The Religion Discussion

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - God was Right! Pg. 238

Postby sMASH » March 24th, 2012, 7:03 pm

i believe in robbers, so i take measures to prepare for them. i believe in elections, so i do stuff to prepare for that. i believe in car crashes, so i put on my seat belt and slow down on approaching corners and slippery surfaces. i don't believe in vampires, so i don't walk around with silver bullets nor wooden stakes. i don't believe in tooth fairies so i don't put teeth under my pillows. i don't believe there are alligators in my back yard so i don't fite any nor have i fought any, nor intend to have any fites in the future with any.

he does not believe in god, so he is not fiting him. u cannot attack sumting that does not exist. to him that being does not exist. what he does believe in are those who believe in god. that he can fite, or rather jeer.

Postby meccalli » March 24th, 2012, 10:57 pm

"what he does believe in are those who believe in god. that he can fite, or rather jeer."
Great attitude towards something potentially there that can not be proved or disproved at the point in time. Kinda like all the fun made on Edison's ideas and failures to prove them. Everyone saw the light at the end of the journey.

Postby MG Man » March 25th, 2012, 4:30 am

sweetiepaper wrote:Another thing, judging from your previous posts, i think it is safe to say you are an atheist. Please do correct me if i'm wrong. So when you said
MG Man wrote:RIP Christopher Hitchens...

Why do think he needs to rest?
Is it that you think he has/had a soul?
What is resting?
Where does he rest?
What do you believe happens to us after we die?

Your honest response is appreciated.

it's just a phrase man
just like when I get a bad drive and bawl 'jesusfuckingchrist'
just a habit
and again, no, I have no gripe with any imaginary god..............if by now u can't figure out I just like winding up religious fanatics u better make better use of that sweetiepaper and go play a mark or chat up ah school gyul wid some corny lyrics

Postby Chimera » March 25th, 2012, 6:58 am

just a habit

in light of our realization of who d spike really is

you should really be bawling "dfuckingspike" when u get a bad drive

Postby RBphoto » March 25th, 2012, 3:01 pm

Why can't god just be pure love, love for eveyone in the universe, love for yourself. Why is it that we cannot see through the veneer of ceromony and realize that all religions have the same goal and purpouse.. to give moral guidance and supposedly live a better life. If we cut throught he cerimonial bull that ivides us, we will realize that love is the true essence of any religion, no matter how "primitive" it is.

sweetiepaper

Postby sweetiepaper » April 4th, 2012, 7:18 pm

sMASH wrote:
sweetiepaper wrote:There are sooo many factors that would not have me "leave it at that and pass it off as a fairytale". Human beings are curious, well, supposed to be. We have a hunger for knowledge and truth. How can one be so certain that He does not exist? I can understand if you are unsure, leaving the possibility of existence open. But to be 100% certain? Nah man. There are too many wondrously complex things in this world to delete the idea of santa claus.

Why does the majority of the world believe in santa claus? We know that believers say they have had strong personal experiences with santa claus which is why they believe in Him. Why, as someone who has not had such an experience, fully doubt the experience of billions of people? Is it not clear that santa claus is alive in the minds of the people? Are these billions of people really mentally retarded as crossdrilled thinks? Or maybe, just maybe, there is a possibility that santa claus does exist.

Another thing, why has He stuck around throughout generations of the world? He isn't a fly by night occurrence. People continue to keep their faith in santa claus. Doesn't this illustrate that He has a presence in the world?

Where did santa claus come from? To say primitive man created santa claus doesn't make any sense. If santa claus was not deeply embedded into primitive humans, how could they share/convince each other of His existence? They will have had to have santa claus in their frame of reference in order to communicate Him to others. Primitive man would not be able to do this if other primitive people did not have some type of 'santa claus sense' which enabled the connection of their experiences. Each person would have had to have this santa claus sense which would cause them to seal santa clausinto their culture. We didn't just invent santa claus.

The possibility is there. Why rule it out?
your whole argument is that majority rules...

sMASH, i don't know if u read what I wrote or reread what you wrote, but it seems you just focused on the word God alone.

