COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Redress10

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 148 cases, 8 deaths, 128 discharged in T&T

Postby Redress10 » July 27th, 2020, 12:00 pm

Alluh remember how in the earlies men inside here were saying that gov't hiding cases and they not doing enough testing and all that bs.

Look ya getting all the cases ya wanted live and direct now. Hope ya can handle it. Make up some conspiracies now nah. Sh*t now start getting real. Hope alluh ready.

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2020, 12:04 pm

latest case was a delivery driver going around the country

Postby aaron17 » July 27th, 2020, 12:09 pm

pugboy wrote:latest case was a delivery driver going around the country

Spreader to the next level.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » July 27th, 2020, 12:15 pm

Cases an contact tracing
IMG-20200727-WA0040.jpeg

Postby aaron17 » July 27th, 2020, 12:28 pm

The new normal; ppl testing positive on an everyday basis in tnt.

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2020, 12:32 pm

ST Auto wrote:Cases an contact tracing
IMG-20200727-WA0040.jpeg
ST Auto wrote:Cases an contact tracing IMG-20200727-WA0040.jpeg

which ones are local/pending investigation?

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2020, 12:33 pm

A better pic would be one with the current cases from last week

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2020, 12:38 pm

goalpost wrote:A lot of employers are victimizing their employees for staying home for any reason including sickness, especially after that lockdown recently.

MOH should give ppl who there have contacted as a contact a signed statement to give to their employer

but there's still the issue of someone who was not contacted but have symptoms

Doesn't OSHA play into Covid19? I mean someone should stay away from work so as to not make the work environment safe- at the same time if it isn't (e.g. no one wearing masks in a shared office) don't I have the right to refuse to work?

Postby sMASH » July 27th, 2020, 12:40 pm

aaron17 wrote:To all who put on a mask as a 'front or a show' and then when they reach in work take it out and interact with ppl normal normal..view this image comic I put together.

u just described the public service and ministries.

Postby sMASH » July 27th, 2020, 12:43 pm

Redress10 wrote:Alluh remember how in the earlies men inside here were saying that gov't hiding cases and they not doing enough testing and all that bs.

Look ya getting all the cases ya wanted live and direct now. Hope ya can handle it. Make up some conspiracies now nah. Sh*t now start getting real. Hope alluh ready.

nope. based on the activity of the govt, it woudl have no other outcome. their stats at the time showed that there was no covid, but their activities had no other outcome than mass transmission.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 27th, 2020, 12:45 pm

TPRC closed today supposedly a worker tested positive.

My SIL just called the Public Health Officer for the TPRC and she confirmed the office closed but not saying why

Postby aaron17 » July 27th, 2020, 1:38 pm

sMASH wrote:
aaron17 wrote:To all who put on a mask as a 'front or a show' and then when they reach in work take it out and interact with ppl normal normal..view this image comic I put together.

u just described the public service and ministries.
Thankyou!

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 147 cases, 8 deaths, 128 discharged in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 27th, 2020, 2:20 pm

:P
bluefete wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Rumors of a family of 5 in Tacarigua testing +

goalpost wrote:Realize most of your rumours become reality. Let's hope you're wrong.

I would take Shakes rumours any day over many other people's facts.

Its actually a family of 8 and well they all related to latest positive case. My info suggests that 2 persons are already displaying symptoms...Guess my rumors were good

abducted

Postby abducted » July 27th, 2020, 2:24 pm

Key Points From The Ministry Of Health’s Virtual Media Conference on COVID-19 – Monday July 27th 2020:

Principal Medical Officer - Epidemiology, Dr. Naresh Nandram, confirmed that the most recent COVID-19 case is a 43 year old man who presented at the Arima District Health Facility. Officials became aware of this case last night and have begun investigations. There are at least 8 persons in this household (3 adult males, 3 adult females and 2 children). One child in this household is an SEA student at the Tacarigua Presbyterian School. The school is closed from today and contact tracing for students, families and teachers has begun. The COVID-19 patient, a delivery driver, was symptomatic for six days and went to work every day. Officials are testing everyone the individual came into contact with through work, and sanitisation has begun at business places.

Contact tracing and swabbing continue for Primary, Secondary and Tertiary contacts for the recently confirmed COVID-19 Positive case. Technical Director, Epidemiology Division at the Ministry of Health, Dr. Avery Hinds, said officials are working at pinpointing the definitive source for the recent COVID-19 case. Health officials are also concentrating on preventing spread and this is why the public is urged to wear face masks and practice proper hygiene at all times.

