PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby ismithx » October 10th, 2014, 6:34 am

finished replaying portal 1 and 2 this week, if you all have never played them I suggest you get yourself a copy

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 13th, 2014, 4:31 pm

I was getting shocked everytime I touch my PC case

between neutral and ground I was getting 30V,,, this is why you don't use these things as extension cords

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 16th, 2014, 3:43 pm

u cyar be serious !!! :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Leo121

Postby Leo121 » October 18th, 2014, 8:08 am

Who in Trinidad does build custom gaming PCs? I want to build a really decent one.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 18th, 2014, 9:18 am

Leo121 wrote:Who in Trinidad does build custom gaming PCs? I want to build a really decent one.

If you tech savvy you can order your parts and do it yourself

Postby Spitfir3 » October 18th, 2014, 9:44 am

or if you're not up to it you an check the misc section there's like a lot of guys offering the service

guise i been playing gotham city imposters as of late its pretty good...its like cod mw3 but a more "whacky" version..i guess its like a team fortress./cod hybrid...anyways its free so if you're into that type of game play i recommend checking it out

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 19th, 2014, 1:34 pm

I'll check it out. Just got the evil within last night I'm scared of it though lol

RhymePaladin

Postby RhymePaladin » October 19th, 2014, 3:38 pm

hey i know Halloween is coming soon and i love playing horror games..do you all know of any new ones for pc? whats the scariest game for pc?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » October 19th, 2014, 5:28 pm

Most recent are Evil Within and Alien Isolation.
You could also check out Outlast and The Forest: (only through early access though)

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 19th, 2014, 6:49 pm

The evil within and alien isolation are classic horror survival of you like the original resident evil and silent hill games you will love these the atmosphere is extremely unsettling. I'll record some game time on both of them tonight so you can get a feel for them.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 20th, 2014, 6:01 pm

jm3 wrote:I'll check it out. Just got the evil within last night I'm scared of it though lol

damn goodluck ive played a decent amount of horror games ...jericho/dead space/ resident evil series just to name a couple but that evil within game looks pretty damn intense an down right scary

starscream00

Postby starscream00 » October 26th, 2014, 7:27 pm

anyone knows where that sells thermal paste?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 26th, 2014, 7:35 pm

Any pc parts store

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 26th, 2014, 7:48 pm

starscream00 wrote:anyone knows where that sells thermal paste?

Any pc parts as stated but if you want the good kind you can check here:

http://www.rhdtech.com/index.cfm?fuseac ... &pageid=70

They're a powerseller on tuner.

I recommend the arctic silver ceramique though, used it for years for air and liquid cooling plus it non conductive.

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 27th, 2014, 3:20 am

HCCA wrote:

Any pc parts as stated but if you want the good kind you can check here:

http://www.rhdtech.com/index.cfm?fuseac ... &pageid=70

They're a powerseller on tuner.

I recommend the arctic silver ceramique though, used it for years for air and liquid cooling plus it non conductive.

i second this. hes a cool dude aswell i often stop in at the store in maraval when i need something that i cant wait for like fans etc.... i think he is the only place that sells arctic silver aswell.

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 27th, 2014, 3:32 am

was this a good deal?
i just bought a seasonic x 1250w psu for $120 i'm seeing it's meant to cost $260 on amazon
my corsair tx 850w didn't look like it was able to supply my systems increased load with the new cards in,
my case fans were hardly spinning.
also managed to get a silverstone case for $20 lol

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Seasonic-1250-Watt-Power-supply-80Plus-Gold-EPS12V-ATX/181568506901?_trksid=p2047675.c100011.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20140602152332%26meid%3Df6bc0800457e475aa9e7c089210fc6f4%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D20140602152332%26rk%3D3%26rkt%3D10%26sd%3D181562292205

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 27th, 2014, 7:08 am

jm3 wrote:was this a good deal?
i just bought a seasonic x 1250w psu for $120 i'm seeing it's meant to cost $260 on amazon
my corsair tx 850w didn't look like it was able to supply my systems increased load with the new cards in,
my case fans were hardly spinning.
also managed to get a silverstone case for $20 lol

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Seasonic-1250-Watt-Power-supply-80Plus-Gold-EPS12V-ATX/181568506901?_trksid=p2047675.c100011.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20140602152332%26meid%3Df6bc0800457e475aa9e7c089210fc6f4%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D20140602152332%26rk%3D3%26rkt%3D10%26sd%3D181562292205

Probably a good deal if it lands here with no big setta tax on it. Excellent quality unit on the other hand.

