Re: $100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trin

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2014, 1:08 pm

nemisis wrote:
eyeballz wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Only problems in trini is PNM and its illegal immigrants. Pnm is cause of one half of the population behaviour of gimme gimme

what is this half you speak of?
half of the population is pnm gimme gimme die hard racists, yet pp won last election???

Who said racist bai, u adding new words?

Postby wagonrunner » January 30th, 2014, 1:11 pm

zoom rader wrote:Only problems in trini is PNM and its illegal immigrants. Pnm is cause of one half of the population behaviour of gimme gimme

compared to the other half "i'll just take what i feel should be mine and lie about it"

Fearless

Postby Fearless » January 30th, 2014, 1:30 pm

airuma wrote:
RASC wrote:See I'm not surprised by you guys nonchalant attitude towards the safety concerns and potential contamination issues at that processing plant.

Y'all have under developed and third world mentalities where "anything is anything."

Especially odd coMing from Mr. Well Traveled Well Healed Unaffected UpperMiddleClass Zoom Rader... again you prove that you're a fraudster and in truth of the same gutter class that you to look down on daily... yuh still ah low life, no matter how much money you claim to have.

#Forever3RDworld

Well said!! The force ripe business comments in this thread are self contradicting and full of third world mentality aka Trinidadian culture to some. The bottom line is, if SMJ owners agree to absorb the cost of thefts and extra security it will be reflected in the price and salaries (higher price of product and lower salaries for employees). Yet we have employees defending their decision to not move or improve their facility with safety and security as the objective.
I only buy Dasani water mainly because of the bottle, Coca-Cola did not have to invest in the equipment to produce those bottles and take on the risk of transporting such thin plastic bottles, but they made a move to help protect our environment. These investments have a social factor which is very difficult to measure and only "out of the box" thinkers are capable of making such extraordinary decisions, not force ripe business men!!
I must say, SMJ have some dedicated employees. Imagine hearing gunshots and confessing that the roof like a strainer but they still going to work there. In the process plants, if them fellas pick up a bad scent they would call safety. What happen to factory inspectorate and OSH? They ain't realize it have a safety problem at CGA laventille yet or they waiting for someone to report it?

The reality of the matter is mouths have to be fed, what you suggest they do? stay home and protest, while receiving no money, or quit their jobs and go through the long process of getting another? My honest opinion is a lot of you'll don't really look at a situation holistically, but only what matters from your point of view. I buy Dasani water because it $22 a case lol, have no risks involved in transporting these bottles imo. social factor? lol, great marketing strategy you mean?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 30th, 2014, 2:57 pm

Feeling for a rum and coke right now.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » January 30th, 2014, 3:20 pm

Never worked in a bottling factory but I have worked in media and it is very expensive to produce and distribute. SMJ bought a lot of media time TV, press and radio to defend their brand image after this incident. The frailty in protecting their premises doesn't appear to be from a lack of willing to spend

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » January 30th, 2014, 3:31 pm

^^^ Can be argued to be a candle and funeral scenario

Postby 16 cycles » January 30th, 2014, 5:19 pm

>1month later and no arrests made?

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2014, 5:21 pm

16 cycles wrote:>1month later and no arrests made?

I guess the DEA doing their Job,

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™

Postby Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ » January 30th, 2014, 6:07 pm

Ready to assist US in $644m cocaine probe

Story Created: Jan 29, 2014 at 9:19 PM
Story Updated: Jan 30, 2014 at 12:01 PM

Attorney General Anand Ramlogan said yesterday he stands ready and willing to assist the United States in its investigations into the $644 million cocaine bust and any extradition requests.

He was responding to questions from the media on whether US authorities have made any extradition requests with respect to the seizure.
The US Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) is in Trinidad and Tobago investigating the US$100 million cocaine bust in Norfolk, Virginia, USA, which originated from Trinidad and Tobago.

