Re: San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Postby TurboSingh12 » July 4th, 2016, 7:01 am

Nice .Always thought it had a cliff their

Postby gastly369 » July 4th, 2016, 7:16 am

Anddddddd we still playing Mario kart in South with the halfway highway.. barriers and cones

Postby RASC » July 4th, 2016, 9:15 am

Meanwhile in China

TriP

Postby TriP » September 4th, 2016, 10:25 pm

INVITATION TO TENDER- COMPLETION OF THE SOLOMON HOCHOY HIGHWAY EXTENSION TO POINT FORTIN PROJECT- CONTRACT 1: DUMFRIES ROAD TO ST MARY'S JUNCTION
1.jpg

abbow

Postby abbow » September 4th, 2016, 11:27 pm

when last anyone pass from Mondesir to Gr Tr????

look on your left when heading west...water is backed up and not flowing out....those engineers never took into consideration the natural watercourses that were there long before their book senses.....

silver stream rd, the one that passes via tunnel beneath the hw is flooded....its posing a health threat now to people living in the area...and i am almost sure not 1 fcuk will be done about it....

hate to say it...but it seems Kubs was right about alot of what he said....more to come....with the new batch of cont tractors who suppose to finish the works...

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Postby bluesclues » September 5th, 2016, 3:18 am

abbow wrote:when last anyone pass from Mondesir to Gr Tr????

look on your left when heading west...water is backed up and not flowing out....those engineers never took into consideration the natural watercourses that were there long before their book senses.....

silver stream rd, the one that passes via tunnel beneath the hw is flooded....its posing a health threat now to people living in the area...and i am almost sure not 1 fcuk will be done about it....

hate to say it...but it seems Kubs was right about alot of what he said....more to come....with the new batch of cont tractors who suppose to finish the works...

Lalala

De self coating de too accurate. de civil engineering di too on point. from page 49

after they spend the remaining money in the treasury the mang will come back and take that highway. after it pave, the road will erode until it become unusable and have to re-fix by jr sammy every monday morning. my issue with this hoghway is the proposed route is BS as an alternate route can be made, but most of all, the cost of the project is absolute bollocks robbery of the highest order. remind me of manning skyscrapers multiplying the price of doubles by 300% [/qoute]

And

bluesclues wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:I drove on the newly opened section today. Very nice. I am glad I don't have to do all that stupid merging again. Heading to Debe you have to take the road with the Point Fortin signage.

dont beat up, i looking forward to going boating down south and fishing inland lol

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 5th, 2016, 3:35 am

That page 52 debacle

bluesclues wrote:
joker wrote:
bluesclues wrote:after they spend the remaining money in the treasury the mang will come back and take that highway. after it pave, the road will erode until it become unusable and have to re-fix by jr sammy every monday morning. my issue with this hoghway is the proposed route is BS as an alternate route can be made, but most of all, the cost of the project is absolute bollocks robbery of the highest order. remind me of manning skyscrapers multiplying the price of doubles by 300%

you passed by a civil engineering class today or wah?

He sounds like our security guard at work.

But then I showed him a pic of the mosquito creek that there decades now and no mangrove take it back, no it eh sink into the ground and when he saw the sea on the next side of the wall he exclaim "bomboclatt, ollor south peeople mad yo! Driving on ah f**king road in sea! Not this ni*ga!"

jah say he want a mang dey and if yuh move it he go take it back lol

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/MAR ... &smobile=y

“I CANNOT live in a duck pond as a result of the highway,” declared Mohan Chatoor yesterday as he waded through flood water in Fyzabad. Chatoor was just one of the hundreds either marooned in their homes or stranded on the streets after heavy showers caused river banks to burst throughout the south-western peninsula. They had no hope of the waters subsiding by late evening as thousands of dollars were lost in soaked furniture and appliances. Many, including Chatoor, were left disappointed because all their Divali plans were squashed as they could not prepare meals or light deyas, which is customary for the festival. “This is the worst Divali ever,” they said. Chatoor, who lives at Chatoor Avenue, said: “For all the years we have been living here, nothing like this has ever happened. I cannot be living in a duck pond as a result of the highway,” referring to construction of the Solomon Hochoy Highway extension to Point Fortin. “I am a devout Hindu and we cannot study Divali right now. We might have to get floating deyas to light here. Who is compensating us?” Chatoor and other residents emphatically stated they were not supportive of the highway because they said its construction was to be blamed for the severe flooding.

and yes i got my masters at School of CS

ah still sounding like d security guard in work?

Don't have time to watch that vid but what you got your masters in sir?

