PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

NR8

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby NR8 » January 21st, 2015, 1:00 pm

Yep straight to skybox. I was a bit skeptical as last week was the first time I ordered from them but everything went smoothly. Their free shipping with UPS is really fast too. I ordered that case real late last night and it already shipped out this morning. The stuff I bought last week reached Miami in 3 days so I'm hoping this does too.

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 21st, 2015, 1:22 pm

lost to all wrote:catering $3000 for total cost after shipping.

need your opinion people

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... CatId=7718

Oh sheit, I now watch that thing carefully. That's almost a full on gaming rig, the parts I posted can't compare with that :lol: I guess when I saw it say barebones on my phone I thought it was a budget build. My bad.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » January 21st, 2015, 1:58 pm

NR8 wrote:
lost to all wrote:catering $3000 for total cost after shipping.

need your opinion people

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... CatId=7718

Oh sheit, I now watch that thing carefully. That's almost a full on gaming rig, the parts I posted can't compare with that :lol: I guess when I saw it say barebones on my phone I thought it was a budget build. My bad.

you had me second guessing myself they yes, I had considered an APU config, but I want to go with a the more traditional cp/gpu config, this seems like a good deal to me. Package weight is about 25lbs so we looking at 3200 for total after shipping and as for the ram I want to go with a 8gb 1600/1866 mhz kit (ripjaw looks good). I have an intel 40gb ssd and an original copy of windows 7 to install on it, for storage might get a 500gb later on. Ok so I will leave out the water cooling for now I guess as I am not really into OC'ing. So including the ram we looking at 3700 total.

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 21st, 2015, 2:14 pm

Yeah it really does seem like a good deal. Only downside is the PSU tho, kinda low on power. If you plan on adding other parts later on you might want to take that into consideration, especially a GPU.

You ever bought anything from tigerdirect before?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » January 21st, 2015, 3:41 pm

no I haven't but I don't have any reservations buying from them, surprised I never saw anyone mention them at all in the thread. You can pay through paypal, google wallet, credit card, even your amazon account.

Postby skylinechild » January 21st, 2015, 5:33 pm

lost to all wrote:no I haven't but I don't have any reservations buying from them, surprised I never saw anyone mention them at all in the thread. You can pay through paypal, google wallet, credit card, even your amazon account.

bought from them already.
they stopped processing my order cause my C card was outside of the us - even though their site says they can accept credit card world wide.

they said my billing address doesn't match my C card has on file for me.
just be sure your skybox address is also on your credit card an u good to go.

I ALWAYS had to call them to verify my credit card info before they process my order.. don't kno if its easier now with all those payment methods you mentioned....who knows.

you need to create an account with them before you can order though.
you can also order by phone - don't know if you can Skype them a call and order your parts like that. :!:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 21st, 2015, 7:54 pm

NR8 wrote:Yeah it really does seem like a good deal. Only downside is the PSU tho, kinda low on power. If you plan on adding other parts later on you might want to take that into consideration, especially a GPU.

@lost to all:

To add to this, the Ultra line of power supplies are very reliable and long lasting (personal experience).

It has a 6 and 8 pin connector which would be sufficient for a lot of cards nowadays since the new stuff better performance wise and using less power.

The liquid cooling not necessary not only because of lack of overclocking but also because the fx line of processors run very cool at idle and load. A moderate overclock can be handled easily by the stock heatsink/fan. A common aftermarket heatsink/fan is the coolermaster hyper 212+ u can get locally for abt $250 so u can get that when you want to experiment with the cpu or keep it for future platform upgrades.

If you're getting 1866mhz ddr3 for a few $ more than a 1600mhz then go for it because if you end up building an amd apu system the built in graphics will benefit greatly from the faster RAM speed.

Real nice deal on the barebones dey doh, i always liked Tigerdirect for their selection on those types of systems.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » January 22nd, 2015, 11:24 am

Thanks guys for all the info and advice, I had a hyper 212+ heatsink and fan on my last build, but sold it when I scrapped the system, will go for 1866 if I decide to do this build, those barebones from tigerdirect are really good, they have intel i7 barebones as well :) , will look at there pricing on those also.

@skylinechild

Hope I don't encounter any difficulties if and when buying from them, did you get the rebate for the item or does that only apply to US citizens?

Postby DVSTT » January 22nd, 2015, 1:13 pm

Got my laptop fan changed finally. The kant that repaired it scratched the lid up ridiculously bad. Also 4 of the screws are missing from the bottom cover. Steups.

