:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nervewrecker » December 13th, 2012, 10:05 pm

It looks like this have 2 washer. I think I seeing one behind and one in front.

Postby nervewrecker » December 13th, 2012, 10:10 pm

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » December 14th, 2012, 7:22 pm

Anywhere sells metalworking tools? Want to get a shrinker/ stretcher.

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » December 19th, 2012, 2:41 pm

Where can I buy something like this?

I've already checked L&G and Peakes

Thanks

Postby pioneer » December 19th, 2012, 9:13 pm

^I ordered one tru Raptor...picking it up this weekend $280

Ideal for washing/detailing car wheels/bumpers...when yuh reach my age tings does start to seize up in yuh back

Postby X_Factor » December 19th, 2012, 9:16 pm

^yuh get the table saw yet?

Postby pioneer » December 19th, 2012, 9:28 pm

Nah nuh yet

Postby supercharged turbo » December 20th, 2012, 9:51 pm

Where sells Craftsman mechanic tool set locally or is it cheaper to bring it in?

Postby Hook » December 21st, 2012, 1:58 am

Hook wrote:Well it's to be able to use a 31/64" bit, but I'm not getting any locally with a reduced end for a 3/8" chuck, so that's why I'm exploring the possibility of just changing the chuck.

If I could get this, that'll be awesome.

This is why I hate calling around and speaking to people that don't know tools.
A trip to get some wood filler and cabinet handles revealed that Bhagwansingh's had it all along. :roll:

Postby pioneer » December 21st, 2012, 10:25 pm

It have plenty 3/16" drywall screws smarter than people workin in dem hardware.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » December 31st, 2012, 11:59 am

I see PriceSmart has air/compressor hose.

Anyone using it or familiar with it yet?

Xplode

Postby Xplode » December 31st, 2012, 12:21 pm

Heading to Harbor Freight Tools in Miami by next week

wife brought back a catalog ,some good prices
SDC14288.JPG
SDC14287.JPG
SDC14286.JPG
SDC14283.JPG

Postby X_Factor » December 31st, 2012, 1:29 pm

prices are good
dont expect the quality to be top notch
they may work well for a weekend DIY person

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 31st, 2012, 1:45 pm

HF tools are what one calls "one time use". Don't expect a $10 grinder to last very long.

Accept them for what they are and you'll be fine.

Expecting quality and durability at those prices would be foolish.

I have a HF heat gun and airbrush compressor years now that work marvellously at the price i paid for them so be mindful of how you use HF tools.

I see Ramlagans have a HF polisher for $800+ :lol: It costs $30US at HF.

Yuh takin orders?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 31st, 2012, 6:19 pm

^ ^ ^ Tool quality... Over the last eight years I bought almost everything (new and used) on-line through eBay... and delivered to my home via ECouriers. In most cases, these are "top quality" tools...at rock bottom prices! e.g --->
Sanctifier wrote:Used Car-O-Liner frame machine with 2 pulling arms and ALL attachments... PLUS Car-O-Mech Measuring System.
(Price is so low I don't want to say on-line... Thank you Dave Shelby and the guys from Illinois, USA.)

Used Kellog 5 hp, 2-stage, 80 gal vertical compressor...PLUS Arrow refrigerated air dryer (US $530 + shipping.)

New HTP 240 amp MIG welder for 30% discount...

New 20", variable speed, metal-working drill-press (US $500.) BTW a similar Jet (Asian) with extra electronic controls, sold for nearly TT $42,000 five years ago!...

New sand-blasting pressure pot (US $123)...

New Cyclone sand-blast cabinet (US $499)...

New 48" bending brake (US $200)...

"Slightly brused" top quality Kennedy 52" tool cabinet (US $600)...

and top quality air tools like Hutchins... and hand tools like Snap On breaker bar and Petersen vice grips.
Link--> THE ASYLUM!... Workshops & Tools for DIY MadMen.