Postby MG Man » April 4th, 2012, 7:46 pm

^^^^u fer real dan?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » April 4th, 2012, 10:13 pm

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 4th, 2012, 10:21 pm

sweetiepaper wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you have that quite wrong
an atheist is NOT someone who is fighting against God, finding ways to reject him.

Oh really? U mean MG man is not an atheist? :shock: ?

lol nawww dude...I not fightin god, just his dumbass emissaries

Righhhhhtttt...

From page 1

MG Man wrote:I met him in a back alley............I stabbed him and he died

current page
MG Man wrote:god = fail

:?
His emissaries are advocating Him and it is this aspect of them to which you are the antagonist, so essentially, you are fighting Him. Maybe you need to double check who you in d ring with.

Another thing, judging from your previous posts, i think it is safe to say you are an atheist. Please do correct me if i'm wrong. So when you said
MG Man wrote:RIP Christopher Hitchens...

Why do think he needs to rest?
Is it that you think he has/had a soul?
What is resting?
Where does he rest?
What do you believe happens to us after we die?

Your honest response is appreciated.

well technically what happens to us after we die can be classified as a sleep of some sort.

And plus its a figure of speech. I still find myself saying "God forbid" or "Tomorrow please God" sometimes. And I'm an athest

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 4th, 2012, 11:15 pm

Red Fraction wrote:
Mg man and others those same words that you all utter will condem you in time to come
With that said God bless

This right here is what confuses me right now, like why do you have to threaten someone to believe in what you believe? like whenever someone finds out I'm an athiest they quote scripture to intimidate me somehow (I assume thats why, anyway lol). It makes no sense, Its like reading from an english book to give me an answer for a maths problem.

secondly

Bizzare wrote:MG Man and others, according to the bible, one can only experience God's presence through faith. Not logic. When I apply logic to the bible, I too find lots of flaws and contradictions. This is because we think we know all, but what we know is EXTREMELY limited. We read and try to understand the bible based on what we know, and what we know can only go as far as what science says. It's pretty dumb to base your belief on science (logic) because science can say A today and say B tomorrow. There's no stability there. What science has proven to be true today, would have been laughed at and believed to be just fiction years ago. So I for one will NEVER base my belief on MAN'S limited knowledge and discoveries. They are still fishing for truth and we are just here waiting for the results.

A good question to ask yourself is - how do you know, what you know and what science has revealed is all there is to life??

Think about it.
If I grew up in a tribe in the middle of the jungle on the other side of the world and an outsider came to the tribe describing an iPad to us, we'll laugh and think he/she dabbles in sorcery or is just crazy. we may even die believing this thing called an iPad doesn't exist and is just a fable. So too are non-believers attitudes towards the truth.

I'm not gonna tell you what the truth is or what I believe to be true, but I'm telling you don't be stupid enough to let your limited belief stop you from being open minded. Science is not the full truth folks, that I know for sure.

Except there is evidence that an iPad exists. I could say "Hey, here's an iPad"(hypothetically, of course, those shits are expensive lol). Where else, other than in like the 5 or so different versions of the Bible(or Koran, or Gita, or in Peru, or Egypt, or Latin America, or in Africa and Haiti right now, remember these people have/had their own religions) is there any sort of evidence that any of the gods from any of these religions exist?

Postby RBphoto » April 5th, 2012, 2:23 pm

Love is the answer to our woes.... not god.

Postby MG Man » April 5th, 2012, 2:47 pm

love got John Lennon six bullets to the chest
Either god does not exist, or that fuker was so jealous of Lennon doing a better job than his hippie son that he had him executed.........

Postby RBphoto » April 5th, 2012, 3:09 pm

Better he died as he did than do some religious sheit like converting to Islam like Cat Stevens. He died a Matyr for the cause of love!!