Customs and Border Protection (CPB) officers seized 732 pounds of cocaine concealed in cans bearing the labels of Trinidad Orange and Grapefruit juices at the Port of Norfolk on December 20 last year.
Ramlogan said he cannot comment on the matter as he did not want to prejudice investigations .

He said normal procedure would take place whereby there would be requests for bank records and personal information.
Ramlogan said once investigators complete the picture in that “investigative jigsaw puzzle” then they will send an extradition request.

He said his office will look to determine whether there was any pending charge against the subject and whether the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) would comment on the matter.
“In all circumstances I would then have to exercise my discretion in accordance with the law to see whether or not I would sign the extradition order to have that person extradited,” said Ramlogan.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Rea ... 75901.html

Postby bluefete » January 30th, 2014, 11:18 pm

Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ wrote:

Attorney General Anand Ramlogan said yesterday he stands ready and willing to assist the United States in its investigations into the $644 million cocaine bust and any extradition requests.

He was responding to questions from the media on whether US authorities have made any extradition requests with respect to the seizure.
The US Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) is in Trinidad and Tobago investigating the US$100 million cocaine bust in Norfolk, Virginia, USA, which originated from Trinidad and Tobago.

Customs and Border Protection (CPB) officers seized 732 pounds of cocaine concealed in cans bearing the labels of Trinidad Orange and Grapefruit juices at the Port of Norfolk on December 20 last year.
Ramlogan said he cannot comment on the matter as he did not want to prejudice investigations .

He said normal procedure would take place whereby there would be requests for bank records and personal information.
Ramlogan said once investigators complete the picture in that “investigative jigsaw puzzle” then they will send an extradition request.

He said his office will look to determine whether there was any pending charge against the subject and whether the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) would comment on the matter.
In all circumstances I would then have to exercise my discretion in accordance with the law to see whether or not I would sign the extradition order to have that person extradited,” said Ramlogan.

Hmmmmm. "Strokes beard that was shaved yesterday."

Seems like we are about to see "deja vu" all over again.

Postby gastly369 » January 30th, 2014, 11:29 pm

bluefete wrote:
Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ wrote:

In all circumstances I would then have to exercise my discretion in accordance with the law to see whether or not I would sign the extradition order to have that person extradited,” said Ramlogan.

cue song and read the quote... :|

Postby bluefete » January 31st, 2014, 12:08 am

Looney Tunes are Right.

airuma

Postby airuma » January 31st, 2014, 12:53 pm

greggle71 wrote:Never worked in a bottling factory but I have worked in media and it is very expensive to produce and distribute. SMJ bought a lot of media time TV, press and radio to defend their brand image after this incident. The frailty in protecting their premises doesn't appear to be from a lack of willing to spend

This is comparing a one time, unavoidable (to counteract the free negative publicity) expense with a continuous and obviously avoidable one. Comparing apples and oranges here!

airuma

Postby airuma » January 31st, 2014, 1:06 pm

Fearless wrote:
airuma wrote:
RASC wrote:See I'm not surprised by you guys nonchalant attitude towards the safety concerns and potential contamination issues at that processing plant.

Y'all have under developed and third world mentalities where "anything is anything."

Especially odd coMing from Mr. Well Traveled Well Healed Unaffected UpperMiddleClass Zoom Rader... again you prove that you're a fraudster and in truth of the same gutter class that you to look down on daily... yuh still ah low life, no matter how much money you claim to have.

#Forever3RDworld

Well said!! The force ripe business comments in this thread are self contradicting and full of third world mentality aka Trinidadian culture to some. The bottom line is, if SMJ owners agree to absorb the cost of thefts and extra security it will be reflected in the price and salaries (higher price of product and lower salaries for employees). Yet we have employees defending their decision to not move or improve their facility with safety and security as the objective.
I only buy Dasani water mainly because of the bottle, Coca-Cola did not have to invest in the equipment to produce those bottles and take on the risk of transporting such thin plastic bottles, but they made a move to help protect our environment. These investments have a social factor which is very difficult to measure and only "out of the box" thinkers are capable of making such extraordinary decisions, not force ripe business men!!
I must say, SMJ have some dedicated employees. Imagine hearing gunshots and confessing that the roof like a strainer but they still going to work there. In the process plants, if them fellas pick up a bad scent they would call safety. What happen to factory inspectorate and OSH? They ain't realize it have a safety problem at CGA laventille yet or they waiting for someone to report it?

