The Inshan Ishmael Thread

Re: The Inshan Ishmael Thread

Postby paid_influencer » January 31st, 2024, 9:31 pm

alfa wrote:Calypso is a social commentary instrument originally invented to speak against the ruling class

can't have that bro

VII

Postby VII » February 1st, 2024, 12:07 am

Even the President agrees and admits that Calypso has been suffering from being weaponized for too long and rejects all the black man talk etc, smart fella..

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/01/30/tuco-p ... -a-weapon/

Postby The_Honourable » February 1st, 2024, 12:14 am

Breaking Barriers program discussing the case

Postby Chimera » February 1st, 2024, 7:24 am

even right here in this thread it have tuners with baseless allegations against Inshan with absolutely no evidence.

people need to be willing to put their $$ where there mouth is

VII

Postby VII » February 1st, 2024, 10:02 am

Personally I think Inshan can be a bit of a tuntun and even an unbearable little c@ck at times, and I challenge any lawyer to disprove or any court of law to rule against that . 8-)

And furthermore I think he can be a smart fella, but also a fart smella .

Postby eliteauto » February 1st, 2024, 10:42 am

VII wrote:Even the President agrees and admits that Calypso has been suffering from being weaponized for too long and rejects all the black man talk etc, smart fella..

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/01/30/tuco-p ... -a-weapon/

He hastily retracted this the following day because of backlash from his membership

Chalkdust had an opinion as well
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 74ad9.html

Postby Dizzy28 » February 1st, 2024, 10:50 am

One of the biggest takeaways I have from this Cro Cro Inshan issue is that a lot of Trinis ignorant as to what Trinidad's right to free speech is. They seem to think we have something like the USA and their 1st Amendment and even there it is not purely absolute as Libel is still a thing as well.
However we do have much more restrictions e.g. We can't cuss in public

Postby paid_influencer » February 1st, 2024, 5:21 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:One of the biggest takeaways I have from this Cro Cro Inshan issue is that a lot of Trinis ignorant as to what Trinidad's right to free speech is. They seem to think we have something like the USA and their 1st Amendment and even there it is not purely absolute as Libel is still a thing as well.

now this is a genuine question eh,
how does the america's first amendment differ from the chapter 1 part 1 (section 4) of the constitution here i doh really follow american politics too much not relevant but i always thought it was similar

this particular case is a civil case too. so is not about cro cro right to say what he want, but more about inshan right to recover the lost income caused by cro cro's speech. i following some of these cases and the judges go above and beyond what is rational and use damages to punish speech, but it is curious some free speech advocates only seeing an issue when is a black calypsonian in court. I not saying they wrong but the issue of excessive damages needs to be an across the board position and not one based on the race of the defendant.

Postby alfa » February 1st, 2024, 6:02 pm

All who supporting
IMG-20240201-WA0034.jpg

Postby redmanjp » February 1st, 2024, 6:34 pm

even inshan give him $100 :lol:

Postby rollingstock » February 1st, 2024, 8:36 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:One of the biggest takeaways I have from this Cro Cro Inshan issue is that a lot of Trinis ignorant as to what Trinidad's right to free speech is. They seem to think we have something like the USA and their 1st Amendment and even there it is not purely absolute as Libel is still a thing as well.

now this is a genuine question eh,
how does the america's first amendment differ from the chapter 1 part 1 (section 4) of the constitution here i doh really follow american politics too much not relevant but i always thought it was similar

this particular case is a civil case too. so is not about cro cro right to say what he want, but more about inshan right to recover the lost income caused by cro cro's speech. i following some of these cases and the judges go above and beyond what is rational and use damages to punish speech, but it is curious some free speech advocates only seeing an issue when is a black calypsonian in court. I not saying they wrong but the issue of excessive damages needs to be an across the board position and not one based on the race of the defendant.

You need to educate yourself on civil proceedings.

Postby paid_influencer » February 1st, 2024, 8:56 pm

what am i missing?

i actually took one of those uwi short courses on law so idk blame uwi

Postby alfa » February 1st, 2024, 9:24 pm

paid_influencer wrote:what am i missing?

How did you find the course to be? Level of difficulty? Looking to do something like that myself cuz I have zero knowledge of law and not looking to be at a total intellectual loss or get screwed over by lawyers if i ever have to go to court again.

Postby paid_influencer » February 1st, 2024, 9:33 pm

it was pretty casual (extremely casual). very very basic stuff (real basic) so i donno if it would actually help you not to get screwed over. example questions is what is a mens rea and actus reus. what are the necessary elements of a contract. etc. there is no difficulty level, straight up open book assignments/exams. there are a lot of youths using it to look good on their law school application.

also uwi short courses doesn't actually give certificates. they say they will give one but they never actually follow through. i did a few courses and nothing from them months later.