If not for eBay, I couldn't afford a QUARTER of what I bought in the last year alone. eBay works for me.

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2nrs... and be safe over the holiday!

My $0.02¢

Postby pioneer » December 31st, 2012, 7:46 pm

Xplode wrote:Heading to Harbor Freight Tools in Miami by next week

wife brought back a catalog ,some good prices

Ask her to get you a catalog for best buy, walmart, target, brandsmart and focus mainly on the camera section.

Shio

Postby Shio » January 3rd, 2013, 5:06 pm

pugboy wrote:Installed 3 of the wall control peg boards

where all yuh getting this peg board to buy?

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 7th, 2013, 5:48 pm

Not really a tool but i got one of these for myself and about 200 marbles for target practice.

3/8 steel slugs on the way.

Aftermath Kavia Elite $16

http://www.amazon.com/Aftermath-Kavia-Elite-Sport-Slingshot/dp/B0041G9SOI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1357594966&sr=8-1&keywords=kavia+elite+slingshot

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 7th, 2013, 9:06 pm

Guys you all know where I might be able to buy an oil barrel pump locally? 55 gallon barrel...

Postby X_Factor » January 7th, 2013, 9:07 pm

farfan

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 7th, 2013, 10:04 pm

Thanks!

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2013, 1:31 pm

Does anyone know where in trini you can get an engine stand?

Postby pioneer » January 12th, 2013, 2:05 pm

try ftfarfan?

aidan

Postby aidan » February 9th, 2013, 12:37 am

Looking for an air compressor. Any recommendations? Gonna use it to do some painting and probably use a nail gun too.

Also, what you all think of the Powerstroke pressure washer in pricesmart? The gas powered one with the honda motor.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 9th, 2013, 1:29 pm

Powerstroke is owned by Techtronic Industries, the same Chinese company that owns Milwaukee, AEG and Ryobi, so it's not going to be rubbish.

One of their generators was reviewed by Popular Mechanics and a few other tool sites some time back and it got excellent reviews. Hopefully this extends to all their products.

As for the compressor, stick with Pricesmart for a reasonably priced one.

aidan

Postby aidan » February 9th, 2013, 2:07 pm

^^Thanks for the feedback. I saw Pricesmart has some kawasaki compressors. I have a kawasaki drill and impact wrench that going strong for years, thinking it might be a good buy.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 9th, 2013, 9:42 pm

aidan wrote:Looking for an air compressor. Any recommendations? Gonna use it to do some painting and probably use a nail gun too.

Also, what you all think of the Powerstroke pressure washer in pricesmart? The gas powered one with the honda motor.

You could also try Khanico Ltd in Gasparillo.... They have Puma air compressors... much better quality than the kawasaki and the other pricemart brand.
I believe Puma's factory manufactures IR.
Another thing to consider is replacement parts... khanico have everything for their pneumatic line.

To be honest the best gas pressure is the Ridgid, its very expensive but it could take jammin
the Karcher is also another great gas pressure washer think the 3000psi goes for 2000 around there.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 9th, 2013, 10:12 pm

^^ their price real good too... forgot to mention that

Postby nervewrecker » February 16th, 2013, 1:35 pm

anyone ever bought these stuff or used them:

http://www.amazon.com/Dremel-225-01-Fle ... ccessories

trying to make up my mind between these three too:

http://www.amazon.com/Dremel-231-Shaper ... ccessories

http://www.amazon.com/Dremel-335-01-Plu ... ccessories

http://www.amazon.com/Dremel-678-01-Cir ... ccessories

I'm kinda limiting myself with the last though. Most I might need them for is to make some really small cuts in some thin sheets (wood, polycarbonate, acrylic etc) and maybe countersink a few or just cut into them (not straight through).
The first is a must have but I just wondering if anyone has them and worked with them already.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 16th, 2013, 3:21 pm

dremel is a pretty good product.
how much they go for now? last time it was like 900$ in dansteel if i can remember properly