The reality of the matter is mouths have to be fed, what you suggest they do? stay home and protest, while receiving no money, or quit their jobs and go through the long process of getting another? My honest opinion is a lot of you'll don't really look at a situation holistically, but only what matters from your point of view. I buy Dasani water because it $22 a case lol, have no risks involved in transporting these bottles imo. social factor? lol, great marketing strategy you mean?

Forgive me for thinking that we live in one of the richer Caribbean countries with an ideal geographic location (although it's being used for illegal trafficking) and one which has been described in recent times as "The Capital of the Caribbean." I now understand that our citizens are no better off than those of Hati.
You buy Dasani because it's $22 a case and then accusing other people of not looking at things holistically!!! As we say in Trini, the pot calling the kettle black!

#Forever3RDworld x 2

Fearless

Postby Fearless » January 31st, 2014, 1:16 pm

airuma wrote:
Fearless wrote:
airuma wrote:

#Forever3RDworld

Forgive me for thinking that we live in one of the richer Caribbean countries with an ideal geographic location (although it's being used for illegal trafficking) and one which has been described in recent times as "The Capital of the Caribbean." I now understand that our citizens are no better off than those of Hati.
You buy Dasani because it's $22 a case and then accusing other people of not looking at things holistically!!! As we say in Trini, the pot calling the kettle black!

#Forever3RDworld x 2

My bad i thought we were sharing why we buy dasani water,lol. You honestly believe that dasani bottles having less plastic helping protect our environment? Now i could be wrong, but it have anything in place to recycle these plastic bottles? so the end result is really the same as isn't it? as i say again holistic thinking, out of everything i say you choose with i said that would affect you point of view.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 31st, 2014, 1:20 pm

bluefete wrote:
Ѵ∑ŤЄЃλЙ™ wrote:

In all circumstances I would then have to exercise my discretion in accordance with Kamla and financiers to see whether or not I could sign the extradition order to have that person extradited,” said Ramlogan.

Fixed

airuma

Postby airuma » January 31st, 2014, 2:26 pm

Fearless wrote:
airuma wrote:
Fearless wrote:
airuma wrote:

#Forever3RDworld

#Forever3RDworld x 2

My bad i thought we were sharing why we buy dasani water,lol. You honestly believe that dasani bottles having less plastic helping protect our environment? Now i could be wrong, but it have anything in place to recycle these plastic bottles? so the end result is really the same as isn't it? as i say again holistic thinking, out of everything i say you choose with i said that would affect you point of view.

So this is your reason for not appreciating that less pollution is better!! You continuously contradict yourself in your posts. I have wasted enough time.... ignorance is bliss....

Fearless

Postby Fearless » January 31st, 2014, 2:35 pm

airuma wrote:ignorance is bliss....

my sentiments exactly

Postby SMc » February 3rd, 2014, 1:24 pm

Forget about manufacturing process, who find rat swimming in the water tank behing QA lab etc....

anybody get extradited yet? Or is it beacause the 2 weeks pass we all forget

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » February 3rd, 2014, 3:22 pm

Right now everybody studying cannival and dey expensive corstume and wah fete dem pumping tonight

Postby redmanjp » February 3rd, 2014, 3:54 pm

fouljuice wrote:Right now everybody studying cannival and dey expensive corstume and wah fete dem pumping tonight

this! ah hope then DEA guarding d ports in case the persons involved decide to sneak out

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » February 3rd, 2014, 4:50 pm

Dan, is carnival, tork bout'dat ash wednesday !!! :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: #triniway #twoweekspass #weforgetalready

mars

Postby mars » February 3rd, 2014, 9:44 pm

eurotuner wrote:Dan, is carnival, tork bout'dat ash wednesday !!! :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: #triniway #twoweekspass #weforgetalready

:D EPIC! :D #newclassic #bess#

Postby pioneer » February 3rd, 2014, 9:46 pm

Juice cuttin doh...I see our shelves fully stocked in work

Postby The_Honourable » February 4th, 2014, 10:51 pm

SMc wrote:Forget about manufacturing process, who find rat swimming in the water tank behing QA lab etc....

