The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby javishm » July 12th, 2013, 8:32 am

ismithx wrote: the company... Seriously that phone has been rated a one for repairability... But I hear only htc have this special tool to open it p

Mr.Bollywood wrote:How do u manage to crack that screen bro? That phone known for durability man but I know u definitely have to send it to htc to be replaced , dont worry tho htc has the best customer support of any phone company

Just contacted their tech support. Will see how that goes.
Thanks

noshownogo wrote:Check Supa's Bad Robot on facebook first, they have a store in Movietowne POS and do lots of screen replacements.

Will do...

Postby pete » July 12th, 2013, 8:34 am

M_2NR wrote:I installed the apk from android police and it started crashing Google play services. I think its how I disabled all of the wakelocks for maps/locations. Ohh well back to the prev version

My maps updated on its own. Works ok. Looks different.. Guess I just have to get accustomed.

Postby javishm » July 12th, 2013, 9:11 am

Supa bad robot does not repair it

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 12th, 2013, 10:45 am

Unannounced Motorola Moto X likely spotted in the hands of Google's Eric Schmidt

During the winter, Sun Valley is known for its skiing. This time of the year, however, it's quickly becoming a tech hotspot as some of the industry's top execs gather together at the annual Allen and Co media conference. Among the attendees is Google's Eric Schmidt, who brought along a mystery Motorola phone and couldn't resist showing it off. While Schmidt couldn't "comment on the nature of this phone," according to Variety's Rachel Abrams, it certainly didn't stop him from giving everyone a sneak peek. Multiple images of the device, which appears to feature a carbon fiber-like back and sleek curves, popped up on Twitter from the likes of Gary He and Taylor Wimberly. As it doesn't match the leaked pictures of the upcoming Droid Ultra or Maxx, we're guessing this is the legendary Motorola X in the flesh; and judging by Schmidt's willingness to flaunt it, it's quite likely that we won't have to wait much longer before we see even more of it. There's one more shot of the device from the top past the break.

Engadget

Postby M_2NR » July 12th, 2013, 1:55 pm

pete wrote:
M_2NR wrote:I installed the apk from android police and it started crashing Google play services. I think its how I disabled all of the wakelocks for maps/locations. Ohh well back to the prev version

My maps updated on its own. Works ok. Looks different.. Guess I just have to get accustomed.

yea it is nicer. I had to delete it and re-install the old version from the play store.

___

Guys, do those Market Unlockers to spoof your region (to get US apps like VEVO) still work? I'm reading that they don't work anymore...

Postby Trini Hookah » July 12th, 2013, 2:49 pm

Maps navigation ftw

Postby pete » July 12th, 2013, 3:29 pm

Is there a way to report that a road is not able to be used? Google maps has been suggesting a road for me to use but some aholes decided to break down a bridge on the route.

Postby javishm » July 13th, 2013, 11:56 pm

Contacted HTC they said they cant repair it since its from Australia and Australia does not wanna fix it because its out of the country....

who locally does it

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 14th, 2013, 7:14 am

Find out from HTC where the closest service center is.

I think it would be cheaper to send it to Australia as its just 1 pound.

UPS and DHL both have a service where you don't have to pay custom charges once they are shipping it back for you.

Postby M_2NR » July 14th, 2013, 1:52 pm

Javishm, try contacting HTC again. That device is hell to get repaired. You can check ifixit.com and it scored a 1/10 wrt repairability. It is guaranteed to damage the plastic bezel if anyone opens it.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 15th, 2013, 2:54 pm

Does anyone get dropped calls with the factory unlocked S4? Tried clearing phone cache w/ restart but nothing seems to be working. Feel I may need to restore.

Still haven't gotten internet working again cause Digicel head office refused to assist me cause I didn't buy the phone from them. Thing is I get edge so I know my apn settings are correct so is just a problem accessing their prepaid data packages. Real disappointed with their customer service, might hada go back on the green team.

