copper_shot

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby copper_shot » August 17th, 2010, 12:25 pm

what can i do about my direct tv?
i'm using the regular video rca that came with it

i'm not impressed with the picture quality at all, seems a little fuzzy to me on the 52"

dvds and blu ray play perfect

if i were to change to a better rca cable would it be noticeable?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 17th, 2010, 12:28 pm

^ yes IMO it should be

Postby X_Factor » August 17th, 2010, 12:56 pm

copper_shot
direct tv uses component or composite?
if u want the amazon cable i hav for ah 50$ lemme know
which is give away!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 17th, 2010, 1:27 pm

16 cycles wrote:http://www.headphone.com/headphones/akg-k-240-mk-ii.php

^ have a pair of these from AKG as well as two others from same manufacturer....(one pair ~ 8 years and going)

does not require amplification, very smooth and does not 'tire' you for long listening periods.

these aren't 'closed' (no acoustic seal) and are very comfortable.....

thanks! will read some more reviews onit

I am looking for open cans anyway. I'll be listening to them at home so environmental noise is not an issue.

no amplification needed is a plus, though I realise the really good headphones require an amp.
And I have to admit the tube amps for headphones are hella cool!!!!

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » August 17th, 2010, 2:13 pm

X_Factor wrote:copper_shot
direct tv uses component or composite?
if u want the amazon cable i hav for ah 50$ lemme know
which is give away!

composite

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 17th, 2010, 4:00 pm

got some cable (like for cable TV)
like this

is this good for video/audio RCA use?

what about as speaker wire?

Postby X_Factor » August 29th, 2010, 11:31 pm

so i got my mediabridge hdmi cable today and wow is sweet!
its about 3 times thicker than the present one i use
i cant wait to try it tmr and "see" if i notice a difference

btw, now i hav 3 sets of amazon basics component cables and a pair of cheap hdmi to sell off really cheap anyone wants hit me a pm
i got some monster cables component and composite that im not using as well but will hold on to those for now

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 2nd, 2010, 3:38 pm

Check this out
http://www.worldinhidef.com/ps3ms/thumbnailgenerator/

For those of you who backup or copy the digital copy of your discs to your hard drive you can now create great thumbnails for the movie files to be used in your Media Server interface.

just did this one for the digital copy of my Alice in Wonderland bluray disc
cover.png
cover.png (146.61 KiB) Viewed 3064 times

Postby X_Factor » September 2nd, 2010, 11:00 pm

^ yuh buy the headphones yet
give us a review when u do

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 2nd, 2010, 11:32 pm

^ nah not yet, money lil tight right now since the wife insist that we MUST buy a better couch set NOW NOW NOW!

any suggestions?
There is a blue, all reclining 3pc sofa set in Standards Grand Bazaar.
I like that it's all reclining for the home theater and I like the fact that it's microfibre and comfy, but it's... blue

ah mean I doh fraid colour, hell the wall the TV is on is blue and the current couch and carpet are orange, but blue??

anyone see anything interesting in seating furniture, reasonably priced that works well in a HT environment that doubles as a living room?

Postby X_Factor » September 3rd, 2010, 6:11 am

nah, u on ur own there

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 3rd, 2010, 11:30 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ nah not yet, money lil tight right now since the wife insist that we MUST buy a better couch set NOW NOW NOW!

any suggestions?
I like that it's all reclining for the home theater and I like the fact that it's microfibre and comfy, but it's... blue

ah mean I doh fraid colour, hell the wall the TV is on is blue and the current couch and carpet are orange, but blue??

anyone see anything interesting in seating furniture, reasonably priced that works well in a HT environment that doubles as a living room?

Check out Fen's in Marabella...have some reallllllll good stuff. (the branch by the roundabout).

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 3rd, 2010, 12:17 pm

dadio wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ nah not yet, money lil tight right now since the wife insist that we MUST buy a better couch set NOW NOW NOW!

any suggestions?

