The Tobago Ferry Boat thread

Re: The Tobago Ferry Boat Scandal!!!

Postby The_Honourable » June 18th, 2018, 9:37 pm

THE 'NOW-YOU-SEE-IT-NOW-YOU-DON'T' FERRY

It is impossible to get a clear picture of what is happening with the "now-you-see-it-now-you--don't" Galleons Passage ferry. The three newspapers in this country (deliberately or incompetently ... you choose) have simply been reporting what NIDCO has been feeding them and if they have done any independent research they certainly haven't reported on it. Why they haven't is, of course, a rather serious question that deserves to be answered. That we will never get a proper answer from any of the newspapers as to why they haven't been reporting and asking questions is a given. I have never seen any of them ever admit either to incompetence or bias. And I cannot think of any another as to why their collective reporting has been so shallow.

Let's start from the beginning:

a) When the new PNM Government came into power at the end of 2015 one of it's earliest decisions was to scrap the old ferry arrangement that the previous PP Government had in place. There were various reasons given which can be summed up by the allegations that the whole process in giving the contract for that ferry reeked of corruption and that in any case the ferry was not working well.

b) The next thing was that in January of this year with the 'sea bridge' collapsing the Minister of Finance announced in Parliament that a brand new ferry had been purchased for US$17.5 million and it would be here by the end of March.

c) We were then told that this brand new ferry was coming from China and would have to go to Cuba to get some extra toilets and a canopy installed on the sundeck for US$350,000. Nobody bothered to ask (the newspapers again) why the extra work was being done in Cuba and why it couldn't be done in Trinidad. I guess that is too complicated a question to ask.

d) Then we find out that this ferry had been ordered by a Venezuelan businessman to operate on a river but that he couldn't pay for it so we got it. Questions: did this Venezuelan businessman pay any money down? Did he lose his deposit and did we get the benefit of that deposit? If not, why not? If we did, what was the amount that we saved?

e) Then the ferry's sailing date is postponed and then when it finally leaves Shanghai it sails south to Hong Kong before sailing north again passing Shanghai on its way to Hawaii. Why? This didn't make sense but I guess there was a good reason. But don't you think that we should know? Or is this a State secret?

f) Then it trundles across the Pacific at the slow speed of 11 knots ... which is about 13 miles an hour. Now, pay attention because then we are told that the ferry will be here by mid April. But if you did the maths you would have seen that there was no way that the ferry could have been here before end April/early May.

g) Then we are told that the brand new ferry suffered a mechanical problem in its journey across the Pacific and needed a new part when it arrived in Acapulco and so it had to wait for the part to arrive. But, hello! The last time I looked there was a rather magical device called a radio. You are going to tell me that the crew didn't know that the part had failed and didn't radio ahead for the part so that it would be waiting for them on arrival in Acapulco? Again, the newspapers (all three) don't ask these questions. Why?

h) Then the boat finally gets to Cuba where we are told that here will have to be some extensive refitting and two more engines have to be installed. To which I say 'what'?! When did they know this? And why, if they knew it from before couldn't all the parts have been ordered and waiting in Cuba for the ferry to arrive? Again, the three newspapers are like the famous three little monkeys who hear nothing, see nothing and say nothing.

i) Then we are told that these extra works will now cause the boat to be here in mid July. To which I can only say 'Really'?

Other questions also come up that haven't been asked by our mainstream media. For example, the distance in sea miles between Port of Spain and Scarborough is approximately 90 miles. Do the maths. This ferry is reported to cruise at 11 knots (approximately 13 miles an hour). There is no way that it can do that journey in 3 to 3 1/2 hours at that speed. So? How fast is it? And is that speed fully laden or empty? Because an empty boat is faster than a fully laden one. Again, the press hasn't asked this question! Why?

I'm not going to go on. But you get the point. At the end of the day the most important question is will the @#$%^&* ferry do the job that it is supposed to do? I sincerely hope so, for the livelihoods of a lot of people are depending on it. But after that question is answered then, at the very least all the other questions (including those that I haven't asked) need to be answered ... by everybody!

Finally, to the three newspapers, I honestly don't mind if you are biased and do not want to ask questions that are embarrassing to the political party that you support. But, if that is the case, then be honest and confess to your bias. If you haven't asked the questions that need to be answered because of incompetence then, again, confess to your incompetence. And if there is another reason why you didn't want to ask these questions then tell us what that reason is. Because, quite frankly, your silence on this leaves the ordinary thinking person with most unfortunate and unnecessary suspicions that are not good for confidence in the democratic process.

https://www.facebook.com/robin.montano. ... 0091686701

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 19th, 2018, 7:09 am

just imagine the galleons spend months to reach and one trip from Trinidad to Bago it mash up....

