The Religion Discussion

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - God was Right! Pg. 238

Postby rspann » October 9th, 2011, 4:33 pm

Duane ,I apologise,I Commented on two topics but I quoted you in the intro.The first part of my reply was to what you said (your quote) and the second part was in reply to 996 vtwin,read over me comment you'll see that I edited it.

Postby Bizzare » October 9th, 2011, 6:23 pm

Everyone avoids your questions in here. I wonder why? :lol:

d spike wrote:Image

d spike

Postby d spike » October 9th, 2011, 6:28 pm

rspann wrote:Based on somebody who believes in the bible opinion.

That doesn't really mean anything.
Quite a few groups that "believe in the Bible" hold diverse and conflicting opinions.
It's perfectly okay to admit that you believe what your group believes, and you share their opinion and interpretation of the scriptures.

rspann wrote:A good method of studying,is using a study bible with the strongs annotations so you can see what the original intent was
intent based on whose opinion?

Whoever concocted that particular study Bible.

rspann wrote:The problem with the bible is in the translation.When it was being translated hebrew words were translated into english words that could not convey their true meaning,also a lot of other stuff was added in like the word Godhead etc.The word where they used Godhead was theotes which means divinity,how that was changed into Godhead which men use to prove the trinity doctrine,i have no clue.

Not "translation", but "translations".
There were conflicting translations based on:
being translated from the Greek Septuagint into modern languages (while these translations might not be considered valid by many, bear in mind that it was the Septuagint that Jesus, his followers, and all those in Judea, studied and used);
being translated from Greek manuscripts (that differed from the Septuagint) into Hebrew, then into modern languages (these are the Masoretic texts);
being translated from Greek manuscripts (that again differed from the Septuagint) directly into modern languages.
(I am NOT talking about those interpretations that have been proven to deliberately contain error in order to further some groups' private agendas. Those are for another time.)

rspann wrote:I have a "bible"for the want of a better word,That is translated from the original Hebrew and greek by some masoretic Jewish scholars and if you read it you get a different meaning in some places.

What else can one expect from such a text? These Masoretic texts (that you refer to) were put together specifically to move Jewish scripture away from being aligned with Christian scripture. These texts also had their own difficulties. According to an old Jewish belief, there were three scrolls in the temple, and these differed with each other. When they differed, all three were consulted, and where two scrolls agreed, that agreed meaning was accepted (Minority Report style, eh?).
The Dead Sea Scrolls that came to light in modern times contained copies of part of the Septuagint as well as some that Luther had discarded long ago.

rspann wrote:If you really want to show yourself approved ,you have to study to do so

I quite agree!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 9th, 2011, 9:22 pm

d spike wrote:Who else claimed to be led by the Spirit?
Jim Bakker stole over $3,000,000 from PTL members. He then paid $279,000 to Jessica Hahn, a secretary at the church, to silence her allegations of rape.
Ted Haggard was the head of a Colorado MEGA MEGA Church. The kind that are big enough to house all the homeless, but don’t allow anyone who makes under $250,000 per year. Haggard was a general in the war against same-sex marriage. At the same time, he was paying a guy to bone him in a sleazy motel room and buying crystal meth from him. When the allegations began, Haggard went into full denial mode, but Mike Jones, the man who exposed Haggard, happened to have a tape of Haggard calling him and asking for meth. Haggard, disgraced, finally admitted to what he’d done and stepped down as pastor of the New Life Church. He then went into a “restoration” process where a team of counselors assisted him with his homosexual struggles. It is, after all, a disease…right?
Harold Camping started Family Radio, Inc. and has grown a congregation of followers who are told despise the church and listen to every piece of garbage that comes from Camping’s mouth. Camping has now predicted the end of the world twice. Once in 1994, and once in 2011. The first part of his end of the world prediction (a massive earthquake) failed to come true. We’re still waiting to see what happens in October. He did succeed in bringing in a ton of cash for Family Radio, Inc. during the end of the world chaos and was very clear that those who donated would not receive a refund of their donations.
Dena Schlosser killed her eleven-month-old daughter in 2004 and amputated her arms and legs. She claimed God told her to do this. (Christians love to take on this debate. They will claim that she was psychotic and evil. Of course, Abraham was told to do the same thing, wasn’t he? One will notice that Christians are quick to call those who “talk to God” crazy.)
ah boy! ah man claim that the bible is not to be taken in its entirety
and in supporting his claim, proceeded to produce evidence of people who clearly did not do so(take the bible in it entirety) to support his very claim ...............

d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
d spike wrote:Clearly, you know nothing of Jim Jones (among a multitude of other things) apart from his foolish end, for you to spout such stuff. Read up on his earlier life, his preaching and the testimonies of his followers from these times.

am....jim jones preached against Jesus and the bible , his program was that of mind control
and christianity was his hook
to use him as an example is stupid on your part or simply deceitful, all because you assumed I don't know the history behind him

What is simply deceitful is the feigned ignorance on your part... unless you really don't know... Let me quote exactly what I told you:
d spike wrote:Clearly, you know nothing of Jim Jones apart from his foolish end... Read up on his earlier life, his preaching and the testimonies of his followers from these times.

