COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 141 cases, 8 deaths, 124 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » July 24th, 2020, 12:08 pm

toyolink wrote:The current situation we are experiencing clearly indicates that the virus is amongst us.
Those who suggest an aggressive approach to testing are quite correct, since this is the only way to measure the possible exposure condition.
Without information, our ability to implement any risk management model is almost impossible.
The 'wait and see' position of the minister could be quite dangerous.
Random sampling as well as contact tracing could be a first start and timely results are key.
Maybe the population when faced with some hard facts may avoid complacency and return to a state of vigilance.

This mistake they made was opening up to Phase 4 or 5 without doing widespread community testing and not increasing testing facilities. All this time we bought during lockdown will be wasted if we didn't get those things right and it clearly seems something simple like testing is just beyond them.

Postby goalpost » July 24th, 2020, 12:08 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
goalpost wrote:So the hearsay is a man from Maraval, somebody from Felicity School and someone from Medical Associates? So we getting a higher number this evening then. Medical Associates probably true if they call and say don't come in.

Where'd you hear this?

This same thread. Higher up.

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2020, 12:19 pm

Our testing is woeful and stingy for one reason or another. Possibly costs of the tests.

If we had true community testing, there should have been requests for all living in Aranguez to come get tested regardless of symptoms NOW and go into the areas where the migrants renting.

Right now if you go by the tent in mt hope they will only test if you present symptoms, cough fever etc
Which is all after the fact woft testing.

Postby redmanjp » July 24th, 2020, 12:49 pm

^ tell them you lost sense of smell & taste

Postby bluefete » July 24th, 2020, 12:52 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ tell them you lost sense of smell & taste

:shock: :shock: :D :D :D

Postby matr1x » July 24th, 2020, 1:52 pm

Same thing happens of you go down on a girl from sea lots

Postby MaxPower » July 24th, 2020, 2:31 pm

matr1x wrote:Same thing happens of you go down on a girl from sea lots

Slim slim slim wtf

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 24th, 2020, 2:52 pm

Reports are that government is considering a next full lockdown.

Not sure if they'll actually do it because many inside the government want us to just live with it while obeying social distancing and mask wearing.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 24th, 2020, 2:53 pm

Imagine bar owners right now ... lol
Dohplaydat wrote:Reports are that government is considering a next full lockdown.

Not sure if they'll actually do it because many inside the government want us to just live with it while obeying social distancing and mask wearing.

Postby redmanjp » July 24th, 2020, 2:55 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Reports are that government is considering a next full lockdown.

we need at least a partial one- close all bars & in house dining, beaches- what those all have in common is masks are impractical to wear. and maybe work from home again-

while obeying social distancing and mask wearing

:lol: :lol: how many ppl doing dat?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 24th, 2020, 2:56 pm

14-21 days an we good to go again. i say lock it dong.

Postby aaron17 » July 24th, 2020, 2:56 pm

We need a proper fine...charge aluh tail.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » July 24th, 2020, 3:00 pm

screwbash wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:We need an ignore button for idiots like him. When the lockdown now started, this screwbash clown was asking on the forum for cheap venes to do his construction work for him. Then he was asking where he could find vene ho's since all his usual spots closed. So the venes is a good thing for him when he wants to take advantage of them, exploit them for cheap labour and exploit victims of human trafficking. If they don't serve his selfish purposes then he advocates mass murder of them.

Regardless of your position on immigration, this is the type of nonsense we shouldn't tolerate. Just think how you'd feel if the Americans and canadians said the same about trinis who migrate to their countries.

that not unique to screwbash though. He is a product of his national culture. The Trinidadian moral is to outsmart and exploit people and if you get away with it - you deserve the spoils. We have never respected the lives of others.

The problem is much deeper than the lack of an ignore button. Somehow we have to figure out how to change the historical culture of 1.3 million people. We have to influence them, but how do we convince politicians to pay for that?

COVID doh care tho :drinking:

Bought one of these thermometers for $400 for my home use. working very well, quick and accurate reading.

imagine the world gone to hell with a death plague and it have one quarantine camp on earth with no infections, you outside with your children and some venes, would you push d venez in front of you to get into the camp or would you get rid of them to make your children chances better of surviving the death plague ?

think about your children and you and some venez in the movie 2012 waiting to get on the ship an see if you aint go push d vene in the water for you and your children to get on the ship. this is what we have here with trinidad have no infections and dem vene bring death to your children and allyuh so dotish you welcome death with open arms.

POTUS seeing about he own, no mask or medical equipment to leave the USA,he was going to deport all the non american students among others, everything for he and he own, he done sign documents for the vaccines for his people first when it is approved. he aint say "leh we send it trinidad or vene cause them deserve a chance"

great is the pnm for keeping we safe

Maybe the Vene will push you in the water instead.

Hadda look at that too screwbie

exactly dog eat dog when it come to yuh children. no man aint go make joke for the safety of their children. everyone in aranguez know d lady renting to vene and one ah dem leave trini went cedros leave trini an went vene to pick up she grandson and come back trini in a two day time and coast guard and police aint see nuttin. time to send all dem back. i voting who ever go send back the vene. i spend some time in vene years ago under chavez rule and dem aint go give we the same treatment we givin them.

Postby matr1x » July 24th, 2020, 5:52 pm

Parliament dissolved, they can't make policies

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 24th, 2020, 6:13 pm

matr1x wrote:Parliament dissolved, they can't make policies
Apparently the measures were done under health ordinances so it's possible to do again.

