COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 154 cases, 8 deaths, 128 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » July 29th, 2020, 3:21 pm

Penguin wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Terrence say learn to live with the covid....so live with it

So what was the point of the lockdowns from March to June?

He explained that that was necessary as 19000 ppl came in before the borders closed which generated a lot of cases (much more than we are getting now) which would have spiraled into widespread community spread if we hadn't locked down,
also i think it was also to buy time to improve contact tracing & testing & quarantine facilities

remember those 19000 ppl would have gone home at the time- not taken to state quarantine as we didn't have the capacity then, which means that those infected would have in turn infected their families, creating hundreds of family clusters. also no security means any number of them could have gone out in public.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 156 cases, 8 deaths, 128 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » July 29th, 2020, 3:25 pm

^which is why i'm wondering why local cases are not in state quarantine- one case infected their entire family, all of whom now had to go into the hospital which would now take away capacity, and by extension limit the number of returning nationals that can be accepted.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » July 29th, 2020, 3:28 pm

ST Auto wrote:InterestingIMG-20200729-WA0037.jpeg

Anand Low Price isn't closed. We made a call there and were told that is a rumour. They are open as normal

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 29th, 2020, 3:33 pm

redmanjp wrote:^which is why i'm wondering why local cases are not in state quarantine- one case infected their entire family, all of whom now had to go into the hospital which would now take away capacity, and by extension limit the number of returning nationals that can be accepted.

Well they would have space in hilton if not for CPL.

Postby redmanjp » July 29th, 2020, 3:50 pm

Musical Doc wrote:
ST Auto wrote:InterestingIMG-20200729-WA0037.jpeg

Anand Low Price isn't closed. We made a call there and were told that is a rumour. They are open as normal

and according to their ad it's frequently cleaned and sanitized environment

[autotune]aaaahnan low price is d nummmbah one![/autotune] :mrgreen:

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » July 29th, 2020, 3:52 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:^which is why i'm wondering why local cases are not in state quarantine- one case infected their entire family, all of whom now had to go into the hospital which would now take away capacity, and by extension limit the number of returning nationals that can be accepted.

Well they would have space in hilton if not for CPL.

Atlantic LNG is using Hilton to quarantine their employees on a rotation basis

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » July 29th, 2020, 4:00 pm

Hmm
Screenshot_20200729-160026.jpeg

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2020, 4:06 pm

we getting cases far and wide on a daily basis

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 154 cases, 8 deaths, 128 discharged in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 29th, 2020, 4:07 pm

ST Auto wrote:Hmm
Screenshot_20200729-160026.jpeg
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
K74T wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Massy paints located at tumpuna south was just shutdown. Worker displayed symptoms

You mean Penta Paints. There is no "Massy Paints".

ansa coatings to be exact

Postby goalpost » July 29th, 2020, 4:16 pm

Is this a new case?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 29th, 2020, 4:17 pm

pugboy wrote:we getting cases far and wide on a daily basis

Almost like there's community spread

Postby maj. tom » July 29th, 2020, 4:26 pm

i don't understand how it got into the community. Either some people broke their mandatory quarantine when they were excepted to come through the border, or there are insidious illegal immigration carriers who spreading it unchecked as we speak.

After all that diligence we all had to go through earlier this year which worked as planned too, it just take 1 a$shole to fcuk it up.

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2020, 4:50 pm

you answering yourself

maj. tom wrote:i don't understand how it got into the community. Either some people broke their mandatory quarantine when they were excepted to come through the border, or there are insidious illegal immigration carriers who spreading it unchecked as we speak.

After all that diligence we all had to go through earlier this year which worked as planned too, it just take 1 a$shole to fcuk it up.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » July 29th, 2020, 4:58 pm

More testing stations need to be set up I believe. contact tracing not going to help

Postby redmanjp » July 29th, 2020, 5:17 pm

ST Auto wrote:More testing stations need to be set up I believe. contact tracing not going to help

also are they testing ppl at home? because they tell ppl 'stay home if you are sick' but come out to get tested. Imagine you don't have a car so u use public transport to and from- u infecting random ppl and what's worse contact tracing cannot help here unless every taxi/maxi records your name/contact number, or as I suggested. Government immediately implements contact tracing apps.

but they need to have at home testing to avoid this risk.

Postby paid_influencer » July 29th, 2020, 5:18 pm

Shut down the country NOW.

The contact tracers are fighting a losing battle. Each contact is moving about in the society, generating more new cases and more new contacts. If we LOCK DOWN NOW - the contacts become limited and tracing & quarantine can actually work.

LOCK DOWN THE DAMN PLACE NOW ALLYUH DOTISH MF.
Last edited by paid_influencer on July 29th, 2020, 5:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 29th, 2020, 5:20 pm

Don't touch fuel dispensers, NP urges customers after virus surge

Customers filling up at NP's gas stations are being advised to avoid touching the fuel dispensers is possible and seek the assistance of attendants.

The company shared a statement to its Facebook page on Monday following a recent uptick in confirmed COVID-19 cases.

'NP wishes to advise the public that as part of its response to minimise the risk of exposure to the coronavirus (COVID-19), please be guided as follows:

'Avoid touching the fuel dispensers and seek the assistance of forecourt attendants.