He started his first church in 1954, yet you carefully chose to quote the nonsense he started spouting since early 1976. Which part of "his earlier life" you didn't understand? Now who is being deceitful... or is it simply stupidity on your part?

or so his earlier life is what caused his end then? right right It is still because he did not take the bible in its entirety we have this evidence now not so?
d spike doh beat up....ah good with that!

d spike

Postby d spike » October 9th, 2011, 10:46 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
d spike wrote:Clearly, you know nothing of Jim Jones (among a multitude of other things) apart from his foolish end, for you to spout such stuff. Read up on his earlier life, his preaching and the testimonies of his followers from these times.

am....jim jones preached against Jesus and the bible , his program was that of mind control
to use him as an example is stupid on your part or simply deceitful, all because you assumed I don't know the history behind him

What is simply deceitful is the feigned ignorance on your part... unless you really don't know... Let me quote exactly what I told you:
d spike wrote:Clearly, you know nothing of Jim Jones apart from his foolish end... Read up on his earlier life, his preaching and the testimonies of his followers from these times.

He started his first church in 1954, yet you carefully chose to quote the nonsense he started spouting since early 1976. Which part of "his earlier life" you didn't understand? Now who is being deceitful... or is it simply stupidity on your part?

or so his earlier life is what caused his end then?

He and the others were held by many to have based their life on the scriptures. Clearly they were in error (that was never being disputed)... as are you. You were the one who spoke of "results"... Many of these are examples of men who were adamant about the inerrancy of the scriptures they read and preached diligently... Be warned.
...and thank you for FINALLY making an attempt at understanding what I am saying. Be so kind as to continue this new trend.

megadoc1 wrote:d spike doh beat up....ah good with that!

Kid, I haven't started beating you up yet... Good with what?

d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:how you placed your argument should apply to peter vs Paul with same results if not
trash it

Did Peter and Paul's conflict create a lasting rift in the Christian Church? Didn't Paul correct an error on Peter's part? Didn't Peter agree with Paul, and was grateful for the correction?

Apart from that piece of inane melodrama, you have yet to actually justify this illogical and errant comparison. Could you make such an attempt? (Using history, mind you, not fondly imagined happenings)

Postby meccalli » October 10th, 2011, 12:07 am

d spike wrote:Many people have the wrong idea about "religion" (but can you blame them?) and decry it... Again, this has to do with concepts. When a person learns, they acquire concepts. Combinations of concepts help create other concepts. If an errant concept is accepted and held, then a "ripple" effect will take place, affecting all the other accepted concepts that hinge on that first misconception.

Religion is simply the relationship man has with God. Due to man's social habits, we share concepts, habits, language, ideas, techniques... this is called culture. Just like everything else, religion too becomes part of culture.
People like megadoc decry "religion", but he is a member of a group that focuses together on the divine in their own way - a narrow-minded way... but a way that they each find acceptable enough to remain as part of the group. That is his 'religion'.
If you try to go to the estate once a week to cut the bush, fix the road, and you find peace in this... while you work, you can allow your mind to dwell on what you consider the "deeper realities" of life, and you commune with what you accept as God, then that is arguably your religion.
If on a Friday, you find time to be alone with a beer, just to contemplate what has gone right, and what has gone wrong... and you find peace in that moment... you vaguely decide to do better next week... then it is possible that is your religion.

A simplistic way of looking at it is to say that as man is human (and prone to error) then everything he gets involved in, becomes prone to error. As long as you have people running something (whether it's a government, a club, a family, a religious group) something is going to get screwed up sooner or later. That's life, that's the human experience. One picks up the pieces and moves on.

Religion is cultural in nature and defines that set of rules that the religious members obey, not a relationship with God. If i have a good relationship with my dad, and he expects me to behave in a particular manner so that we can continually be in communication and grow stronger in our relationship, that is not religion.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 10th, 2011, 12:35 am

d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:

or so his earlier life is what caused his end then?