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » June 19th, 2018, 7:19 am

^^^ :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: ^^^

Postby De Dragon » June 19th, 2018, 7:57 am

Incompetence is a habit and hallmark of this Government. Then again, when the lethal combination of JUHN Scarfy, Impsy, and Roundabout Rohan combine, what else is to be expected. It is cartoonish to the extent that their catch phrase should be "with our buffoonery combined we are Captain Incompetent."

Postby The_Honourable » June 20th, 2018, 7:13 pm

Gov’t takes decision to bring Galleons Passage to T&T immediately

Government has taken a decision to bring the M.V. Galleons Passage to Trinidad and Tobago from Cuba immediately, after the seller informed that it is having some difficulty transporting some of the materials and equipment needed for retrofitting works to Cuba.

Acting Prime Minister Colm Imbert provided the update in the Parliament today.

He was responding to a question as to whether the retrofitting works have been completed.

“We had been informed recently that some of the materials and equipment needed that the seller requires for in order to complete the enhancement works that were agreed to in the contract for sale, some of these materials and equipment the seller is having difficulty transporting them from Australia to Cuba. Cuba is still an embargo country for many countries,” the Acting Prime Minister said in response.

He said government has therefore taken a decision to bring the vessel to T&T immediately.

“Although fabrication of one of the canopies has begun, they were having difficulty in getting an airline or a shipping company to transport some of the remaining equipment and materials for the canopies into Cuba. So the government has taken a decision to bring the vessel to Trinidad immediately. The work will be done in Trinidad.”

He said the boat will be put into service very soon.

Imbert said the enhancement works will be done on a phase basis.

Source: http://www.looptt.com/content/govt-take ... mmediately

Postby De Dragon » June 20th, 2018, 10:32 pm

^^ Stupid incompetent arrogant bunch of arses. Then again, Tobago silent like the proverbial grave, so why bother to take medicine for someone else's illness?

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » June 20th, 2018, 11:45 pm

not surprise

Postby SMc » June 21st, 2018, 2:24 am

I dint think there was a trade embargo between Cuba and Australia, I know trade is slow between them due to their individual locations but that dont mean there is no trade- oh well learn something new everyday

Postby maj. tom » June 21st, 2018, 5:44 am

But China/HK closer to Australia. They could have contracted the works to be done in Australia or any one of those Eastern shipyards before all of this Round the World in 80 Days tour.

Wouldn't it cost so much extra to ship material halfway around the globe just to do the upgrades?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2018, 5:59 am

This govt cyah even buy ah boat...my lord

Postby hydroep » June 21st, 2018, 6:12 am

Unfinished Galleons sails

Govt orders US$17M vessel home
The Galleons Passage

THE Galleons Passage fast ferry has left Cuba for TT. Acting prime minister Colm Imbert made this announcement in the House of Representatives yesterday. "The Government has taken a decision to bring the vessel to Trinidad immediately," he said.

Imbert explained this decision was made after the vessel's seller, Sea Transport Corporation of Australia, was unable to complete retrofitting work in Cuba. The purchase agreement for the US$17.4 million catamaran involved separate upgrade works to be done by the seller (Sea Transport) and the buyer, the National Infrastructure Development Company (Nidco).

Imbert explained that the seller made a contractual arrangement with the Damex Shipyard in Cuba to do work there on the Galleons Passage. Nidco had a separate contract with this shipyard to do its upgrade on the vessel.

Imbert said Government was recently informed by the seller it could not bring some equipment and materials from Australia to Cuba to complete its work on Galleons Passage. This, Imbert said, was because Cuba is still an embargoed nation for many countries. This did not make it easy for Cuba to receive shipments from nation's like Australia.

As a result, Imbert said the Galleons Passage will be brought to TT and, "be put into service very soon." He did not give a time frame for the vessel's arrival from Cuba. The Galleons Passage arrived in Cuba on May 27, after its trans-Pacific journey from China to Hawaii and through the Panama Canal.

Imbert said any outstanding enhancement work to be done on the Galleons Passage will be done in TT on a phased basis. Imbert said this will happen, "while the boat is transporting passengers to and from Tobago."

He dismissed Opposition claims the vessel is not classified. "The vessel was classified by Lloyd's of London in its original condition as being suitable for coastal transport of passengers and cargo.The vessel is already classified," he declared.

Imbert added, "The enhancement works to be done on the vessel are simply to make the vessel more comfortable for the people of TT." He reiterated that some retrofitting was done on the Galleons Passage in Cuba.

Later in the sitting, Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan said the cost of dry docking the TT Spirit was US$10,199,000. The repair and maintenance cost for the Express is US$807,117. Sinanan said the Spirit, which now back on the seabridge, did not sail from May 15 2017 to April 16 this year.

On June 14, Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister Stuart Young said Government has received proposals for vessels from Australian shipbuilders Incat and Austal. Incat's proposal is for two fast ferries. The Austal proposal is for two fast ferries and a Cape Class patrol boat for the Coast Guard. These proposals arose from Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley's working visit to Australia last month.