'Make full use of the disposable gloves, once available. If no gloves are available at the service station, and/or if using the self-service option, please ensure you sanitize your hands after use of the fuel dispenser.

The company thanked customers for their understanding.

On Wednesday (July 29), the Ministry of Health confirmed two more cases of the virus - one person is a primary contact of another positive case, while another was said to have interacted with a positive case.

As of July 29 at 10.45 am, there were 19 COVID-19 patients at hospital - 18 at Caura Hospital and one patient at the Couva Hospital and Multi-Training Facility.

https://www.looptt.com/content/dont-tou ... irus-surge

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2020, 5:21 pm

not with elections

paid_influencer wrote:Shut down the country NOW.

The contact tracers are fighting a losing battle. Each contact is moving about as normal, generating a more new contacts to trace. If we LOCK DOWN NOW - the contacts become limited and tracing & quarantine can actually work.

LOCK DOWN THE DAMN PLACE NOW ALLYUH DOTISH MF

Postby stev » July 29th, 2020, 5:25 pm

the gas stations i usually go to in central all have signs 'no bare hands on pump' but nobody adhering to the rules....NP workings never enforced them either....pump attendants probably don't want to deal with the ignorant citizens.

these signs were up as early as March

Postby Chimera » July 29th, 2020, 5:42 pm

Mad rush for medical supplies start back today. About 15 different people call for non contact thermometers today. About 300 total. I had 5 lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 29th, 2020, 5:59 pm

stev wrote:the gas stations i usually go to in central all have signs 'no bare hands on pump' but nobody adhering to the rules....NP workings never enforced them either....pump attendants probably don't want to deal with the ignorant citizens.

these signs were up as early as March

If I was paid $17 an hour you feel I was going to tell ignorant people how to behave?

I hadda be a real arse to do that.

Postby Dave » July 29th, 2020, 6:03 pm

Last time someone did that he get real beat down by a gangster.

Postby sMASH » July 29th, 2020, 6:19 pm

LEAVE D DAMN COUNTRY WHERE IT IS.
secure the susceptible, go about ur business, let this ting ride tru.

locking down does nothing but kill the economy and people finances, and delay the spread. Spread WILL happen as long as someone has it and comes here. u cant keep ratcheting the country every time u get a bump.

our unofficial practices, is more or less in line with sweden's official practices, and their rate of transmission is leveled out, inspite of world trending upwards still.

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2020, 6:35 pm

sweden’s model hasn’t proven to be any great success

even so our population is a very badly behaved bunch, rates would increase dramatically
and well not to mention the vene factor

sMASH wrote:LEAVE D DAMN COUNTRY WHERE IT IS.
secure the susceptible, go about ur business, let this ting ride tru.

locking down does nothing but kill the economy and people finances, and delay the spread. Spread WILL happen as long as someone has it and comes here. u cant keep ratcheting the country every time u get a bump.

our unofficial practices, is more or less in line with sweden's official practices, and their rate of transmission is leveled out, inspite of world trending upwards still.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 29th, 2020, 6:43 pm

The fine for not wearing a mask in public should be $2000 TTD and or 6 months in Jail.

The fine for littering should be $100,000 and 5 years in Jail.

Second time caught littering the death penalty.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 29th, 2020, 6:43 pm

a lot of companies an employees done lock dong for quarantine for 14 days so might was well close the entire country and let we starve off the virus again. i wonder if they targeting pnm supporters an companies so they wont be able to vote or they targeting unc supporters to stop votes.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 29th, 2020, 6:46 pm

screwbash wrote:a lot of companies an employees done lock dong for quarantine for 14 days so might was well close the entire country and let we starve off the virus again. i wonder if they targeting pnm supporters an companies so they wont be able to vote or they targeting unc supporters to stop votes.

The fine for spreading conspiracy theories like this should be $200,000 and 10 years in Jail.

Second time caught doing this the death penalty.

Anybody caught saying the Earth is Flat should face the same penalty.

I would ask you to please leave these kind of conspiracy theories to people like Tucker Carlson and Richard MadCow sorry I mean Rachel Maddow of MSNBC (More Sh!t Nothing But Crap)

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 29th, 2020, 6:54 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
screwbash wrote:a lot of companies an employees done lock dong for quarantine for 14 days so might was well close the entire country and let we starve off the virus again. i wonder if they targeting pnm supporters an companies so they wont be able to vote or they targeting unc supporters to stop votes.

The fine for spreading conspiracy theories like this should be $200,000 and 10 years in Jail.

Second time caught doing this the death penalty.

Anybody caught saying the Earth is Flat should face the same penalty.

I would ask you to please leave these kind of conspiracy theories to people like Tucker Carlson and Richard MadCow sorry I mean Rachel Maddow of MSNBC (More Sh!t Nothing But Crap)
49u3o6.jpg

Postby maj. tom » July 29th, 2020, 6:54 pm

what it is with you and flat earth?

Postby bluefete » July 29th, 2020, 6:59 pm

I am hearing a piece of madness from a school.

One of the recent positives has an SEA child at home.

The school contacted the authorities and was ALLEGEDLY told that the child is not primary or secondary but tertiary contact.

So don't call us, we will call you.

WTH???