He and the others were held by many to have based their life on the scriptures. Clearly they were in error (that was never being disputed)... .....as are you. You were the one who spoke of "results"... Many of these are examples of men who were adamant about the inerrancy of the scriptures they read and preached diligently... Be warned.

the "results" of their actions are clearly contrary to scripture, which proves that
"being held by many" as to be doing anything , cannot mean they were actually doing it...it just can't work the results are in yo!
now if only you can gather the results of those who actually(not because people say so eh) based their life on scripture
we can do a comparison and then we would know for sure if your statement could stand.
look!!!! we already have a head start!!! we already have the results of those who acted
along the lines of what your suggestion was.. (the bible should not be taken in its entirety)
Last edited by megadoc1 on October 10th, 2011, 1:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

d spike

Postby d spike » October 10th, 2011, 1:00 am

meccalli wrote:Religion is cultural in nature and defines that set of rules that the religious members obey, not a relationship with God.

Sorry, but you didn't get my point. Perhaps I did not express myself clearly.
Yes, it is cultural in nature, but that is because of the social nature of man. We do things in groups. Groups form, and then expand in order to survive. That does not deny the fact that religion is Man's relationship with the Divine.
You are focusing on what religion seems to be now, but try and think about how it started.
meccalli wrote: If i have a good relationship with my dad, and he expects me to behave in a particular manner so that we can continually be in communication and grow stronger in our relationship, that is not religion.

Of course that's not religion! That is a relationship with another created form... not God.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 10th, 2011, 1:19 am

d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:how you placed your argument should apply to peter vs Paul with same results if not
trash it

Did Peter and Paul's conflict create a lasting rift in the Christian Church? no! not at all Didn't Paul correct an error on Peter's part? yess Didn't Peter agree with Paul, and was grateful for the correction? yess
Apart from that piece of inane melodrama, you have yet to actually justify this illogical and errant comparison. Could you make such an attempt? (Using history, mind you, not fondly imagined happenings)
am... well.... what I was pointing out, is that both men were walking in the spirit of God yet one erred and it was necessary for the other to "pull him up" yet there in nothing questionable concerning whatever he did before or after in terms of being led by the spirit ,with that said,what I am suggesting is that though Luther came along and "corrected" (yuh see I used quotation marks eh doh buff meh)
the bible, it does not mean that anyone who had accepted it before were not in the spirit of God,as your argument is suggesting to the person,If he "sides" with Luther.

d spike

Postby d spike » October 10th, 2011, 2:18 am

megadoc1 wrote:
d spike wrote: Clearly they were in error (that was never being disputed)... .....

the results of their actions are contrary to scripture, which proves that
"being held by many" as to be doing anything , cannot mean they were actually doing it...it just can't work the results are in yo!
now if only you can gather the results of those who actually(not because people say so eh) based their life on scripture

So there we go... off in another direction...
Let me make you happy. I know this was the string you started pulling on when you couldn't handle the "Luther" talk. You really must feel I am somewhat like yourself - forgetful and blind.

How many times have I said, both in this thread and the other (where you got your arse whipped to a jelly, and you were pleading with me to stop responding to you?) that:
Medicine can only work if you dose yourself with it?
So you are trying to convince me of something I said repeatedly in a previous argument??? You must either be very forgetful... or dim-witted...
What am I saying?????
Please forgive me, my boy... I forgot...

...that you don't read one damned thing I write.
Here are some names for you to play with: Francis of Assisi, Augustine of Hippo, Jozef De Veuster (or as he is known: Father Damien of Moloka'i.)

When you have finished, can you go back to the point?
Religion is based on faith, not proof. (You are the ONLY person I know to claim to have proof) Being aware of the presence of the Holy Spirit/his inspiration is part of that faith - it too cannot be proven.Therefore (no matter how strongly you feel about it) it is simply your opinion.
The questionable folk I posted earlier were quite adamant (as you are) that they were guided by the same Spirit... their opinion.
Discernment is based on hope and trust. (I think you confuse almost everything with Presumption.) One does not "know"... one hopes and trusts that one is being guided by that whose help one has requested.

d spike

Postby d spike » October 10th, 2011, 3:23 am

megadoc1 wrote:
d spike wrote:
trash it

Did Peter and Paul's conflict create a lasting rift in the Christian Church? no! not at all Didn't Paul correct an error on Peter's part? yess Didn't Peter agree with Paul, and was grateful for the correction? yess

Those were rhetorical questions - you didn't have to answer them as the answers are meant to be obvious. (You thought these queries needed answering?)

megadoc1 wrote: what I was pointing out, is that both men were walking in the spirit of God yet one erred and it was necessary for the other to "pull him up" yet there in nothing questionable concerning whatever he did before or after in terms of being led by the spirit ,with that said,what I am suggesting is that though Luther came along and "corrected" (yuh see I used quotation marks eh doh buff meh)
the bible, it does not mean that anyone who had accepted it before were not in the spirit of God,as your argument is suggesting to the person,If he "sides" with Luther.

