Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby sMASH » January 15th, 2023, 3:37 pm

Carnival is for the old peoole too?

China, every body mask up and it still spreading... Like wild fire.

Masks
Don't
Work.

Quarantine, that will work. Definitive break in the transmission route.

But once u are around people, u WILL get covid.

Postby paid_influencer » January 15th, 2023, 3:49 pm

as somebody that recently got sick,

there is no glory is being sick. you miss work or school, holidays, everything passing you by while you are home in bed feeling like crap.

no glory in being sick. wear your mask

Postby MaxPower » January 15th, 2023, 4:09 pm

sMASH wrote:Carnival is for the old peoole too?

Masks
Don't
Work.

A good mask works.

Research it, the experts have.

You eh a expert bro.

wing

Postby wing » January 15th, 2023, 4:19 pm

Masks
Don't
Work.

A good mask works.

You eh a expert bro.
Thank heavens for the free thinkers of the thread. His expertise on COVID doesn't rely on "science" or " research" like the other sheep. Just look at his contribution in the Paria thread to realize that even though he wasn't there, doesn't have access to all the information or even an expert in hydraulics, hydrodynamics or safety and he's basically an e&i tech, he's able to definitively pronounce on the cause of the disaster. Underestimate free thinkers at your own peril.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 15th, 2023, 4:24 pm

Masks
Don't
Work.

A good mask works.

You eh a expert bro.

Masks aren't always needed. We went the opposite direction in trini by making people wear it outdoors where it made no sense. Then people with their mask fatigue took it off as soon as they went inside someones home or office.

How is that making sense?

I do think masks can work, if worn when the risk of transmission is highest (i.e. indoors).

drchaos wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:50% of people vaxed, but 90% had covid...
Seems like 40% of people had covee and didn't even kno...
Csnt get any milder than that...

Somewhat agree, but immunity wanes, especially after a year.

Your circulating antibodies wane after a 6 months on average. But your memory B cell(antibody producing cells) increase post 6 months and they live 30 years plus in your bone marrow. It’s takes 2 to 4 days for them to start producing massive amounts of antibodies if you catch it again.

Even if technically true, studies show that vaccine (possibly natural immunity too) immunity lasts up to 5 months. This means up to 5 months after a booster, you should not get covid and if you do it will be quite mild.

https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lani ... 73-3099(22)00146-3/fulltext

I got covid 7 months after my booster, it was mild yes, but not mild enough that I wouldn't worry about it if I had a comorbidity.

Those at risk should vaccinate every 6 months. If you're not at risk it's fine, you should be cool. But then also why take the chance when a serious side effect from the vaccine is 1 in 100k but risk of getting covid bad, dying, or having long-term effects is far far worse?

That said let's just be grateful that omicron and it's decedents variants are relatively harmless to most people

Postby adnj » January 15th, 2023, 5:28 pm

wing wrote:Thank heavens for the free thinkers of the thread. His expertise on COVID doesn't rely on "science" or " research" like the other sheep. Just look at his contribution in the Paria thread to realize that even though he wasn't there, doesn't have access to all the information or even an expert in hydraulics, hydrodynamics or safety and he's basically an e&i tech, he's able to definitively pronounce on the cause of the disaster. Underestimate free thinkers at your own peril.
Last edited by adnj on January 15th, 2023, 5:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 15th, 2023, 6:47 pm

adnj wrote:
wing wrote:Thank heavens for the free thinkers of the thread. His expertise on COVID doesn't rely on "science" or " research" like the other sheep. Just look at his contribution in the Paria thread to realize that even though he wasn't there, doesn't have access to all the information or even an expert in hydraulics, hydrodynamics or safety and he's basically an e&i tech, he's able to definitively pronounce on the cause of the disaster. Underestimate free thinkers at your own peril.

Wait it have another eitech here? I thought the rest was just ah bunch of ID10Ts…

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2023, 7:05 pm

the thread beatup warming up slowly
guessing by next week will be back to late 2021 full beatup mode

Postby MaxPower » January 15th, 2023, 7:09 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Masks
Don't
Work.

A good mask works.

You eh a expert bro.

Masks aren't always needed. We went the opposite direction in trini by making people wear it outdoors where it made no sense. Then people with their mask fatigue took it off as soon as they went inside someones home or office.

I do think masks can work, if worn when the risk of transmission is highest (i.e. indoors).

Now DPD the discussion wasn’t really on if they were needed but at the end of your response you did agree that they can work.

But i will agree that masks aren’t always needed. High traffic with highly contagious people and poor ventilation is a disaster for those not wearing an effective mask. Now an anti-masker can say oh he wore his mask indoors and still got Covid. Well, then more than likely the mask was worn improperly or was ineffective, or their hands touched contaminated surfaces and then they touched their face…again, a basic virus spread.

To wear a mask is a big responsibility. You cannot let your guard down and mask wearing must be combined with strict sanitization.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 15th, 2023, 7:14 pm

wing wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:A man say if you high risk or if you have high risk people at home, this carnival is not the carnival for you
What's your point..it was the promoters association president who said that.

You are satisfied that he is saying that attending carnival events can result in people's death? You ok with that? Who ded ded?

Postby sMASH » January 15th, 2023, 7:28 pm

U Neeeeed to take boosters to keep the mRNA coverage.

Once Rowley don't come after and force mask and lockdown, I good

I want to Palance after carnival normel.

Postby adnj » January 15th, 2023, 8:22 pm

More frothing because of frustration.

The AI poster in the wife-beater, incel and down-low threads is building a word-wall that the frothers can't seem to scale.