Economy straining tho. They hadda find the right balance

Postby bluefete » July 24th, 2020, 7:13 pm

Possible super spreader with the 60 year old Maraval woman.

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2020, 7:16 pm

Imagine that, 63 and 60yr old women are the spreaders

bluefete wrote:Possible super spreader with the 60 year old woman.

Postby bluefete » July 24th, 2020, 7:17 pm

pugboy wrote:Imagine that, 63 and 60yr old women are the spreaders

bluefete wrote:Possible super spreader with the 60 year old woman.

Covid doh discriminate!!!!

Postby adnj » July 24th, 2020, 7:20 pm

Brazil's Sao Paulo pushes back Carnival as cases keep soaring

SAO PAULO (Reuters) - Sao Paulo, the biggest city in South America, postponed its 2021 Carnival celebrations on the same day that Formula One scrapped its next planned race here, underlying the enduring effects policymakers expect the coronavirus pandemic to have on Brazil.

Carnival, a traditional multi-day holiday known for its colorful parades and raucous revelry, takes places in hundreds of cities throughout Latin America’s largest nation.

While the celebrations, originally scheduled for February, are more traditionally associated with Rio de Janeiro and cities in the country’s northeast, Sao Paulo’s Carnival has grown significantly in recent years.

In a Friday news conference, Sao Paulo Mayor Bruno Covas said possible revised dates included late May and July. June was unlikely, he said, as the separate festival of Sao Joao do Nordeste is scheduled for that month.

Earlier in the day, Formula One officials scrapped the November 2020 race in Sao Paulo, along with the body’s three other stops in the Americas, citing the coronavirus pandemic.

Brazil registered another 1,156 coronavirus deaths in the last 24 hours, the Health Ministry said on Friday, bringing the total death toll to 85,238. There are now over 2.3 million confirmed cases in Brazil, making it one of the hardest hit nations in the world.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-heal ... SKCN24P2O1

Postby redmanjp » July 24th, 2020, 7:36 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Apparently the measures were done under health ordinances so it's possible to do again.

which i why I said before- if businesses had online shopping u could close doors in a partial lockdown and still make sales & deliveries so they don't have to lose business

Postby bluefete » July 24th, 2020, 7:42 pm

Just got some info on the Maraval situation.

62 year old is the mother and she got it from her son / husband who (allegedly) transported some Venezuelans.

Her grandchild attends Boissiere RC for SEA so expect that school to be closed next week for sanitization.

Lock down after elections?
Last edited by bluefete on July 25th, 2020, 6:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 24th, 2020, 8:00 pm

bluefete wrote:Just got some info on the Maraval situation.

62 year old is the mother and she got it from her son / husband who (allegedly) transported some Venezuelans.

Her grandchild attends Boissiere RC for SEA so expect that school to be closed next week please God for sanitization.

u need to lockdown now, waiting 2 weeks can be devastating.

Postby MaxPower » July 24th, 2020, 8:16 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Her grandchild attends Boissiere RC for SEA so expect that school to be closed next week please God for sanitization.

What is this country waiting for DPD?

When the local cases get rampant?

By then it will be too late.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 24th, 2020, 8:20 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Final 2 weeks before election is crucial...politicians not gonna risk that...allyuh know that

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 24th, 2020, 8:48 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Final 2 weeks before election is crucial...politicians not gonna risk that...allyuh know that

A responsible government would lockdown and delay it till end of Aug or in Sept. You don't need to lockdown for more than 4 weeks.

Let's say you have 10 local cases out there:

1. If you lockdown hard for 4 weeks, these persons will only spread it to those in their household.

2. Assuming their primary contacts get it one week into the lockdown, by end of week one to week 2, they'll either be asymptomatic or if not, they go in for testing to be quarentined.

3. Let's assume by end of week 2, their primary contacts have it but are asymptomatic.

4. By week 4, their primary contacts would have had it asymptotically for 3 weeks, at this point the lockdown can be removed as they're most likely no longer contagious.

This all assumes people obey the lockdown. Given that it's still election season and people fed up lockdown, business is suffering and people are a getting a bit numb to Covid, then I don't think they'll implement a lockdown.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on July 24th, 2020, 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » July 24th, 2020, 8:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

which i why I said before- if businesses had online shopping u could close doors in a partial lockdown and still make sales & deliveries so they don't have to lose business

the problem was the health ordinance, as written, never allowed for that model. Even if you purely selling online or via whatsapp, you couldn't legally have staff, warehouse workers, etc, at your operations if you were a non-essential business.

ordinance.jpg

A big issue I had with the lockdown was they never refined the ordinances to allow for these measures.

Postby bluefete » July 24th, 2020, 9:02 pm

Catholic Board now put out a notice but did NOT call the name of the school.

Postby sMASH » July 24th, 2020, 9:22 pm

people fliming boat loads a vene cruising into chaguramas, and allyuh still want to lock down?
if u are worried about catching covid, STAY HOME!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 24th, 2020, 9:42 pm

bluefete wrote:Catholic Board now put out a notice but did NOT call the name of the school.
IMG-20200724-WA0180.jpg

Postby redmanjp » July 24th, 2020, 9:42 pm

sMASH wrote:people fliming boat loads a vene cruising into chaguramas, and allyuh still want to lock down?
if u are worried about catching covid, STAY HOME!!!

the lock down is needed to force your employer not to require you to come out to work

the military should all now be all over our these borders