COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 141 cases, 8 deaths, 124 discharged in T&T

Postby alfa » July 25th, 2020, 12:06 pm

nemisis wrote:You stupid bad, not saying the Trinis not supposed to be doing the outlined but you seem to think wearing a mask protecting yourself. The mask is to keep you from spreading it to others. So "if" it was contained in the first lockdown and isn't now then one can assume it came in and spread due to importation by the vene and their lack of adherence to our public health protocols. Carry on.
aaron17 wrote:The whole country have to suffer because of these idiots.

They supposed to be wearing masks, distancing and quarantining.

If anyone is to be tested positive in Trinidad are the Venezuelans and those returning from abroad in breach of self quarantine instructions.

Anyone else getting infected is due to their OWN irresponsibility and negligence.

These are the SAME people who are NOT wearings masks, refusing to wash hands and are like close up ticks around people.

Oh gosh allyuh enough of the how and why to wear a mask and what type bla bla we know this.....allyuh Trinis missing the point as usual.

Comply with what is asked and you will not be infected.....simple.

By that same logic shouldn't all out stranded nationals be brought at home once?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 141 cases, 8 deaths, 124 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » July 25th, 2020, 12:08 pm

alfa wrote:
nemisis wrote:You stupid bad, not saying the Trinis not supposed to be doing the outlined but you seem to think wearing a mask protecting yourself. The mask is to keep you from spreading it to others. So "if" it was contained in the first lockdown and isn't now then one can assume it came in and spread due to importation by the vene and their lack of adherence to our public health protocols. Carry on.
aaron17 wrote:The whole country have to suffer because of these idiots.

They supposed to be wearing masks, distancing and quarantining.

If anyone is to be tested positive in Trinidad are the Venezuelans and those returning from abroad in breach of self quarantine instructions.

Anyone else getting infected is due to their OWN irresponsibility and negligence.

These are the SAME people who are NOT wearings masks, refusing to wash hands and are like close up ticks around people.

Oh gosh allyuh enough of the how and why to wear a mask and what type bla bla we know this.....allyuh Trinis missing the point as usual.

Comply with what is asked and you will not be infected.....simple.

By that same logic shouldn't all out stranded nationals be brought at home once?

All at once?

How much so we talking about?

They cannot be controlled.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 147 cases, 8 deaths, 128 discharged in T&T

Postby K74T » July 25th, 2020, 1:22 pm

Key Points From The Ministry Of Health’s Virtual Media Conference on COVID-19 – Saturday July 25th 2020:

Five people directly related to Case #142 have now tested Positive for COVID-19. They include three children in the same household. Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh confirmed that the Maraval RC School had to be closed because the parents of a child in this household allowed the child to attend school while ill on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. In relation to this case, Chief Medical Officer Dr. Roshan Parasram confirmed that as much as 90 persons (including students and teachers) at the school have been deemed Primary Contacts and will now undergo the necessary protocols including home quarantine for 14 days. More than 200 people have also been deemed Secondary Contacts. Dr. Parasram said one person from this cluster was moving about with symptoms so there are additional Primary and Secondary Contacts that will now be placed in 14-day quarantine. Dr. Parasram stated, "If the child had stayed at home when he was ill, we would have lost already 300 possible contacts and decreased the risk of Community Spread."

On Case #141, Dr. Parasram said all Primary Contacts are Negative thus far but community surveillance continues.

On Case #139, Dr. Parasram said all Primary Contacts (household and business place) are Negative thus far. The three Primary Contacts of Case #139 remain in quarantine in Tobago and have tested Negative. National Security Minister Stuart Young confirmed that the three went across to Tobago on the fast ferry where physical distancing was enforced on the vessel, along with robust sanitisation before and after each sailing.

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said officials were looking to open the entertainment sector this week, but the increase in COVID-19 cases over the past few days has forced them to hold off on this reopening.

Following the increase in COVID-19 cases this week, the following measures will come into effect:

- Visits are NO LONGER ALLOWED at Homes for the Aged.
- One visitor per patient rule will be enforced at all hospitals at the Regional Health Authorities. Visits are one hour at all public health facilities.
- Business owners must enforce the No Mask, No Policy.

Government is not looking to lock down or revert on more Public Health measures at this time.

- As at 11am on Saturday July 25th 2020, there are 154 persons are quarantined at various facilities in T&T. The following is the breakdown:
CASCADIA: 33
CAURA: 2
CHANCELLOR HOTEL: 17
HOME OF FOOTBALL: 43
REGENT STAFF: 14
UWI DEBE CAMPUS: 24
TACARIGUA: 21

There will be 13 persons quarantined at Caura at the end of today.