So... one can err while "walking in the Spirit", eh?
A comparison requires a similarity to exist.
While both men/groups disagreed with each others line of thought, that is where the similarity ends.
Paul corrected Peter - and Peter accepted his correction, as it was clearly right.
Luther rewrote scripture (and admitted it!):
The Bible, in Romans 3:28, states, "Therefore we conclude that a man is justified by faith apart from the deeds of the law."
Martin Luther, in his German translation of the Bible, specifically added the word "allein" ('alone') to Romans 3:28-a word that is not in the original Greek... that we are "justified by faith alone", apart from the works of the Law.
Furthermore, Martin Luther himself reportedly said, "You tell me what a great fuss the Papists are making because the word alone in not in the text of Paul…say right out to him: 'Dr. Martin Luther will have it so,'…I will have it so, and I order it to be so, and my will is reason enough. I know very well that the word 'alone' is not in the Latin or the Greek text..."

Romans 4:15 states, "...because the law brings about wrath; for where there is no law there is no transgression."
Yet in his German translation, Martin Luther added the word 'only' before the term 'wrath' to Romans 4:15 - presumably to attempt to justify his position to discredit the law.
Martin Luther also intentionally mistranslated Matthew 3:2, Acts 19:18, and many other scriptures.
Matthew 3:2 states, "Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand!".
Martin Luther, in his German translation, changed the word 'repent' to 'mend' or 'do better', presumably to justify his position that one does not need to obey God's laws through repentance.

The Bible, in Acts 19:18, states, "And many who had believed came confessing and telling their deeds..." Yet Martin Luther rendered it, "they acknowledged the miracles of the Apostles".

You are comparing this self-opinionated, egotistical person to Paul? Your opinion of Paul must not be very high.
Did Paul attempt to fraudulently tamper with scripture? Rearrange stuff to suit himself???
What was Paul's opinion of scripture? ...that parts of it were trash?
Let's review Luther's opinion of the very scriptures you hold dear...
"St. James' epistle is really an epistle of straw…for it has nothing of the nature of the gospel about it..." (Luther, M. Preface to the New Testament, 1546), and "In the first place it is flatly against St. Paul and all the rest of Scripture in ascribing justification to works…Besides, he throws things together so chaotically that it seems to me he must have been some good, pious man, who took a few sayings from the disciples of the apostles and thus tossed them off on paper.

"In the first place, the fact that Hebrews is not an epistle of St. Paul, or of any other apostle..." (Luther, M. Prefaces to the Epistle of the Hebrews, 1546). Regarding the Book of Hebrews, Martin Luther stated, "It need not surprise one to find here bits of wood, hay, and straw"

"About this book of the Revelation of John...I miss more than one thing in this book, and it makes me consider it to be neither apostolic nor prophetic…I can in no way detect that the Holy Spirit produced it. Moreover he seems to me to be going much too far when he commends his own book so highly-indeed, more than any of the other sacred books do, though they are much more important-and threatens that if anyone takes away anything from it, God will take away from him, etc. Again, they are supposed to be blessed who keep what is written in this book; and yet no one knows what that is, to say nothing of keeping it. This is just the same as if we did not have the book at all. And there are many far better books available for us to keep…My spirit cannot accommodate itself to this book. For me this is reason enough not to think highly of it: Christ is neither taught nor known in it" (Luther, M. Preface to the Revelation of St. John, 1522).

"The first three (gospels) speak of the works of our Lord, rather than His oral teachings; that of St. John is the only sympathetic, the only true Gospel and should undoubtedly be preferred above the others. In like manner, the Epistles of St. Peter and St. Paul are superior to the first three Gospels."

"Job spoke not as it stands written in his book, but only had such thoughts. It is merely the argument of a fable. It is probable that Solomon wrote and made this book."

"Ecclesiastes ought to have been more complete. There is too much incoherent matter in it...Solomon did not, therefore, write this book."

"The book of Esther I toss into the Elbe. I am such an enemy to the book of Esther that I wish it did not exist, for it Judaizes too much..."

"The history of Jonah is so monstrous that it is absolutely incredible."

