Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Spitfir3 » November 26th, 2014, 10:32 pm

those evo prices don't drop very often if ever but the crucial/sandisk line do
http://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Ultra-2-5 ... =240gb+ssd

im going to try my hand with this..it ain't the fastest but its definately the cheapest and has great reviews
http://www.amazon.com/Silicon-Power-240 ... =240gb+ssd

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » November 26th, 2014, 10:38 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:those evo prices don't drop very often if ever but the crucial/sandisk line do
http://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Ultra-2-5 ... =240gb+ssd

im going to try my hand with this..it ain't the fastest but its definately the cheapest and has great reviews
http://www.amazon.com/Silicon-Power-240 ... =240gb+ssd

looks interesting never saw those brands before but they have good reviews i just might consider it thanks

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 27th, 2014, 1:34 am

corsair force gt ssd is at an excellent price right now

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » November 27th, 2014, 3:07 pm

SSD prices are really epic right now.

Crucial MX100 512GB is $210 US

*adds to cart* :)

scenic108

Postby scenic108 » November 27th, 2014, 3:16 pm

What is this
How do I solve this?
1417115759841.jpg

Postby ismithx » November 27th, 2014, 3:30 pm

either somebody doing some funny business on you internet or your pc, or your clock is off

scenic108

Postby scenic108 » November 27th, 2014, 3:54 pm

Running a boot sector virus scan with avast ...waiting

scenic108

Postby scenic108 » November 27th, 2014, 6:26 pm

Turns out it was avast web shield causing the trouble... I disabled it and now I good

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 27th, 2014, 8:41 pm

Arcmanov wrote:SSD prices are really epic right now.

Samsung 840 EVO 500GB: $189.99 with a FREE download code for Far Cry 4 :shock:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 27th, 2014, 9:02 pm

Have that same drive in my cart, dunno why the 1TB ver. can't see some better prices also. Far cry 4 kinda buggy right now, so they could afford to give it away.

Postby Spitfir3 » November 28th, 2014, 2:57 am

for those still not willing to shell out $$ for a big ssd this has got to be the cheapest ive ever seen a 240gb for..couple of days ago this was more than $100
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M8A ... UTF8&psc=1

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 28th, 2014, 4:08 am

Yeah I had that on my wish list since 31st August and the lowest it would go is $100 on weekends and then back to ~$120.

A review if anyone interested.
http://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/sandisk-ultra-ii-240-gb-ssd-review,1.html

But now I wondering if to get the Samsung evo instead :?

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » November 28th, 2014, 8:23 am

I also waiting on the 840 to drop below 100

knthprks

Postby knthprks » November 28th, 2014, 2:40 pm

Anywhere selling gtx970 in trinidad?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 28th, 2014, 2:54 pm

^not that i know,Wizz usually gets the new high end stuff,didnt see any there.

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 28th, 2014, 11:55 pm

knthprks wrote:Anywhere selling gtx970 in trinidad?

May aswell just bring one down shipping and customs isn't too bad on cards

knthprks

Postby knthprks » November 29th, 2014, 3:34 am

jm3 wrote:
knthprks wrote:Anywhere selling gtx970 in trinidad?

May aswell just bring one down shipping and customs isn't too bad on cards
thnx was just trying to avoid d wait

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » November 29th, 2014, 10:55 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:
Arcmanov wrote:SSD prices are really epic right now.

Samsung 840 EVO 500GB: $189.99 with a FREE download code for Far Cry 4 :shock:

Ogeeeeed.

Epic price indeed... AND Far Cry 4?

Sheeeeiiiiiit.

Is a good ting I have Far Cry 4 already, or I woulda cuss. :lol:
(ah done buy the Crucial already nah)

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 29th, 2014, 11:27 pm

waiting for cyber monday to pick up pc parts.
i bought a bitfenix spectre pro 230mm fan so far.
hoping to get a good deal on x99 mobo and processor.

Postby sMASH » December 1st, 2014, 10:46 am

Wha prices allyuh geh so...

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » December 1st, 2014, 4:45 pm

jm3 wrote: bitfenix spectre pro 230mm fan so far.

Boss fan. I have one of those as my HAF-X intake.
Moves plenty air, and almost dead-silent.

Postby nervewrecker » December 1st, 2014, 11:01 pm

So, these Kingston ssd v300's are on sale for just under $50.00. Couldn't help but pick up one.

I want to use it as a back up for my PC files and to connect to my pioneer deck to listen music. In saw there is a USB to data III adapter so alls well there for connecting it to the PC, right?
For the vehicle however, it requires fat 32 but the drive comes in nfts. Reformatting it shouldn't be an issue right?

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » December 1st, 2014, 11:43 pm

^ How you powering that sata though?

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2014, 12:16 am

Can the PC USB power do it?

I have USB power in the pickup, not sure of voltage but if necessary is no big deal to get another power source.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » December 2nd, 2014, 3:26 am

I had a similar setup with a vantech hard drive enclosure using usb for power and data needs. Worked just like any usb but swapped it out for a 128gb sandisk cruzer.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » December 2nd, 2014, 7:15 am

I believe this works.

http://www.amazon.com/Patuoxun-Converte ... ata+to+usb

One USB for power, the other for data transfer. Its 12 volts btw.

Postby ismithx » December 2nd, 2014, 3:19 pm

them thing is not 12 volts, usb only delivers 5. if you want one with 12 volts, check the wizz computers ltd, i got one today for 175.

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2014, 8:30 pm

Well it isn't here yet so I am not sure of the voltage but at that price, oy was too good to pass up.

What you got for $175.00 ismithx? The cable?

Postby ismithx » December 2nd, 2014, 8:41 pm

this is the kit in question that i got

http://www.comqtech.com/component/k2/it ... p19is.html

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2014, 9:04 pm

Oh, nothing for 12v though.

I have a dual USB out in the CIG lighter. Should be like 5V, the HD is 5V no?