Price of Doubles Increased

Re: Price of Doubles Increased

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 6th, 2016, 2:17 pm

2 doubles by red cap could hold yuh up lil bit...3 is good enough...

Postby RASC » September 6th, 2016, 4:01 pm

3 doubles seasoned Channa and fried flour and a canned drink
Vs
A 6inch sandwich with chicken, lettuce, tomato, onion, pickles, bell peppers and a 10oz drink

Both approx $20

It's extremely obvious which is more filling, yet people still paying? Let them keep raising I say... Push for $10

Postby rollingstock » September 6th, 2016, 4:23 pm

Support locals or a foreign conglomerate?

Eh doh buy doubles and make indians any richer. Hard work shouldn't be encouraged, better to snatch chain and sell drugs.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 6th, 2016, 4:25 pm

That 20 for plenty or vice versa is real chicken ?

Real question btw.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 6th, 2016, 4:29 pm

Calling whatever subway putting in sandwiches chicken is being real generous.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 6th, 2016, 4:39 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Calling whatever subway putting in sandwiches chicken is being real generous.

What do they put in their sandwiches?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 6th, 2016, 5:02 pm

Processed meat.... Even the chicken

Postby sMASH » September 6th, 2016, 5:57 pm

rollingstock wrote:Support locals or a foreign conglomerate?

Eh doh buy doubles and make indians any richer. Hard work shouldn't be encouraged, better to snatch chain and sell drugs.

penal still have doubles, selling for $2.

i value my eyes too much to have them be dug out willingly.

Postby SR » September 6th, 2016, 7:16 pm

Subway is faaaaar from being as healthy as being boasted in some locations even the lettuce is wilted and not fresh. Meats are either processed or fake.

Postby K74T » September 6th, 2016, 7:42 pm

3pc chicken and chips for $15 by a Syrian in Siparia, cyah go wrong. Add $5 and buy a drink and yuh set.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 6th, 2016, 7:49 pm

Yeah if you live down south things cheap and nice. But up here in the North everything is expensive, doubles $5 and $6.

The only thing I can get cheap on this side is Saleem's Roti Shop in St Helena on weekends does sell Bar B Que with chips and mash potato for $20. Other than that maybe a $20 Real Deal in KFC if you ask nicely like I do, you get center breast and a large fries for the same $20 but they take out the butter biscuit but I don't like that anyways prefer fries.

But its insane how cheap things are in South compared to up on this side.

Doh even talk about POS

Postby pugboy » September 6th, 2016, 7:55 pm

Why ppl doh just buy a tin of corned beef and cook up something and make sandwich

Postby sMASH » September 6th, 2016, 7:56 pm

it's not as ubiquitous as you might be led to believe. just like your saleem's, these places are few and far between. there are places that selling doubles $5 since this year start. but, the market must be the decider. i really not supporting no doubles past $4. and will continue to put my money where i believe it is justified..

as a man said earlier,, boycott!! i on my own personal boycott.
Last edited by sMASH on September 6th, 2016, 8:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » September 6th, 2016, 8:00 pm

pugboy wrote:Why ppl doh just buy a tin of corned beef and cook up something and make sandwich

people say i cooking uwi style: cooking in bulk then batching and freezing... food bill dress down somewhat since.

Re: RE: Re: Price of Doubles Increased

Postby RASC » September 6th, 2016, 8:04 pm

If that's where you think I'm going with this, I can't stop you.
As I keep saying let the market dictate, I'm not vex with anyone if they're getting away with it by all means. I believe in capitalism.
Let the markets decide.

Postby pete » September 6th, 2016, 8:12 pm

Takes like 5 mins to scramble a few eggs and make a couple sandwiches. People don't have stoves any more or what?

Postby Morpheus » September 6th, 2016, 8:17 pm

The average Trini does not know how to cut costs and save. 60" TV have to buy. Doh talk for showroom car. You feel dem cooking?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 6th, 2016, 8:28 pm

pete wrote:Takes like 5 mins to scramble a few eggs and make a couple sandwiches. People don't have stoves any more or what?

Eggs are loaded with massive cholesterol. Be very careful how much of that you are eating, you are supposed to eat like maybe 4 eggs a week but we does eat a whole crate. You have to be careful a lot of things that cheap are unhealthy that can then cost you more in medical bills in the long run via medication etc.

Corned Beef is also dangerous all those tin food except sardines, sardines are one of the healthiest things on the planet because of the insane Omega vitamin in it. But people view it as cat food in this country. Tuna is ok aswell but its getting quite expensive too bad we don't produce this locally.

