New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

ProtonPowder

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

Postby ProtonPowder » February 28th, 2024, 6:20 pm

I had 3 points from Dec 2021 but they would have dropped off in Dec 2023 as I had gotten no more from then to now.

Postby redmanjp » February 28th, 2024, 8:54 pm

maj. tom wrote:Check your info here. Citations, sanctions, fines.

https://apps.mowt.gov.tt/vrv

i seeing a fixed penalty notice for my car from 2 years (July 2021) before i buy it from Massy preowned section

speeding on South Trunk Mon Desir Road- it have the driver surname & initials of the first name.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 29th, 2024, 11:50 am

mero wrote:How much points allyuh on?

I should have -ve points by now. I does be a good boy and follow laws on the roads.

Postby maj. tom » February 29th, 2024, 12:02 pm

redmanjp wrote:

i seeing a fixed penalty notice for my car from 2 years (July 2021) before i buy it from Massy preowned section

speeding on South Trunk Mon Desir Road- it have the driver surname & initials of the first name.

That is for checking a vehicle.

Now that you posted that, I see how there could be different info for both.
This app is for what on your Driver's Licence. Better check this to make sure:
https://apps.mowt.gov.tt/dpv

death365

Postby death365 » February 29th, 2024, 12:07 pm

de guberment does done already tek 2 much ah meh $.

Paye
Nis
Hs
Vat
Vat again - yes u does pay tax twice ... if yuh dont understand how ask meh .
MVT
Customs Duty

ah not driving like ah A$$ to give them more

Postby redmanjp » February 29th, 2024, 1:45 pm

maj. tom wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

That is for checking a vehicle.

Now that you posted that, I see how there could be different info for both.
This app is for what on your Driver's Licence. Better check this to make sure:
https://apps.mowt.gov.tt/dpv

mih record clean dey :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 2nd, 2024, 2:07 pm

This is making the rounds on social media

f2f0d75e-12b5-44df-a2cb-69655762ff50.jpg

T&T Licensing Authority issuing letters of suspension for your drivers license as soon as you get 10 demerit points. They sending these suspension letters through TTPost Courier services.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 2nd, 2024, 2:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:This is making the rounds on social media

T&T Licensing Authority issuing letters of suspension for your drivers license as soon as you get 10 demerit points. They sending these suspension letters through TTPost Courier services.
I mean 6 demerits for a patently avoidable charge means Joel probably will drive without a license after this ah.

Postby maj. tom » March 2nd, 2024, 2:46 pm

So why Joel showing everybody on social media that he is a donkey jackass tho?

Postby gastly369 » March 2nd, 2024, 2:57 pm

Joel will have to sell that Nissan and take public transportation now ...enjoy the stench and muck

Postby redmanjp » March 11th, 2024, 8:55 pm

question- so i bought my car from Massy preowned section last year - it was one of their fleet cars. if the year of the car is 2019 and the date it was registered originally to Massy according to the certified copy is Dec. 31st 2019 does that mean i have till Dec. 31st this year to take it for inspection? that is what they told me.

Postby 16 cycles » March 12th, 2024, 5:27 am

redmanjp wrote:question- so i bought my car from Massy preowned section last year - it was one of their fleet cars. if the year of the car is 2019 and the date it was registered originally to Massy according to the certified copy is Dec. 31st 2019 does that mean i have till Dec. 31st this year to take it for inspection? that is what they told me.

Private vehicles with a manufactured date (not registration date) of five years or older are required to be inspected at an authorized testing station.

https://www.mowt.gov.tt/Divisions/Trans ... ction-(DTT)

Postby redmanjp » March 12th, 2024, 10:03 am

but what is the manufactured date? where do i get this info?

Postby maj. tom » March 12th, 2024, 12:05 pm

What is the make and model of the car? If it's Korean you can just check the VIN number on one of those websites.
If it's Japanese you have to check the chassis number on a Japanese website.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 12th, 2024, 12:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:but what is the manufactured date? where do i get this info?
On the seatbelt tag or the sticker on the door .

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2024, 11:28 am

https://guardian.co.tt/news/judge-rules-that-licensing-authority-policy-is-illegal-6.2.1954607.885c44a413

Judge rules that Licensing Authority policy is illegal

A Licensing Authority policy, preventing all transactions in relation to a vehicle until traffic tickets issued to authorised users are paid, has been deemed illegal and unconstitutional.

High Court Judge Avason Quinlan-Williams gave the declaration late last month when she upheld a case filed by auto body mechanic Neil Thomas against Transport Commissioner Clive Clarke and the Office of the Attorney General. She gave written reasons for her decision in a 21-page judgment on Monday.

In his lawsuit, Thomas claimed the issue arose after he purchased a Nissan Wingroad from a woman in July,2022.

After paying $30,000 to the woman, they went to the Licensing Authority’s office at Wrightson Road in Port-of-Spain to transfer the vehicle. A licensing officer inspected the vehicle’s engine and chassis numbers before verbally approving the transaction.

