Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby nervewrecker » January 18th, 2015, 4:43 pm

Why put the ssd in a case to sell?

Postby M_2NR » January 18th, 2015, 4:45 pm

NR8 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Finally decided to clean out my pc. One of the best investments I made were filters yes. The only problem is the fine particles that get pass them now.

You mind giving some more info on this? Where do you place the filter, source and price, etc?

Sorry for d late reply fadda
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0036WTDHK/
bought a few of these back in 2011. Back then there won't many (cheap) options. I think i mentioned about it in this thread. I can't recall.
Anyway, I placed this before the fan (there was a gap between the front grille/panel). I am not overclocking my PC and my temps are really good as is and I eh care too much about loss of flow. I'd normally clean them once a year. I did do a ratch flow check with a piece of ribbon :lol: and I did check my temps pre and post filters. Nothing major was affected as my temps were similar.

Anyway, I am seeing some more options available now, with finer meshes also:
http://www.amazon.com/Silverstone-Tek-F ... 00ARB5E8U/
http://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-Magne ... 00KHO0I38/

of course finer filters mean faster dirt accumulation and shorter cleaning times but it also will eradicate those little dust particles that get through.

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 18th, 2015, 6:14 pm

No scene man. I went searching after you posted about it and actually saw those same ones. Will be ordering soon.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » January 18th, 2015, 8:42 pm

Skylinechild, I don't think its a wise idea to build that PC to sell mainly because of the availability of parts in Trinidad. Most people would choose to go with a modern DDR3/Am3+ for a little higher price and the efficiency would be better. Also if a part stops working in a Am3+ system, you could easily access a wide range of parts online or at a local PC store. With that system, if one of the ram/processor/motherboard dies, chances are that the ssd, PSU and case would be salvaged as it would not make much sense going back with a ddr1 setup again.
My advice would be to post the parts you have in the misc. classifieds and someone with a ddr1 amd 745 setup might be interested as those parts have become very rare.

Postby ismithx » January 18th, 2015, 8:50 pm

@skyline i would say sell it for parts as well,

please do NOT buy an 8400, it's an ancient graphics card. here is a build you could try (was planning to do this for someone)

from supertech:
Kingston 4Gb DDR3 1333 Ram 320.00
Samsung 24X DVD-RW SATA 125.00

and from The Wizz

AMD FM2 A6-6400K DUAL CORE $600.00

BIOSTAR A58MD FM2 MAINBOARD $425.00

which would bring you to a grand total of $1790 in parts, you could upgrade the processor and put in a graphics card later as you see fit

this would a a great pc for light to medium work. please don't go for anything cheaper, you will end up with a slow creaky system

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 18th, 2015, 11:38 pm

hey yall

Looking for a small 12V or 110V water pump

Has to be powerful enough to send water thru a 12ft loop
Thanks in advance :)

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 19th, 2015, 1:09 am

Check swiftech

They make really good pumps (Y)

Postby skylinechild » January 19th, 2015, 1:13 am

Cross Blood wrote:Skylinechild, I don't think its a wise idea to build that PC to sell mainly because of the availability of parts in Trinidad. Most people would choose to go with a modern DDR3/Am3+ for a little higher price and the efficiency would be better. Also if a part stops working in a Am3+ system, you could easily access a wide range of parts online or at a local PC store. With that system, if one of the ram/processor/motherboard dies, chances are that the ssd, PSU and case would be salvaged as it would not make much sense going back with a ddr1 setup again.
My advice would be to post the parts you have in the misc. classifieds and someone with a ddr1 amd 745 setup might be interested as those parts have become very rare.

ismithx wrote:@skyline i would say sell it for parts as well,

please do NOT buy an 8400, it's an ancient graphics card. here is a build you could try (was planning to do this for someone)

from supertech:

and from The Wizz

which would bring you to a grand total of $1790 in parts, you could upgrade the processor and put in a graphics card later as you see fit

this would a a great pc for light to medium work. please don't go for anything cheaper, you will end up with a slow creaky system

@cross blood - as i said... most of those parts i already have.
only thing i dont hav is the mobo, video card and optical drive.
everything else i have.

i'm not going to sell it as the beat up crew with start to cry down price.

@ismithx -
I'm not planing on buying parts to build a tower - i want to get rid of the parts i have by building a complete tower and sell it. video card wise i can put in a 9500GT or something similar which gives good performance. but what i wanna do is build a decent stable affordable tower - that someone can buy and use with no issues and thats cheap.

i know i wont get the price i'm asking for the parts separate - men want a 2 one gig DDR1 sticks for $100 an ting in the misc bargain sect..then beatin up when u call yuh price... :roll:

so i figure i can build a tower that someone can benefit from.
theres going to be extras for this tower as well - full case fans all around - bluetooth adapter - and a 4 port usb header to give more USB ports !!! extra hard drives (IDE of course) and maybe a keyboard

The pc will be able to run NFSU and NFSU2 on high settings and other games from around that timeline with no issues..

so i really loking for justification for building the tower.

other tuners please feel free and weigh in your options.