Postby alfa » January 15th, 2023, 9:45 pm

What did we learn over the last three years, especially for the poindexters who like to crunch stats here's a nice summary.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPbCA5hiEfM

Postby j.o.e » January 16th, 2023, 7:54 am

3 years later this thread is still a cesspit of ignorance.

Postby adnj » January 16th, 2023, 8:01 am

Free-thinker: "I may be ignorant but at least I'm not uneducated and unsophisticated."

Postby sMASH » January 16th, 2023, 8:16 am

adnj wrote:Free-thinker: "I may be ignorant but at least I'm not uneducated and unsophisticated."
Unvaxed, unded, and unmyocarditicized.

No need to monitor for long term effects.

Postby sMASH » January 16th, 2023, 8:18 am

Lol at vaxed people taking it to prevent spread.

Will u feel safe going a govt mandated carnival, fully vaxed and boosted, then back home to ur elderly family and neighbors?

Postby adnj » January 16th, 2023, 10:30 am

Free-thinker: "No one should tell you what to do with your own body. I'm not vaxxed and won't wear masks; and you shouldn't, either."

Postby st7 » January 16th, 2023, 11:39 am

sMASH wrote:Lol at vaxed people taking it to prevent spread.

Will u feel safe going a govt mandated carnival, fully vaxed and boosted, then back home to ur elderly family and neighbors?

smash, what did you study in school, what are your qualifications, and what do you do for work?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 16th, 2023, 11:57 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

Masks
Don't
Work.

A good mask works.

You eh a expert bro.

drchaos wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:50% of people vaxed, but 90% had covid...
Seems like 40% of people had covee and didn't even kno...
Csnt get any milder than that...

Somewhat agree, but immunity wanes, especially after a year.

Your circulating antibodies wane after a 6 months on average. But your memory B cell(antibody producing cells) increase post 6 months and they live 30 years plus in your bone marrow. It’s takes 2 to 4 days for them to start producing massive amounts of antibodies if you catch it again.

Even if technically true, studies show that vaccine (possibly natural immunity too) immunity lasts up to 5 months. This means up to 5 months after a booster, you should not get covid and if you do it will be quite mild.

https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lani ... 73-3099(22)00146-3/fulltext

I got covid 7 months after my booster, it was mild yes, but not mild enough that I wouldn't worry about it if I had a comorbidity.

Those at risk should vaccinate every 6 months. If you're not at risk it's fine, you should be cool. But then also why take the chance when a serious side effect from the vaccine is 1 in 100k but risk of getting covid bad, dying, or having long-term effects is far far worse?

That said let's just be grateful that omicron and it's decedents variants are relatively harmless to most people

You went from 1 year down to 5 months protection now :lol:

mRNA vaccine infection protection/Prevention with repeated vaccination is bull ...Myself and colleagues have seen hundreds of patients get covid anywhere from 2 weeks to 3 months after 3rd and 4th doses. There is only so much you can stimulate your immune system with an antigen until your immune systems starts getting fatigued with said antigen and stops reacting to it.

Your protection from death and hosp does not reduce any futher

Postby sMASH » January 16th, 2023, 12:00 pm

Common sense make before book sense.

Will u recommend a condom if over 90% of users still got pregnant?

Will u say ur soap is working if 50% of the time u still can dirty someone else after using it?

Once govt say carnival is on, their messaging is clear: ' we either don't know what we Doing, or we do and don't actually care, just using the jabs to raid the treasury'

I say, let carnival go on, so long as u don't mandate masks and lockdown after the horse done bolt the stable.

Blasted pappy show.

Postby redmanjp » January 16th, 2023, 12:12 pm

the goal of the vax is not to prevent infection but to prevent severe covid and death- and it does that most of the time. no meds are 100% effective.

Postby sMASH » January 16th, 2023, 2:50 pm

That marketing came after they realized it not preventing infection and stopping spread.

But, they politicians already got their monies, so continue to push it.

Thank god for Florida.

Postby st7 » January 16th, 2023, 3:17 pm

nah it didnt because it was always so.

btw, dont u have a job or are you a public servant? u real smashing keyboard today.

wing

Postby wing » January 16th, 2023, 3:23 pm

st7 wrote:nah it didnt because it was always so.

btw, dont u have a job or are you a public servant? u real smashing keyboard today.
Free thinkers are not bound by capitalistic endeavors.

Postby adnj » January 16th, 2023, 4:10 pm

Postby Chimera » January 16th, 2023, 4:22 pm

sMASH wrote:Common sense make before book sense.

Will u recommend a condom if over 90% of users still got pregnant?

Will u say ur soap is working if 50% of the time u still can dirty someone else after using it?

Once govt say carnival is on, their messaging is clear: ' we either don't know what we Doing, or we do and don't actually care, just using the jabs to raid the treasury'

I say, let carnival go on, so long as u don't mandate masks and lockdown after the horse done bolt the stable.

Blasted pappy show.
Politics is a hell of a thing u know.

Allowing carnival will appease 99% of the stupid people who vote for you.

Even when you close down everything and van everything people start to have massive house limes and having private zess in bars. I myself guilty of that.

So let what will be, be.

Whoever dead dead

Postby sMASH » January 16th, 2023, 4:25 pm

I good with who live live and who ded ded. Is Jess after wards I don't want no pacifier mask mandate and lockdown.

Or, they could being bsck safe zones... Place where only vaxed people could go cause u would be safe from catching covid and carrying it home to ur elderly.

Postby sMASH » January 16th, 2023, 4:27 pm

st7 wrote:nah it didnt because it was always so.

I live on a farm... I type in between hogs.

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2023, 4:27 pm

another family I know fully positive since last week, 4th such I know offhand.