsh!t on this forum during election time but that is the most blatantly RACIST, ASSININE comment ever posted on 3ne 2nr.
It's just as "brilliant" as the bullsh!t posted about "using UNC ni**ers" by the ex-CDA pie-hole who got fired last week.
Its not a matter of taking win and its not racist, its a fact.
Name me a black (afro) first world country.
zoom rader wrote:Sanctifier wrote:zoom rader wrote:Only African leader that doing kinda ok is Obama and that's because he's half white...
Habit7 wrote:Barbados - black (92.4%) or mixed (3.1%). 2.7% of the population is white and 1.3% South Asian. The remaining 0.4% of the population includes East Asians (0.1%) and Middle Easterners (0.1%)zoom rader wrote:Sanctifier wrote:zoom rader wrote:Only African leader that doing kinda ok is Obama and that's because he's half white...
But ZR rather than spin you want to say anything condemnatory about a certain person attempted to accuse another politician's father of rape, say children of rape are flawed, accuse them of rape/kidnapping/gang rape and dereliction of fatherhood?