HSA

Postby HSA » January 19th, 2015, 10:20 am

skylinechild wrote:
Cross Blood wrote:Skylinechild, I don't think its a wise idea to build that PC to sell mainly because of the availability of parts in Trinidad. Most people would choose to go with a modern DDR3/Am3+ for a little higher price and the efficiency would be better. Also if a part stops working in a Am3+ system, you could easily access a wide range of parts online or at a local PC store. With that system, if one of the ram/processor/motherboard dies, chances are that the ssd, PSU and case would be salvaged as it would not make much sense going back with a ddr1 setup again.

ismithx wrote:@skyline i would say sell it for parts as well,

from supertech:

and from The Wizz

@cross blood - as i said... most of those parts i already have.
only thing i dont hav is the mobo, video card and optical drive.
everything else i have.

i'm not going to sell it as the beat up crew with start to cry down price.

@ismithx -
I'm not planing on buying parts to build a tower - i want to get rid of the parts i have by building a complete tower and sell it. video card wise i can put in a 9500GT or something similar which gives good performance. but what i wanna do is build a decent stable affordable tower - that someone can buy and use with no issues and thats cheap.

i know i wont get the price i'm asking for the parts separate - men want a 2 one gig DDR1 sticks for $100 an ting in the misc bargain sect..then beatin up when u call yuh price... :roll:

theres going to be extras for this tower as well - full case fans all around - bluetooth adapter - and a 4 port usb header to give more USB ports !!! extra hard drives (IDE of course) and maybe a keyboard

The pc will be able to run NFSU and NFSU2 on high settings and other games from around that timeline with no issues..

by all means go ahead but dont expect to get alot for it....the advertised price should be $500 higher as men would want to beat you down and at least u can drop by a 500 gradually.....

bought a laptop for 700...good working hp with bluetooth etc...the guy had a bad pirate windows dvd and it kept restarting....from 1800 he dropped to 1400 then to 1000....as i was about to leave he said give him 700 and take it...and so i did...went home ,installed win7 and am using it ever since........ 8-) :fadein: :fadein: :fadein:

Postby skylinechild » January 19th, 2015, 10:44 am

HSA wrote:
skylinechild wrote:I'm not planing on buying parts to build a tower - i want to get rid of the parts i have by building a complete tower and sell it. video card wise i can put in a 9500GT or something similar which gives good performance. but what i wanna do is build a decent stable affordable tower - that someone can buy and use with no issues and thats cheap.

by all means go ahead but dont expect to get alot for it....the advertised price should be $500 higher as men would want to beat you down and at least u can drop by a 500 gradually.....

bought a laptop for 700...good working hp with bluetooth etc...the guy had a bad pirate windows dvd and it kept restarting....from 1800 he dropped to 1400 then to 1000....as i was about to leave he said give him 700 and take it...and so i did...went home ,installed win7 and am using it ever since........ 8-) :fadein: :fadein: :fadein:

its going to a budget tower - so $1200 for a good tower with a SSD and possibly a blu ray drive - and a video cars is a damn good price - plus it can be rebuilt over and over and over - case was rust proofed -so it WILL last a lifetime.

this will work for a tuner who don't hav much $ and needs a good solid pc to do school / home use / normal gaming.

2.4Ghz AMD Athlon 3700+ processor
high end thermaltake CPU cooler
SSD drive
blu ray / DVD burner combo
normal power supply
2 Gig DDR1 memory MAX
mainstream video card
rust proofed casing - with ALL case fans
plus as I said - extras...!!!

shud run win 7 32bit without any issues

i think its a good deal for $1200...

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » January 19th, 2015, 1:06 pm

I was not talking about you getting the parts. I was talking about the future owner of it. They might find it difficult to access parts in the future as the parts are becoming extinct. If you think the mobo/processor/ram would hold out for a good few years, then you could sell it complete. If not, as I said, people on Trinituner with similar setups might be looking for parts and may be interested.

Postby ismithx » January 19th, 2015, 5:09 pm

Cross Blood wrote:I was not talking about you getting the parts. I was talking about the future owner of it. They might find it difficult to access parts in the future as the parts are becoming extinct. If you think the mobo/processor/ram would hold out for a good few years, then you could sell it complete. If not, as I said, people on Trinituner with similar setups might be looking for parts and may be interested.