Postby ismithx » January 22nd, 2015, 1:57 pm

DVSTT wrote:Got my laptop fan changed finally. The kant that repaired it scratched the lid up ridiculously bad. Also 4 of the screws are missing from the bottom cover. Steups.

Should have come by me then

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 22nd, 2015, 2:06 pm

Where'd you get it repaired DVSTT?

Postby skylinechild » January 22nd, 2015, 2:13 pm

ismithx wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Got my laptop fan changed finally. The kant that repaired it scratched the lid up ridiculously bad. Also 4 of the screws are missing from the bottom cover. Steups.

or me...

*sigh..is it soo hard to work on a laptop on a soft but firm surface.??

DVSTT if u like I have laptop screws let me kno an I will giv u replacement ones - just need to know the size and thread pitch...a pic will help as well.

lost to all wrote:Thanks guys for all the info and advice, I had a hyper 212+ heatsink and fan on my last build, but sold it when I scrapped the system, will go for 1866 if I decide to do this build, those barebones from tigerdirect are really good, they have intel i7 barebones as well :) , will look at there pricing on those also.

@skylinechild

Hope I don't encounter any difficulties if and when buying from them, did you get the rebate for the item or does that only apply to US citizens?

rebate wise iirc the rebate is given when you check out so if item is 35USD and u get rebated $5 off it'll reflect the new total when you ready to pay.

Other type of rebate I know they offer if you fill out some stuff they give you - you have a specific timeframe to do this - and mail it back to them - and they giv you the rebate.

I not sure if the rebate will be credited to your tiger direct account or if they mail the cash to the same address you shipped your items.

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 22nd, 2015, 3:18 pm

need some guidance here on new system really cant choose between z97 and x99 v3

these are the boards i'm looking at i think z97 would best suit my needs but x99 seems so beasty lol.
i really want to be able to run 4 cards without need for risers and run full xfire/sli(if i ever go green)
the z97 ws supports 4 pcie 3.0 8x which is pretty cool if i get my r9 280x's sold i plan to get 3 290x on ebay as the prices have come down alot.
my existing setup was too much trouble to get 3 cards working,
so this time i want to be able to plug in 3 or 4 cards with no problems.

1. Asus z97 ws

2.Asus rampage v extreme

or the third option i stay with 1155 until skylake and buy

3. asus maximus v extreme

Postby DVSTT » January 22nd, 2015, 3:20 pm

NR8 wrote:Where'd you get it repaired DVSTT?

A tech I got through my uncle, needless to say first and last time I'm using the person.

Postby DVSTT » January 22nd, 2015, 3:21 pm

skylinechild wrote:
ismithx wrote:

or me...

*sigh..is it soo hard to work on a laptop on a soft but firm surface.??

DVSTT if u like I have laptop screws let me kno an I will giv u replacement ones - just need to know the size and thread pitch...a pic will help as well.

lost to all wrote:Thanks guys for all the info and advice, I had a hyper 212+ heatsink and fan on my last build, but sold it when I scrapped the system, will go for 1866 if I decide to do this build, those barebones from tigerdirect are really good, they have intel i7 barebones as well :) , will look at there pricing on those also.

@skylinechild

rebate wise iirc the rebate is given when you check out so if item is 35USD and u get rebated $5 off it'll reflect the new total when you ready to pay.

Other type of rebate I know they offer if you fill out some stuff they give you - you have a specific timeframe to do this - and mail it back to them - and they giv you the rebate.

I not sure if the rebate will be credited to your tiger direct account or if they mail the cash to the same address you shipped your items.

Thanks bro, I'll post up pics next chance I get.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 22nd, 2015, 4:26 pm

I does fix laptops on d bed :lol: Good lighting and a nice white sheet does help in managing where the screws end up when you take them out.

Bought a server setup minus case last year cuz i don't really have much experience with server setups. Tyan dual socket amd socket F ting.

