Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Alpha_2nr

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 25th, 2024, 9:36 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i say the governor fix the rate at 2:1 and implement forex access controls. imaging how cheap everything will be

What?

That's the equivalent (IMO) of the Central Bank "printing more dollar notes" to say that we "have more money".

Not how it works, unfortunately.

Aka nonsense.

Postby paid_influencer » November 25th, 2024, 10:32 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:i say the governor fix the rate at 2:1 and implement forex access controls. imaging how cheap everything will be

What?

That's the equivalent (IMO) of the Central Bank "printing more dollar notes" to say that we "have more money".

Not how it works, unfortunately.

Aka nonsense.

that is exactly how it works, unfortunately. A fixed exchange rate is an exchange rate by decree, not by market forces.

we could do it and there would be "forex shortages", because there isn't enough hard currency to supply that level of demand.

guess what is happening right now

Postby paid_influencer » November 25th, 2024, 10:41 pm

well technically we do have enough forex to meet demand

problem is the forex coming from savings and borrowing. and will run out

after that then what

Postby zoom rader » November 25th, 2024, 11:14 pm

Forex issues yet Still people voting back PNM

On another note Eliteauto don't have a forex issue as he scams his passengers from the airport as US only

Postby pugboy » November 26th, 2024, 5:14 am

is it illegal for taxi driver to be paid in usd?

zoom rader wrote:Forex issues yet Still people voting back PNM

On another note Eliteauto don't have a forex issue as he scams his passengers from the airport as US only

Postby zoom rader » November 26th, 2024, 7:52 am

pugboy wrote:is it illegal for taxi driver to be paid in usd?

A worked for a US company in Pt lisas that wanted to pay it's employees in US . Under the currency exchange laws they where forbidden to do so. Central Bank refused them.

However, their expat US workforce was paid in US cause they had work permits.

Postby mero » November 26th, 2024, 8:30 am

Boy hush yuh cont and the answer the man question nah. Always some irrelevant story nobody ask yuh

Postby zoom rader » November 26th, 2024, 9:06 am

mero wrote:Boy hush yuh cont and the answer the man question nah. Always some irrelevant story nobody ask yuh
If u or others dont understand what Central Bank told the company or know that the only legal tender in Trinidad is the TTD, then you need help.

Postby pugboy » November 26th, 2024, 11:15 am

they will never remove those usd payment restrictions
it is a form of control over the population whilst the 1% get their access to usd

Postby zoom rader » November 26th, 2024, 12:36 pm

pugboy wrote:they will never remove those usd payment restrictions
it is a form of control over the population whilst the 1% get their access to usd
We have to reverted to an island of economic slavery.

1% have total control of Forex while lalchan and Kwame have to fight up to get a lil 200

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 26th, 2024, 4:53 pm

Gone in the bank:
Me: I want to buy some us, I travelling
Bank: we have no us to sell
Me: I want to withdraw some us
Bank: sure, no problem how much you want, $3,000?

So it's not that they don't have US it's that they don't want to sell to people for them to go and sell it at a higher rate or to give to something to some drug deal or whatever

So blame the people for the forex "crisis"

Postby paid_influencer » November 26th, 2024, 6:09 pm

if u withdrawing is ur own money u getting tho

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 26th, 2024, 10:37 pm

paid_influencer wrote:if u withdrawing is ur own money u getting tho

Tell that to some banks where you have to make an appointment to withdraw and they charge a fee if you withdraw over a 1000 a week.

Postby redmanjp » November 27th, 2024, 12:03 am

I doh know but how on earth a foreigner who only have US going to pay? What happens during Carnival when we have thousands of them?

And if it's the airport taxi it means they haven't gotten the chance to go by a bank yet so in that case they would have no choice not so ?

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2024, 4:52 am

the airport has a cambio to change usd
so they have to change usd as they land

redmanjp wrote:

I doh know but how on earth a foreigner who only have US going to pay? What happens during Carnival when we have thousands of them?