I was just about to say the same thing. It would be more beneficial of you sold it as parts to people who actually need it

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 19th, 2015, 5:27 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Check swiftech

They make really good pumps (Y)

Or Laing DDC pumps.

skylinechild wrote:
tuners I need some advice - I have some DDR1 memory and a Athlon 3700+ processor - socket 754 (this is the HIGHTEST socket 754 processor offered) and a good casing - and a hard drive. just need a new board.- already found one on ebay-

Looks for a cheaper board, that one too expensive. Try ah auction too

u think it makes sense to rebuild a tower and sell on tuner..or just junk the items for parts.
your thoughts

this is the processor
http://products.amd.com/en-gb/DesktopCP ... &f12=False

CPU fan - thermaltake - already have
http://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-A4022 ... cessor+fan

Had one of those years ago on an amd am2 system, quiet and cools a bit better than the stock amd HSF but not 'high end' really. Maybe if was 2008 or something u could say it high end

casing is in new condition with power supply and case fans - already have didn't buy it
case is already rust proofed since day 1 - had the case 4+yrs now - still looks new :lol:

motherboard - have to buy - old MB died and went to heaven (I hope)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Asrock-Motherbo ... 43d207518e

As Cross Blood said, it may be good in your eyes but for the future owner it'll be hard to replace or upgrade if half the pc fails (board/cpu/ram)

SSD drive - already have one - thanks to a tuner :oops:
http://www.amazon.com/Silicon-Power-120 ... +power+SSd

This part is the only worthwhile selling point for the system IMHO

RAM - already have 2Gigs of DDR1- board only hold 2 GB anyway

video card - have to buy - might not be this exact same unit it may be better
http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-PCI- ... video+card

If the system can be used as an HTPC then the video card is a good idea as it has an HDMI port. If not then the onboard video will suffice for normal PC tasks

Optical drive - dvd writer / blu ray ROM combo drive- have to buy - it may just be a DVD burner drive- depending

Samsung DVDRW drive in supertech go do, i sure it have people like me who stop using those things (install OS from usb stick, download drivers for components instead of included driver discs etc).

so u tuners think it make sense to build and sell or just junk what I got for parts.
if I build I'm askin $1200 for the complete unit.

tuners you thoughts and comments welcome.

Well since u said 'thoughts and comments welcome, i don't really consider $1200 (MY idea of budget is in the range of $0-$1000) a 'budget' price for that. If you want clarification i can provide details of 2 systems i acquired late last year that cost $1000TT and $500TT flat and were much better than what is listed here.

The cpu and ddr1 are the only two components that outdated/rare so is best you give them away or pipe them. I have like two semprons and an athlon 64 am2 cpus (as well as some other stuff i don't personally have use for) i gonna give away when i cleaning up my three rooms. The money u spending on that board alone you can get a more recent cpu/board/ram and be dollars within your estimated $1200 price.

Those will be my comments/thoughts for now. Please don't 'beat up' over them eh. :D
Plus don't ask me to value your system, when people ask me what price to ask and i say what, most of them does vex up.

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 19th, 2015, 5:42 pm

skylinechild if you're selling the SSD I would be interested.

Postby skylinechild » January 19th, 2015, 8:03 pm

HCCA wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
tuners I need some advice - I have some DDR1 memory and a Athlon 3700+ processor - socket 754 (this is the HIGHTEST socket 754 processor offered) and a good casing - and a hard drive. just need a new board.- already found one on ebay-

Looks for a cheaper board, that one too expensive. Try ah auction too

u think it makes sense to rebuild a tower and sell on tuner..or just junk the items for parts.
your thoughts

this is the processor
http://products.amd.com/en-gb/DesktopCP ... &f12=False

CPU fan - thermaltake - already have
http://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-A4022 ... cessor+fan

Had one of those years ago on an amd am2 system, quiet and cools a bit better than the stock amd HSF but not 'high end' really. Maybe if was 2008 or something u could say it high end

casing is in new condition with power supply and case fans - already have didn't buy it
case is already rust proofed since day 1 - had the case 4+yrs now - still looks new :lol:

motherboard - have to buy - old MB died and went to heaven (I hope)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Asrock-Motherbo ... 43d207518e

As Cross Blood said, it may be good in your eyes but for the future owner it'll be hard to replace or upgrade if half the pc fails (board/cpu/ram)

SSD drive - already have one - thanks to a tuner :oops:
http://www.amazon.com/Silicon-Power-120 ... +power+SSd