Martin Luther had little use for the first five books of the Old Testament. Of the Pentateuch he says: "We have no wish either to see or hear Moses."

trash it
What same results? Rephrasing of scripture to suit the opinion of one man? Did Paul attempt to mislead others willfully? Did Paul disregard scripture so presumptuously?
So what really should be trashed?
I think your argument is a prime candidate.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 10th, 2011, 8:04 am

rspann wrote:This man making me believe that man come from monkey and wasn't created.I believe every one who knows what is going on knows that although he spelt it 'cannon" he is talking about "canon"
Canon refers to the list of books thst are accepted as scripture,not the kind that is used to fight war,I will advise you to start following the thread from the beginning and you might have an idea of what's going on.

Wow dayum!!! Really? YOU ARE SO SMART!!! fLUKIN GENIUS DUDE!! By the way have any idea what sarcasm is?. You think I dont know what you said already? I have been involved in this thread before u joined the forum, so dont tell me to read from the begining padna.

rspan, dont put urself on par with megaduck, yuh smarter than that man. He in a class by himself. NOT hatin or anythin eh, but following this thread for two years has brought certain traits of the mighty Mega and the usual posters (Spiky, Duane, bluey, etc.) to light and he (mega) has posted enough information here for one to have an idea of his thought patterns and his mental stance. Lets just say he is a bit too closed minded to understand that he is not the only right one, and not the only wrong one.
megadoc1 wrote:^lol ..I too will get a bit worried if in a religious topic someone mentions a cannon
especially if I didn't know what the topic is about perhaps its because because of my inability to keep up!!! :lol:
sorry for my misspell though !

Ur forgiven mega. Dont let it happen again. Also, google Sarcasm lest u continue to make a fool out of urself.

Once again people, this is not a battle, or football match, it is supposed to be an open minded discussion to enlighten others about our beliefs IF THEY WANT TO KNOW. Not to tell others that u are right and they are wrong, AND NOT TO FORCE our beliefs on others.

Re:

Postby MG Man » October 10th, 2011, 10:54 am

MG Man wrote:I met him in a back alley............I stabbed him and he died.........

for those who missed page 1 :mrgreen:

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » October 10th, 2011, 11:13 am

I met him in a back alley bleeding... i took off my shirt bandaged his wounds....and ran to get help..when i came back he was gone...

Postby MG Man » October 10th, 2011, 11:30 am

yeah those stray dogs don't leave anything behind

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » October 10th, 2011, 2:33 pm

they prob took him to safety...... you kno like Benji, Lassie, Bingo....

Postby K74T » October 10th, 2011, 4:15 pm

Anyone read that full page article on pg 17 in today's express?

A priest who saw heaven, hell, and purgatory - The death experience of Father Jose Maniyangat

Fr. Jose Maniyangat is currently the pastor of St. Mary's Mother of
Mercy Catholic Church in Macclenny, Florida.

Here is his personal testimony:

I was born on July 16, 1949 in Kerala, India to my parents, Joseph and
Theresa Maniyangat. I am the eldest of seven children: Jose, Mary, Theresa,
Lissama, Zachariah, Valsa and Tom..

At the age of fourteen, I entered St. Mary's Minor Seminary in
Thiruvalla to begin my studies for the priesthood. Four years later, I went to
St. Joseph's Pontifical Major Seminary in Alwaye, Kerala to continue my
priestly formation. After completing the seven years of philosophy and
theology, I was ordained a priest on January 1, 1975 to serve as a missionary
in the Diocese of Thiruvalla.

On Sunday April 14, 1985, the Feast of the Divine Mercy, I was going to
celebrate Mass at a mission church in the north part of Kerala, and I had a
fatal accident. I was riding a motorcycle when I was hit head-on by a jeep
driven by a man who was intoxicated after a Hindu festival. I was rushed to a
hospital about 35 miles away. On the way, my soul came out from my body and I
experienced death. Immediately, I met my Guardian Angel. I saw my body and the
people who were carrying me to the hospital. I heard them crying and praying
for me. At this time my angel told me: "I am going to take you to Heaven,
the Lord wants to meet you and talk with you." He also said that, on the
way, he wanted to show me hell and purgatory.

Hell
First, the angel escorted me to hell. It was an awful sight! I saw Satan
and the devils, an unquenchable fire of about 2,000 degrees Fahrenheit, worms
crawling, people screaming and fighting, others being tortured by demons. The
angel told me that all these sufferings were due to unrepented mortal sins.
Then, I understood that there are seven degrees of suffering or levels
according to the number and kinds of mortal sins committed in their earthly
lives. The souls looked very ugly, cruel and horrific. It was a fearful
experience. I saw people whom I knew, but I am not allowed to reveal their
identities. The sins that convicted them were mainly abortion, homosexuality,
euthanasia, hatefulness, unforgiveness and sacrilege. The angel told me that if
they had repented, they would have avoided hell and gone instead to purgatory.
I also understood that some people who repent from these sins might be purified
on earth through their sufferings. This way they can avoid purgatory and go
straight to heaven.