At Couva, there are 175 beds available in case there is an upsurge in COVID-19 cases.

The normal health care services at all public hospitals will continue. Citizens are urged to make use of it.

Three illegal immigrants from the Dominican Republic are now in quarantine at the Chaguaramas Heliport. National Security Minister Stuart Young said drivers and boatmen are putting the T&T population at risk for COVID-19 by facilitating the illegal entry of persons. Some perpetrators are already in quarantine and will be charged for Trafficking in Persons. Businessmen will also be charged for breaching regulations.

National Security Minister Stuart Young also warned landlords that they will be charged if they are found to be harbouring illegal immigrants. Landlords must ensure their tenants are here legally and must report illegal immigrants to the authorities.

Citizens urged to dial 555 to provide police with information on illegal immigrants. Drivers and boatmen will be charged with Trafficking in Persons if they are found to be transporting illegal immigrants.

Caribbean Airlines is working with the National Security Ministry to take TT students back to school in the US. Some TT Nationals currently in the United States will also return home on that CAL flight.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 25th, 2020, 2:01 pm

so sorry the kids and an entire school have to suffer now. If PNM didn't need to rush elections and force SEA an listen to TTUTA as i was sayin this situation wouldn't exist. Yet Deyalsingh yappin bout he daughta, who enjoying UK luxuries and safety on the back of TT tax payers mind you, and talking bout PNM care.
Great is D PNM and dey handlin of d covid19

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » July 25th, 2020, 2:02 pm

Election gimmick, either of the following.
1. Cancel general elections because they are not ready for the wetting.
2. Scare people into not going out to vote. More to this but I cannot explain this point.

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » July 25th, 2020, 2:05 pm

We have "so called“ community spread but we are not closing the bars and so on? Wake up Trinidad and Tobago and think what's really going on.

abducted

Postby abducted » July 25th, 2020, 2:08 pm

UNC supporters really have nothing to offer, instead they come up with the craziest of conspiracy theories, Kamla asked for bars and borders to be reopened remember

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 25th, 2020, 2:09 pm

Scaring people into not going out to vote benefits which party?

Postby goalpost » July 25th, 2020, 2:21 pm

We rushed to lock down and it wasn't even this bad. The only reason we haven't locked down as yet is because of August 10

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 25th, 2020, 2:54 pm

goalpost wrote:We rushed to lock down and it wasn't even this bad. The only reason we haven't locked down as yet is because of August 10

By then it will be too late, especially with election madness and sea classes.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2020, 2:57 pm

Bunch of mad and crazy people spreading these wild conspiracy theories. If is not PNM trying to stop election and govern for life is some other assnes about how Covid is a hoax or the earth is flat or Rowley created covid or it never had Covid.

If you see the kinda insane conspiracy theories I does hear people saying out there about this eh.

Conspiracy theories plays into people's lizard brain much easier to believe a wild conspiracy than to read the actual science which takes a lot of time and effort. Same way it's easier to justify obesity with the word "thicc" a made up word that doesn't exist and has no meaning than to actually change our unhealthy fast food lifestyle and go vegan.

It really is part of nature, to take the easy way out.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 25th, 2020, 3:07 pm

Delaying election only helps UNC.

The real questions are:
1. Did we under test before deciding to open back up?
2. Did it come from an illegal immigrant?
3. Should we push back SEA and elections and go back to lockdowns?

Worldwide we've seen many countries deal with 2nd waves by adhering to strict hygiene measures. Europe is mostly ok, the US is not. Kinda shows how important mask wearing is.

But by remaining open we run the risk of a real first wave and given how trinis behave I expect with a month or two we'll be having dozens of cases daily.

Postby paid_influencer » July 25th, 2020, 3:12 pm

goalpost wrote:We rushed to lock down and it wasn't even this bad. The only reason we haven't locked down as yet is because of August 10

This is true. I remember in May 1, we hadn't had a single case in weeks but bam - a month more strict lockdown.

Now we have 7 cases of local spread in 3 days and malls, bars and food courts open like normal. :drinking:

Postby adnj » July 25th, 2020, 3:17 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

By then it will be too late, especially with election madness and sea classes.

In March and April, you were only tested if you showed symptoms. Now you are tested if you had contact.