The recent cases of COVID-19 have been deemed “sporadic.” If there is a reclassification of these cases, it will be through official channels from the World Health Organization.

Dr. Nandram encouraged people to wear face masks and to stay home if they are ill.
- Do not go to work.
- Keep sick children at home.
- Get tested immediately at any public health facility.
- COVID-19 Hotline numbers: 800-WELL (Trinidad) and 800-HEAL (Tobago).

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh noted that the recent cases of COVID-19 cropped up along the East-West Corridor. He also noted two lapses that came to the fore last week: the decrease in people wearing masks and people refusing to stay home when they are ill.

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh urged leaders to wear masks and be an example to citizens. The public must assume that everyone has COVID-19 and take the necessary precautions related to the New Normal.

In addition to the PCR Test, a serological test is to be introduced for COVID-19 cases.

People are encouraged to be honest when answering questions regarding COVID-19. To withhold information is an offence.

Postby MaxPower » July 27th, 2020, 2:51 pm

Eh allyuh imagine if a KFC worker get the Cove.

Wwgd??

Postby nemisis » July 27th, 2020, 2:54 pm

Nada its not a food borne contagion.

Postby MG Man » July 27th, 2020, 3:05 pm

so can knowing you're sick and moving around infecting ppl be considered criminal negligence? What happens if someone dies as a result? Hard luck fam?

Postby pete » July 27th, 2020, 3:18 pm

That question was asked today and they said no. However, if they ask you where you've been and who you have interacted with and you deliberately withhold information that is an offence.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 27th, 2020, 3:39 pm

nemisis wrote:Nada its not a food borne contagion.

Let's face it, they not wearing mask. Even if the taker outer have on one, the people in the back might not.

They collecting money then holding the box, bag, drink, rest it on the same counter top hundreds of people touching. You still have to hold it to your car then house before you empty it out.

Sure man, it's not food borne.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 27th, 2020, 3:42 pm

MG Man wrote:so can knowing you're sick and moving around infecting ppl be considered criminal negligence? What happens if someone dies as a result? Hard luck fam?

Don't be an idiot, you don't know what symptoms the person may have had.

Many persons simply exhibit a headache and slight fatigue for days before any shortness of breath.

Also you don't know the persons circumstances, are daily paid and needed the money from work? Would they have been fired for staying home a week?

Stop being judgemental, anyone who goes in for testing right now has done the responsible thing and they don't need to be accused and rediculed.

Postby bluefete » July 27th, 2020, 3:55 pm

Hearing of children in different schools coming down with "flu-like" symptoms.

Some awaiting test results.

(I thought Deyalsingh said you could get results on the same day)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 27th, 2020, 4:03 pm

There goes SEA?

Postby aaron17 » July 27th, 2020, 4:06 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
MG Man wrote:so can knowing you're sick and moving around infecting ppl be considered criminal negligence? What happens if someone dies as a result? Hard luck fam?

Many persons simply exhibit a headache and slight fatigue for days before any shortness of breath.

Also you don't know the persons circumstances, are daily paid and needed the money from work? Would they have been fired for staying home a week?

Stop being judgemental, anyone who goes in for testing right now has done the responsible thing and they don't need to be accused and rediculed.

let me add to that. They supposed to wear masks and social distance regardless if they feeling 'normal'.

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2020, 4:06 pm

nemisis wrote:Nada its not a food borne contagion.

it doh have to be from d food itself- d worker could cough on yuh- or talk to yuh while not wearing mask- or he hand he just cough on is d same hand he giving yuh d box of kfc

at work i would heat it over first, open the box, sanitize hand, and use a fork i got from 1 or 2 days before, trying not to touch the box

at home i would throw it out into a plate, sanitize hand, reheat it then eat.

Postby aaron17 » July 27th, 2020, 4:08 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:There goes SEA?

There goes election, cpl, money ,freeness in public....and kfc.

Postby adnj » July 27th, 2020, 4:09 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

The short answer is, "Yes." Dohplaydat's statement appears to be quite incorrect on its surface here.

The legal theory of criminal negligence is essentially similar for all countries that base their laws on English common law -- Trinidad is one of those countries.

Negligence and/or the possible unknown spreading of disease has been cited numerous times for quarantine, incarceration and refusal of border entry in the past. A well-known case of incarceration was that of New York City's "Typhoid Mary" Mallon. "Typhoid Mary" was an asymptomatic carrier of typhus and, after infecting more than 50 people, was placed in forced isolation for 26 years.

-----------

Coronavirus: Can you be held criminally liable for spreading it? Here’s what the law says

By Emerald Bensadoun Global News
Posted March 10, 2020 6:12 pm

While there is no official legislation, the Canadian government said it is possible that a person may be held criminally liable for knowingly spreading COVID-19.

