What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 10:58 am

Habit7 wrote:I never said I plan to keep you quiet. But when you shooting off your mouth from a strong position of unrelenting ignorance, expect to look foolish when the facts embarrass you.

Lay out the "facts" then pumpkin. Let us know what is the cost of the IDB feasibility study. You seem to be all-knowing all of a sudden. Please keep it to actual facts with sources ok, not feel, think, last time, dem boy an dem say ok? :wink:

Postby Habit7 » April 8th, 2016, 11:25 am

Habit7 wrote:I never said I plan to keep you quiet. But when you shooting off your mouth from a strong position of unrelenting ignorance, expect to look foolish when the facts embarrass you.

Lay out the "facts" then pumpkin. Let us know what is the cost of the IDB feasibility study. You seem to be all-knowing all of a sudden. Please keep it to actual facts with sources ok, not feel, think, last time, dem boy an dem say ok? :wink:

Well great, this is what I was asking you to do. Do not demand that others substantiate your perception, come with an informed position and argue from it. It is very simple.

http://www.iadb.org/en/projects/project ... d=TT-T1063

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 8th, 2016, 11:35 am

So it was supposed to have a Budget today with doom and gloom or something?

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 11:42 am

Habit7 wrote:

Well great, this is what I was asking you to do. Do not demand that others substantiate your perception, come with an informed position and argue from it. It is very simple.

http://www.iadb.org/en/projects/project ... d=TT-T1063

Let's try it again, but with a lot less of a condescending tone ok? 750,000USD is not multi-million?, and no, I live in Trinidad and Tobago, so I don't want to hear about US. I also don't want to hear that I was saying that it was going to cost $500 million dollars, because I never said any such thing.
Last edited by De Dragon on April 8th, 2016, 12:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: RE: Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby Habit7 » April 8th, 2016, 12:12 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:Given that logic, I going to save we some more money. We goin and do a wind fArm project estimated at $55bn. I spending $500m, and then change my mind. So I have saved the country $54.5bn.
Genius.

I dont know which one more wrong, your maths or your info. A wind energy study for $153m was commissioned studying 12 sites. If that is 5% of project costs, then 100% of project cots will be $3b not $55b.

http://www.looptt.com/content/153m-wind-energy-study

You wanna talk logic?
"Logicicize" this, why after spending said 500 mil, is there to be another multi-million dollar feasibility study?

Source?

This was the question I asked you. And for 2-3 pages you have been ducking and weaving without providing a source other than your own perception. I have provided a source and if you think that vindicates you it doesn't because I already proved that you were pulling numbers out of thin air.

Furthermore you go on assuming that TT is paying for this study. I would like you to provide a source for this as well but it would involve a further 3pgs of more obfuscation when the link I provided says that funding is to be determined.

Lance

Postby Lance » April 8th, 2016, 12:18 pm

Any livestream for the mid-year review?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 8th, 2016, 12:20 pm

I am surprised nobody has brought up any discussion on the mid year budget review as yet. From the talk going around this would mean everybody going home etc etc.

I am a little bit worried because thus far Imbert has been a total disaster as a finance minister. I thought UNC was bad but WOW the PNM take the cake on purposely trying to make people miserable out of spite, look like in the end we was better off under the nasty Cabal after all.

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 12:35 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:Given that logic, I going to save we some more money. We goin and do a wind fArm project estimated at $55bn. I spending $500m, and then change my mind. So I have saved the country $54.5bn.
Genius.

I dont know which one more wrong, your maths or your info. A wind energy study for $153m was commissioned studying 12 sites. If that is 5% of project costs, then 100% of project cots will be $3b not $55b.

http://www.looptt.com/content/153m-wind-energy-study

You wanna talk logic?
"Logicicize" this, why after spending said 500 mil, is there to be another multi-million dollar feasibility study?

Source?

This was the question I asked you. And for 2-3 pages you have been ducking and weaving without providing a source other than your own perception. I have provided a source and if you think that vindicates you it doesn't because I already proved that you were pulling numbers out of thin air.

