Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Baldhead

Iguana...

Postby Baldhead » October 22nd, 2009, 9:27 am

Wats de easiest way to ketch an iguana dats on a rampage in meh home garden....Doh want to kill it....relocation in mind!
Its about 3ft in lenght...

Postby Razkal » October 22nd, 2009, 10:20 am

Mayaroman wrote:
pugboy wrote:anybody here ever use a co2 system for plants ?

I recently saw one, very impressive results with his plants.

yea i tried the Co2 fertilization system... its best to use that in a tank with no fishes cause wen i was done my angels and zerbras looked "high".
its simple, i used a mixture of suger, water and yeast in a two liter bottle with a hole in the cap. Tubing is connected to the bottle and to a submergable pump for distribution in the tank. It works best in addition to subtrate and water fertilization. .... and its homem made...
Razcal ... thanks for the plant food tabs..

the food tabs working? we hadda make a plant turn again buddy, got my discus btw...holla at yuh boy :)

djblademan

Postby djblademan » October 22nd, 2009, 10:53 am

Baldhead, run it down & hold it...lol
anyways:
I paid appx $200 for all about a yr ago.
Of course I'm not asking back for that... Its already soaked & washed.
Offer something. Trades too!

Postby Razkal » October 22nd, 2009, 1:15 pm

i've gone bare-bottomed on all my taks buddy, else we'd have worked something out :)

djblademan

Postby djblademan » October 22nd, 2009, 3:38 pm

no scene Razkal, if ever yuh come accross anypne...its here taking up space & i wanna get it out....
bump!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 24th, 2009, 11:43 am

djblademan, was d scene dred? sry i didnt collect dat fish from yuh, i was under sum heavy stress fuh d longest wile. yuh get him sell yet?...

i neglecting my duties on the thread so later i guh post up sum vids of a few of my setups i hav, marine and fresh water....

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 24th, 2009, 4:24 pm

I took a sat field trip of sorts , first i went to bhagwansinhgs , they had a 4 ft x 2.5 x2 plastic/PVC (maybe) ready made pond there were two different levels in it For $600., i don't think a concrete pond could compare with that , but the durability is the unknown factor.

Something like this

The fishes at Chais were mediocre at best in terms of colors and shape.

Or probably i still sucking salt with the water hyacinths and they had none

Postby Razkal » October 24th, 2009, 5:20 pm

Chai's latest stock (or whats out in front recently) leaves alot to be desired yes, spent money on one koi in particular, a Tancho variety (white fish with distinct black markings, no fading etc).....fish lost all the black colour in around two weeks....very strange...its healthy, but white now....

my bro thinks it was sharpie :lol:

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » October 24th, 2009, 7:13 pm

cornfused,
the pond is looking good man.
nice landscaping. where did u get the red wood chips?
i think u can get water hyacinths in the plant store on the highway by aranguez(sp).
i got some, but it was a long time ago. i don't have now though.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 24th, 2009, 7:21 pm

kes those are internet picts of something called a pond basin, i think they may an option for some of us . I'll check this Aranguez place , thanks

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 24th, 2009, 7:34 pm

Razkal wrote:Chai's latest stock (or whats out in front recently) leaves alot to be desired yes, spent money on one koi in particular, a Tancho variety (white fish with distinct black markings, no fading etc).....fish lost all the black colour in around two weeks....very strange...its healthy, but white now....

my bro thinks it was sharpie :lol:

completely white ? This could be a combination of the breeder , food, water conditions and climate . I my experience even the not so hot filler koi turn out to be the prettier koi, for me a simple big scale or kin gin rin would suffice with non specific color demarcation. I also like metallic or hakari munji or pothoud kois with aspects of a variety of breeds

Postby Razkal » October 24th, 2009, 9:03 pm

^well i have some generic patterns (evidence of good parentage some generations a back thankfully), but they're all really nice fish, one gin rin, lotsa big scale, and most of mine have a similar patterned/coloured butterfly counterpart :)

will post some pics when i'm done cleaning the whole get up

djblademan

Postby djblademan » October 24th, 2009, 10:09 pm

Ryan meh padnah sold it long time, was gettin big!
fellas going good man!
cornfused thas ah nice investment!

keep em coming fellas!

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » October 24th, 2009, 10:25 pm

waaay, i get fake dey.

i think u could get a bigger pond for the $600. u could use clay bricks and do ur own labor.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 24th, 2009, 11:03 pm

kss2801 wrote:waaay, i get fake dey.

i think u could get a bigger pond for the $600. u could use clay bricks and do ur own labor.

and your option will be more durable and uv resistant too

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » October 24th, 2009, 11:22 pm

yeah it should be. just make sure. to back fill the hole to wall properly and use enough mortar.
something i regret not doing with mine is using the paint on pond liner. it would make the pond look a lot better i think. i used green cement to finish though so it looks good still.
http://www.pondarmor.com/

JM

Postby JM » October 25th, 2009, 4:52 am

Wait he said he looking for hyacinth?! cuz i have to throw whey!
The pond look good...some ppl recommend carpet below the liner just to make sure it lasts...dunno how effective that would be with the plastic tho..