What I do is I buy whole wheat flour and make whole wheat roti, I plant ochro and fry that up takes little time its healthy and very cheap or in my case free. Stay away from all those processed food that you cook up fast they are dangerous. Better you buy some green peas in the tin, drain it and make a quick curry cook with it or something.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 6th, 2016, 8:32 pm

sMASH wrote:it's not as ubiquitous as you might be led to believe. just like your saleem's, these places are few and far between. there are places that selling doubles $5 since this year start. but, the market must be the decider. i really not supporting no doubles past $4. and will continue to put my money where i believe it is justified..

as a man said earlier,, boycott!! i on my own personal boycott.

I agree people have to boycott, some people wonder why in India you can get a full breakfast meal for less than $1 US but in the west it costs so much more. Its really just cost of living being adjusted we pay the $5 and $6 for doubles because we encourage it because we can afford it.

Ever since doubles price gone up so high I does buy a real deal KFC for $20 and I get a drink. And my doctor told me doubles more dangerous than KFC aswell so even better reason to buy KFC if I am in a rush and need fast food. Its important not to eat too much of that either plenty salt.

Postby Morpheus » September 6th, 2016, 8:35 pm

ED making plenty sense..........

Postby pugboy » September 6th, 2016, 8:35 pm

Best we start eating grass and bird seed

Postby K74T » September 6th, 2016, 8:36 pm

Morpheus wrote:ED making plenty sense..........

What a very rare occurrence
Last edited by K74T on September 6th, 2016, 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 6th, 2016, 8:40 pm

Cook like a cuss word for some girls now. .

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » September 6th, 2016, 8:44 pm

Morpheus wrote:The average Trini does not know how to cut costs and save. 60" TV have to buy. Doh talk for showroom car. You feel dem cooking?

Knew a man who invested in almonds to cut appetite after buying he showroom car...

Postby Morpheus » September 6th, 2016, 8:45 pm

K74T wrote:
Morpheus wrote:ED making plenty sense..........

What a very rare occurrence

Shhhhh! I struggled to type that..... lol

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 6th, 2016, 10:47 pm

K74T wrote:3pc chicken and chips for $15 by a Syrian in Siparia, cyah go wrong. Add $5 and buy a drink and yuh set.

Wut? no way!

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 6th, 2016, 10:52 pm

cherrypopper wrote:Cook like a cuss word for some girls now. .

Oh how we miss the days of tradition where girls would be prepared and trained by their mothers to become good wives to the husbands eh. Doh worry it will come back. This woman cant cook thing will soon stop the world from turning lol.

matix

Postby matix » September 6th, 2016, 11:40 pm

Chicken breast, vegetables from the market(string beans, carrots, potato, cauliflower, broccoli)
All prepared on the weekend and batched out for the week. Bfast, lunch, dinner. $250

Postby rollingstock » September 6th, 2016, 11:43 pm

RASC wrote:

If that's where you think I'm going with this, I can't stop you.
As I keep saying let the market dictate, I'm not vex with anyone if they're getting away with it by all means. I believe in capitalism.
Let the markets decide.

You taking me on?
Doubles is a one in a blue moon spur of the moment impulse buy just like kfc. I crave it but can't stomach it, doubles make me belch and feel bloated and kfc chicken makes my stomach upset. But still even at $5 it's not a bad deal, if you're a greedy man with big eye well hard luck

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 6th, 2016, 11:47 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
pete wrote:Takes like 5 mins to scramble a few eggs and make a couple sandwiches. People don't have stoves any more or what?

Eggs are loaded with massive cholesterol. Be very careful how much of that you are eating, you are supposed to eat like maybe 4 eggs a week but we does eat a whole crate. You have to be careful a lot of things that cheap are unhealthy that can then cost you more in medical bills in the long run via medication etc.

Corned Beef is also dangerous all those tin food except sardines, sardines are one of the healthiest things on the planet because of the insane Omega vitamin in it. But people view it as cat food in this country. Tuna is ok aswell but its getting quite expensive too bad we don't produce this locally.

What I do is I buy whole wheat flour and make whole wheat roti, I plant ochro and fry that up takes little time its healthy and very cheap or in my case free. Stay away from all those processed food that you cook up fast they are dangerous. Better you buy some green peas in the tin, drain it and make a quick curry cook with it or something.

Ahhh the Cholesterol myth ....