It may have been just as bad earlier, if not worse.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2020, 3:34 pm

No the problem with the US is certain media houses like Fox News and Breitbart News continues to push conspiracy theories that masks don't work and that Americans don't need to bow to Europeans who demand they wear a mask.

It is a common theme with these right wing sites and the ignorant attitude of a lot of Americans who thinks they are superior to others so they don't need to follow the rules of others.

Then there is the "Bible Belt" a portion of America who believes Covid is a hoax and the earth is flat and or 5000 years old and that a talking snake convinced somebody to eat an apple. So religion is another thing to blame since all religion is Anti Science, we have a similar issue in Trinidad.

Every church person I have ever met has told me Science is the work of the Devil, if you are a true believer in god you would believe that you can pray for Covid to go away and you don't need a vaccine.

Postby redmanjp » July 25th, 2020, 5:09 pm

borders not closed to fishing vessels apparently:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 25th, 2020, 9:13 pm

Stupid people believe conspiracies.

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » July 26th, 2020, 6:42 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Bunch of mad and crazy people spreading these wild conspiracy theories. If is not PNM trying to stop election and govern for life is some other assnes about how Covid is a hoax or the earth is flat or Rowley created covid or it never had Covid.

If you see the kinda insane conspiracy theories I does hear people saying out there about this eh.

Conspiracy theories plays into people's lizard brain much easier to believe a wild conspiracy than to read the actual science which takes a lot of time and effort. Same way it's easier to justify obesity with the word "thicc" a made up word that doesn't exist and has no meaning than to actually change our unhealthy fast food lifestyle and go vegan.

It really is part of nature, to take the easy way out.

You have a lot to learn my friend. Go read the Science they want you to read, while I conduct the experiments and get the true results for my hypothesis. A lizard brain is bigger than an ant brain, engage the brain before engaging the tongue my friend.

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » July 26th, 2020, 7:41 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Stupid people believe conspiracies.

Is being brainwashed by what they want you to learn is education then I'm happy to be stupid. One day you will remember this post, trust me. They own your arse....

Postby aaron17 » July 26th, 2020, 8:05 am

So when someone die again (God forbid) ..then everyone will get back serious and panick buying.

Postby MaxPower » July 26th, 2020, 8:10 am

aaron17 wrote:So when someone die again (God forbid) ..then everyone will get back serious and panick buying.

Yeh, typical Trinis.

Postby goalpost » July 26th, 2020, 9:30 am

Honestly, another lockdown will help only temporarily. We will return to our old ways after and then boom we in problems again. Unfortunately we are too lackadaisical and this applies not just to Trinis. Look at the US. There really is no solution until a vaccine and even then that's a problem.

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2020, 9:50 am

lockdown with severe penalties may help a bit

Postby MaxPower » July 26th, 2020, 10:12 am

pugboy wrote:lockdown with severe penalties may help a bit

Hello pugboy,

I agree with this.

The “lockdown” may affect businesses that have not even recovered yet, but severe penalties for those failing to comply with the New Norm should be implemented.

Aggressive force as necessary for those with the “lash meh na” attitude.

Postby adnj » July 26th, 2020, 10:27 am

pugboy wrote:lockdown with severe penalties may help a bit
No mask, no service strict enforcement was implemented yesterday (supposedly). Even the staff of most businesses that I saw were without masks. Maxi drivers and riders, too.

Postby MaxPower » July 26th, 2020, 10:31 am

The situation still too mild in T&T for anyone to care.

One one case is something to be very cautious of, but no one cares.

We need consistent daily cases and deaths for people to give a damn.

Postby aaron17 » July 26th, 2020, 10:33 am

Reminding you all of the 100 pounds for having no mask in uk.

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2020, 10:34 am

even if stuey/gg go after the illegal migrants

where are they going to hold/quarantine the 1000s of them ?
it's a very tall order logistically to start with.

Postby paid_influencer » July 26th, 2020, 11:17 am

aaron17 wrote:Reminding you all of the 100 pounds for having no mask in uk.

this is needed here.

Rowley should spend a few days as a security or retail worker trying to enforce 'no mask no service'. The people without mask more vex than you. I fully support giving these maskholes a ticket if they are in a 'masks required' compound without a mask.

Postby redmanjp » July 26th, 2020, 2:09 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

This is true. I remember in May 1, we hadn't had a single case in weeks but bam - a month more strict lockdown.

Now we have 7 cases of local spread in 3 days and malls, bars and food courts open like normal. :drinking:

and they in 'home quarantine'. next ting u hear 1 of them decide to sneak out. i hope Defence Force posted outside each house.