d spike wrote:I say what you write is codswallop, and you say what I write is crap... the only difference is that I know what I am talking about, while you are just parroting what someone told you to pacify you when your possessed girlfriend freaked you out...
lol at the straw man arguments just to justify your saying that the bibled spike wrote:.
The bottom line in any argument with you is your belief as a fundamentalist, and the basis of this very belief denies you the possibility of maintaining a debate on religious beliefs.
Fundamentalism has one basic rule:
1. This belief is the right one.
This rule means all other beliefs are wrong. This rule also means that the scripture used to base one's faith on is true, correct, perfect... for to consider otherwise would mean rule#1 is wrong.
Therefore you HAVE to believe that the Bible is focused on one thing, the same as your faith... one "message"... one complete... book. You weren't fooling anyone giving lip-service to the concept of the Bible being multiple writings - you still treat the Bible like one entity. Hence the reason why you cannot accept the basic truth about the Bible - different books, different authors and different reasons for writing those books.
The irony of this situation is that the one compelling fact that explains why they all deserve to be compiled together, that explains what binds these diverse books together, is the one truth you will not accept: these books were compiled because they were all considered to be inspired by the Holy Spirit - and the folks who decided this were the RC boys...
The Holy Bible is comprised of 66 books, written over approximately 1600 years, by at least 40 distinct authors. The Old Testament (Old Covenant) contains 39 books written from approximately 1500 to 400 BC, and the New Testament (New Covenant) contains 27 books written from approximately 40 to 90 AD. The Jewish Bible (Tenach) is the same as the Christian Old Testament, except for its book arrangement. The original Old Testament was written mainly in Hebrew, with some Aramaic, while the original New Testament was written in Greek.
this is what matters most to me, that's why I take every word in this collection of books wholesale ....its my faith in the one who inspired it because He lives in me , I don't have to believe that the Bible is focused on one thing, I just believe what it says, It happens to focus on one thing and that's life and I choose life by faiththese books were compiled because they were all considered to be inspired by the Holy Spirit
sorry pal but you are wrong,yuh seeI know your knee-jerk reaction will be to deny this by saying they weren't considered Roman Catholic at the time... that the Catholics came around much later - but that would be just more codswallop on your part... and I can prove it (but I will leave that for later)
megadoc1 wrote:the fact is the bible (the books)is an actual collection of books that is believed to be inspired (God breathed.)by God, Christians because of their faith in Jesus, can recognise the work of God hence the compilation of the bible....
megadoc1 wrote:but .... you are saying that the bible (the books ) should not be taken wholesale because its a massive collection of writings and made up of many books
now that's funny............
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:the fact is the bible (the books)is an actual collection of books that is believed to be inspired (God breathed.)by God, Christians because of their faith in Jesus, can recognise the work of God hence the compilation of the bible....
I knew you were going to pull that string... so here is what it leads to:
If the books in the bible were compiled before the fifth century by Christians who recognised the work of God, then why did Luther toss out some of those worthy scriptures?
steups......name the bibles that lack these scriptures maybe I can answer you, better yet, post the scriptures that are allegedly "tossed"....d spike wrote:Does the "Bible" you read contain all the books that those worthy fellows chose? Or does it lack these scriptures (and is thus incomplete)?
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:but .... you are saying that the bible (the books ) should not be taken wholesale because its a massive collection of writings and made up of many books
now that's funny............
I never said anything denigrating about any of the books in the bible, I am just saying - as do most of the world's scholars - that the Bible should be accepted for what it is.
d spike wrote:Well, if you are going to swallow everything in the bible wholesale, you are going to end up in a certifiable mess, as the bible is simply a massive collection of writings, made up of many books, written by people who differed in outlook..................
more straws? stop with the ad hominem crap!!!d spike wrote:Your blind faith refuses to accept anything less than the gilded pedestal that fundamentalists have placed the Bible on...
darling.... your position do not offend me ok, you are too precious to God to offend me .... it is very hard for someone to offend me... but because you label me fundamentalist in your quest to invalidate my position...does not automatically means you offend me ok... maybe in your mind it seems so ....but in reality NOd spike wrote: which is why my position so offends you, even though it isn't offensive in the least.
pioneer wrote:LOL@ dailymail source
Then again you believe in the bible
megadoc1 wrote:...so what are you really asking? Luther rejecting scripture have nothing to do with me...
I follow Jesus not Luther.
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:...so what are you really asking? Luther rejecting scripture have nothing to do with me...
How nice...
Cut a long story short... which "Bible" do you use?
it is interesting to note that all Muslims use the exact same Qu'ran. There is only one version of the Qu'ran and it is in arabic. The translations of the qu'ran in english, spanish, french, german etc are not considered real qu'rans AFAIK since they will have a bit of differences when finding suitable terms and words to match the language and this can never truly be done.bluefete wrote:d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:...so what are you really asking? Luther rejecting scripture have nothing to do with me...
How nice...
Spikey: Interesting comment. While I subscribe to the KJV, I also read the Ethiopian Bible, the Catholic Bible and others. It would be interesting to find out why the Book of Enoch, for example, is found in the Ethiopian Bible but not in the KJV but yet still the KVJ mentions about Enoch's writings in the book of Jude!!