Check out Fen's in Marabella...have some reallllllll good stuff. (the branch by the roundabout).

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 3rd, 2010, 12:23 pm

^ I checked them earlier in the year - will see if they got new stuff recently

Postby noshownogo » September 3rd, 2010, 12:45 pm

Signature selection in Trincity industrial estate have some nice pieces but the pricing on the high end.

I saw a chocolate brown set, all with reclining backs and leg support, on the three seater sofa you can fold down the back of the middle for cups and plates and then the armrest acts as storage for remotes.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 3rd, 2010, 1:05 pm

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » September 3rd, 2010, 2:26 pm

went by fens about 2 months ago, most of the good stuff sold out
they were expecting some new stuff in 2-3 months time

i got a set from signature collection, ultra comfortable ashley set
brown microfibre

ah love it

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 4th, 2010, 8:15 am

Circuitzone had some like what raptor posted a while ago,you might wanna check them out as well.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » September 4th, 2010, 9:02 am

zone doesnt have anymore and hes not bringing any again..

courts has crap
so does standards and singer

only fens & signature had the good stuff

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 4th, 2010, 12:57 pm

While I'd love to get something that works like home theater furniture, this also has to double as a sitting room and would require a couch set (arm chair, love seat, couch)

the one I saw was like this, where all the seats reclines except for the center seat of the 3 seat sofa

honestly though I prefer modern design

though modern furniture is often not the most comfortable

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 4th, 2010, 6:40 pm

Anyone here looked @ Master And Commander-The Far Side of the World yet? been reading that it boast some of the best audio on blu ray to make your HT work like a biatch!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2010, 3:23 pm

^ yup blu-ray.com gave it a good review, especially the audio
http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Master-and-Commander-Blu-ray/201/

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 5th, 2010, 10:37 pm

^watched it,some scenes even i thought my room was taking in water,lol.great movie.

Anton

Postby Anton » September 6th, 2010, 10:05 am

UMR in Debe carries lots of options for HT furniture. Their prices are very competitive to court and standards.

haterforever

Postby haterforever » September 6th, 2010, 1:11 pm

supertech have an 32'' AOC L32W961 for 4000. anyone have any experience with these compared to the other lcd tvs available. its mainly for cable, movies and ps3

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 6th, 2010, 9:07 pm

haterforever wrote:supertech have an 32'' AOC L32W961 for 4000. anyone have any experience with these compared to the other lcd tvs available. its mainly for cable, movies and ps3
read the reviews and compare http://www.amazon.com/AOC-L32W961-32-Inch-720p-HDTV/dp/B002VY3PCS

IMO at 32" you do not need 1080p. The screen is too small for you notice a difference between 720p and 1080p and 720p will be cheaper.

I'd go with Samsung but at this size its not really a big deal with brands or PQ as we aren't talking reference quality screens here

One thing to note though: a 60Hz TV is going to suck as playing fast moving action games esp if the response time is also low

otherwise check the warranty they offer and go brave

haterforever

Postby haterforever » September 6th, 2010, 10:30 pm

i went and bought a sony bravia 32'' at the wizz instead. it lookin bess so far. but flow is crap as usual.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 6th, 2010, 10:44 pm

wrt time alignment, how to position my speakers? not seeing any articles on this

Postby crazybalhead » September 7th, 2010, 6:11 am

Duane, I tell yuh where to go to get decent furniture.

ruffneck, I don't understand the question.

Front speakers should be facing forward and slightly toed in. The center should fase you.

Dipole/ bipole surrounds should have the null point facing your main listening position.

Surrounds (5.1) should be slightly behind the listening position and facing slightly forward.

Rear surrounds (7.1) should be placed similar to your front speakers, but behind.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 7th, 2010, 6:37 am

^ i'm thinking ruffneck is speaking about how far apart in feet or so both FL,C and FR speakers should be from each other.