Postby MG Man » April 5th, 2012, 3:19 pm

I rather live my life by Lennon's example than anything else
peace and love to everyone, grow yuh hair, frolic with weird asian chicks

wishmaster

Postby wishmaster » April 5th, 2012, 6:54 pm

crossdrilled wrote:^^^^Don't bring science in religion talk bhai. That is devil thing!!!

ogoshhhh i sorry bossman

sweetiepaper

Postby sweetiepaper » April 5th, 2012, 8:32 pm

MG Man wrote:it's just a phrase man
just a habit

Ohhh, i get you. So am I to understand that when positive things happen, you bawl phrases like "praise the Lord" or "thank God" or when in trouble u might say "God help me?" Or is it certain "just phrases" you use, making sure to steer clear of any phrases giving God praise?
MG Man wrote:and again, no, I have no gripe with any imaginary god..............if by now u can't figure out I just like winding up religious fanatics u better make better use of that sweetiepaper and go play a mark or chat up ah school gyul wid some corny lyrics

So you're pretty much just here to pound ppl for sharing their beliefs while you hide yours? Come on MG, we ain't selfish here. I wanna know what u believe or don't believe as the case may be. Y do you think billions of people beleive so strongly in an "imaginary God"?

sweetiepaper

Postby sweetiepaper » April 5th, 2012, 9:19 pm

Scoobert Bauce wrote:well technically what happens to us after we die can be classified as a sleep of some sort.

Okay, you believe we fall into some type of sleep when we die.
A couple things,

1. What is actually sleeping?
You are assuming that something will exist after our physical bodies die. Do you think that you have a soul?

2. Where do you think this sleeping takes place? In the grave? What if you were cremated?

3. Have you ever heard of people actually visiting heaven and/or hell? The video i posted below is about a man who says he visited hell. It's kinda long but please do check it out, he starts to retell his experience @ 6:38.

When you hear Bill's account of hell, what do you think? Do you for a second wonder if God might be real? If heaven and hell might actually exist?
If you think Bill is lying, why do you think he would do that?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 5th, 2012, 9:45 pm

^ there are people who give vivid accounts of alien abduction - do you think they are lying?

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 5th, 2012, 11:14 pm

sweetiepaper wrote:
Scoobert Bauce wrote:well technically what happens to us after we die can be classified as a sleep of some sort.

Okay, you believe we fall into some type of sleep when we die.
A couple things,

1. What is actually sleeping?
You are assuming that something will exist after our physical bodies die. Do you think that you have a soul?

NO Im not. Sleep happens in stages. When you die, you cease to have any reaction to outside stimuli. Which is similar to a stage of sleep. That strikes out 1 and 2

3. Have you ever heard of people actually visiting heaven and/or hell? The video i posted below is about a man who says he visited hell. It's kinda long but please do check it out, he starts to retell his experience @ 6:38.

When you hear Bill's account of hell, what do you think? Do you for a second wonder if God might be real? If heaven and hell might actually exist?
If you think Bill is lying, why do you think he would do that?

Again, using maths on an English problem.

Well look at this

When you see and hear this account of space, what do you think? Do you for a second wonder if C3PO and Chewbacca are real? Yeah I didnt think so

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 5th, 2012, 11:19 pm

sweetiepaper wrote:
MG Man wrote:it's just a phrase man
just a habit

Ohhh, i get you. So am I to understand that when positive things happen, you bawl phrases like "praise the Lord" or "thank God" or when in trouble u might say "God help me?" Or is it certain "just phrases" you use, making sure to steer clear of any phrases giving God praise?

yeah I do, its a habit. Plus Trinidadians are retarded when it comes to religion.

MG Man wrote:and again, no, I have no gripe with any imaginary god..............if by now u can't figure out I just like winding up religious fanatics u better make better use of that sweetiepaper and go play a mark or chat up ah school gyul wid some corny lyrics

So you're pretty much just here to pound ppl for sharing their beliefs while you hide yours? Come on MG, we ain't selfish here. I wanna know what u believe or don't believe as the case may be. Y do you think billions of people beleive so strongly in an "imaginary God"?