Masters in CS - "Common Sense"

i studied geography in school and on my own over the years. i already know about soil composition, layers, tables and basins. id say i have a pretty sound understanding of how water works, how it travels through soils and how that relates to our water table. ive studied nature and natural events around the world for many years including our local flooding. based on all that ive learned.. add some good common sense and you'll figure out that there must be diverse effects including reclamation when a swamp is drained and sealed. because of something i call environmental balance. nature has a reason for doing things like setting up swamps where you have plans of building a housing or highway.

let me put it this way. nature always wins. things will balance out. if you take nature's swamp.. she will re-implement it again either in the same place or distribute the effects of the environmental change across diverse places. wherever is the easiest and quickest path for the water to take through soils underground, saturating them, raising the water table and cause exaggerated flooding perhaps where it never had flooding before and all. the water can no longer accumulate as nature expects it where the swamp was. it has to go somewhere. if it erodes the soil under structures, of course, gravity will then take it's effects on the surface when enough erosion due to dissolving particles etc. has occurred under the surface.

i dont think i need a masters to say that that is a very possible assessment based on the information about this highway i have been privy to and my private research on the topics surrounding the building of this highway. you dont move a swamp without regional side effects. that is an accepted fact in geological and environmental studies. that's how nature works. the swamp is there for a reason.

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2016, 5:55 am

Ent that area always used to flood?
In the not too distant past you couldn't even see the road after coming over the hill by national mining trace.
Have some pals used to go burn the herbs by the well there and it used to be inaccessible when hard rain fell.
I actually was doing a paper on it. One narrow bridge with a few cylinders under it to drain that entire area. On a good day water was level with the road.

abbow

Postby abbow » September 5th, 2016, 8:01 am

nervewrecker wrote:Ent that area always used to flood?
In the not too distant past you couldn't even see the road after coming over the hill by national mining trace.
Have some pals used to go burn the herbs by the well there and it used to be inaccessible when hard rain fell.
I actually was doing a paper on it. One narrow bridge with a few cylinders under it to drain that entire area. On a good day water was level with the road.

Na nerve, i living right there...i know where used to flood and where not.....if the sea tide is high it will flood until the tide lowers again....but...the water always run off....now with the hw there and the rainfall we have been getting lately, the water is staying and not going away....the smell of the rotting grass etc can tell you

take a drive through silver stream, pass beneath the tunnel...come up on the hw after and have a look.

most of forest reserve rainfall run off channels through there, as a natural watercourse aiming for the sea...

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » September 5th, 2016, 10:22 am

abbow wrote:when last anyone pass from Mondesir to Gr Tr????

Boi i pass and i cudnt tell which was the road from the river!

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 5th, 2016, 2:02 pm

abbow wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Ent that area always used to flood?

Na nerve, i living right there...i know where used to flood and where not.....if the sea tide is high it will flood until the tide lowers again....but...the water always run off....now with the hw there and the rainfall we have been getting lately, the water is staying and not going away....the smell of the rotting grass etc can tell you

take a drive through silver stream, pass beneath the tunnel...come up on the hw after and have a look.

most of forest reserve rainfall run off channels through there, as a natural watercourse aiming for the sea...

Bro i think u on tuner long enough. Post pics or a video na man. Leh we see those south ppl problems.

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2016, 4:53 pm

Flooding has increased over the last few years.
Main cause is litter.
Forest, Santa flora and Palo seco is riddled with garbage. It's no surprise waterways are clogged and water takes long to subside.
Some genius even decided to put up a stock pile in dehli road. As rain falls material go down the drain.
This morning on my way to work I noticed quite a few drains with water piled up before peoples residences. It just reinforces that nastiness causing flooding.

Blues, hush yuh kant. You said the highway causing flooding in mayaro.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 5th, 2016, 5:38 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Flooding has increased over the last few years.
Main cause is litter.
Forest, Santa flora and Palo seco is riddled with garbage. It's no surprise waterways are clogged and water takes long to subside.
Some genius even decided to put up a stock pile in dehli road. As rain falls material go down the drain.
This morning on my way to work I noticed quite a few drains with water piled up before peoples residences. It just reinforces that nastiness causing flooding.

Post sounds mighty defensive there bruh.

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2016, 6:34 pm

Not denying the unfinished project is not a cause.

abbow

Postby abbow » September 5th, 2016, 8:03 pm

The third pic there is a fully grown cow wading through the water.....those signs are alongside the road in pic 4, water covering there for about 3 weeks now....thats on the rightside of the hw, where uncle is , thats the leftside of the hw, where the tunnel opens for the rd...so the entire tunnel is like a big drain pipe.....

i know this area well and before the hw, water never stayed there longer than the high tide and the time it takes to flow to the sea...those pics were taken from on top the hw this evening...the flooding is more than half of that stretch of hw...and i've noticed a increase in the amount of mosquitoes that try to eat you alive by 7 pm
Last edited by abbow on September 5th, 2016, 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby K74T » September 5th, 2016, 8:09 pm

Lagoon life dey

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2016, 8:19 pm

IMG_20160905_090146.jpg

Palo seco today too.

No highway there.

