Re: 2020/21 Olympics And Survival thread

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2021, 7:38 pm

Aka bandwagon syndrome
Like when we qualified for wc2006
Soca warriors United the country

Rovin wrote:i not a sports follower nor hater of it , good for those who take part & like it

just wanna say i suspect most ppl dont take on sports unless on a rare occasion a trini does something special then we all glad, proud, patriotic , otherwise most us if we ppl doh win is like "uh ok then, dise d normal ting" ... :lol:

Postby matr1x » August 9th, 2021, 6:20 am

RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
matr1x wrote:Please tell me. What are the tangible benefits.

1 stupid medal once ina while?

Sport provides valuable lessons. Discipline, determination, team work, critical thinking, leadership. Sport can also unite the country even for a short time. Sport tourism could be a more tangible benefit.

1) you can get discipline and all those non tangible benefits from many things that don't involve the spending of hundreds of millions of dollars which could be better spent. Like a dozen others.

2) The short term unity is not only fallacy but merely there to masturbate the masses for a while. While the country burns down around you. Ego stroking it's what it is. Then when you see the result.....you may as well have burnt that money in a bonfire.

3) that last one is the BS every administration has touted for years. Of you press them on what exactly sports tourism is, none of them actually knows.

It's a pipe dream used to funnel money

And why does this bother YOU in such an emotional manner ?

You with little knowledge of dreams and attainment of excellence :angel:

Can you sprint like BOLT ? :D

Why? Because the amount of money poured in versus any actual result should concern anyone with a brain.

Food prices skyrocketing, cost of building is insane, road are as bad as ever, fuel cost are ridiculous.

Justify the amount spent on sports and the infrastructure

Postby Gladiator » August 9th, 2021, 8:06 pm

Did anyone check to see how the treatment and funding of athletes varied from the 2012 Olympics when UNC was in control to 2016 and this one where the PNM is there.

I remember during the PNM period hearing athletes complain for lack of funding and being told to "go and hold a bbq" if you want to go Olympics. Then that degenerate Junia Regrello saying that $18k is too much to send somebody to Olympics.

2012 Summer Olympics when UNC was there was the best T&T ever perform IIRC. Was this a direct result of funding and management? or just PNM blight in 2016 and 2020?

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2021, 8:52 pm

who saw the tv6 post about cyclist achieving a “fat. zero”?

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2021, 8:55 pm

US athletes have to do their own funding and raise money by bbq.

Postby zoom rader » August 9th, 2021, 9:20 pm

Shiva bless India for Gold in the Javerlin.

Next Olympics is Gold in the 100m

Postby RedVEVO » August 9th, 2021, 11:01 pm

matr1x wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
matr1x wrote:Please tell me. What are the tangible benefits.

1 stupid medal once ina while?

Sport provides valuable lessons. Discipline, determination, team work, critical thinking, leadership. Sport can also unite the country even for a short time. Sport tourism could be a more tangible benefit.

1) you can get discipline and all those non tangible benefits from many things that don't involve the spending of hundreds of millions of dollars which could be better spent. Like a dozen others.

2) The short term unity is not only fallacy but merely there to masturbate the masses for a while. While the country burns down around you. Ego stroking it's what it is. Then when you see the result.....you may as well have burnt that money in a bonfire.

3) that last one is the BS every administration has touted for years. Of you press them on what exactly sports tourism is, none of them actually knows.

It's a pipe dream used to funnel money

And why does this bother YOU in such an emotional manner ?

You with little knowledge of dreams and attainment of excellence :angel:

Can you sprint like BOLT ? :D

Why? Because the amount of money poured in versus any actual result should concern anyone with a brain.

Food prices skyrocketing, cost of building is insane, road are as bad as ever, fuel cost are ridiculous.

Justify the amount spent on sports and the infrastructure

Ok :lol:

A priority bucket list :agrue:

Postby matr1x » August 10th, 2021, 6:05 am

And the waste of money continues....

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2021, 8:30 am

which better, to support elite athletes who actually can compete at world level
or pay a high priced football coach for a bunch of losers ?

Postby matr1x » August 10th, 2021, 10:12 am

Or none.

Focus the finances on building food security and then spend the money of frivolous crap after

Postby K74T » August 10th, 2021, 11:11 am

pugboy wrote:who saw the tv6 post about cyclist achieving a “fat. zero”?
FB_IMG_1628608244142.jpg

Postby matr1x » August 10th, 2021, 12:12 pm

It was a pathetic end. Tv6 got it right

Postby Dizzy28 » August 12th, 2021, 1:08 pm

One of the British runners from their silver medal squad in the 4x100 has failed a drug test.

This should be interesting !!

https://www.bbc.com/sport/athletics/58193101