I was surprised when I saw in hell even priests and Bishops, some of
whom I never expected to see. Many of them were there because they had misled
the people with false teaching and bad example.

Purgatory

After the visit to hell, my Guardian Angel escorted me to purgatory.
Here too, there are seven degrees of suffering and unquenchable fire. But it is
far less intense than hell and there was neither quarreling nor fighting.

The main suffering of these souls is their separation from God. Some of those
who are in purgatory committed numerous mortal sins, but they were reconciled
with God before their death. Even though these souls are suffering, they enjoy
peace and the knowledge that one day they will see God face to face.

I had a chance to communicate with the souls in purgatory. They asked me
to pray for them and to tell the people to pray for them as well, so they can
go to heaven quickly. When we pray for these souls, we will receive their
gratitude through their prayers, and once they enter heaven, their prayers
become even more meritorious.

It is difficult for me to describe how beautiful my Guardian Angel is.
He is radiant and bright. He is my constant companion and helps me in all my
ministries, especially my healing ministry. I experience his presence
everywhere I go and I am grateful for his protection in my daily life.

Heaven

Next, my angel escorted me to heaven passing through a big dazzling
white tunnel. I never experienced this much peace and joy in my life. Then
immediately heaven opened up and I heard the most delightful music, which I
never heard before. The angels were singing and praising God. I saw all the
saints, especially the Blessed Mother and St. Joseph, and many dedicated holy
Bishops and priests who were shining like stars.

And when I appeared before the Lord, Jesus told me: "I want you to go back
to the world. In your second life, you will be an instrument of peace and
healing to My people. You will walk in a foreign land and you will speak in a
foreign tongue. Everything is possible for you with My grace.." After
these words, the Blessed Mother told me: "Do whatever He tells you. I will
help you in your ministries."

Words can not express the beauty of heaven.. There we find so much peace
and happiness, which exceed a million times our imagination.
Our Lord is far more beautiful than any image can convey. His face is radiant
and luminous and more beautiful than a thousand rising suns. The pictures we
see in the world are only a shadow of His magnificence.. The Blessed Mother was
next to Jesus; She was so beautiful and radiant. None of the images we see in
this world can compare with Her real beauty.

Heaven is our real home; we are all created to reach heaven and enjoy God
forever. Then, I came back to the world with my angel. While my body was at the
hospital, the doctor completed all examinations and I was pronounced dead.
The cause of death was bleeding.

My family was notified, and since they were far away, the hospital staff decided
to move my dead body to the morgue. Because the hospital did not have air
conditioners, they were concerned that the body would decompose quickly. As
they were moving my dead body to the morgue, my soul came back to the body. I
felt an excruciating pain because of so many wounds and broken bones. I began
to scream, and then the people became frightened and ran away screaming. One of
them approached the doctor and said: "The dead body is screaming."
The doctor came to examine the body and found that I was alive. So he said:
"Father is alive, it is a miracle! Take him back to the hospital."

Now, back at the hospital, they gave me blood transfusions and I was
taken to surgery to repair the broken bones. They worked on my lower jaw, ribs,
pelvic bone, wrists, and right leg. After two months, I was released from the
hospital, but my orthopedic doctor said that I would never walk again. I then
said to him: "The Lord who gave me my life back and sent me back to the
world will heal me." Once at home, we were all praying for a miracle.
Still after a month, and with the casts removed, I was not able to move. But
one day while praying I felt an extraordinary pain in my pelvic area. After a
short while the pain disappeared completely and I heard a voice saying:
"You are healed. Get up and walk." I felt the peace and healing power
on my body. I immediately got up and walked. I praised and thanked God for the
miracle.

I reached my doctor with the news of my healing, and he was amazed.
He said: "Your God is the true God. I must follow your God." The
doctor was Hindu, and he asked me to teach him about our Church. After studying
the Faith, I baptized him and he became Catholic.

Following the message from my Guardian Angel, I came to the United
States on November 10, 1986 as a missionary priest.... Since June 1999, I have
been pastor of St. Mary's Mother of Mercy Catholic Church in Macclenny,
Florida.

Fr. Jose Maniyangat

Story here

:drinking: :|

Postby pioneer » October 10th, 2011, 7:06 pm

Sounds like he played dante's inferno

Postby pioneer » October 10th, 2011, 7:12 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I live in a predominantly Hindu area and on Divali day a few years ago a Church from Balthazar Street, Tunapuna passed around and left pamphlets in every one yards saying Hinduism is a Devil religion.

Take that for tolerance.