Furthermore you go on assuming that TT is paying for this study. I would like you to provide a source for this as well but it would involve a further 3pgs of more obfuscation when the link I provided says that funding is to be determined.

Once again you seem to think that a bank exists to be altruistic to people :roll: Who would pay for it then? Who paid for the last one? Will it be "hidden" in the total cost so that the Government could claim that it was free? If I assume that WE are paying for it, and you KNOW for a fact that we aren't, then what is the source of your info?

Postby Habit7 » April 8th, 2016, 12:40 pm

You have to substantiate your assumptions, not me.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 8th, 2016, 12:40 pm

tomorrow $8TT = $1.00 US

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 12:45 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I am surprised nobody has brought up any discussion on the mid year budget review as yet. From the talk going around this would mean everybody going home etc etc.

I am a little bit worried because thus far Imbert has been a total disaster as a finance minister. I thought UNC was bad but WOW the PNM take the cake on purposely trying to make people miserable out of spite, look like in the end we was better off under the nasty Cabal after all.

This Government acted with unreasonable haste to proclaim doom and gloom, in spite of IMF reports to the contrary, and for some reason seem hell bent on creating an economic crisis. recession is one thing, but Imbert et al would have you believe that we'll not last the year without total collapse.
The next thing is, they can't seem to get off the campaign soapbox, Ms Olivierre, who I had some hope for initially, says the last PNM Gov't did much for setting up CNG but in the last 5 years "little was done" :? :? So all these CNG buses, hybrid cars etc were bought on a whim? They seem brainwashed, or programmed to spew that all our woes started from 2010 when after decades in office nothing was, and still is not being done to meaningfully divest the economy. Use your office to sell us on CNG, offer incentives on kits, build filling stations, mandate CNG/hybridization of Gov't vehicles where necessary instead of talking sheit about "little being done in the last 5 years. You won the elections, now 7 months later you still in limbo? Do something, ANYTHING!!

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 12:47 pm

Habit7 wrote:You have to substantiate your assumptions, not me.

Assumption King calling on people to substantiate assumptions :lol: :lol: It eh easy to laugh so when yuh now done eat

Postby Habit7 » April 8th, 2016, 12:58 pm

Assumption King calling on people to substantiate assumptionsIt eh easy to laugh so when yuh now done eat

Dude, you just had to eat your words in another thread for making an assumption against me that could have been verified with by reading 3 out of the 4 preceding pages...

and you calling me Assumption King?

#hubris

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 8th, 2016, 1:24 pm

I HOPE they SLAP an additional 50% tax on Alcohol and a further 200% on tobacco products!

Start discouraging people from unhealthy lifestyles.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 8th, 2016, 1:32 pm

novastar1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:PM is both a volcano and an hiv specialist? Very impressive indeed!!

Well you don't have to be a HIV specialist to manage a govt agency, they can hire one where needed. Nevertheless Ayanna Webster Roy is a junior minister in the OPM and would more than likely take charge of this.

Why not keep the HIV managed by the ministry of health?
This is weirdly reminding me of the contracted water treatment plant that had nothing to do with wasa.....although WASA do claim that they are the custodians of any and all water in the country

Rowley could manage and knows everything about everything.................. at least according to the uninformed here.

He should ask Barbados whats their secret in keeping their exchange rate from sliding

BARBADOS has a Very good TOURISM industry, but that could never apply here because people here don't even know how to talk to people without a setup face and a steeeupppssssss,

Our people DO NOT know how to be hospitable, our country is NO clean, our Beaches LAck proper and CLEAN facilities, what else do you expect?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 8th, 2016, 1:44 pm

listening to Parliament now live- so many questions from the opposition concerning Forex, how ironic that the previous admin after they squandered away All Our forex, now want answers as to how the current govt plans to recover it.

Postby Habit7 » April 8th, 2016, 1:48 pm

No they didnt squander ALL our forex. Be truthful.

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 1:54 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Assumption King calling on people to substantiate assumptionsIt eh easy to laugh so when yuh now done eat

Dude, you just had to eat your words in another thread for making an assumption against me that could have been verified with by reading 3 out of the 4 preceding pages...

and you calling me Assumption King?

