The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

J453

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby J453 » July 19th, 2013, 10:44 pm

We seemed to have established a few pages back that neither local network provides real 4g service. But the HSPA+ that the green network tells me is 4g works fine on my Nexus 4. So in short... Yes it works.

Postby M_2NR » July 20th, 2013, 12:11 am

well this sox...
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpos ... ount=14029
Just as I am about to start using it as my daily. :2gunfire: :evil:

Postby nervewrecker » July 20th, 2013, 12:13 am

J453 wrote:We seemed to have established a few pages back that neither local network provides real 4g service. But the HSPA+ that the green network tells me is 4g works fine on my Nexus 4. So in short... Yes it works.

You got any problems with yours? Anything I should look for when buying?

J453

Postby J453 » July 20th, 2013, 9:38 am

J453 wrote:We seemed to have established a few pages back that neither local network provides real 4g service. But the HSPA+ that the green network tells me is 4g works fine on my Nexus 4. So in short... Yes it works.

You got any problems with yours? Anything I should look for when buying?
The battery life ain't spectacular but it should get you through the day. And mine tends to get a little warmer than it should. Don't know if any other users experience the overheating but the battery thing is pretty typical. Other than that it's a pretty awesome phone.

I would suggest the 16gb version. But if you use cloud services or have another phone/tablet/media device with more storage for your media needs 8gb should suffice.

Oh, and get a case for that sheit. I've seen some disturbing photos of what can happen to the screen/back glass from an average height fall. I know you don't plan on dropping it but sometimes it happens... *knock on wood*

And if you're on Google+ look for and join the Trinidad&Tobago Android Users community.

Postby nervewrecker » July 20th, 2013, 2:10 pm

Thanks man.

8gb is enough for me, im not a heavy user.

Will look into the case soon, meanwhile I hope it dont fall too.

Will join as soon as I come online. :)

viper1

Postby viper1 » July 20th, 2013, 11:33 pm

Any HTC one users here? Have any of you got the ota 4.2.2 yet?

Postby javishm » July 21st, 2013, 12:36 am

been seeing ppl saying in the uk and so on have been getting the updates.....its usually goes out to the uk then america and then everywhere else......

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » July 21st, 2013, 5:50 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Thanks man.

8gb is enough for me, im not a heavy user.

Will look into the case soon, meanwhile I hope it dont fall too.

Will join as soon as I come online. :)

I have an extra ballistic case to get rid of if you're interested... I put some photos earlier back on this thread.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » July 21st, 2013, 5:56 pm

Jonathan wrote:
J453 wrote:Mine hasn't fallen yet *knock on wood* But I have a rearth ringke slim case with a matte black finish on it so the body is protected from scratches and the likes. Not too sure how much fall protection it offers though. I was looking at some awesome skins on dbrand.com that protect the back and could be used along with a bumper while giving the phone a nice look and feel as the skins are textured. I'm seriously considering doing that if I can find out how to get that skin ordered. Anyone find somewhere locally carrying any kind of N4 accessories?

Here are some photos of the case I use..

http://www.amazon.com/Ballistic-SG1098-M005-Series-Case-NEXUS/dp/B00B5SCDN8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1369179102&sr=8-1&keywords=nexus+4+ballistic+shell+gel+sg+series+case

Here it is.. PM if interested. Doh worry,I ain't gonna dog your eye out :grin:

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 21st, 2013, 6:22 pm

I have the UAG. Going strong so far

Postby nervewrecker » July 21st, 2013, 6:29 pm

How does that case feel? Anything like the usual silicone ones?

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 21st, 2013, 6:36 pm

Nah more a feel of a lifeproof

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 21st, 2013, 6:37 pm

Nah more a feel of a lifeproof

Postby Trini Hookah » July 21st, 2013, 8:30 pm

Ballistic case saved my S2 from death countless times.

vasquez

Postby vasquez » July 21st, 2013, 10:41 pm

Guys what you all think bout the sony ultra 6. 4 inch?

arimagwfc

Postby arimagwfc » July 22nd, 2013, 8:54 pm

Hi any1 knows if the blu studio 5.3 phone the 1st version is upgradable to android jellybean???

Postby maj. tom » July 22nd, 2013, 9:22 pm

nope, and I doubt if anybody will develop one because BLU doesn't really sell that big. If you do find a custom ROM there won't be much testing on it anyway.