On February 13 last year, Thomas was dropping his daughter to school in El Dorado when he received a fixed penalty traffic ticket from a traffic warden for using his cellphone while driving.

When Thomas sought to have his vehicle inspected at a private garage the following month, he was told that he could not do so until a $1,000 ticket linked to the vehicle was paid. After explaining that he had already paid the ticket he received, the vehicle inspector told him it was not issued to him or the previous owner but to a third party.

Thomas confirmed the information through the Ministry of Works and Transport online database and sought to contact the driver who received the ticket. The driver advised him of the purported policy and advised that he pay the fine quickly as it would increase the longer it remained unpaid. He then contacted the authority, which informed him that the fine now stood at $1,500.

After his lawyers, led by Anand Ramlogan, SC, threatened to file a lawsuit over the policy, the ministry’s permanent secretary wrote to him apologising for what transpired and advised that he could have his vehicle inspected at any inspection station.

In the lawsuit, the defendants admitted that the policy was wrongly applied to Thomas, as they claimed that it is only valid if the vehicle was not transferred before it sought to enforce the unpaid ticket. In determining the case, Justice Quinlan-Williams considered the scenarios for issuing a ticket under the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act. She noted that the ticket could either be issued to an errant user of the vehicle or affixed to the vehicle.

Justice Quinlan-Williams ruled that Section 88(A)(3) of the legislation, which prescribed the sanction, could only be applied if the owner of the vehicle received the ticket or if it (the ticket) was affixed to the vehicle.

“The owner must be the offender to be liable for the traffic violation,” she said, as she noted that a driver who fails to pay their fine could have their driver’s permit suspended as a sanction.

She also noted that an unpaid traffic ticket could only have an effect on the vehicle that was used when it was issued.

“For instance, where the driver or owner has other vehicles registered in their name and those vehicles were not involved in the commission of the traffic violation, no sanctions can be attached to those vehicles,” she said.

“To allow the Licensing Authority to decide what property—other than that involved in the traffic violation—would go beyond the exercise of an administrative authority to aid the enforcement of the act,” she added.

Justice Quinlan-Williams issued a series of declarations against the policy including that Thomas’ constitutional rights to not be deprived of his property except by due process of law, and to equality before and protection of the law had been infringed. She also ruled that the policy applied in the case was unfair, illegal and irrational.

Dealing with compensation for Thomas, Justice Quinlan-Williams stated that $12,600 would suffice with the declarations granted.

“The court did not find any aggravating factors. Rather the potential damages were mitigated based on the rapidity with which the defendants corrected their error and admitted the wrong,” she said.

She also pointed out the policy, introduced by an amendment to the legislation in 2017, was relatively new when it was unfairly applied to Thomas.

“The introduction of an entirely new system geared towards improving the enforcement of traffic offences with the ultimate goal of reducing traffic violations is one that ought to be applauded,” she said. The State was also ordered to pay Thomas’ legal costs for the lawsuit.

Thomas was represented by Kent Samlal, Jayanti Lutchmedial, Natasha Bisram, Robert Abdool-Mitchell, and Vishaal Siewsaran.

Postby mero » March 20th, 2024, 12:32 pm

I collect a six months ban already in 2022 lol. Back down to 0 now. This system really rigged for you to be punished over and over. After you serve your time, you have to spend $2500 for the mandatory drivers rehab program which kinda like defensive driving for a 2 days. After that you have to do an exam and then after do over a driving test in licensing before u get back your DP.

I had a month to contest it though. And u never gonna get through no matter what excuse unless it can justify why you break the law.

Had to use a covid pass on my windscreen as my dp. Fun times.

Now I know men with10- 20+pts demerit and their license still saying active and they never get letters.

Postby j.o.e » March 20th, 2024, 1:35 pm

mero wrote:

I collect a six months ban already in 2022 lol. Back down to 0 now. This system really rigged for you to be punished over and over. After you serve your time, you have to spend $2500 for the mandatory drivers rehab program which kinda like defensive driving for a 2 days. After that you have to do an exam and then after do over a driving test in licensing before u get back your DP.

I had a month to contest it though. And u never gonna get through no matter what excuse unless it can justify why you break the law.

Now I know men with10- 20+pts demerit and their license still saying active and they never get letters.

Sounds like stress. Thankfully no run ins for points deductions, I’m a pretty tame driver now but it would be stressful for me as I’m expected to drive locally and abroad in my position

Postby redmanjp » March 20th, 2024, 1:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:but what is the manufactured date? where do i get this info?
On the seatbelt tag or the sticker on the door .

checked it on vindecoderz.com and it said 20191012 - I'm guessing that's Oct 12th 2019 so I should have till October to get inspected.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 20th, 2024, 2:07 pm

mero wrote:

I drive 2hrs daily as does my wife. Been that way for years. We've never gotten a demerit point. We've both gotten tickets in the past for speeding and parking, but those were before demerit points came into effect. Maybe look at approach to driving?