This part is the only worthwhile selling point for the system IMHO

RAM - already have 2Gigs of DDR1- board only hold 2 GB anyway

video card - have to buy - might not be this exact same unit it may be better
http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-PCI- ... video+card

If the system can be used as an HTPC then the video card is a good idea as it has an HDMI port. If not then the onboard video will suffice for normal PC tasks

Optical drive - dvd writer / blu ray ROM combo drive- have to buy - it may just be a DVD burner drive- depending

Samsung DVDRW drive in supertech go do, i sure it have people like me who stop using those things (install OS from usb stick, download drivers for components instead of included driver discs etc).

so u tuners think it make sense to build and sell or just junk what I got for parts.
if I build I'm askin $1200 for the complete unit.

tuners you thoughts and comments welcome.

Well since u said 'thoughts and comments welcome, i don't really consider $1200 (MY idea of budget is in the range of $0-$1000) a 'budget' price for that. If you want clarification i can provide details of 2 systems i acquired late last year that cost $1000TT and $500TT flat and were much better than what is listed here.

The cpu and ddr1 are the only two components that outdated/rare so is best you give them away or pipe them. I have like two semprons and an athlon 64 am2 cpus (as well as some other stuff i don't personally have use for) i gonna give away when i cleaning up my three rooms. The money u spending on that board alone you can get a more recent cpu/board/ram and be dollars within your estimated $1200 price.

Those will be my comments/thoughts for now. Please don't 'beat up' over them eh. :D
Plus don't ask me to value your system, when people ask me what price to ask and i say what, most of them does vex up.

putting technology difference aside - i know its old - and my plan is to use up all the remaining stuff i have...thats the aim - to use up what i got - i not into building towers and reselling..i could but the beat up crew ''oh goar soo much for soo ole ting"

cant beat up over your view buddy...thats your view :lol:
as for valuing the system...i could do that and i think $1200 is a fair price for all thats going into it.
again plus extras - bluetooth and usb headers and such.

if the tower fails all the new owner has to do is replace board RAM and processor.
no mater what those 3 components constitutes a new tower. no matter if i replace it now or the new owner replaces it 3 years from now.

it can be used as a HTPC but a larger HDD may be needed- and a more powerful video card.

hell i myself once bought a tower off tuner for $500..dell dimension 2400 - configured as my downloading pc - :lol: tower going strong 0 issues

and i bought another tower for 1000 for a neighbor from tuner...tower lasted 3 yrs...and i think thats a fair trade...previous owner had it for like 4 yrs..so that was a good deal

the board i chose is new - not used - cause i want the new owner to be sure they getting something good. the auction has them for over 78USD and thing..and i not goin thru that.

thankd for your views man i really appreciate it.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 19th, 2015, 9:39 pm

The SSD nuh really necessary nah, drop in a 250gb 7200rpm hdd or something.

A 754 system nuh slow eh, had one prob 2 years ago and it was still able to keep up with what i was using it for.

I actually using a dell optiplex 755 as my htpc now. 'Low' specs but is ah htpc.

And the boards cheap as fck on ebay new so i go be keeping this one a while.

Postby sMASH » January 19th, 2015, 9:46 pm

Feel I will do dat too, put together the parts from the older rigs as a download tower. Leave the beast separate as the entertainment hub

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 19th, 2015, 10:04 pm

Allyuh giving me that idea too. I sorry I check this thread yes, now I only wanna upgrade everything in my pc lol

Postby nervewrecker » January 19th, 2015, 10:55 pm

Skylinrchild, you wah swap the ssd for a 500gb HD?

Take advantage while I half drunk

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 19th, 2015, 11:43 pm

sMASH wrote:Feel I will do dat too, put together the parts from the older rigs as a download tower. Leave the beast separate as the entertainment hub

Just a suggestion:

Best to use a laptop/netbook if is just to download stuff. Older tech wasn't as power efficient as today's tech.

A laptop using a 90w adaptor bess which covers a wide range of laptop models.

I think tablets can download stuff too cuz i saw some of the client software on the google play store.

Last desktop system i used as my htpc was pulling max 100 watts from the wall browsing/movie watching and downloading stuff.

Then again if you can manage the extra charges on ur ttec bill then you can do what you first suggested.

I into power efficient systems and space saving cases now which is why my most powerful gaming system is in a micro atx tower and i have a laptop for 24/7 use.

