3ne2nr fishermen

selfmade.customs

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby selfmade.customs » February 11th, 2015, 9:23 am

Looking for a cheap rod an reel to buy. Wanna use it for shore fishing Pm me ppl

Postby TRAE » February 11th, 2015, 9:42 am

sws or bel air stores in south- like 300 for a combo

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 11th, 2015, 9:44 am

Doh waste your money on stuff dat wudnt last Ah couple trips bro...put d extra an buy Ah combo dat will serve U well...Doh hav to be no high end stuff but there are many budget friendly combos to be gotten at Mankee in POS...

Postby *KRONIK* » February 11th, 2015, 9:45 am

I have a 6ft shimano rod and reel combo
Spool up with 12lb spiderwire mono

Pm if interested

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 11th, 2015, 9:46 am

Solara/ax4000 combo?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 11th, 2015, 9:57 am

Yeah

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 11th, 2015, 1:20 pm

For shore fishing you want minimum a 8ft rod, 30 lb line and a reel that can handle 30 lbs drag. Short rods wont cast as far and the heavier line is for rock or underwater snag resistance. Your looking at $700 min, oil it once year and wash it off with clean fresh water every use and it will last years.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 11th, 2015, 2:25 pm

@kronik I kill plenty fish on dat combo wit 10lb mono...held real big tarpon and all kinda stuff...

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » February 11th, 2015, 2:26 pm

ent get ah chance to do any kinda surf fishing for the longest while but from what i see, d bait shud be here in ah month or so...saw plenty offshore on d north...on another note, who entering the budget marine wahoo blowout month end? i inside...

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » February 11th, 2015, 3:49 pm

Bel Air Stores in Marabella have the Ugly Stick rod and reel combo, i think for around $450 -$500.
Only saw 8ft sizes though.

selfmade.customs

Postby selfmade.customs » February 11th, 2015, 9:27 pm

Where can i get it to buy?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 11th, 2015, 9:55 pm

There's a guy with a mobile shop around southland mall/ Vee's (Chinese hotel casino grocery). Dont know his prices or brands.

Postby meccalli » February 11th, 2015, 11:17 pm

Anybody ever fished that clifton hill, guapo river mouth area? Seems that's the destination the family and friends decided this carnival.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 11th, 2015, 11:58 pm

That whole area is a bust... the oil spill(don't get fooled the oil still under the water), muddy silty water etc etc maybe you'll have some fun, I just wouldn't east anything outta the sw unless its cedro's down.

Postby meccalli » February 12th, 2015, 6:16 am

Thanks, maybe that info might change their minds lol.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » February 12th, 2015, 6:51 am

Curtms wrote:There's a guy with a mobile shop around southland mall/ Vee's (Chinese hotel casino grocery). Dont know his prices or brands.

Dont bother, hes too expensive. Go by sws or mankee. If dats too far for u den check d bike shop next to ms superstore in debe.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 12th, 2015, 10:26 am

Worst case ( only if Mankees or the tackleshop doesn't have what you want ) is amazon.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 12th, 2015, 10:59 am

Must get sumting by Mankee....will be there tomorow...

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 12th, 2015, 11:17 am

Ryan, Tell Mankee to get some Finnors

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 12th, 2015, 12:46 pm

mrlantra wrote:Ryan, Tell Mankee to get some Finnors

I have a Fin Nor Lethal 80 loaded with 50lb braid. It sweet, drag real smooth, doesn't stick under pressure at all.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 12th, 2015, 2:56 pm

Went up Chag today. Stopped by westmoorings first. Nothing happening just a few bites but no hookups. Moved to Williams bay side after the boardwalk and caught a few reds released the small ones which is mostly what it has there. Highlight was bait all over the place and them getting chased. Was surrounded by it was pretty cool. Tried some casts with some artificials but no takers.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 12th, 2015, 2:58 pm

I will let him no...I was checking den out recently as well...the fin nors...

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 12th, 2015, 5:04 pm

Hyperion wrote:

I have a Fin Nor Lethal 80 loaded with 50lb braid. It sweet, drag real smooth, doesn't stick under pressure at all.

I have the 60 and 80, one with 30 power pro and the other 50 spyderwire, the drag is smooth but the reel isnt as smooth as a shimano but they are tough reels and will take abuse better.

Postby meccalli » February 12th, 2015, 5:48 pm

That's the buzz of ss gears and pinions, I love it. Shimano's will generally use alloys of bronze/manganese and of course top class gear cutting (helical main gears which transfer torque extremely efficiently) aka x-ship- makes turning a reel feel like its floating-but it's inherent I guess, they've been designing world class bikes for years. Fin-nor has a culture of tough stuff, more seen in the ahab and ofs as well as their older stuff. Its one of the most failsafe anti reverse system I've seen compared to ar-bearings and dogs where the notches are actually cut into the rotor assembly with a thick pawl which is pretty much the same old school tech used in big conventionals like the senators and intnls in a spinner. The best spinners i've used were the old fin-nor ofs and the penn ss. All metal, solid foundation, get sand and salt in the gears and just wash and regrease..good as new.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 12th, 2015, 5:49 pm

mrlantra wrote:
Hyperion wrote:

I have the 60 and 80, one with 30 power pro and the other 50 spyderwire, the drag is smooth but the reel isnt as smooth as a shimano but they are tough reels and will take abuse better.

agreed, can't beat them at the price point though. Right up there with Penn, etc.

http://www.alanhawk.com/reviews/lists.html

http://www.alanhawk.com/reviews/reviews.html

http://www.alanhawk.com/

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 12th, 2015, 5:52 pm

meccalli wrote:That's the buzz of ss gears and pinions, I love it. Shimano's will generally use alloys of bronze/manganese and of course top class gear cutting (helical main gears which transfer torque extremely efficiently) aka x-ship- makes turning a reel feel like its floating-but it's inherent I guess, they've been designing world class bikes for years. Fin-nor has a culture of tough stuff, more seen in the ahab and ofs as well as their older stuff. Its one of the most failsafe anti reverse system I've seen compared to ar-bearings and dogs where the notches are actually cut into the rotor assembly with a thick pawl which is pretty much the same old school tech used in big conventionals like the senators and intnls in a spinner. The best spinners i've used were the old fin-nor ofs and the penn ss. All metal, solid foundation, get sand and salt in the gears and just wash and regrease..good as new.

I have a penn 704z twenty years now, took plenty abuse and still going strong. Real old school, with the spool inside the rotor cup, the design is real simple, minimal moving parts, built like n AK47 lol. It noisy like hell, no silent retrieve, but i love it.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 12th, 2015, 5:56 pm

Never had Ah fin nor do wanted to try one out....used all the shimano and pen lineup...the Stradic fj is the smoothest so far imo....

Postby meccalli » February 12th, 2015, 6:06 pm

The z is a literal tank, the guys on sol cried so much on the penn forum, they brought it back lol.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 12th, 2015, 6:31 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Never had Ah fin nor do wanted to try one out....used all the shimano and pen lineup...the Stradic fj is the smoothest so far imo....

never had a shimano, want to try one. i think the next reel i buy will be one of those shimano baitfeeder reels, for live bait or floating deadbait. Mankee's actually have better prices than online.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 13th, 2015, 7:45 am

Went macqueripe by the rocks on rising tide wednesday , had alot of bait fish ...but the tide remained extremely low for the 4 hours we were there . Top water and down rig , nothing bite at all.

Heading up a place called paragrant beach and maybe damien bay this 4 day weekend, anyone had experience inshore fishing at these locations?