The corsair tx850w is a capable power supply, probably getting old and losing output or something.

The tx750w supplies i have (2) a couple years old and still kicking like new. Tried to kill one a time by running a core i7-930 @ 4.2ghz and two radeon hd 5970s crossfired overclocked. :lol:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 27th, 2014, 9:23 am

Link me bro, have sum noctua nth1

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 27th, 2014, 6:45 pm

The old psu has had no problems and I think it's working as it should it's just the pair of r9 280x's are considerably more hungry than my old 5870's were 1000w psu's are the official recommended for crossfired 280x's. I think it's testament to how good corsair psu's are that it is still going lol I couldn't afford the 1200i from corsair lol

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 27th, 2014, 6:54 pm

jm3 wrote:The old psu has had no problems and I think it's working as it should it's just the pair of r9 280x's are considerably more hungry than my old 5870's were 1000w psu's are the official recommended for crossfired 280x's. I think it's testament to how good corsair psu's are that it is still going lol I couldn't afford the 1200i from corsair lol

A lot of the brand name power supplies put out about 100-200w over stated power. My Coolermaster silent pro gold 1kw puts out 1200w max but i don't have any components again to stress it so much.

Was reading up on the 280x's you have there, 2 x 8 pin aux power is a lot. The only card i have with that power requirement in an EVGA gtx 460 2win card.

I actually recommend the tx750w or similar for mid level gaming systems, though not entirely necessary again since most gpus nowadays using less power and providing more performance.

Using the coolermaster on a dual opteron server board system since it has the necessary connectors for the cpu power headers.

Postby M_2NR » October 27th, 2014, 9:30 pm

have one of those tx750 as well. Still pumpments. Then again i barely using 300watts out of the thing so... yea. :lol:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 27th, 2014, 9:51 pm

Men have some power hungry beasts. ..
I have my small Corsair 450W
My PC idles at about 30W and during gaming it runs up to like 80
Radeon HD5670 graphics. .. (my gaming needs are small)
Pentium G2020.... (my processing needs are also small)

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 28th, 2014, 10:12 pm

Yeh the 280x's are 250w each at stock clocks. I then run 4 hdd 2 ssd 7 120mm fans some cold cathodes and some meteor lights and then there's peripherals on top of that so the old psu was doing really well to run the system it has been an excellent psu.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 29th, 2014, 11:54 am

Big reason why I stopped using AMD cards, I pretty much have a similar setup to yours with the addition of my pump/fan controller & I have room to add at least two more 970's, using a HX850w. Great deal on an excellent psu tho

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » October 31st, 2014, 8:26 pm

For anyone who wants something portable.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=600117

HSA

Postby HSA » November 3rd, 2014, 11:12 am

i like computers

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 3rd, 2014, 3:08 pm

I don't like the idea of water being close to electronics. Air cooling for the win

Question. Does nvidia currently have cards that support 3 displays in the $100-$200 range.

dozer

Postby dozer » November 3rd, 2014, 3:40 pm

Hi guys don't mean to interrupt but I've got a pc case to sell. First off I'm asking $1000. And that price is negotiable secondly the case is pristine condition minus some dust and last and most importantly it the Cooler Master Trooper full tower atx case. It's a beast of a case you have room for everything Google it and you'll see .
Anyway would appreciate the sale if possible thx all

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » November 3rd, 2014, 9:55 pm

kamakazi wrote:I don't like the idea of water being close to electronics. Air cooling for the win

Question. Does nvidia currently have cards that support 3 displays in the $100-$200 range.

Yes the GTX 760 supports 3 displays. ($200). The GTX 660 also supports 3 displays @$170

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 3rd, 2014, 10:16 pm

Thanks man. .. its been a while since I looked into vid cards