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 19th, 2015, 11:51 pm

How can one determine how much watts their pc is using at any point in time during use? Was gonna do the same with my old AM3 board and Sempron processor after I upgrade, but really didnt consider the extra electricity charges until you mentioned it.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 20th, 2015, 12:30 am

I wouldn't even consider the system a worthwhile purchase. .. I would honestly spend a little bit more and get a recent system new. ... and not have any headaches and it would be properly fast and energy efficient
Total cost of tower would be a little over 2k.....
The ssd could come after

But someone might have use for it

Just for the sake of mentioning it. ... my system consumes about 30watts during normal use. . (Measured with a kill a watt).... which is a lot better than the 80 watts my secondary am2 system uses.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 20th, 2015, 12:37 am

nervewrecker wrote:Skylinrchild, you wah swap the ssd for a 500gb HD?

Take advantage while I half drunk

come here boy

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » January 20th, 2015, 7:37 am

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 20th, 2015, 8:16 am

NR8 wrote:How can one determine how much watts their pc is using at any point in time during use? Was gonna do the same with my old AM3 board and Sempron processor after I upgrade, but really didnt consider the extra electricity charges until you mentioned it.

Used this device:

http://www.amazon.com/P3-P4400-Electric ... ill+a+watt

Used it to measure all my personal systems when i built them. You can view real time wattage draw and then switch to kwh mode to see how much it gonna cost you after a period of time.

When gaming you don't use as much as you think since most of the time not all components are at full load, when benchmarking like with 3dmark software you will get a near maximum current draw figure. OCCT can stress all your components but it can damage the hardware.

You can also use this psu calculator for a good average:

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psuc ... orlite.jsp

This tool is really for determining what size power supply to get for your system but u can combine the wattage result with the efficiency of the power supply itself (and using online reviews since they do efficiency tests and power draw) and figure out an average as well.

Probably has software to do measurements and log to file on the system itself (like the software that comes with some brands of UPS units) but i personally recommend the kill a watt method.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » January 21st, 2015, 11:01 am

catering $3000 for total cost after shipping.

need your opinion people

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... CatId=7718

Postby Spitfir3 » January 21st, 2015, 11:34 am

^^not bad at all....my build is very similar, looking back i paid more than $3000 but my parts were bought individually

what would you be using that system for?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » January 21st, 2015, 11:59 am

Spitfir3 wrote:^^not bad at all....my build is very similar, looking back i paid more than $3000 but my parts were bought individually

what would you be using that system for?

well it is certainly a capable pc, moderate gaming (WOW and LOL), autocad, can anyone recommend ram for this system. might add a liquid cooling system as well for the cpu, recommendations?

anyone know If I can get the rebate or do I have to be a US citizen for it to apply?

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 21st, 2015, 12:45 pm

Hey lost to all, I recently ordered some parts from Amazon and Newegg for an upgrade so I thought I'd give you some info.

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813130741
MSI A78M-E35, paid $61. Has everything that I needed.

CPU: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CPLGGWS
AMD A8 APU, paid $80.74 but I see the price has increased. There's also the A6-5400K for $45 and A6-6400K for $57. I was going to buy the latter but decided on the A8 because of the small price difference at the time. See links below
http://www.amazon.com/AMD-A6-6400K-Dual ... B00CPLGFM4
http://www.amazon.com/AMD-A6-5400K-Dual ... B0095VPBFY

RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820104448
HyperX Fury Series 8GB (2 x 4GB), paid $66 but price gone up to $74. You can get the G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) for $64 now which is a good deal imho. See link below
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820231428

PSU: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004IZN3K2
Antec VP-450 450 Watt Energy Star Certified Power Supply, price is now $34.
I initially wanted the EVGA 500W for $40 but it sold out when I was ready to order. See link
http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-80PLUS-Certi ... B00H33SFJU

Case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6811147167
Rosewill FBM-02 Dual Fans MicroATX Mini Tower, paid $22 with coupon code EMCAKKS36 which ends today so if you're interested, hurry!
I was planning to reuse my old case but this is a nice one and a really good deal.

Also reusing my HDD. Have no need for liquid cooling since I'm not overclocking so I cant really advise there but I hope this helps bro. Depending on what you choose you could still come out a bit cheaper than the whole tower you posted.

The main benefits would be the bigger PSU and FM2/2+ board and APU which I think is newer than AM3.

Postby Spitfir3 » January 21st, 2015, 12:54 pm

with ram imo once it ain't a cheap small budget build then an 8gb kit is the best way to go...prefered brands would be kingston, crucial and Corsair

in regards to water cooling like nr8 unless you're a heavy user that will be overclocking you should really taking into consideration if water cooling is even necessary because it can be a bit pricey...i don't overclock but i do some gaming so what i did was upgrade to an aftermarket cooler with a bigger fan/heatsink and that does the job just fine

oh and @nr8 does newegg ship to skybox?? you ever bought from them?
Last edited by Spitfir3 on January 21st, 2015, 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.