3ne2nr fishermen

mrlantra

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby mrlantra » January 30th, 2015, 11:54 pm

pugboy wrote:Word is young boys ketching snook off kayaks in westmoorings with artificials close to shore

Might be worth a look

bumpie

Postby bumpie » January 31st, 2015, 6:38 am

Big daddy we need to find that place in westmoring were they catching snook of kayacks man.

Postby joker » January 31st, 2015, 7:45 am

water was really calm yesterday in Maracas and Las Cuevas ... did not fish for long , just 1 flounder {sp} on bonito, in Cuevas , but plenty bait in the water though.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 31st, 2015, 7:48 am

Yea, last Sunday we see plenty bait on d north...will be by Mankee dis morning, anybody need advice check me there for like 10:30-11

Postby *KRONIK* » January 31st, 2015, 7:59 am

Price a battle3000 for mih nah!

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » January 31st, 2015, 10:29 am

bumpie wrote:Big daddy we need to find that place in westmoring were they catching snook of kayacks man.

It's to find a launchpoint close, that's what we need most of all, a safe parking area with a slip or sand beach etc

Postby meccalli » January 31st, 2015, 2:47 pm

I caught snook all the way from cocorite down to williams bay when bait comes in, you could launch from foreshore and work your way up. Once the greenbacks and mullet around, snook don't be too far behind.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » January 31st, 2015, 4:55 pm

Caught a couple of reds today out Chag side. Water was really nice tho...
Recently found out that this fish in the pic is not a redfish but actually a mutton snapper!
image.jpg
Fish red
Last edited by JayB27 on March 6th, 2015, 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » January 31st, 2015, 5:25 pm

yeah, them fellas living or have friends with waterfront from houses before yacht club so they launching from there and just head east along shore.

apparently the houses with small jetty platforms usually have snook liming below.

meccalli wrote:I caught snook all the way from cocorite down to williams bay when bait comes in, you could launch from foreshore and work your way up. Once the greenbacks and mullet around, snook don't be too far behind.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » January 31st, 2015, 6:55 pm

What's at the end of the road behind Hilo at west mall? I don't like the foreshore area at all, but that's just me I'm from south. Also for note nothing worth a damn at the sando wreck all that hiway construction mudding up the water so just cat fish for so
image.jpg

Postby pugboy » January 31st, 2015, 7:23 pm

Some nice houses

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 31st, 2015, 10:13 pm

them snook, as mecalli says, follow the bait, you can find them as far as five islands and carrera, and outside yacht club too. they also take artificials at night under the lights along them private jetties along Westmoorings and Bayshore.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 1st, 2015, 1:22 pm

Btw what rays do we have in the gulf that like to jump out of the water, I didn't get a good look at it I'm guessing it was a eagle ray about 4-5 ft, snapped my 30 lb power pro like it was thread.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 1st, 2015, 1:27 pm

That would be the spotted eagle ray. I saw them do that a couple of times while snorkeling macqueripe. Really beautiful.

Postby meccalli » February 1st, 2015, 3:49 pm

Mantas and eagles.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 1st, 2015, 3:57 pm

JayB27 wrote:That would be the spotted eagle ray. I saw them do that a couple of times while snorkeling macqueripe. Really beautiful.

And quite big and quite strong

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 1st, 2015, 4:15 pm

Yea they do get big. Saw some already about 5ft across and over 6ft from nose to tip of tail. I can only imagine their strength

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » February 1st, 2015, 5:50 pm

JayB27 wrote:Yea they do get big. Saw some already about 5ft across and over 6ft from nose to tip of tail. I can only imagine their strength

I don't have to imagine I now know first hand, sleigh ride doesn't even come close

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 1st, 2015, 5:56 pm

hahaha...wow must of been fun though!

Postby meccalli » February 1st, 2015, 6:08 pm

There's a particular manta that hangs out in the waterfront vicinity as well as one down close to the rivermouth @ diego, pray you don't hook that one lol, he's young prob 200lb at least.

Postby DVSTT » February 1st, 2015, 6:13 pm

JayB27 wrote:That would be the spotted eagle ray. I saw them do that a couple of times while snorkeling macqueripe. Really beautiful.

Never saw rays while snorkeling locally. Most I saw was turtles way out in the channel at macqueripe

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 1st, 2015, 6:18 pm

DVSTT wrote:

Never saw rays while snorkeling locally. Most I saw was turtles way out in the channel at macqueripe

They are there but you just have to go searching for them. I have seen them numerous times different types as well.

proton17

Postby proton17 » February 1st, 2015, 8:30 pm

Btw caught 2 stingrays in manzan dis evening, water was real nice not like last week, d small mullet schools was around too.

No fish caught besides one chuf chuf but d good fish will start to bite jus now in manzan.....

Postby meccalli » February 1st, 2015, 9:15 pm

might finally get a chance to head down there on carnival.

grad

Postby grad » February 1st, 2015, 9:27 pm

Some huge cavali just liming at mahogany B! maybe about 40 or 50...

no pics...its BP platform

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 1st, 2015, 10:37 pm

Proton so do you think this week will be productive to go up?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 2nd, 2015, 7:53 am

meccalli wrote:might finally get a chance to head down there on carnival.

I'll be in Guaya, pass thru. :drinking:

Postby meccalli » February 2nd, 2015, 8:35 am

haha You gonna set a longline again?, i'm always interested to see what you bring up.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 2nd, 2015, 8:39 am

Intend to set it a few times, tide providing, already stocked up on shrimp and squid.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » February 2nd, 2015, 9:02 am

Which part you guys does be in Guaya? My partner told me bout a spot inside a rd coming down to the end. Real ancho and cavalli he said.