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » October 25th, 2009, 1:39 pm

Home Mart Lp 36 El Socorro Road, San Juan, Trinidad - 638-3722
Has a pond kit that they are selling for about $2000.

You can check that out

cornfused wrote:I took a sat field trip of sorts , first i went to bhagwansinhgs , they had a 4 ft x 2.5 x2 plastic/PVC (maybe) ready made pond there were two different levels in it For $600., i don't think a concrete pond could compare with that , but the durability is the unknown factor.

Something like this

The fishes at Chais were mediocre at best in terms of colors and shape.

Or probably i still sucking salt with the water hyacinths and they had none

djblademan

Postby djblademan » October 25th, 2009, 8:52 pm

fellas allyuh remember the Exoctic Fish Farm that used to be in charlieville flyover by the warehouse....
I sent UML there to get the frontosa & ah sure other men wnet there too.
I knew sometime ago they moved out & re-located to their own home to do business...I would like to get the contact number for em....
Not the 665-9495 number that dont work belive thas the ole number....
These days im looking for Discus & tetras.
Shive (FishyBizniz) has some nice tetras... Glo-light, black neons, green neons, siler tips, etc....
Any Discus men here ?
Last edited by djblademan on October 25th, 2009, 9:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » October 25th, 2009, 9:39 pm

Ok fellas here's my project from start to finish. Been working on this for a few weeks now. You'all remember my tank wat i had right, well all got sold & i bgan the discus/tetra setup.
So here we go:
Steps:
1) Clearing out the tank with the old gravel (which is up for sale right now: http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 72#3923472)
2) Adding the new natural substrate, (which i accumulated in the famous Caura River beds) You can see my ghost fish there at the bottom swimming looking for somewhere to hide.
3) Evenly Layout Natural gravel/substrate matter & Awaits for water to clear up:
4) Water clears up, buy a good few plants, leaves them in the flower pots in the tank for the water PH to develop, one peice of driftwood is also left in tank as well:
5) Buys the growing substrate (2bgs) in the farm, remove all the pants in pots & evenly spreads out substrate on the bottom & awaits water to clear up:
6) Place nice big piece of driftwood in appropriate position in tank:
7) begins to plant the plants & wat not into place:
8) Plants are planted, a few tetras are tossed in to test out for a day to ensure survival!:
OH I FORGOT TO REMOVE MY AFRICAN FRONTOSA!:
9) So my frontosa was task to catch with all the driftwood & places to hide so some plants was uprooted & well some small re-arrangements were made...
After a few days, more & more tetras were introduced to the tank & finally last weekend i Placed my pair of Pigeons Bloods in:
This is wat it looks like now:

This is wat i have for now, I'll be adding more plants soon, ferns, swords etc. & I will also be searching for discus & more tetras. Prob like 2 more pairs.
I'll keep updating as time goes by & when i get a better camera i'll take better pics & prob even a video.
For those who wanna bash, you go go ahead but i am just tryin my hand as usual, i know how much work & effort has been put in & well lets not check the money.
Anyway this was my contribution to the post & i expect to see others coming in...
I am open to questions & views & opinions.
Regards.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 25th, 2009, 10:44 pm

djblademan, great post dude and nice setup...i no a guy who imports discuss but not sure if he has at the moment, i will check him and let u no...

here are sum vids of a few of my setups, starting from fresh an into saltwater...also added a lionfish to my 6ft predator tank today, will post that vid wen i get home weekend...

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/2yIUWjBWaNE&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/5t2TuMs_Afo&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/kjeGx1mKiAI&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/flsmXCU2-fU&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/7_i3Ls9zxRQ&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/sbpvA7xLIy8&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_wki5Z5pWHQ&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

djblademan

Postby djblademan » October 27th, 2009, 9:59 am

thanks ryan99tt, you yourself got some unusual ones there! nice work man, you prob d 1st who posted so much vids of theirs alltogether!
great! keep em coming!

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » October 27th, 2009, 1:14 pm

Great post djblademan and ryantt.

Long time I eh post a vid on the pond.
so ah go do that soon.

chris600

Postby chris600 » October 27th, 2009, 1:26 pm

djblademan...tank lookin relllllll good

djblademan

Postby djblademan » October 27th, 2009, 9:11 pm

thanks fellas...need more discus tho & yuh know they costly & eh easy to get good pure breeds!
anyone have sources or any where that stocking these days?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » October 27th, 2009, 9:35 pm

^ tank looks good what is the size ?

djblademan

Postby djblademan » October 27th, 2009, 9:46 pm

red_dragon, jus for fun! still contemplating if to breed em. those are pure breds & i dont know if i'll get em sell for the price i may ask. but i not into it a lil while but yuh know in & out kinda thing not permanent thing.
Mines about4-5 they could get up to 8-9 ah sure!

djblademan

Postby djblademan » October 27th, 2009, 9:49 pm

ppl i wanna know some info on dr. fish
anyone has ? pics, number, details of his stuff etc...anything thanks!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 28th, 2009, 9:17 am

JM please check your Inbox , i have been sending messages to make arrangements

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 29th, 2009, 11:28 am

cornfused wrote:JM please check your Inbox , i have been sending messages to make arrangements