I myself am on the looking for some kinda more advanced course and might be checking out the non-uwi providers. if anybody have recommendation I'll be appreciative. I want to educate myself on civil proceedings. like legitimately

Postby pugboy » February 1st, 2024, 10:11 pm

gillian lucky have a law school of sorts
also many cops become lawyers but not sure what route they take

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2024, 8:54 am

Lawyer is bandit
Last edited by Chimera on February 2nd, 2024, 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rollingstock » February 2nd, 2024, 1:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:what am i missing?

Should have paid attention in class. Or maybe attend a better course.

Anyway I'm not giving classes. So figure it out.

Postby maj. tom » February 2nd, 2024, 2:37 pm

The US 1st Amendment text is clear about freedom of religion, speech, peaceful assembly and the press regarding the Government and Congress. Nothing to do with civil defamation. Every US individual State has tort laws, but the Federal law can over-ride or limit it in some cases, which is why some end up to be heard by the SCOTUS. Free speech can be categorized as many things in USA it turns out when in context of government sanctioned discrimination, which is how some end up going further up the ranking legal order to be interpreted.

TT Constitution is even more clear on defining fundamental human rights and freedoms with 10 following clauses including i) "freedom of thought and expression." This is just like the US 1st Amendment and it means "Government and the State shall not infringe upon...." And they made it clear, rather that all that the USA 1st Amendment was vague about.

TT has a Libel and Defamation Act, updated 1979 and 2014.
https://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Alphabetical_List/lawspdfs/11.16.pdf

The Act still applies for the digital age of social media regarding libel. https://martingeorge.net/v2/index.php/2020/04/01/defamation-social-media-trinidad-tobago-law/

Postby rollingstock » February 2nd, 2024, 2:40 pm

Men like to make libelous statement here, thinking it's anonymous. I'd like to see a few taken for a run. But again these fkers don't have a cent and using mammy and daddy internet.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 2nd, 2024, 2:55 pm

Willing to take bets that the appeal court will reverse this or at least reduce the damages

That judge is an activist judge who goes beyond the call.

Makes pronouncements, which he states as facts but in reality is just his opinion

Postby alfa » February 2nd, 2024, 3:38 pm

PariaMan wrote:Willing to take bets that the appeal court will reverse this or at least reduce the damages

Makes pronouncements, which he states as facts but in reality is just his opinion

Highly doubt that, what passes as Picong in Trinidad is slander, defamation and bullying in real countries. God help cro cro if he take this to the privy council and say 'me lard it was only a lil Picong I did hit the man'

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2024, 3:42 pm

and racism

the judge opinion have nothing to do with the song identifying inshan and then saying he sells stolen car parts

alfa wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Willing to take bets that the appeal court will reverse this or at least reduce the damages

Highly doubt that, what passes as Picong in Trinidad is slander, defamation and bullying in real countries. God help cro cro if he take this to the privy council and say 'me lard it was only a lil Picong I did hit the man'

Postby alfa » February 2nd, 2024, 3:49 pm

pugboy wrote:and racism

the judge opinion have nothing to do with the song identifying inshan and then saying he sells stolen car parts

alfa wrote:

My biggest issue was that if you sincerely believe you have the freedom of expression to sing what you did then stand by it in court and say ' yes I said inshan selling stolen parts in the bamboo and I believe I have a constitutional right to do so'. But like a school kid that get call out for name calling he back track and come with some nonsense about imchan imcheel. In local parlance we refer to that as ' macomere man thing'

Postby rollingstock » February 2nd, 2024, 4:23 pm

Reduce damages :lol:

I think he could have gotten more.
Look at the damages in other local libel cases. More was awarded for less libel.

Inshan is a public figure, religious advocate and businessman amongst other things. I don't like him but the statement from Cro cro was extremely damaging to his reputation and business.

Postby rollingstock » February 2nd, 2024, 4:24 pm

I think the judge just held his hand as to the perception if an Indian judge hands down a hefty award against the pnm crony

Postby paid_influencer » February 2nd, 2024, 5:14 pm

rollingstock wrote:I think the judge just held his hand as to the perception if an Indian judge hands down a hefty award against the pnm crony

i feel this is the scene. If Cro cro go to appeal, he would get slapped with more.

I still eh see no mistake in meh last post nah, so I donno what to correct. I goh live in suspense.

Postby pugboy » February 2nd, 2024, 5:27 pm

what worser slander there is than to be called a thief ?

Postby bluefete » February 2nd, 2024, 6:15 pm

So no more calypsoes about peeing politicians being called by name?

Postby alfa » February 2nd, 2024, 6:41 pm

pugboy wrote:what worser slander there is than to be called a thief ?

An Indian thief

Postby rollingstock » February 2nd, 2024, 8:18 pm

An Indian Muslim thief