COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 148 cases, 8 deaths, 128 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » July 27th, 2020, 5:01 pm

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
MG Man wrote:so can knowing you're sick and moving around infecting ppl be considered criminal negligence? What happens if someone dies as a result? Hard luck fam?

Don't be an idiot, you don't know what symptoms the person may have had.

Many persons simply exhibit a headache and slight fatigue for days before any shortness of breath.

Also you don't know the persons circumstances, are daily paid and needed the money from work? Would they have been fired for staying home a week?

Stop being judgemental, anyone who goes in for testing right now has done the responsible thing and they don't need to be accused and rediculed.

The short answer is, "Yes." Dohplaydat's statement appears to be quite incorrect on its surface here.

The legal theory of criminal negligence is essentially similar for all countries that base their laws on English common law -- Trinidad is one of those countries.

Negligence and/or the possible unknown spreading of disease has been cited numerous times for quarantine, incarceration and refusal of border entry in the past. A well-known case of incarceration was that of New York City's "Typhoid Mary" Mallon. "Typhoid Mary" was an asymptomatic carrier of typhus and, after infecting more than 50 people, was placed in forced isolation for 26 years.

-----------

Coronavirus: Can you be held criminally liable for spreading it? Here’s what the law says

By Emerald Bensadoun Global News
Posted March 10, 2020 6:12 pm

While there is no official legislation, the Canadian government said it is possible that a person may be held criminally liable for knowingly spreading COVID-19.

In a statement to Global News, Department of Justice Canada said that Criminal Code offences of criminal negligence causing death or criminal negligence causing bodily harm could apply, if the situation involves a person who knows they have COVID-19 intentionally acting to spread the virus to others and one or more of those other people suffers bodily harm or death as a result.

Criminal negligence includes doing anything that shows a wanton or reckless disregard for the lives or safety of other persons.

In their statement, the Department of Justice specified that a person’s behaviour would have to be differ “substantially” from typical behaviour of a reasonable person acting in those circumstances.

https://globalnews.ca/news/6654692/crim ... us-canada/

If you are aware you have it or strongly suspect it then going about your business is irresponsible. I do agree.

But in the case of many mild Covid-19 cases that barely present any symptoms it is extremely unfair to chastise someone for spreading it.

I have occasional headaches, Sahara dust induced sore throats and fever, yet because I have to earn a living I do have to occasionally venture outside.

I'm always wearing a mask, I avoid eating food or drinking when close to people. If I ever do get it for some reason it's unlikely I'll spread it to others. However, I have let my guard down a lot. Occasionally my neighbor would pop in to gimme some mango or zaboca and on occasions I've forgotten to wear a mask around him. If I'm over by my parents or relatives, especially within the last month (when we all assumed we had no covid-19 cases outthere) I've had meals and spent time with them without my masks.

How many of you are wearing masks in your workplace? How many of you are wearing masks around close friends or relatives?

The guy could have been irresponsible, but guess what? he went in for testing and is quarantine so he did do the right thing.

Don't do like the PNM government and start blaming citizens without knowing the truth.

It appears to me that you are now attempting to back-track your statement by giving mitigating examples.

You simply stated an incorrect answer to the question. Period.

Nope, never changed position bro. How can criminally prosecute someone who has to work and only experienced a headache? If we know he was experiencing more than that, then maybe consider him at fault. But it's 100% unfair to chastise someone like this without knowing all the information.

So don't beat up on the man until you know otherwise. Especially when there are many suffering financially and need to work and need to keep their jobs right now.

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2020, 5:07 pm

this is why they should have implemented the pandemic leave- yes is can be abused but we are in a public health emergency- health & safety come first. that can be used in conjunction with work-from-home arrangements where possible

Postby toyolink » July 27th, 2020, 5:20 pm

What is now upon us is really very sad and the only way out from under this situation requires us to be our brothers keeper.
We must all follow the rules, since the consequences of not doing so is known by all.
Our children may very well pay a terrible price if adults dont do the right thing.
Covid19 if it doesn't kill the infected would or could result in serious life changing damage to all with no preferences.
I pray that we step-up to this one.
No one can plead ignorance at this stage.

Postby MaxPower » July 27th, 2020, 5:46 pm

toyolink wrote:What is now upon us is really very sad and the only way out from under this situation requires us to be our brothers keeper.
We must all follow the rules, since the consequences of not doing so is known by all.
Our children may very well pay a terrible price if adults dont do the right thing.
Covid19 if it doesn't kill the infected would or could result in serious life changing damage to all with no preferences.
I pray that we step-up to this one.
No one can plead ignorance at this stage.

Hello toyolink,

I will join you in prayer.