Postby M_2NR » July 15th, 2013, 5:06 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Does anyone get dropped calls with the factory unlocked S4? Tried clearing phone cache w/ restart but nothing seems to be working. Feel I may need to restore.

Still haven't gotten internet working again cause Digicel head office refused to assist me cause I didn't buy the phone from them. Thing is I get edge so I know my apn settings are correct so is just a problem accessing their prepaid data packages. Real disappointed with their customer service, might hada go back on the green team.
yuh hadda keep calling and getting on. A padna of mine got this initially when he first tried digicel out. It took him a few weeks. They had to reset the account details.

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » July 15th, 2013, 6:16 pm

fellas,

I am looking to get the S4. I decided to purchase it from amazon but I see that there are two international unlocked versions. The I9500 and I9505. Wanted some advice on which one to buy. I see the difference between them is the LTE (not sure what that means).

Postby M_2NR » July 15th, 2013, 6:22 pm

One comes with the Octa-Core, the other the quad-core also.
http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?id ... hone2=5125

there is a whole thread on xda about it:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... p=41633306

LTE is a type of mobile data. We currently don't have that available.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LTE_%28tel ... ication%29

btw, long time no see man. Hope all is well

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 15th, 2013, 6:27 pm

M_2NR wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:Does anyone get dropped calls with the factory unlocked S4? Tried clearing phone cache w/ restart but nothing seems to be working. Feel I may need to restore.

yuh hadda keep calling and getting on. A padna of mine got this initially when he first tried digicel out. It took him a few weeks. They had to reset the account details.

My co worker has a pardna working there so he actually checked it out for me and reset whatever settings on his end but still nothing. But I need to restore the phone anyway, that call dropping thing real annoying.

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » July 15th, 2013, 7:28 pm

hey M_2NR,

everything cool, same to you. based on the links you provided, I think the 9500 is the way to go b/c here we do not even have real 4G with the green network which I'm stuck with so I do not see the LTE technology being a problem in the future for upgrade purposes.

there are also some other kinks apparently with the 9505 so I will be safe and go with the 9500.

Thanks!

J453

Postby J453 » July 15th, 2013, 8:55 pm

Oh. So that's what "4g but not just 4g" means. Looks like I have to seriously consider going red.

Postby M_2NR » July 15th, 2013, 9:01 pm

I think the kinks are with the octa core one yuhno. I not sure :oops: I remember reading one had battery issues. But all the people I talk to who got theirs locally (9500) about it have no issues. Both have LTE though. I think. Just differs by region if I'm not mistaken.

Digicel and bmobile both run similar tech: HSPA+ capable of 21mbps down theoretically. Strangely too I seem to get higher speeds on my iPhone than the HOX.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 15th, 2013, 9:35 pm

J453 wrote:Oh. So that's what "4g but not just 4g" means. Looks like I have to seriously consider going red.

Red is not real 4G either, and their data more expensive

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » July 15th, 2013, 10:23 pm

Looks interesting.

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » July 15th, 2013, 11:24 pm

M_2NR wrote:I think the kinks are with the octa core one yuhno. I not sure :oops: I remember reading one had battery issues. But all the people I talk to who got theirs locally (9500) about it have no issues. Both have LTE though. I think. Just differs by region if I'm not mistaken.

Digicel and bmobile both run similar tech: HSPA+ capable of 21mbps down theoretically. Strangely too I seem to get higher speeds on my iPhone than the HOX.