Incat and Austal representatives will be invited within the next two weeks, after an evaluation committee has studied their proposals. “We want to proceed with those vessels as quickly as possible," Young said.

http://newsday.co.tt/2018/06/20/unfinished-galleons-sails/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2018, 6:34 am

trying to make some sense eh...but why a boat that has to be upgraded??? why not buy a boat which was ready to do the job asap??

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » June 21st, 2018, 6:52 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:trying to make some sense eh...but why a boat that has to be upgraded??? why not buy a boat which was ready to do the job asap??

pnm logic :roll:

Postby De Dragon » June 21st, 2018, 7:29 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:trying to make some sense eh...but why a boat that has to be upgraded??? why not buy a boat which was ready to do the job asap??

Simple, we are led by incompetent, corrupt, bumbling fools.

Postby matr1x » June 21st, 2018, 8:36 am

Gilligan's passage reach yet?

Postby bluefete » June 21st, 2018, 3:03 pm

Rowley have to send back the Les Couteaux jumbie from wherever he got it.

If he does not, mark my words, that Tobago seabridge will NEVER work properly.

That Gilligan Island's Passage boat is a joke.

I am now wondering how much the Finance Minister, allegedly, is getting this time around, after the MV Su fiasco of some years ago.

Many things are starting to smell on that brand new boat.

Postby The_Honourable » June 21st, 2018, 6:18 pm

Not sure about the authenticity of the following and not too familiar with Maritime law, but the talk is that Imbert and co didn't "decide" to bring the boat home... Cuba wanted the vessel out of their waters as authorities didn't know the boat was coming and had to figure out the ownership. There is talk that penalties was paid each day the vessel was in their waters.

If the embargo excuse is true, how come nobody inform NIDCO in the first place? Plus procurement should be done and parts be readily available before the boat arrives?

Postby toyolink » June 21st, 2018, 6:59 pm

Well it run out of people for the Govt to blame.
I look forward to the honorable minister of Finance charging that 'somebody/anybody' sabotage the acquisition process.
It just gets funnier.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2018, 7:09 pm

Kamla had ah insider in cuba....calling on randolph to say y his guavament cant even buy a boat

Postby The_Honourable » June 21st, 2018, 9:31 pm

Best they did leave the Galicia alone and allow the Seajet tender

Postby sMASH » June 21st, 2018, 9:49 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Not sure about the authenticity of the following and not too familiar with Maritime law, but the talk is that Imbert and co didn't "decide" to bring the boat home... Cuba wanted the vessel out of their waters as authorities didn't know the boat was coming and had to figure out the ownership. There is talk that penalties was paid each day the vessel was in their waters.

If the embargo excuse is true, how come nobody inform NIDCO in the first place? Plus procurement should be done and parts be readily available before the boat arrives?

THS MA

excuse me, i was ranting somewhere else.

this makes a whole lot more sense, than a giant maritime company not knowing that their country has a trade embargo with cuba,

cuba, north korea, south africa, china, palestine, iran, russia, pakistan. these are some countries, that at some point or the other, have had embargoes/restrictions placed on them for some reason or the other, that i can recollect, BY WATCHING NEWWWWSSSS. far less for a company that international trade would be an integral part of their operations and paperwork

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » June 21st, 2018, 11:09 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Kamla had ah insider in cuba....calling on randolph to say y his guavament cant even buy a boat

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 22nd, 2018, 5:11 am

toyolink wrote:Well it run out of people for the Govt to blame.
I look forward to the honorable minister of Finance charging that 'somebody/anybody' sabotage the acquisition process.
It just gets funnier.

imballs say check NIDCO...while rohani say check imballs....

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 01a0c.html

Skanky

Postby Skanky » June 22nd, 2018, 6:54 am

Mexico sends a plane to talk about natural disasters. lol.

Short man is part of the 1%.He personally oversaw the selection and purchasing of the vessel to suit the 1% needs.

Just by coincidence empty boat ends up in Mexico waiting on 'parts'.What could be done with a large empty vessel in Mexico?

Then this vessel goes to Cuba.Closest point to the states.

Allyuh connect the dots.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 22nd, 2018, 8:58 am

Rohani say he cannot answer for something he has no control over...so if you are the transport minister...who else supposed to be in control of the situation??? Minister of health??

Postby hydroep » June 22nd, 2018, 9:14 am

This is getting better by the second. Where meh PNM peeps at?..:lol:

Postby K74T » June 22nd, 2018, 8:57 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 22nd, 2018, 9:19 pm

Therefore it not coming immediately again?

Postby zoom rader » June 23rd, 2018, 12:38 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Therefore it not coming immediately again?
It will be here for elections

Postby The_Honourable » June 23rd, 2018, 1:45 am

blufete open a poll on the ched dey.

Which will reach Trinidad first? RoboCuffie, Gilligan's Passage or Dry Season?