In a statement to Global News, Department of Justice Canada said that Criminal Code offences of criminal negligence causing death or criminal negligence causing bodily harm could apply, if the situation involves a person who knows they have COVID-19 intentionally acting to spread the virus to others and one or more of those other people suffers bodily harm or death as a result.

Criminal negligence includes doing anything that shows a wanton or reckless disregard for the lives or safety of other persons.

In their statement, the Department of Justice specified that a person’s behaviour would have to be differ “substantially” from typical behaviour of a reasonable person acting in those circumstances.

https://globalnews.ca/news/6654692/crim ... us-canada/

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 27th, 2020, 4:25 pm

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

The short answer is, "Yes." Dohplaydat's statement appears to be quite incorrect on its surface here.

The legal theory of criminal negligence is essentially similar for all countries that base their laws on English common law -- Trinidad is one of those countries.

Negligence and/or the possible unknown spreading of disease has been cited numerous times for quarantine, incarceration and refusal of border entry in the past. A well-known case of incarceration was that of New York City's "Typhoid Mary" Mallon. "Typhoid Mary" was an asymptomatic carrier of typhus and, after infecting more than 50 people, was placed in forced isolation for 26 years.

-----------

Coronavirus: Can you be held criminally liable for spreading it? Here’s what the law says

While there is no official legislation, the Canadian government said it is possible that a person may be held criminally liable for knowingly spreading COVID-19.

In a statement to Global News, Department of Justice Canada said that Criminal Code offences of criminal negligence causing death or criminal negligence causing bodily harm could apply, if the situation involves a person who knows they have COVID-19 intentionally acting to spread the virus to others and one or more of those other people suffers bodily harm or death as a result.

Criminal negligence includes doing anything that shows a wanton or reckless disregard for the lives or safety of other persons.

In their statement, the Department of Justice specified that a person’s behaviour would have to be differ “substantially” from typical behaviour of a reasonable person acting in those circumstances.

If you are aware you have it or strongly suspect it then going about your business is irresponsible. I do agree.

But in the case of many mild Covid-19 cases that barely present any symptoms it is extremely unfair to chastise someone for spreading it.

I have occasional headaches, Sahara dust induced sore throats and fever, yet because I have to earn a living I do have to occasionally venture outside.

I'm always wearing a mask, I avoid eating food or drinking when close to people. If I ever do get it for some reason it's unlikely I'll spread it to others. However, I have let my guard down a lot. Occasionally my neighbor would pop in to gimme some mango or zaboca and on occasions I've forgotten to wear a mask around him. If I'm over by my parents or relatives, especially within the last month (when we all assumed we had no covid-19 cases outthere) I've had meals and spent time with them without my masks.

How many of you are wearing masks in your workplace? How many of you are wearing masks around close friends or relatives?

The guy could have been irresponsible, but guess what? he went in for testing and is quarantine so he did do the right thing.

Don't do like the PNM government and start blaming citizens without knowing the truth.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 27th, 2020, 4:27 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:There goes SEA?

I'm wondering the same thing, these students in these two schools are now being unfairly set back and there might be more to come as many of these students go to lessons classes mixing with others from other schools.

Postby MG Man » July 27th, 2020, 4:29 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

You clearly don't know me
I'll let it slide this time

Postby adnj » July 27th, 2020, 4:50 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

-----------

If you are aware you have it or strongly suspect it then going about your business is irresponsible. I do agree.

But in the case of many mild Covid-19 cases that barely present any symptoms it is extremely unfair to chastise someone for spreading it.

I have occasional headaches, Sahara dust induced sore throats and fever, yet because I have to earn a living I do have to occasionally venture outside.

I'm always wearing a mask, I avoid eating food or drinking when close to people. If I ever do get it for some reason it's unlikely I'll spread it to others. However, I have let my guard down a lot. Occasionally my neighbor would pop in to gimme some mango or zaboca and on occasions I've forgotten to wear a mask around him. If I'm over by my parents or relatives, especially within the last month (when we all assumed we had no covid-19 cases outthere) I've had meals and spent time with them without my masks.

How many of you are wearing masks in your workplace? How many of you are wearing masks around close friends or relatives?

The guy could have been irresponsible, but guess what? he went in for testing and is quarantine so he did do the right thing.

Don't do like the PNM government and start blaming citizens without knowing the truth.

It appears to me that you are now attempting to back-track your statement by giving mitigating examples.

You simply stated an incorrect answer to the question. Period.