PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

iM@st@1

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby iM@st@1 » September 24th, 2014, 1:31 pm

Gratz on those overclockers, sound like you real GT there, what kind of clock speeds they reaching? Hoping to get a pair of 980s myself

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 24th, 2014, 3:32 pm

thats 1150 clock and 1600 memory on stock voltages they ran at 1200/1650 but scored lower for some reason.

star23

Postby star23 » October 2nd, 2014, 12:23 pm

hey guys where can i get cooler master sickel flow 120mm fans locally to purchase?

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 2nd, 2014, 2:27 pm

I'm not sure anywhere sells good stuff locally they only seem to sell the cheap stuff

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 2nd, 2014, 2:50 pm

wizz has,bought 4 from them some time ago

C & C Trading

Postby C & C Trading » October 2nd, 2014, 3:21 pm

Whats your budget?

GRIM

Postby GRIM » October 2nd, 2014, 3:56 pm

Anyone having problems with the latest version of catalyst control center?

star23

Postby star23 » October 3rd, 2014, 11:47 am

whizz has nothing at the moment besides generic 120mm fans, decided to order 4 corsair air series

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 3rd, 2014, 6:57 pm

GRIM wrote:Anyone having problems with the latest version of catalyst control center?

What card you running?

GRIM

Postby GRIM » October 3rd, 2014, 7:16 pm

HCCA wrote:What card you running?

hd7790
is either the ccc or the newest graphics driver update giving me problems. Pc keeps restarting after about 15mins of playing games.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 3rd, 2014, 9:22 pm

GRIM wrote:
HCCA wrote:What card you running?

hd7790
is either the ccc or the newest graphics driver update giving me problems. Pc keeps restarting after about 15mins of playing games.

Hmmm. I have a 7950 here, will try the latest drivers tomorrow and see if i getting any issues. Currently have 14.4 installed and no issues with those.

Using the 14.3 drivers on an AMD AM1 system and no issues so far (integrated 8400D graphics).

Haven't had graphics driver related issues inna while though, nvidia or amd.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » October 3rd, 2014, 9:29 pm

it seems that it might of been a windows update.
did a system restore for about 4 days ago and haven't had any problems for about an hour so far.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 3rd, 2014, 10:13 pm

GRIM wrote:it seems that it might of been a windows update.
did a system restore for about 4 days ago and haven't had any problems for about an hour so far.

Yeah some of the windows updates screw up your system.

I usually disable them whenever i upgrade a system.

Postby Spitfir3 » October 6th, 2014, 1:03 pm

yall got some top of the line hardware but i realize i almost never see you guys talking about or bringing up any games...with that said anyone knows whats a good POPULATED mmo fps?? besides the call of duty series and counter strike ...and battlefield

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 6th, 2014, 2:30 pm

I like goat simulator, ting is rel vybz

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 6th, 2014, 4:24 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:yall got some top of the line hardware but i realize i almost never see you guys talking about or bringing up any games...with that said anyone knows whats a good POPULATED mmo fps?? besides the call of duty series and counter strike ...and battlefield

To a lot of people here, the Battlefield and COD series are the ONLY two mmo fps games in the whole world. :lol:

You can check out the Steam forums for an idea of what people playing nowadays.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 6th, 2014, 4:35 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:yall got some top of the line hardware but i realize i almost never see you guys talking about or bringing up any games...with that said anyone knows whats a good POPULATED mmo fps?? besides the call of duty series and counter strike ...and battlefield

I play DayZ with some nascar driver boys and Arma3 Life mods are good as well.Playing with Lirik (streamer) in altis life on server 2 is pretty hilarious sometimes,been a FSA member about 2 1/2 months now,those guys are insane :lol: :lol:

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 6th, 2014, 6:52 pm

I play bf4 mainly, some Titanfall and cod. As for mmo I occasionally sweat some runescape normally just to check my gold and do a lil quick trade

starscream00

Postby starscream00 » October 6th, 2014, 7:01 pm

Does anyone know how much a case weighing around 23lbs cost to clear in customs? im thinking of buying the nzxt h440.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » October 6th, 2014, 7:59 pm

23lbs x Your courier charge per pound.
Then calculate your Service Fee and add it to the weight charges. That's the total.
So roughly around $500.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 6th, 2014, 8:19 pm

Plus vat maybe

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 8th, 2014, 3:24 pm

Might be selling one of my msi 970's due to the fact two is overkill for a single 1440p monitor. If anyone may be interested in purchasing one let me know.

BrandonSingh

Postby BrandonSingh » October 8th, 2014, 3:49 pm

DTAC wrote:I'd love to see a comparison between a machine running DDR3 and an exact specs machine running DDR4 memory and increases are.

From what I've seen, the latency is a bit higher, so that's a con right there

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » October 8th, 2014, 5:44 pm

EA is giving away Dragon Age: Origins for free right now

As part of its "On the House" program for Origin, Electronic Arts is giving away BioWare's 2009 role-playing game Dragon Age: Origins for free. The giveaway applies to the standard Windows PC version of the game only.

To get a free copy of Dragon Age: Origins, players will need an Origin account. The promotion runs until Oct. 14.

EA is also giving away a copy of PopCap's Bejeweled 3 for Mac and Windows PC until Oct. 28 through Origin.

Origin Link:
https://www.origin.com/en-us/store/buy/dragon-age-1/pc-download/base-game/standard-edition

Postby Spitfir3 » October 9th, 2014, 2:01 pm

would have rathered something other than dragon age origins but beggers can't be choosers i'll take it anyway!! thanks for pointing it out

also as for a mmo fps i think i'll give planet side 2 a chance and i'll look into that titanfall

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 9th, 2014, 2:54 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:would have rathered something other than dragon age origins but beggers can't be choosers i'll take it anyway!! thanks for pointing it out

also as for a mmo fps i think i'll give planet side 2 a chance and i'll look into that titanfall

I got BF3 (ewwwww) and bejeweled 2 i think from Origin free already.

Picked up Dragon Age last night, may give it a go near xmas time when i truly bored. :lol:

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 9th, 2014, 5:56 pm

Started playing alien isolation last night,
It's actually scary reminds me of the original silent hill for its scare factor.
Definitely recommend

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 9th, 2014, 6:18 pm

Want to try AI but I don't think it worth the $, gonna wait for it to go on sale.

Middle Earth Shadow of Mordor, that is a good buy, combat like the batman games which I really enjoy & the developers pretty much nailed the middle earth environment, looks gorgeous, can't wait to run it on the 970 on ultra. Very taxing on earlier model gpus. Surprised nobody playing that yet

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 9th, 2014, 6:22 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Want to try AI but I don't think it worth the $, gonna wait for it to go on sale.

Middle Earth Shadow of Mordor, that is a good buy, combat like the batman games which I really enjoy & the developers pretty much nailed the middle earth environment, looks gorgeous, can't wait to run it on the 970 on ultra. Very taxing on earlier model gpus. Surprised nobody playing that yet

Have a tuner mention to me he playing that now.

Might check it out, sounds intriguing.

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 10th, 2014, 1:49 am

I have it but haven't played it yet I only have time to play one game at a time so once I finish ai I'll play that.