Guy was using it as a NAS but i wanna experiment a bit and see what i would really use it for. Came with two dual core opteron cpus but i ordered two quad core opterons for it for a lil performance boost. Gonna liquid cool them along with a gtx 570 that already set up in the case, should be interesting. :P

Postby 16 cycles » January 22nd, 2015, 4:43 pm

Postby skylinechild » January 22nd, 2015, 7:35 pm

HCCA wrote:I does fix laptops on d bed :lol: Good lighting and a nice white sheet does help in managing where the screws end up when you take them out.

i usually fix a laptop right on my living room table but i use a small sheet of styrofoam to rest the laptop on - depending on what i'm doing.

screw management is easy a couple styrofoam cups labelled case, keyboard, screen etc keeps all relevant screws safe an accounted for 8-)

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 22nd, 2015, 7:48 pm

skylinechild wrote:
HCCA wrote:I does fix laptops on d bed :lol: Good lighting and a nice white sheet does help in managing where the screws end up when you take them out.

i usually fix a laptop right on my living room table but i use a small sheet of styrofoam to rest the laptop on - depending on what i'm doing.

screw management is easy a couple styrofoam cups labelled case, keyboard, screen etc keeps all relevant screws safe an accounted for 8-)

I have a huge dining set that i doh use that i can use to fix the pcs but since my other systems are in one of my bedrooms i more comfortable in here. Plus it have a bright chandelier right above it which is more than enuff light for the darkest night.

Currently admiring the innards of a 2004 model Toshiba Satellite P30 17 inch. Battery dead, screen removed and speakers' surrounds dry rotted, everything else working perfectly. Only gonna replace the speakers cuz they sound just amazing.

Have to do some major reorganising doh, i starting to forget where this dey and where dat is.

Postby skylinechild » January 27th, 2015, 4:07 pm

so I decided on doing the build.

before I actually bought anything - I checked to ensure the intended processor is fully functional - and it is. this is a screenshot of the CPU Id info. :D

going to purchase the motherboard and a video card (PCI Express) later tonight...nothing too extreme for the video card - just enough to give it a speed boost - and turn the pc (hopefully) into a low to mid HTPC or downloading machine or capable of handling some serious home use.

Obi-Wan

Postby Obi-Wan » January 27th, 2015, 9:44 pm

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 27th, 2015, 11:36 pm

man cud trade for a car yes

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 27th, 2015, 11:48 pm

skylinechild wrote:so I decided on doing the build.

before I actually bought anything - I checked to ensure the intended processor is fully functional - and it is. this is a screenshot of the CPU Id info. :D

going to purchase the motherboard and a video card (PCI Express) later tonight...nothing too extreme for the video card - just enough to give it a speed boost - and turn the pc (hopefully) into a low to mid HTPC or downloading machine or capable of handling some serious home use.

Might I inquire as to how much those components cost and if they are new or used. ...cause to me you are just sinking extra money into a dead platform. Most new graphics cards being sold today short of a cheap budget card will be held back by that processor.

The capacitors in my used 754 are swelling. ...
But to each his own ... if it works for you go ahead

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 27th, 2015, 11:53 pm

Obi-Wan wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=612808

hmmm...$38k

I think that system can be put together for a whole lot less than the asking price. .. but who really spends that kinda money on their rig..... wow

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 28th, 2015, 12:08 am

kamakazi wrote:
Obi-Wan wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=612808

hmmm...$38k

I think that system can be put together for a whole lot less than the asking price. .. but who really spends that kinda money on their rig..... wow

It have a few locals who do/did that kinda ting.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » January 28th, 2015, 4:08 am

My machine was $10,000 less than that and would blow that thing out of the water.

$38,000.. madness.

Postby skylinechild » January 28th, 2015, 7:59 am

kamakazi wrote:
skylinechild wrote:so I decided on doing the build.

Might I inquire as to how much those components cost and if they are new or used. ...cause to me you are just sinking extra money into a dead platform. Most new graphics cards being sold today short of a cheap budget card will be held back by that processor.

The capacitors in my used 754 are swelling. ...
But to each his own ... if it works for you go ahead

i guess you didnt read the previous page(s)
i already have almost all the other parts i'm looking to put together a tower using up the remaining parts i got.
see previous pages - it will state what parts are i already have and what parts i need to buy.

WRT to your capacitors swelling in your used 754 board....why dont u throw up the board to giv away in the misc bargain sect....someone will be glad for it.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 28th, 2015, 10:48 am

Guise, are Sentey power supplies any good, seeing some good prices on amazon, but mixed reviews.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » January 28th, 2015, 11:26 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Guise, are Sentey power supplies any good, seeing some good prices on amazon, but mixed reviews.

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-1804779/power-supply-unit-tier-list.html

list is a little old but still an excellent guide.
keep in mind you get what you pay for

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 28th, 2015, 11:36 am

GRIM wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Guise, are Sentey power supplies any good, seeing some good prices on amazon, but mixed reviews.

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-1804779/power-supply-unit-tier-list.html

list is a little old but still an excellent guide.
keep in mind you get what you pay for

Good listing, currently have a thermaltake purepower 600w, not sure if its on its way out since its kinda old