#hubris

I believe that upon realizing that I hadn't seen your post, I not only readily acknowledged such, but apologized to you. How on earth is that "eating my words"? :? :? :? You real tragic jed.............

Postby Habit7 » April 8th, 2016, 1:56 pm

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 2:00 pm

Now you gone from tragic to tragic and lacking very basic comprehension skills. Where was I "forced"? I asked, you replied, I immediately acknowledged and apologized. I guess that is why Rowley force himself on you because if that is your standard of proof, then you go fall for anything. Speaks volumes about you.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 8th, 2016, 2:09 pm

Habit7 wrote:No they didnt squander ALL our forex. Be truthful.

yuh right. Sqander and tief iz different ting...

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 2:14 pm

Yes, every single US dollar ever earned by T&T was squandered. This from a supporter of the Gov't who announced a deficit Budget and then promptly started to spend H&SF money as a way to prop up Rapid Rail, Tarouba Stadium, Eric Williams library etc. :lol:

Postby Habit7 » April 8th, 2016, 2:16 pm

Yes, every single US dollar ever earned by T&T was squandered. This from a supporter of the Gov't who announced a deficit Budget and then promptly started to spend H&SF money as a way to prop up Rapid Rail, Tarouba Stadium, Eric Williams library etc. :lol:

When did the govt of Trinidad and Tobago access any funding from the H&SF?

Postby pete » April 8th, 2016, 2:19 pm

From the Prime Minister:

Foreign exchange reserves are currently the same as they were at the time of the election - 9.6Billion dollars
So they have not dipped into the reserves to ease the limited supply of forex. It's not that there's no money available, they just don't want to give it out.

Postby 16 cycles » April 8th, 2016, 2:23 pm

umm...we could focus on the present contribution on parliament so others can know its impact into the future ?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 8th, 2016, 2:24 pm

Well they just don't want to see All disappear like what the previous administration was doing...besides with oil prices where they are and Petrotrin not pumping the economy with USD again, they have no choice but to safeguard.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 8th, 2016, 2:25 pm

why the faak Tim Goat-pee-sing don't hush he kant! he cyah even keep he cutlass wielding watless chile under control.

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2016, 2:26 pm

Habit7 wrote:

looptt.com 3rd January 2016.

In his address to the nation last Tuesday on the state of the economy and the way forward, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced that government would bring legislation to the Parliament this month to allow them to split the HSF into two separate funds, thus creating a Heritage Fund and a Stabilisation Fund.

The bulk of the funds would remain in the Heritage Fund, while government would withdraw $1 billion US from what would be Stabilisation Fund, for stabilisation purposes in fiscal year 2016. An additional $0.5 billion US would possibly be borrowed for the same purpose in fiscal year 2017.

The Prime Minister assured that the Heritage Fund would continue to be replenished throughout this time.

Postby j.o.e » April 8th, 2016, 2:26 pm

pete wrote:From the Prime Minister:

Foreign exchange reserves are currently the same as they were at the time of the election - 9.6Billion dollars
So they have not dipped into the reserves to ease the limited supply of forex. It's not that there's no money available, they just don't want to give it out.

Foreign exchange reserve balances are a result of inflows and outflows, money being 'there' isn't the same as not wanting to give it out. Why just pelt it out in a climate of reduced oil and gas income?

Postby Habit7 » April 8th, 2016, 2:29 pm

Habit7 wrote:

looptt.com 3rd January 2016.

In his address to the nation last Tuesday on the state of the economy and the way forward, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced that government would bring legislation to the Parliament this month to allow them to split the HSF into two separate funds, thus creating a Heritage Fund and a Stabilisation Fund.

The bulk of the funds would remain in the Heritage Fund, while government would withdraw $1 billion US from what would be Stabilisation Fund, for stabilisation purposes in fiscal year 2016. An additional $0.5 billion US would possibly be borrowed for the same purpose in fiscal year 2017.

The Prime Minister assured that the Heritage Fund would continue to be replenished throughout this time.
Wow, glad to see you start back taking Rowley's word as gospel.

Based on what you posted, I guess you still have no source that govt "then promptly started to spend H&SF money."