Like I said, nastiness is a major cause but no doubt that the project contributing to this. Passed and looked at the area myself.
Before construction began there I think there was an instance where the road was under water for about 2 days.

Where that cow is was always lagoon. I remember looking at one in water that height already. There is / was a little road to drive into there (not sure if is where the highway pass) right after where the concrete cylinders were.
Had a guy staying in the house before with a black royal saloon. All that gone now.

I think everything after Ramlogan house gone.

Postby desifemlove » September 6th, 2016, 5:20 am

nervewrecker wrote:Flooding has increased over the last few years.
Main cause is litter.

yuh should be happy, yuh people getting nice road and ting.

Postby Redman » September 6th, 2016, 6:07 am

So...Kublalsingh warnings had merit.

Or is this part of the designed spec.
Water retention ponds.?

abbow

Postby abbow » September 6th, 2016, 7:24 am

Redman wrote:So...Kublalsingh warnings had merit.

Or is this part of the designed spec.
Water retention ponds.?

during the initial stages of the hw, i met with several of the Spanish speaking engineers and supervisors on the project......

and through their interpreters they were told about the watercourse and where the water flows from and to. other people did the same to protect their lands from being inundated by floods..what OAS did was back-fill lands close to the hw. Now, because the watercourse has changed and being blocked by the hw itself.......the end result is flooding.

dont get me wrong fellow tuners....as little kid growing up there, always had flood with continuous rainfall etc but it flowed out within a couple of hours...

the flooding there now is different....most of that area has been so for months and within the last few weeks, affecting the roads etc...

Postby Redman » September 6th, 2016, 7:35 am

Money spent
Project comprised and those with the responsibility are beyond our reach.

Sounds to.me like Kubs was dead right.

Ppl should hang for this.

Postby nervewrecker » September 7th, 2016, 7:25 pm

IMG_20160907_172259.jpg

IMG_20160907_172318.jpg

IMG_20160907_172113.jpg

IMG_20160907_172452.jpg

IMG_20160907_172456.jpg

IMG_20160907_172616.jpg
Last edited by nervewrecker on September 7th, 2016, 7:25 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby nervewrecker » September 7th, 2016, 7:31 pm

Why pics not uploading?

There is a channel under the highway for water to pass and seems people backfill the next side of the highway so now water has nowhere to flow.

Also seems the drains were silted.

Took a drive today.

Postby sMASH » September 7th, 2016, 9:19 pm

Redman wrote:Money spent
Project comprised and those with the responsibility are beyond our reach.

Sounds to.me like Kubs was dead right.

Ppl should hang for this.

i was saying the same thing kubs was, and ridiculed for it... too much damn engineering to pass the highway there and have it good, and it will still shift and need major repairs in short spans of time. the more viable route was more around the swamp low lands, a more direct route to pt fortain, rather than paralleling the present route. fraking unc idiots.

abbow

Postby abbow » September 7th, 2016, 10:50 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Why pics not uploading?

There is a channel under the highway for water to pass and seems people backfill the next side of the highway so now water has nowhere to flow.

Also seems the drains were silted.

Took a drive today.

ANSAD owns that fenced parcel of land and Trinidad Tent Rentals owns the piece which the road runs through. Both had drains in place when they did the leveling of their land. The natural watercourse was altered by the hw and no amount of drains will take that water out, that entire flat area is most likely sea level or lower....the engineers built those road-width drains deep beneath the hw, i think it was lower than the actual river that runs there...

Nerve...if what you say is the actual case....who the firetruck is responsible for the upkeep of this hw? No one cutting the bush on the sides self...saw a impact on a lamppost on the bend itself......

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2016, 5:38 am

Really heard ansad got a huge piece of land. The underground channel that is draining the land crosses there. Did not see where it comes out.
That expanse of land left bare will suffer from erosion in heavy rain and silt the channels. Flood is a must.

I stop, came out and had a look by the cows in the water. The black hollow cylinders for underground drainage not in use. They sitting there in the marsh. So drainage systems unfinished too. Better fete.

Came out amd took a look on both sides of the concrete arch under where the road passes.
The road is actually under the water level. Water nearest dehli road side has nowhere to run off. That and seems the road sunk.

On the next side (national mining trace) well seems someone dug a small drain parallel to the road real quick to alleviate what is taking place.

Now I'm not denying that land developments are not a contributing factor and the land is actually swamp but the public needs to see what abbow is saying. His pictures did not capture the info to show what is really taking place.

Yesterday the entrance to the highway in dehli road was under water as well. One little shower.
The drains are in fact silted from a land development right before it. So inconsiderate people are a cause too. But not on the scale like what I saw yesterday!

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2016, 5:39 am

IMG_20160907_172259.jpg

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2016, 5:41 am

IMG_20160907_172113.jpg

IMG_20160907_172031.jpg

IMG_20160907_172025.jpg