And if it's the airport taxi it means they haven't gotten the chance to go by a bank yet so in that case they would have no choice not so ?

Postby paid_influencer » November 27th, 2024, 7:35 am

doesn't the official AATT approved signs for porters and taxis have standard rates in TT$ and US$?

AFAIK, you can set contract terms however you like locally. You can specify payment in jockey shorts if you want. Legal tender is for payment of debts and legal liability, but not a limitation on new contracts.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2024, 12:23 pm

Central Bank Proposes Changes To Exchange Control Act To Tackle Unauthorised Forex Transactions.

Postby paid_influencer » November 27th, 2024, 6:11 pm

^ yup. central bank governor want you to sell your US bank to the bank for 6.10 to 1.

As soon as you sell it, the banks will call their private banking customers and hold it for them while telling everybody else (including you) that it have none available.

and the best part is the population has no political will to do anything regarding social justice, just take it and say to themselves look how black people really bound to suffer

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2024, 6:16 pm

paid_influencer wrote:^ yup. central bank governor want you to sell your US bank to the bank for 6.10 to 1.

As soon as you sell it the banks will call their private banking customers and hold it for them while telling everybody else (including you) that it have none available.

and the best part is the population has no political will to do anything regarding social justice, just take it and say to themselves look how black people really bound to suffer
Last time there was a strand of social justice within the population was 1990. They don't make them like that anymore

Postby paid_influencer » November 27th, 2024, 6:16 pm

hoiver do you think black people really bound to suffer

my skin blacker than about 70% of trinidadians so i including myself eh

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2024, 6:20 pm

the only ppl who can try social jostis is the “too wicked” crew
anybody else try and is level teargas in yuh mc
ask amar when he did a peaceful antivax walk around savannah

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 28th, 2024, 8:21 pm

just so you all know republic bank limit is still 5k US for the month
And you can get multiple cards.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 28th, 2024, 8:25 pm

And they can hull their A$$ i Exchanging US wherever family come.
they can call it want they want they gift that to me and I gift them TT in return.
that 200 and 500 US they want to give u you drink that in the airport waiting on another flight.

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2024, 9:13 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:And they can hull their A$$ i Exchanging US wherever family come.
they can call it want they want they gift that to me and I gift them TT in return.
that 200 and 500 US they want to give u you drink that in the airport waiting on another flight.
They have to prove a transaction was made, and that's almost impossible.

Who was there to witness that an illegal transaction was made.

As you said hul they MC

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 29th, 2024, 8:50 am

hong kong phooey wrote:And they can hull their A$$ i Exchanging US wherever family come.
They have to prove a transaction was made, and that's almost impossible.

Who was there to witness that an illegal transaction was made.

As you said hul they MC

exactly.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 30th, 2024, 7:47 pm

RUshton Parray the MP for Mayaro (or wherever) made a video and say people buying money from their family is not a crime. As you are not in that business. you don't have a sign advertising that. And they cant do the citizens anything. it just seeing and trying to instill fear.

So again they could hull theirA$$

Postby pugboy » November 30th, 2024, 10:25 pm

who did last minute shopping with the cards tonight?

Postby paid_influencer » November 30th, 2024, 10:54 pm

pugboy wrote:who did last minute shopping with the cards tonight?

i buy a shaver
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CWXF5HRR?re ... asin_title

can't find anything like that locally

Postby The_Honourable » November 30th, 2024, 11:04 pm

pugboy wrote:who did last minute shopping with the cards tonight?

Amazon does usually take payment once the items are shipped so people who ordered over the past two days with their RBC credit card for example, payment coming out their CC over the next few days in the new forex cycle.

:agrue:

Postby goalpost » December 4th, 2024, 9:16 am

I need some US for a trip i taking in a few weeks. So just go in d bank? Even if I get 200 I good for now.

Also do we still need to inform bank if we going to use CC in foreign? Scotiabank CC.