Postby mero » March 20th, 2024, 2:24 pm

j.o.e wrote:
mero wrote:

Sounds like stress. Thankfully no run ins for points deductions, I’m a pretty tame driver now but it would be stressful for me as I’m expected to drive locally and abroad in my position
Yea but them don't wanna hear that nah. Had a few ppl in my course that were drivers for their jobs who got disqualifed for points acquired on their dutis and still had hold a ban even after trying write letters to commissioner.

I pay for a $4500 for a 5 page mc lawyer letter to make me look like tnts most outstanding citizen and it was still salt. Next money making scheme on the lawyers side. Real licks

Postby mero » March 20th, 2024, 2:39 pm

dogg wrote:
mero wrote:

I drive 2hrs daily as does my wife. Been that way for years. We've never gotten a demerit point. We've both gotten tickets in the past for speeding and parking, but those were before demerit points came into effect. Maybe look at approach to driving?
Nah dogg, you'll be surprised as to how easy you could rack them up. Real men who laugh at me on 8,9,10 +pts now and bamcee winking lol.

Highway patrol WPC hit me 7 in one shot cuz I wasn't in the mood to try and answer them dotish rhetorical questions they like ask you. I get (7) 4 + 3 in one shot.

I give a woman I see on the road a lift with her young kid outta courtesy and hot sun. I "rush" a yellow light and HP stop me.
Old face wpc hit me 3 for the light, then cuz i just wanted to go my way, I get 4 for having a child under 5 without carseat.. not even my child eh. And she say she do it for spite.

Next 3 I get for parking in town after 4:/

Postby Dizzy28 » March 20th, 2024, 3:20 pm

mero wrote:
dogg wrote:
mero wrote:

Nah dogg, you'll be surprised as to how easy you could rack them up. Real men who laugh at me on 8,9,10 +pts now and bamcee winking lol.

Highway patrol WPC hit me 7 in one shot cuz I wasn't in the mood to try and answer them dotish rhetorical questions they like ask you. I get (7) 4 + 3 in one shot.

I give a woman I see on the road a lift with her young kid outta courtesy and hot sun. I "rush" a yellow light and HP stop me.
Old face wpc hit me 3 for the light, then cuz i just wanted to go my way, I get 4 for having a child under 5 without carseat.. not even my child eh. And she say she do it for spite.

Alluh wicked in person oui!!
Jostiss for Mero!!!!

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2024, 3:27 pm

yeah them is some wicked mc, esp the traffic wardens
I got 3 tickets within 8 months before demerit came out

first ticket was no seat belt because I reversed out of by a roadside roti vendor and was real traffic but somebody give me a chance
I didnt buckle up because they was popping they horn for me to come out so they could take the spot, a cop down the road spot me and give me a ticket
second was on highway by omeara behind a truck who slowed down on a yellow light and cause me to just catch the red by a hair.

third was by the savannah in barataria which is one way during school pickup hours, I didnt see the sign until late but I stopped with my wheels barely turned but the warden jump out and tell me stop and pull to the side and then tell me I inside so I break the law, a real mc, plus they make you drive in the street to make it look unsuspecting to other drivers
them wardens wicked because they never submit the ticket to the court until the very last day, i went 3 times to pay and the court ppl say best i come on very last day and if it not in court the judge with throw it out
of course it was submitted then. i heard they cant do that anymore since they replaced the ticket book system.

killercow

Postby killercow » March 20th, 2024, 4:19 pm

mero wrote:
dogg wrote:
mero wrote:

If you get more than one ticket simultaneously, then only the ticket with the highest points is supposed to be documented.

Postby mero » March 20th, 2024, 4:41 pm

Only if it's "related offenses" they take the higher. Had my lawyer verify. Couldn't do sheit about the 7 pts

Postby mero » March 20th, 2024, 4:45 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Alluh wicked in person oui!!
Jostiss for Mero!!!!

I appreciate the burning of tyres. I am now rehabilitated

Postby mero » March 20th, 2024, 4:57 pm

@pugboy, you know a police tell me the law isn't suppose to hide?

No traffic warden or police supposed to jump out from anywhere to "catch you"
But yea, is a set a failure. I can't stand the long talk and lectures so I does come across as rude. If I getting it, gimme my ting and lemme press and go my way. The police and traffic warden like to hear themselves talk and keep you back long as possible.

Police is the only time I rather deal with a male and female.. them wp does be trying to prove a point.

Postby gastly369 » March 20th, 2024, 5:04 pm

Got 3 tickets in meh lifetime years ago

Fog lights(under caveman laws)
And 2 for (musical instruments in car)

Music one i accept sent off police vehicles alarm in ah roadblock

Postby maj. tom » March 26th, 2024, 8:22 pm