I asked about this, the church member said she has no knowledge of this and that "no member of her church" would commit such an act.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 10th, 2011, 8:24 pm

^yuh call the man a liar dey?

d spike wrote:
megadoc1 wrote: what I was pointing out, is that both men were walking in the spirit of God yet one erred and it was necessary for the other to "pull him up" yet there in nothing questionable concerning whatever he did before or after in terms of being led by the spirit ,with that said,what I am suggesting is that though Luther came along and "corrected" (yuh see I used quotation marks eh doh buff meh)

So... one can err while "walking in the Spirit", eh?
A comparison requires a similarity to exist.
While both men/groups disagreed with each others line of thought, that is where the similarity ends.

am ..I was responding to your logic in bold below...and my reference is a close example to what you were suggesting.
If a person accepts the Bible literally, and is shown that the scripture they hold is actually incomplete, then they would be faced with a choice: either accept the missing books as scripture (as they originally were), or admit that the Bible is made up of writings that differ in quality - in other words, it is not all "inspired". To admit the latter (which is what all fundamentalists do initially) would then negate the idea that the original compilers of the Bible were led "by the Spirit", as history clearly shows many of those who chose the books later "tossed" by Luther were of the opinion that they too were inspired

may be I misunderstood (yuh know is normal ting with me )
so please explian me this
would then negate the idea that the original compilers of the Bible were led "by the Spirit"
help meh nah! I really tort this line comes as a result of their "presumed" error, if it is so, please tell me what error can negate the the idea that someone is led by the spirit .....besides those you already posted, that clearly, disregarded the scriptures.
talk tuh meh!!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 10th, 2011, 8:29 pm

Kasey wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:^lol ..I too will get a bit worried if in a religious topic someone mentions a cannon
especially if I didn't know what the topic is about perhaps its because because of my inability to keep up!!! :lol:

Ur forgiven mega. Dont let it happen again. Also, google Sarcasm lest u continue to make a fool out of urself.
am......I really would like to think that you understood what sarcasm meant
but your response to my post proved otherwise ....... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I guess you are right ...saying you cant keep up is no form of sarcasm
its actually truth!

Postby Dizzy28 » October 10th, 2011, 9:49 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I live in a predominantly Hindu area and on Divali day a few years ago a Church from Balthazar Street, Tunapuna passed around and left pamphlets in every one yards saying Hinduism is a Devil religion.

Take that for tolerance.

I asked about this, the church member said she has no knowledge of this and that "no member of her church" would commit such an act.

There are two churches on Balthazar Street.The one lower down close to Singer and one higher up close to the Tyre Shop. I'm certain was a church on Balthazar Street btw.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 10th, 2011, 10:56 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
Kasey wrote:

its actually truth!

When did I say I cant keep up duck? If u are incapable of interpreting my response, its not my fault. Your thought patterns are very entertaining. LOL:LOL:LOL:LOL.
keep deluding urself. Lovin it.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 10th, 2011, 11:07 pm

Kasey wrote:When did I say I cant keep up duck?

when did I say you said that?
Kasey wrote: If u are incapable of interpreting my response, its not my fault.

your "interpretation" of my response to you is a bit troubling
Kasey wrote:Your thought patterns are very entertaining. LOL:LOL:LOL:LOL.
let me quess when you typed,you were looking in the mirror and not a monitor?

d spike

Postby d spike » October 10th, 2011, 11:25 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
d spike wrote:A comparison requires a similarity to exist.
am ..I was responding to your logic in bold below...and my reference is a close example to what you were suggesting.

A belief that parts of accepted scripture is wrong, and certain phrases within scripture need "tweaking"... that was Luther. Exactly what did Paul do along these lines that made you think he was comparable to Luther? Precisely what does "my" logic have to do with this? (You were the one to make the comparison, not me.) Bear in mind that Peter and Paul's disagreement was only regarding a couple issues, and was solved. It caused no lasting division, did not include fraud, and did not affect the belief structure of their followers.

megadoc1 wrote:
If a person accepts the Bible literally, and is shown that the scripture they hold is actually incomplete, then they would be faced with a choice: either accept the missing books as scripture (as they originally were), or admit that the Bible is made up of writings that differ in quality - in other words, it is not all "inspired". To admit the latter (which is what all fundamentalists do initially) would then negate the idea that the original compilers of the Bible were led "by the Spirit", as history clearly shows many of those who chose the books later "tossed" by Luther were of the opinion that they too were inspired

may be I misunderstood

How??? I specifically explained it as simply as I could so you would understand...
(sigh)
(seeks that which makes all men equal... finds it...)
:drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking:
Now den...
Leh we look at dis t'ing heh...
If yuh believe dat de scriptures is inspired, an' dat is de wukkins of de Spirit...
den de only way fuh fellahs tuh recognize dat is fuh de same Spirit to show dem.
Dat said, yuh have tuh unnerstan' dat all dem fellahs who did choose de books fuh de Bible had tuh have been led by de Spirit.
If yuh believe dat God is de big man upstairs, all powerful an t'ing, den yuh would also believe dat he is de source of Truth... in odda words, yuh would t'ink dat de Spirit o' God cyah make ah mistake.
Remember dis now, eh... :drinking:

