iamblessed wrote:
Jonathan wrote:
RASC wrote:
honda hoe wrote:It boils down to personal preference

Since inception the only android phones I've bought are the nexus models

Don't care for the S4

I'll upgrade my nexus 4 when the nexus 5 comes out

8 or 16 is enough for you :$

I don't really see the point of filling up a phone when I store most of my data in the cloud, easily accessed any time I want it. I figure that's the way Google (and others) are heading.
uh understand....trying to make we feel they s4 and s3 good...nexus for to da world...:arrow::arrow::-D:razz::P:grin:

Sent from my Nexus 4 using TriniTuner mobile app

Jonathan_337 wrote:Thanks for the replies guys...I kinda low on cash because I'm gonna buy the S4 soon, and this bugs me cause it works great when the wifi is connected. I had JSL 8.0 hybrid loaded on it before and I went back stock last night..took off wifi and left it over night, woke up on low battery.

However I've been using it all day, BBM music FB etc connected to wifi and its been fine. Going out later so I'll see again and well..I guess time's up for it if it continues.

And the purpose of quoting me from another thread was?

To show Iamblessed that you want a me too as well

Not for the reason that everyone has it though, just to not seem like a flamboyant idiot. Flashing roms on Samsung devices are quick and painless, development is EXTREMELY high due to the fact that so many people now buy them and they hold resale pretty okay.

I'd have bought a nexus 4 in a heartbeat if it came in 64gb. Few CWM and titanium backups and its near filled, no space for music either. People will argue the cloud :

1. I don't wanna be forced to have a data plan to listen to music in my car when I'm around wifi every other time

2. Streaming kills data quickly

3. I naturally prefer my music and larger stuff locally

metalgear2095

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby metalgear2095 » June 4th, 2013, 7:23 am

Jonathan wrote:
RASC wrote:

Don't care for the S4

I don't really see the point of filling up a phone when I store most of my data in the cloud, easily accessed any time I want it. I figure that's the way Google (and others) are heading.

Quoted again. Smh

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » June 4th, 2013, 7:24 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
Jonathan wrote:
RASC wrote:

Don't care for the S4

Quoted again. Smh

^ that's not me. Lol but different people different preferences.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 4th, 2013, 7:37 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
iamblessed wrote:
Jonathan wrote:
RASC wrote:

Don't care for the S4

uh understand....trying to make we feel they s4 and s3 good...nexus for to da world...:arrow::arrow::-D:razz::P:grin:

Jonathan_337 wrote:Thanks for the replies guys...I kinda low on cash because I'm gonna buy the S4 soon, and this bugs me cause it works great when the wifi is connected. I had JSL 8.0 hybrid loaded on it before and I went back stock last night..took off wifi and left it over night, woke up on low battery.

However I've been using it all day, BBM music FB etc connected to wifi and its been fine. Going out later so I'll see again and well..I guess time's up for it if it continues.

It also kills battery life faster than playing from the memory

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 4th, 2013, 8:00 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
Jonathan wrote:
RASC wrote:

Don't care for the S4

Quoted again. Smh

^ that's not me. Lol but different people different preferences.

Lol. Hard luck dey

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » June 4th, 2013, 8:54 am

Allyuh Dont be on Johnathon or brandon ......its already posted and said....:grin::grin::grin::grin:

Postby Chimera » June 4th, 2013, 9:15 am

anyone else uses photobucket app by chance?

mine crashing nonstop, uninstalled and reinstalled and same problem

as soon as i choose pics to upload, it freezes then says "photobucket has stopped working"

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » June 4th, 2013, 9:21 am

Rocknrolla there are negatives, but I don't think it's being forced, you can use all devices without it including the N4, which is basically the only top of the line device that has storage limitations

I was merely pointing out the benefits of cloud storage, although u have not experienced what you are with regards to it "always being in my face" I use what I want to use, and I ma never bothered at all.

You have actually presented good points against cloud storage, and u did say there are disadvantages, but what doesn't have that?

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » June 4th, 2013, 9:30 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
iamblessed wrote:
Jonathan wrote:
RASC wrote:

Don't care for the S4

Not for the reason that everyone has it though, just to not seem like a flamboyant idiot. Flashing roms on Samsung devices are quick and painless, development is EXTREMELY high due to the fact that so many people now buy them and they hold resale pretty okay.

I'd have bought a nexus 4 in a heartbeat if it came in 64gb. Few CWM and titanium backups and its near filled, no space for music either. People will argue the cloud :

1. I don't wanna be forced to have a data plan to listen to music in my car when I'm around wifi every other time

3. I naturally prefer my music and larger stuff locally

Samsung is become less and less friendly to developers with each new flagship device, eventually developers would abandon them because the effort would not be worth it.