Postby ismithx » July 22nd, 2013, 10:11 pm

arimagwfc wrote:Hi any1 knows if the blu studio 5.3 phone the 1st version is upgradable to android jellybean???
not gonna happen. Hardware is kinda weak, I dont think blu will upgrade it, and there isn't much support for blu in the modding community

arimagwfc

Postby arimagwfc » July 22nd, 2013, 10:33 pm

maj. tom wrote:nope, and I doubt if anybody will develop one because BLU doesn't really sell that big. If you do find a custom ROM there won't be much testing on it anyway.
thank you

arimagwfc

Postby arimagwfc » July 22nd, 2013, 10:34 pm

ismithx wrote:
arimagwfc wrote:Hi any1 knows if the blu studio 5.3 phone the 1st version is upgradable to android jellybean???
not gonna happen. Hardware is kinda weak, I dont think blu will upgrade it, and there isn't much support for blu in the modding community
thank you

Postby RASC » July 22nd, 2013, 10:49 pm

vasquez wrote:Guys what you all think bout the sony ultra 6. 4 inch?

Mega... Ultra...
The lines have really becomed blurred between tablets and smartphones.

Does anyone own any of these post NOTE2 Giants?
Does your productivity really increase by that much?
Has your consumption of media improve?

Kinda curious.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 22nd, 2013, 10:53 pm

busy month for Android. Moto X, new Nexus 7, LG G2...

Postby RASC » July 22nd, 2013, 11:28 pm

Q3 is looking to be an exciting time all around! 4.3 is almost here!

I can only imagine that all owner of flagships will get the ota roll out.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » July 23rd, 2013, 3:16 pm

Anyone tried the 4.3 leak on their nexus 4? Running it since yesterday and it is super fast and pretty stable. Got a soft reboot this morning while in the camera app but i'm seeing other users reporting the same issue. No problems otherwise though.

The Chrome and Android event is tomorrow. Fully expect new Nexus tablet to be announced as well as Android 4.3 officially. I really hope that Optimus G2 is what the new nexus would be based on. Specs and appearance are epic!

zahc

Postby zahc » July 23rd, 2013, 3:46 pm

FYI - For all the spec junkies - bmobile s4's are no longer the i9500 octa core models....they now carry the quadcore i9505x.

Nothing lost between the 2 anyway....just some benchmark points.
1374608696028.jpg

Postby RASC » July 23rd, 2013, 4:32 pm

zahc wrote:FYI - For all the spec junkies - bmobile s4's are no longer the i9500 octa core models....they now carry the quadcore i9505x.

Not according to majority of reviewers. Seems the "octa" Haas been out performing the regular quad cores quite significantly in the gaming department.

If you're not a power user shouldn't be an issue tho.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 23rd, 2013, 6:43 pm

Anyone sells s2 external chargers locally? Pm me if anything, thanks.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » July 23rd, 2013, 9:17 pm

RASC wrote:
zahc wrote:FYI - For all the spec junkies - bmobile s4's are no longer the i9500 octa core models....they now carry the quadcore i9505x.

Not according to majority of reviewers. Seems the "octa" Haas been out performing the regular quad cores quite significantly in the gaming department.

If you're not a power user shouldn't be an issue tho.

The 9505 carries the Adreno 320 GPU which is more powerful than that of the 9500's PowerVR gpu.

http://gfxbench.com/compare.jsp?cols=2& ... +Galaxy+S4

Is it noticeable in real world performance, not so much.

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » July 23rd, 2013, 10:05 pm

Does everyone in here use screen protectors?. I recently got an S3 mini. Not too sure if it has gorilla glass or not. Various sources have contradictory information. I bought a privacy screen protector and within two days, i threw it away. It made the display look really blurred. Wondering it to get a clear protector or just leave the phone as is. The feel of glass is awesome :D

salochinnicholas

Postby salochinnicholas » July 23rd, 2013, 10:14 pm

yvan300 wrote:Does everyone in here use screen protectors?. I recently got an S3 mini. Not too sure if it has gorilla glass or not. Various sources have contradictory information. I bought a privacy screen protector and within two days, i threw it away. It made the display look really blurred. Wondering it to get a clear protector or just leave the phone as is. The feel of glass is awesome :D

USE A SCREEN PROTECTOR! Belive me, it wud be worth it in d long run. a couple months down d road wen u peel off d protecter n see d screen lookin like brand new. u wud be happy