Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby *KRONIK* » July 31st, 2023, 7:02 am

sMASH wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Doh wanna start a new thread, but since we on pest control

Whats a good solution to deal with them house lizards?

I noticed all over the country, ppl are complaining about an increase in the population

But, they so crafty and hard to catch/kill

Last night i ketch 2 bullin'
I blast them with some break & parts cleaner
They lived to tell the story
Cats does deal with them.
Not that lazy one i had, she used to pretend she didnt see or hear
Too much food.

Nice life

Funny thing is: she was hunting before she became "domesticated"
Then she was spayed after her 1st litter
She get rel lazy after, and turned into a chonk.
We was adopted by a girl with multiple cats, now she bossing around the other cats and dogs, and i heard she catching birds now.

Lol

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 31st, 2023, 8:12 am

"We was adopted"

I like that phrasing , cuz dais the usual case :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » July 31st, 2023, 9:33 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:"We was adopted"

I like that phrasing , cuz dais the usual case
"She was"...."we was" is a typo

Lol

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 3rd, 2023, 8:33 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:"We was adopted"

I like that phrasing , cuz dais the usual case
"She was"...."we was" is a typo

Lol

nah hoss

humans adopt dogs
cats adopt humans

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2023, 8:56 am

lol correct statement

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 4th, 2023, 7:49 am

but fellas,

Anyone seeing an upsurge in some dry looking white slugs?
They like 3-4 inches long.

Noticed a couple in my yard thus far, apart from the usual plentiful small brown slender slugs

Postby rollingstock » October 9th, 2023, 3:52 pm

Wynn's carb and parts cleaner seems to kill them instantly.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 9th, 2023, 5:22 pm

rollingstock wrote:Wynn's carb and parts cleaner seems to kill them instantly.
Noted

Postby *KRONIK* » October 9th, 2023, 5:23 pm

I havent seen any by me in months

Since it killed the last 2 massive ones i found across the rd

This dry weather have them hiding probably

Postby j.o.e » October 9th, 2023, 6:07 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:I havent seen any by me in months

As rain fall they’ll reemerge with a vengeance

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2023, 6:26 pm

so how them does bury themselves?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 9th, 2023, 7:18 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Doh say that nah

Postby *KRONIK* » October 9th, 2023, 7:20 pm

pugboy wrote:so how them does bury themselves?
They do, cuz i remember finding a few in a sheltered seasoning pot with some loose type soil.
So they have a way they does burrow

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2023, 8:03 pm

best yuh get the pellets out early so as they wake up they get killed in first wave of rains

Postby *KRONIK* » October 10th, 2023, 6:44 am

pugboy wrote:best yuh get the pellets out early so as they wake up they get killed in first wave of rains
Yea
I have a ½bag remain to get start up

I also bought some tiovin, gonna heavily spray the spot i suspect they hiding with some when the guy who sprays for me comes

Postby j.o.e » October 10th, 2023, 9:23 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Doh say that nah

Happen to me already. I thought I won the battle … strange thing is when they in hibernation they somehow grow …. Because when the rains come they are already bigger.

Postby MG Man » October 12th, 2023, 3:46 pm

j.o.e wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Doh say that nah

Happen to me already. I thought I won the battle … strange thing is when they in hibernation they somehow grow …. Because when the rains come they are already bigger.

I used to wonder about that...like outta the blue, two BIG ones would randomly show up...until I reaized my neighbour's yard is festering with them and he does nothing about them, and occasionally they find their way over the wall, and via branches of his soursop tree that used to hang over the wall. I made him cut the branches and now I always have the property line sprinkled with pellets

Postby *KRONIK* » January 29th, 2024, 8:06 am

So..... they are back

20240129_080255.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » January 29th, 2024, 8:08 am

If i mix thiovine really strong and put it in a spray bottle, can i just zap them a few times and they will die?
Or does it have to be ingested to work?

I throw away all them old containers i used to collect snails in and i aint feel like starting back a collection

Postby j.o.e » January 29th, 2024, 8:12 am

*KRONIK* wrote:So..... they are back

20240129_080255.jpg

That’s the problem. They never went away. Even when you’re not seeing them you need to continue with all procedures just less aggressively. I learned my lesson with that.

snowman

Postby snowman » January 29th, 2024, 4:25 pm

There seems to be a small infestation in Malabar. And by small I mean over 100 have been killed in recent weeks. Just some salt.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 29th, 2024, 6:36 pm

j.o.e wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:So..... they are back

20240129_080255.jpg

That’s the problem. They never went away. Even when you’re not seeing them you need to continue with all procedures just less aggressively. I learned my lesson with that.
I know this much, but with the hot weather recently
I had not seen any around in a while
Just the random 1,1

Now i seeing some bigger ones coming out

I put down some snail pellets this morning one time
Hopefully some eat it tonight

Postby j.o.e » April 3rd, 2024, 2:57 am

First rains. The battle restarts

Postby *KRONIK* » April 3rd, 2024, 12:11 pm

j.o.e wrote:First rains. The battle restarts
I aint see none yet
But when i tell you them frogs jump out themselves....it sickening yes

Postby gastly369 » April 3rd, 2024, 12:57 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
I aint see none yet
Curry

Postby j.o.e » April 3rd, 2024, 1:00 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
I aint see none yet

At 2am i looked out and saw a big one crossing the lawn. Gonna arm up for an early attack on them later this week. Pellets and gonna get a bucket of salt to deposit any that turn up nightly. Will drop them in the bucket instead of salting them and damaging lawn after this harsh dry period

Postby *KRONIK* » April 3rd, 2024, 1:03 pm

gastly369 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
I aint see none yet
Curry

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 4th, 2024, 9:04 pm

them roasting that on a stick all over Nigeria and selling it by the roadside how we sell doubles
just like puffer fish and lion fish you need to know how to handle it.

All you have to say to people is it good for the boy.

Postby matr1x » April 4th, 2024, 10:08 pm

Giant African snail? Why dey do Fitzy dutty so for?

Postby Dizzy28 » July 19th, 2024, 9:23 am

So I guess it was just a matter of time.
Last week saw a few GAS in the yard. One medium sized mofo and a few smaller ones. We don't have any plants in the yard but the neighbour have seim and pumpkin growing along the chainlink fence between us and him. That's more than likely where they feeding as I took some off the seim last night.

Been collecting the ones I see and placing in a bucket of bleach.

Not really feeling to read back this entire thread - what is a good poison to get and where can I get it?

WhatsApp Image 2024-07-19 at 9.22.54 AM.jpeg