I own both and frankly I will still keep 9500. In day to day use it still turned out to be better phone even with all the issues it has. Lasts longer, has better screen. Day light difference between screen quality. Not only the black are deeper on 9500, the screen looks different. Even when both phones are powered off, the panel on 9500 has deeper black colour. It looks like they are using different panels on 9505 and 9500. Can anyone look into this?
I thought it might just be my unit. So I went checking on web and in every comparison video you see on youtube comparing 9505 and 9500, you can actually observe what I am seeing.
And I am consistently getting 4+ hours on screen time on 9500. 9505 cant keep up with same usage. And the adreno 320 which is suppose to be technically superior is struggling in even some 2D games for some reason. I have seen this behaviour on my HTC One as well. I dont know what is the issue but both One and S600 powered SGS4 have issues playing even non taxing 3d and 2d games. Microstutter is very apparent with both of them where so called inferior GPU on 9500 sails through them with ease with butter smooth experience.
There is also definite difference in pictures produced by camera on both phone with 9500 producing images with better details. 9505 gives my aunt free botox by smoothing out wrinkles 9500 captures more details. But that could be down to firmware. But at the moment there is difference in picture quality.

It is such a shame that this Exynos has such issues. It could have been so much better, but even when it is not perfect, I would still take it over S600.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2287347&page=6

This review is what sold me on the 9500 along with a couple other reviews from people who seemed to know what they were talking about; whilst ignoring the opinions of the fanboys lol.

On paper the 9505 seems to be the better phone but in reality the 9500 is the better phone, at least for now. The deal breaker for most will be those who require the LTE capability (foreign networks) but seeing as that will not reach here for the next ten years(thinking positive), I'm going with 9500.

Kronik wrote:
J453 wrote:Oh. So that's what "4g but not just 4g" means. Looks like I have to seriously consider going red.

Red is not real 4G either, and their data more expensive

Neither is real 4G.
Red has better service but is more expensive.
Green is cheaper but has not so great service.

Postby RASC » July 15th, 2013, 11:51 pm

MotorolaX looking somewhat interesting.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » July 16th, 2013, 2:55 am

hard like stone is what u mean? 4000mah battery standard. waterproofing etceteraa etceteraa on the way at somewhere around or under 500usd. moto know how to make fones. waiting for my qwerty moto x slider to release patiently. tho it might come in the droid ultra lineup. waiting.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » July 16th, 2013, 2:48 pm

have a s3 with charging problems
battery drain when plugged in and if it does charge it charges very slow
tried multiple chargers no luck
brought a new battery same issues
rooted the phone and installed a custom rom with still no joy
anyone have an ideas?

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » July 16th, 2013, 2:58 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:have a s3 with charging problems
battery drain when plugged in and if it does charge it charges very slow
tried multiple chargers no luck
brought a new battery same issues
rooted the phone and installed a custom rom with still no joy
anyone have an ideas?
Check your pm

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 16th, 2013, 3:32 pm

no battery issues or dropped calls on my i9500

for those who want another way to get wifi you can configure a windows 7 system as a virtual router as android does not support ad hoc out of the box.

Postby pete » July 16th, 2013, 6:40 pm

What do you mean to get wifi? Taking a wired connection and a laptop to get wifi? A router seems a much easier option.

Or you mean to transfer files by wifi? Cause its easier to just install Airdroid.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 16th, 2013, 9:37 pm

All of the above plus Internet access via wifi.

Android does not support ad hoc networks so as long as you have a PC with Internet and a wireless card (does not need to be wired) you can create a virtual wireless router with windows 7 and connect your android device to it and get Internet.

Postby M_2NR » July 17th, 2013, 7:18 pm

I trying out Venom ViperX Rom for the HTC One X here. So far it's awesome! I think it sorted out the battery drain i was having on ARHD and stock. At least so far i have not activated Google Now and NLP isn't freezing.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » July 17th, 2013, 7:23 pm

M_2NR wrote:I trying out Venom ViperX Rom for the HTC One X here. So far it's awesome! I think it sorted out the battery drain i was having on ARHD and stock. At least so far i have not activated Google Now and NLP isn't freezing.

I also had viper its one of the best roms for the htc one x, it increases the life of the battery astonishingly it is just amazing, just wait until u see the optimizations it has done to ur phone cpu