Streaming doesn't kill data quickly, services like Spotify and Pandora are very efficient for what they offer, I've used Pandora in conjunction with a 500MB TunnelBear VPN service that lasted me the entire month, didn't need a VPN for Spotify but it is also very efficient on data. Google’s All Access is another story though...

If you prefer it locally, then do that, streaming and cloud services are different heads of the same snake, and using local storage has only benefits, it's still your choice

On a more general note

I wonder how many people who are against these services have actually tried them???

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » June 4th, 2013, 9:31 am

Kronik wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
iamblessed wrote:
Jonathan wrote:
RASC wrote:
honda hoe"]It boils down to personal preference

Don't care for the S4

[quote="Jonathan_337 wrote:Thanks for the replies guys...I kinda low on cash because I'm gonna buy the S4 soon, and this bugs me cause it works great when the wifi is connected. I had JSL 8.0 hybrid loaded on it before and I went back stock last night..took off wifi and left it over night, woke up on low battery.

Kills battery, lol

Have you ever used any navigation software on your device?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 4th, 2013, 10:07 am

BrandoHD wrote:Rocknrolla there are negatives, but I don't think it's being forced, you can use all devices without it including the N4, which is basically the only top of the line device that has storage limitations

I was merely pointing out the benefits of cloud storage, although u have not experienced what you are with regards to it "always being in my face" I use what I want to use, and I ma never bothered at all.

You have actually presented good points against cloud storage, and u did say there are disadvantages, but what doesn't have that?

making sure ppl are aware of the disadvantages when making their choice can be helpful. 5gb of FREE storage.. free? 1-10 million users with free 5gb storage is something to question.. and it's not just 5gb since they will backup ur data on more than one server.. so basically giving u access to a minimum of 10gb, 5 for storage and 5 for backup of ur account maybe 15 or 20g if they do more than one redundant backup. how is it free? there must be a cost somewhere and if ur not the one paying, ur cloud data could be legally owned by someone else among other things.

and yes u are forced and nagged but u may not realize it all the time. for instance.. android contacts, in 2.3gingerbread one could add contacts on the fly copy directly to/from sim etc. in ics this was replaced by google contacts.. now every contact u add MUST be stored as part of ur google account in it's cloud contacts backup. why must they insist i store my contacts on their free server? i just want to copy my contacts from sim to a new fone the way we always used to. why must google insist on storing that data for me with no option to opt out?

free services are cool but u have to know how to use them and what they are taking/demanding/forcing in exchange for the freeness.

casper

Postby casper » June 4th, 2013, 10:28 am

So google playing war games with Microsoft with regards to phones...google told Microsoft they have to take down the YouTube app from all windows phones

Don't know if this is old news or not...just found this out today...lol

casper

Postby casper » June 4th, 2013, 10:46 am

Also galaxy s4 more responsive than htc one and nexus 4 is even more responsive than the galaxy s4 ...so in short...nexus 4 pwns all other major android high end devices when it comes to fluidity

Postby honda hoe » June 4th, 2013, 10:55 am

Ssshhhh....

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » June 4th, 2013, 11:03 am

rocknrolla wrote:
BrandoHD wrote:Rocknrolla there are negatives, but I don't think it's being forced, you can use all devices without it including the N4, which is basically the only top of the line device that has storage limitations

making sure ppl are aware of the disadvantages when making their choice can be helpful. 5gb of FREE storage.. free? 1-10 million users with free 5gb storage is something to question.. and it's not just 5gb since they will backup ur data on more than one server.. so basically giving u access to a minimum of 10gb, 5 for storage and 5 for backup of ur account maybe 15 or 20g if they do more than one redundant backup. how is it free? there must be a cost somewhere and if ur not the one paying, ur cloud data could be legally owned by someone else among other things.

and yes u are forced and nagged but u may not realize it all the time. for instance.. android contacts, in 2.3gingerbread one could add contacts on the fly copy directly to/from sim etc. in ics this was replaced by google contacts.. now every contact u add MUST be stored as part of ur google account in it's cloud contacts backup. why must they insist i store my contacts on their free server? i just want to copy my contacts from sim to a new fone the way we always used to. why must google insist on storing that data for me with no option to opt out?

free services are cool but u have to know how to use them and what they are taking/demanding/forcing in exchange for the freeness.

I assume you're talking about Dropbox, if you are, it's a freemium service, you may need to do some research to find out how freemium services make money (and lots of it) and

To avoid storing your contacts in Google, use another contacts app, most of them have more features anyway, please explain how something can be 'forced' when it cab be bypassed in about 90 seconds

You can use an android phone without even signing into a Google account and by using an alternative App Store, and it's been made so easy, so I really don't follow

There is too much choice and too much information out there for anything to be 'forced' onto users

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » June 4th, 2013, 11:39 am

casper wrote:Also galaxy s4 more responsive than htc one and nexus 4 is even more responsive than the galaxy s4 ...so in short...nexus 4 pwns all other major android high end devices when it comes to fluidity
well said Casper....let them know....