Postby adnj » July 27th, 2020, 6:26 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
MG Man wrote:so can knowing you're sick and moving around infecting ppl be considered criminal negligence? What happens if someone dies as a result? Hard luck fam?

Don't be an idiot, you don't know what symptoms the person may have had.

Many persons simply exhibit a headache and slight fatigue for days before any shortness of breath.

Also you don't know the persons circumstances, are daily paid and needed the money from work? Would they have been fired for staying home a week?

Stop being judgemental, anyone who goes in for testing right now has done the responsible thing and they don't need to be accused and rediculed.

The short answer is, "Yes." Dohplaydat's statement appears to be quite incorrect on its surface here.

The legal theory of criminal negligence is essentially similar for all countries that base their laws on English common law -- Trinidad is one of those countries.

Negligence and/or the possible unknown spreading of disease has been cited numerous times for quarantine, incarceration and refusal of border entry in the past. A well-known case of incarceration was that of New York City's "Typhoid Mary" Mallon. "Typhoid Mary" was an asymptomatic carrier of typhus and, after infecting more than 50 people, was placed in forced isolation for 26 years.

-----------

Coronavirus: Can you be held criminally liable for spreading it? Here’s what the law says

By Emerald Bensadoun Global News
Posted March 10, 2020 6:12 pm

While there is no official legislation, the Canadian government said it is possible that a person may be held criminally liable for knowingly spreading COVID-19.

In a statement to Global News, Department of Justice Canada said that Criminal Code offences of criminal negligence causing death or criminal negligence causing bodily harm could apply, if the situation involves a person who knows they have COVID-19 intentionally acting to spread the virus to others and one or more of those other people suffers bodily harm or death as a result.

Criminal negligence includes doing anything that shows a wanton or reckless disregard for the lives or safety of other persons.

In their statement, the Department of Justice specified that a person’s behaviour would have to be differ “substantially” from typical behaviour of a reasonable person acting in those circumstances.

https://globalnews.ca/news/6654692/crim ... us-canada/

If you are aware you have it or strongly suspect it then going about your business is irresponsible. I do agree.

But in the case of many mild Covid-19 cases that barely present any symptoms it is extremely unfair to chastise someone for spreading it.

I have occasional headaches, Sahara dust induced sore throats and fever, yet because I have to earn a living I do have to occasionally venture outside.

I'm always wearing a mask, I avoid eating food or drinking when close to people. If I ever do get it for some reason it's unlikely I'll spread it to others. However, I have let my guard down a lot. Occasionally my neighbor would pop in to gimme some mango or zaboca and on occasions I've forgotten to wear a mask around him. If I'm over by my parents or relatives, especially within the last month (when we all assumed we had no covid-19 cases outthere) I've had meals and spent time with them without my masks.

How many of you are wearing masks in your workplace? How many of you are wearing masks around close friends or relatives?

The guy could have been irresponsible, but guess what? he went in for testing and is quarantine so he did do the right thing.

Don't do like the PNM government and start blaming citizens without knowing the truth.

It appears to me that you are now attempting to back-track your statement by giving mitigating examples.

You simply stated an incorrect answer to the question. Period.

Nope, never changed position bro. How can criminally prosecute someone who has to work and only experienced a headache? If we know he was experiencing more than that, then maybe consider him at fault. But it's 100% unfair to chastise someone like this without knowing all the information.

So don't beat up on the man until you know otherwise. Especially when there are many suffering financially and need to work and need to keep their jobs right now.

Question: so can knowing you're sick and moving around infecting ppl be considered criminal negligence? What happens if someone dies as a result? Hard luck fam?

Wrong Answer: Don't be an idiot, you don't know what symptoms the person may have had.

Correct Answer: The short answer is, "Yes."

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2020, 6:29 pm

i think in law is only if u under the Quarantine order that u could be penalised for breaching quarantine

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2020, 6:42 pm

$50k they said
But we don’t have any tracking measures so it is a moot point

redmanjp wrote:i think in law is only if u under the Quarantine order that u could be penalised for breaching quarantine

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 27th, 2020, 7:52 pm

How is one supposed to know when he's actually sick? People get allergies, headaches etc all the time. Until things get severe most people ignore those.

Most people who are working right now do not want to get fired for being sick.

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2020, 8:05 pm

pugboy wrote:$50k they said
But we don’t have any tracking measures so it is a moot point

redmanjp wrote:i think in law is only if u under the Quarantine order that u could be penalised for breaching quarantine

defence force not monitoring ppl in home quarantine?

Postby adnj » July 27th, 2020, 8:48 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:adnj

How is one supposed to know when he's actually sick? People get allergies, headaches etc all the time. Until things get severe most people ignore those.

You are simply stating your opinion. No one knows or can be sure of those circumstances... including you. You also continue to debate unknown quantities and hyperbole.