Now, if ah fellah like yuhself believe in de Bible literally, an' he realize dat ah scamp did raff some ah de Bible an' chuck it 'way, wha' yuh t'ink he go do?

He will eidar have tuh accept dem parts dat did get chuck out as well, or agree wit' yuh dat dem books dat did get pelt way, wazn all dat special.
But if he do dis, den he really sayin' dat dem fellehs dat did choose dem same book, did make ah mistake.
An' from de writings an' t'ing dat dem ole fellahs did write an' t'ing, dem writings show dat dem ole fellahs did considar all dem books tuh be inspired, not jus' some... or some more so dan oddars.

(whew!)

megadoc1 wrote:please tell me what error can negate the the idea that someone is led by the spirit

So someone can be led by the Spirit into error? This explains a lot about what/how you believe.

dtp

Postby dtp » October 11th, 2011, 2:34 pm

dtp

Postby dtp » October 11th, 2011, 3:03 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:my opinion is nothing, it is what the spirit of God says we believe
ah ok, but how did you determine which religions' God you will believe?
I do not believe in any religion's God,I believe in the creator of the universe
the I AM WHO IS! and he puts His spirit in me ,this spirit as long as I trust in Him, determines everything whats right for me

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you do not believe in the teachings of Islam or Hinduism or Buddhism, it is therefore YOUR opinion that guides what you believe to be right.

nope! its the spirit that is given to everyone who puts their faith in Jesus, that shows or guides us to what is right, as long as we abide in him..... I won't put my opinion or anyone's opinion
over that of the Holy spirit, these other teachings mentioned, are not of the Holy spirit,they don't lay claim to being that of the spirit of God nor would anyone with the spirit of God recognize them as such. this is no fault of mine or any believer, we just chose to believe and trust the spirit of God in us.

who created the world
china -Pan Gu
Iroquois Creation Myth (sky woman (Sapling and flint) her twins)
Japanese gods Izanagi and Izanami
Lord of All Life, Kaang
Greek - Nyx who made Eros,Uranus and Gaia
Lord Brahma the Creator
amazon creator Curare-woman and Original Jaguar (a story)
Sun God Ra

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 11th, 2011, 8:48 pm

megadoc1 wrote:

when did I say you said that?Actually, never, I was in error. Movin on
Kasey wrote: If u are incapable of interpreting my response, its not my fault.

your "interpretation" of my response to you is a bit troubling Yes is does not suprise me that you are a troubled person

Kasey wrote:Your thought patterns are very entertaining. LOL:LOL:LOL:LOL.
let me quess when you typed,you were looking in the mirror and not a monitor?

No dingbat you make no sense.....as usual. If i looked in a mirror I would see my goodlooking reflection, not deluded scribbles by a closed minded cretin

d spike

Postby d spike » October 11th, 2011, 10:38 pm

Kasey wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:

when did I say you said that?Actually, never, I was in error. Movin on
NO KASEY!!!!!! DON'T ENCOURAGE HIM WITH THAT!
That is exactly what he thrives on... That people just sigh, shake their heads and move on, leaving him with his ridiculous idea that he has somehow "won"...
This is a quote from another religious thread at least a year ago:
d spike wrote:I have since realised Megadoc has learned that if he persists hard and long enough, other voices of reason get tired of his nonsense, and fall silent. In his little 'football match' concept of life, he sees that as 'winning' the argument. He doesn't realise that anyone who can't stand crap, will retire from the field when faced with a tireless madman who flings an endless stream of crap. It has absolutely nothing to do with being right or wrong.

Megadoc, read what you yourself wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:I guess you are right ...saying you cant keep up is no form of sarcasm
its actually truth!

megadoc1 wrote:
Kasey wrote:

its actually truth
!

Kasey

Postby Kasey » October 12th, 2011, 1:10 pm

^^Spikey, I really dont know where u get the motivation to continue this argument with this twat na. Ur right, his methods of debating are very irrating, and he doesnt seem to have learnt anything since 2009 when this thread began (cept a lil bit of spelling).