Any1 here who have Digicel 4g on their android phone...how fast does it work??mines slow no rass:?:geek:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 4th, 2013, 11:55 am

BrandoHD wrote:
rocknrolla wrote:

I assume you're talking about Dropbox, if you are, it's a freemium service, you may need to do some research to find out how freemium services make money (and lots of it) and

To avoid storing your contacts in Google, use another contacts app, most of them have more features anyway, please explain how something can be 'forced' when it cab be bypassed in about 90 seconds

You can use an android phone without even signing into a Google account and by using an alternative App Store, and it's been made so easy, so I really don't follow

There is too much choice and too much information out there for anything to be 'forced' onto users

yeah but that's it.. i dont want to install a seperate app just for contacts, my email is gmail so i must put the account and yes i want full access to the play store as i currently have. so those circumvention options are out of the question for me. of course they can be circumvented/hacked in various ways all of them. ive effectively blocked my account from storing my contacts online but not everyone will notice or care about the difference.

i hope ur right and that the future of home computing and gaming consoles doesnt become exclusively cloud. windows 9 perhaps might be completely cloud.. then the laptops that come with it will be basically dumb terminals. that's why i say im sticking with xp for life lol. if i want a cloud backup it's easy to make an online storage account and configure it to my pc. integrating it makes that process hassle free which is all good. but dont program out the classic functionality.. to me that is forcing.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 4th, 2013, 4:29 pm

BrandoHD wrote:
Kronik wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
iamblessed wrote:
Jonathan wrote:
RASC"][quote="honda hoe"]It boils down to personal preference

Don't care for the S4

[quote="Jonathan_337 wrote:Thanks for the replies guys...I kinda low on cash because I'm gonna buy the S4 soon, and this bugs me cause it works great when the wifi is connected. I had JSL 8.0 hybrid loaded on it before and I went back stock last night..took off wifi and left it over night, woke up on low battery.

Kills battery, lol

Have you ever used any navigation software on your device?[/quote]

Waze of course, that could kill battery! Google maps still has mercy and not as brutal. That's why I buy a extended battery

casper wrote:Also galaxy s4 more responsive than htc one and nexus 4 is even more responsive than the galaxy s4 ...so in short...nexus 4 pwns all other major android high end devices when it comes to fluidity

It's a clean android os, no additional processes to slow down the device.
However if you install a good custom ROM on like a S3 or S4, you might be shocked. I had a big difference in speed, features & battery life. Only trade off with no more touchwiz

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 4th, 2013, 8:02 pm

left gps on all day today with bluetooth and wifi on my droid 4. lasted a total 7.5 hrs from 90% charge. the screen was on whole day too as i didnt have much to do at the office and didnt even need to boot the office pc so was droiding whole day lol. also dont have any lag or fluidity problems whatsoever.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 4th, 2013, 8:26 pm

S3 or note comparison?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 4th, 2013, 8:26 pm

Not when google releases their vanilla S4 later this month :evil: :(

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » June 4th, 2013, 8:48 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:

Not when google releases their vanilla S4 later this month :evil: :(
stil the nexus 4 rules..:grin::grin::grin:allyuh and allyuh metoo.....
I have a s4...me too,i have a note 2....me too,i have a s3...me too,i have a note 1 me too

I have a nexus 4...what...you for real...kool...that phone real bad...:smile::smile::smile::smile:

Postby RASC » June 4th, 2013, 8:49 pm

Yawn nexus 4 so bloody fragile. Can't wait to hear your sob story when your back or front cracks wide open.

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » June 4th, 2013, 8:52 pm

RASC wrote:Yawn nexus 4 so bloody fragile. Can't wait to hear your sob story when your back or front cracks wide open.
haha...dont hate....hw does the notes,s3's and s4 feels?when you take out the battery cover its like a piece of plastic...extra fragile...flimsy lol;):???:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 4th, 2013, 8:55 pm

^You know it was intentionally designed to be like that right? :|

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » June 4th, 2013, 9:00 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^You know it was intentionally designed to be like that right? :|
lol...please dont take me on...i am learning about my phone everyday......sure you guys took me serious:lol::grin::lol::grin:

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » June 4th, 2013, 9:15 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^You know it was intentionally designed to be like that right? :|
you like flimsy beat out looking thing op???

Postby nemisis » June 4th, 2013, 9:23 pm

^^^ don't think op was used correctly

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » June 4th, 2013, 9:27 pm

What going on with allyuh in here?

Postby Ted_v2 » June 4th, 2013, 9:35 pm

Hi. I'm lookin for a notepad app. All I used so far is rubbish.

Looking for something simple and straight forward