There is but one issue that you have available to discuss with me: can a person be held criminally liable for infecting another person with a disease?

I have given the definitive answer: yes.

Since that question has been asked, and answered, the discussion has reached its conclusion.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 27th, 2020, 9:02 pm

adnj wrote:

You are simply stating your opinion. No one knows or can be sure of those circumstances... including you. You also continue to debate unknown quantities and hyperbole.

There is but one issue that you have available to discuss with me: can a person be held criminally liable for infecting another person with a disease?

Since that question has been asked, and answered, the discussion has reached its conclusion.

Ok

Postby De Dragon » July 27th, 2020, 9:10 pm

adnj wrote:

Your reasoning and answer are overly simplistic. There is no short answer to such a question without context, much as you'd like to believe so.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 27th, 2020, 9:38 pm

The last company I worked for a female co worker was fired because her brother had covid.

Nobody in their right mind would ever admit to having Covid or having any flu like sympton, the stigma is way worse than HIV in the 80's you are literally treated as a disease itself even AFTER you have overcome Covid and no longer positive. Was in a store the other day and a Indian fella was saying how they need to kill and bury all the Vene cause apparently according to him it is the Vene who bringing in Covid.

Yes you can lose your life in this country if you admit to having Covid or any flu like symptom, you can be chopped to death, nobody in their right mind would admit to this which raises the question would they even bother to get tested

Postby paid_influencer » July 27th, 2020, 9:44 pm

anyone ever think about getting covid and dying from it? because this shiet is kinda bumming me out. I don't want to be at work. I dont want to go out anywhere. I wear a mask more for my sanity than safety. it feels snug and safe and reassuring.

I am in a 'high risk' patienr if I get covid. this shiet could really kill me wtf

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 27th, 2020, 9:50 pm

paid_influencer wrote:anyone ever think about getting covid and dying from it? because this shiet is kinda bumming me out. I don't want to be at work. I dont want to go out anywhere. I wear a mask more for my sanity than safety. it feels snug and safe and reassuring.

I am in a 'high risk' patienr if I get covid. this shiet could really kill me

I have diabetes and hypertension, I would dead from Covid no questions asked.

But the government is to blame, laws need to be passed, imprisonment of up to 6 months for not wearing a mask in public. Was in KFC a couple weeks ago I don't normally eat fast food anymore but didn't have one arse home to eat so took a chance and some dumb arse Indian approach me outside KFC with he drunk dotish self and asking me how I eh hailing he out and how I forget about he and all kinda assness, I told him I doh know him and I would appreciate some social distancing the nasty stink fck refuses to wear a mask, drinking rum and talking and coughing in people face in public.

Bring laws, jail they mother cnt for not wearing a mask, why should I be doing the correct thing but there are people who refuse to do the correct thing and can literally kill me? remember these home made mask isn't a N95, it has onoy a 5% chance of stopping Covid from someone else all it does is stop you from spreading it.

So no mask in public, should = imprisonment

At this point i would welcome Sharia laws in this Country, close down all those bars at once. Drunk people cause confrontation, do not listen to reason and spread Covid and kill innocent people.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » July 27th, 2020, 9:57 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:There goes SEA?

I'm wondering the same thing, these students in these two schools are now being unfairly set back and there might be more to come as many of these students go to lessons classes mixing with others from other schools.

So if they set it back and another child gets sick if they set back? There is unfortunately no right answer. There is the case of the other 19k kids who are under stress of this exam. Maybe it’s been a while since any of us had to write this awful exam - but I do remember and it’s a horrible experience for a 11 - 12 year old to wait for the unknown.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 27th, 2020, 10:00 pm

Can one of you all please tell me who is responsible for spreading these wild conspiracy theories on the internet regarding covid in T&T?

According to people I speak with on the ground, numerous people, they claim that the government is lying about Covid and there is no spread in the East West Corridor, thy claim Rowley is saying this so people won't come out and vote. They say Covid is a hoax created by Rowley because according to them "Why is Rowley the only world leader who has defeated Covid?" it is too suspicious apparently for some people.

My question is if this wild conspiracy theory is true, HOW does this help Rowley? wouldn't logic dictate that BOTH parties would lose an equal amount of votes anyways? or is this some dotish thing other political parties are inventing just incase they lose the election so they can put the blame on somebody else rather than account for their own incompetence?

What is the police doing about these people cooking up wild conspiracy theories on Facebook and Wats app, spreading it to the uneducated lizard brain Anti Science masses in this country? ent they passed spying laws to catch and lock up people for posting fake news on social media? why then is the police not enforcing any of this?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 27th, 2020, 10:07 pm

When will the lizard brain people just realize the ONLY reason Trinidad had temporarily defeated Covid is because Rowley closed the borders and told everybody to fck off. How can people not understand something THIS BASIC AND SIMPLE?