Mostly because of fear. Fear of pain, fear of punishment, fear of failure, fear of evil. Not all, but alot.

d spike

Postby d spike » April 6th, 2012, 1:23 am

Why is it that whenever folks quibble about the possibility of an afterlife, someone always drags up some examples of a guy who "visited" heaven or hell. Why are these folks always considered worthy witnesses?
Aren't there people who are convinced that they are Napoleon Bonaparte? Why are these good people never invited to deliver a discourse on French history?
The fellow who used to walk all over Port-of-Spain, firmly convinced that he was driving a car, was never used as resource material by driving schools or garages - but didn't he have plenty driving experience?
The other fellow who used run up certain streets in the capital in order to bowl his cricket ball... why has no cricket club ever used him to train their bowlers?

Always use logic to argue... otherwise the argument becomes open to illogical input, and we will start that nonsense all over again.
There are better arguments to support the premise of an afterlife. While one might be tempted to spurn them because they might seem faith-based rather than factual, bear in mind that the very concept of an afterlife is based on faith.

Postby meccalli » April 7th, 2012, 7:20 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ there are people who give vivid accounts of alien abduction - do you think they are lying?

of course not, Its possible they're in the Bible! :)

turbohead

Postby turbohead » April 7th, 2012, 7:35 am

day one the world was without 'God'... i still dont get that concept.... Dspike spare me nah hos let mega explain plz..

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2012, 9:58 am

the possibility of heaven or hell is not the problem. the evidence which is used to support such claims is what is insufficient.

sweetiepaper

Postby sweetiepaper » April 7th, 2012, 10:01 am

sweetiepaper wrote:1. What is actually sleeping?
Scoobert Bauce wrote:NO Im not. Sleep happens in stages. When you die, you cease to have any reaction to outside stimuli. Which is similar to a stage of sleep. That strikes out 1 and 2

In order to strike out 1 & 2, your response will have to be that you no longer exist when u die. When u describe it as sleeping, it implies that YOU are sleeping. That is, you/ your body (or something) continues to exist and can therefore sleep. When your body decays away, do u still describe this as sleeping? If something no longer exists, can you say it is (sleeping)?

Which leads to another question, what are you right now? If you don't believe u have a soul, what is this conscious being that exists right now?
Scoobert Bauce wrote:Again, using maths on an English problem.

When you see and hear this account of space, what do you think? Do you for a second wonder if C3PO and Chewbacca are real? Yeah I didnt think so

I don't have to wonder because I know Star Wars is a movie. I know George Lucas and Twentieth Century Fox are in the movie production business. Their movies are for pure entertainment.

Is it that you equate someones personal spiritual experience to a movie? I am trying to understand how u feel about people's spiritual experiences.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2012, 10:18 am

^ unfortunately not everyone has spiritual experiences

but before you feel sorry for them, not everyone experiences schizophrenia or other mental issues either

meccalli wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ there are people who give vivid accounts of alien abduction - do you think they are lying?

of course not, Its possible they're in the Bible! :)
the description for that video is

"•Throughout ancient history, there has been records of half man, half god creatures (demigods) which we dismiss as myths. In ancient Babylon, they talk of the Annunaki. 'Gods' that came down from the heavens and taught man technology and knowledge. These 'gods' procreated with women and produced : Children of gods. Are these children/Nephilims returning? Are these fallen angels returning? Who built the pyramids? Who built the Temple of BaalBeck in Lebanon?"

seriously?

turbohead

Postby turbohead » April 7th, 2012, 1:30 pm

sleep is the sister of death. you do not no if you will wake the next morning..

Postby meccalli » April 7th, 2012, 1:35 pm

I guess all these cultures with their uncanny similarities in gods/demi gods(all 'myths') were making crap up back then too- to toy with the sheep of society!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 7th, 2012, 1:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ unfortunately not everyone has spiritual experiences

but before you feel sorry for them, not everyone experiences schizophrenia or other mental issues either
but its something everyone can experience as long as they chose to ,the question would be what disqualifies one from having spiritual experiences?
is it one's will not to have such experiences?

this is a bad argument Duane no one chooses to have schizophrenia or other mental issues
you seriously trying to compare a spiritual experience with a medical one?

dtp

Postby dtp » April 7th, 2012, 2:29 pm

if your spiritually strong enough u can Astral project
get all your questions answered from a 3rd eye

but u must be spiritually strong

even c first hand Joshua slaughter all the women and children of Jericho