Even the Jehovah's Witnesses have their own bible in which they omit words, lines and paragraphs found in the KJV.
breds I think I told you this before, the English bibles are translated from scriptures written in Greek and Hebrew which is still available for us today,turbohead wrote: from wat i gather is that the kjv of the bible put in verses dat is not in the earlier rsv of the bible. the latter being dated close back to the time of the prophet jesus(pbuh) so in my opinion the closer dated something is to a period or time will be the closest truth.
turbohead wrote: similar if we all gather in a circle and one man passes a sentence to another whilst whispering it to the other ear by the time it reaches back to the original person who said it, it will be distorted if not controlled by a mediator.who were the mediators in passing of information wrt the bible, that is my arguement.
turbohead wrote:for the Quran i can say without the shadow of a doubt that it was preserved soundly in its original form since the time of the Prophet(saw).
pioneer wrote:Anyone?....please?
sensiman wrote:pioneer wrote:Anyone?....please?
Good question. I guess it is too inconvenient to answer..oh wait..
"God's plans are not for us to understand", "The child's spirit/soul was needed in heaven",
"It is the work of the devil/shaitan"
or some other brainwashing induced retort.
pioneer wrote:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Church_of_Satan
I encourage all to read, yes we know it's wikipedia but it sums it up
A point to note, the Church of Satan doesn't even believe in any supernatural being or deity known as satan. To them satanism is a model or role of behaviour.
They also say people who believe in supernatural entities such as god and the "devil" are insane, to which i agree.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:it is interesting to note that all Muslims use the exact same Qu'ran. There is only one version of the Qu'ran and it is in arabic. The translations of the qu'ran in english, spanish, french, german etc are not considered real qu'rans AFAIK since they will have a bit of differences when finding suitable terms and words to match the language and this can never truly be done.bluefete wrote:d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:...so what are you really asking? Luther rejecting scripture have nothing to do with me...
How nice...
Spikey: Interesting comment. While I subscribe to the KJV, I also read the Ethiopian Bible, the Catholic Bible and others. It would be interesting to find out why the Book of Enoch, for example, is found in the Ethiopian Bible but not in the KJV but yet still the KVJ mentions about Enoch's writings in the book of Jude!!
Even the Jehovah's Witnesses have their own bible in which they omit words, lines and paragraphs found in the KJV.
it's kind of like translating the trini word "ent" into another language - you may never get the exact meaning, feeling, idea or concept that the original will convey and it may be difficult if not impossible to describe it properly in another language.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:smhbluefete wrote:d spike wrote:rspann wrote: I think it's clear that for there to be a creation there has to be a creator,otherwise we can't call it creation.
Quite right... for THOSE who think of it as a creation!
As I said in my response to you:d spike wrote:Faith provides the vision to see that which one's faith is focused on.
Without a creator, there is evolution. The notion that things appear by "magic" or always existed in some form (isn't this how God is?) and adapt to their environment over time.
science and magic are not the same.
miracles on the other hand...
pioneer wrote:Can you godly folk explain how god allows a 4 yr old child to be punched to death???
people in my office refuse to say n only answering with sarcasm
mediahouse wrote:pioneer wrote:Can you godly folk explain how god allows a 4 yr old child to be punched to death???
Thats just like sayin wheres god when people having abortions, or where was god when the people in chaguanas get rape or where was god when there was a big earthquake or tsunami etc..
if god had to intervene everytime there was a bad act being committed we as might as well be living in heaven?
people who believe in god and an after life knows this life is just a shell to carry your deeds to when you meet your maker so if a baby was murdered then they are innocent they will be taken care of by the creator.
Surely god is not unfair and the wicked people will be punished.
pioneer wrote:Can you godly folk explain how god allows a 4 yr old child to be punched to death???
megadoc1 wrote:about bible versions ...they are translated from the original languages that the scriptures were written in (Greek and Hebrew) and they are still available today for us to reference....one of the reasons why the kjv is preferred by many is that at the time of its translation, there wasn't alot of the "agendas" we have in this modern daybreds I think I told you this before, the English bibles are translated from scriptures written in Greek and Hebrew which is still available for us today,turbohead wrote: from wat i gather is that the kjv of the bible put in verses dat is not in the earlier rsv of the bible. the latter being dated close back to the time of the prophet jesus(pbuh) so in my opinion the closer dated something is to a period or time will be the closest truth.
any one can go compare for themselves to see what was added or omited
do not be deceived...............turbohead wrote: similar if we all gather in a circle and one man passes a sentence to another whilst whispering it to the other ear by the time it reaches back to the original person who said it, it will be distorted if not controlled by a mediator.who were the mediators in passing of information wrt the bible, that is my arguement.
this argument is self defeating and is proven false as both the bible and the koran was transmited orally over many years before it was written down, this was due to a practice commonly done in the ancient world with great efficiency............this is something that the person telling you , always fail to mention ............. so to say it cant work for the bible you must admit that it cant work for the quran otherwise you are committing a fallacy
turbohead wrote:for the Quran i can say without the shadow of a doubt that it was preserved soundly in its original form since the time of the Prophet(saw).
the same can be said of the bible ...