The new cases are a result of Trinis going back to their stink ways and I not talking about littering which we are experts at, I am talking about we stopped washing or sanitizing our hands, stopped wearing masks and that is the reason it started back up.

We as Trinis must realize cleanliness must be a new way of life and anyone found without a mask in public should pay a fine. This is what is needed to defeat Covid, constantly washing of hands and a penalty for ANYBODY caught without a mask in public.

Postby K74T » July 27th, 2020, 10:16 pm

PM announced of 4 new cases, 1 of unknown origin. 152 now.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/pm-announces-4-new-covid-cases-origin-of-1-unknown/

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2020, 10:21 pm

So he take over from cmo and announcing on platforms ?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 27th, 2020, 10:23 pm

^ Not surprising the reopening of Bars in this country is largely to blame for the spread of Covid.

Bars should have remained closed, it is the embodiment of socializing.

Venezuelans are wrongfully being blamed for Covid spread, it is our dutty ways to blame we stopped washing hands over a month now.

Postby De Dragon » July 27th, 2020, 10:30 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Not surprising the reopening of Bars in this country is largely to blame for the spread of Covid.

Venezuelans are wrongfully being blamed for Covid spread, it is our dutty ways to blame we stopped washing hands over a month now.

Yeah, you can't get it from jammimg up in PriceSmart, MovieTowne or Pennywise :roll: :roll:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 27th, 2020, 10:37 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Not surprising the reopening of Bars in this country is largely to blame for the spread of Covid.

Yeah, you can't get it from jammimg up in PriceSmart, MovieTowne or Pennywise :roll: :roll:

I mean did I say you can't? I don't think so but PriceSmart is a far bigger necessity than drinking rum since you can actually buy food at PriceSmart although I agree cinemas should remain closed.

Literally anything is better to have opened than a bar. Even if you were to go Pennywise or MovieTowne you aren't going there to get drunk and drunk people are far less likely to listen to logic and are extremely confrontational, love to start fights and get in the FACE of others who try to tell them the right thing.

When you go to pennywise or pricesmart you are wearing a mask, NOBODY is wearing a mask in a Bar. Literally NOBODY and not a single bar I have EVER seen has a requirement to wear a mask. They should shut them bars the fck down like they do in Muslim countries I could more than live without drinking rum. And I would welcome less confrontational drunk @ssholes in public either spreading Covid or killing people in road fatality.

Postby MaxPower » July 27th, 2020, 10:44 pm

Still too little cases for Trinis to care.

Another normal day in Trini today, as will be tomorrow.

Just waiting for my Keith to buss the shot on allyuh.

Postby De Dragon » July 27th, 2020, 10:54 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

I mean did I say you can't? I don't think so but PriceSmart is a far bigger necessity than drinking rum since you can actually buy food at PriceSmart although I agree cinemas should remain closed.

Literally anything is better to have opened than a bar. Even if you were to go Pennywise or MovieTowne you aren't going there to get drunk and drunk people are far less likely to listen to logic and are extremely confrontational, love to start fights and get in the FACE of others who try to tell them the right thing.

When you go to pennywise or pricesmart you are wearing a mask, NOBODY is wearing a mask in a Bar. Literally NOBODY and not a single bar I have EVER seen has a requirement to wear a mask. They should shut them bars the fck down like they do in Muslim countries I could more than live without drinking rum. And I would welcome less confrontational drunk @ssholes in public either spreading Covid or killing people in road fatality.

You don't get out much do you?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 27th, 2020, 10:55 pm

Used to be all over the country from Toco to Point Fortin driving doing sales. But since Covid I have no use to go out until a vaccine is developed or this is over, I have diabetes and hypertension, the last thing I need is to socialize and get Covid or killed by a drunk lunatic.

I don't miss liming with friends and drinking, not only is it cheaper to stay home but a LOT safer both in terms of Covid and drunk drivers. Bars need to be shut down to protect the lives of innocent people until Covid is better contained, these are not essential services not even close.

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2020, 11:23 pm

supermarkets like pricemart are essential- how else u going to feed yuh family? even during the lock down they were open but were the first to implement social distancing and wearing masks.

not only are bars not essential but how u wearing masks while you drinking?

another thing- restaurants- is it that u no longer have to wear it now that dining in is allowed or u still have to wear it while ordering? last week this woman come in without a mask and want to stand 3 feet behind me- i point to d ground and tell she stay right dey.

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2020, 11:48 pm

MOH FB page have nothing yet on the latest 4.

Postby sMASH » July 27th, 2020, 11:51 pm

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2020, 11:56 pm