I saw an interview with former head of the central authority and past director of the FIU, attorney David West on one of the morning talk shows that the DEA is down here most likely to collect evidence meaning any remaining gaps in their case will be filled by the evidence they collect here in T&T. The evidence will then be taken to a US grand jury who would review the case and a decision would be made.

Once the grand jury accepts the findings of the case, an indictment would be made resulting in an extradition request. They have the right to prosecute the matter in the US because the bust happened on american soil. Don't be surprised that the US never told the T&T government anything because they knew that nothing would have come out of it if T&T did the bust (like the previous busts in Point Lisas) so they wanted the shipment to pass thru our port and reach the US meaning THEY can make the bust themselves then come down here to brace people.

If the government plays the arse like what they did with Ish & Steve, the US can use force like what they did in Jamaica in 2010. When the US wanted Dudus Coke, Prime Minister Bruce Golding make a set of excuses until the US directly and indirectly put force on his administration. Check the article:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-15147228

If the DEA is still here, I suspect they are still collecting evidence and/or have their suspects under lockdown making sure they don't leave the country - either by doing it themselves or forcing the government to have them under lockdown until their case is complete and the verdict given by the US grand jury.

Since the DEA is not making anything public, we have no idea how far they are in the case and if the grand jury reached a verdict. There was talk of an extradition request/diplomatic note but that story fall thru. Although I think it was too early for the US to make an extradition request and it would come later on, I could be wrong because again, the DEA not talking and plus we are not sure about what agreements both countries are under where the US can fast forward things. People are talking and pointing to the Status of the Forces Agreement (SOFA). I would not be surprised the "diplomatic note" was really something to do with locking down the suspects in T&T so they are not able to run.

I doubt 50+ agents are down here just to collect evidence alone. They are not leaving empty handed.

Postby shogun » February 4th, 2014, 11:30 pm

The_Honourable wrote:If the DEA is still here, I suspect they are still collecting evidence and/or have their suspects under lockdown making sure they don't leave the country - either by doing it themselves or forcing the government to have them under lockdown until their case is complete and the verdict given by the US grand jury.

Since the DEA is not making anything public, we have no idea how far they are in the case and if the grand jury reached a verdict. There was talk of an extradition request/diplomatic note but that story fall thru. Although I think it was too early for the US to make an extradition request and it would come later on, I could be wrong because again, the DEA not talking and plus we are not sure about what agreements both countries are under where the US can fast forward things. People are talking and pointing to the Status of the Forces Agreement (SOFA). I would not be surprised the "diplomatic note" was really something to do with locking down the suspects in T&T so they are not able to run.

I doubt 50+ agents are down here just to collect evidence alone. They are not leaving empty handed.

That.

Might just be my sometime conspiracy-prone mind eh... but i've noticed an increase in the number of used boat sales, on a few local sites since this whole thing. I'll leave that right there.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 5th, 2014, 12:39 am

The_Honourable wrote:
SMc wrote:Forget about manufacturing process, who find rat swimming in the water tank behing QA lab etc....

I saw an interview with former head of the central authority and past director of the FIU, attorney David West on one of the morning talk shows that the DEA is down here most likely to collect evidence meaning any remaining gaps in their case will be filled by the evidence they collect here in T&T. The evidence will then be taken to a US grand jury who would review the case and a decision would be made.

Once the grand jury accepts the findings of the case, an indictment would be made resulting in an extradition request. They have the right to prosecute the matter in the US because the bust happened on american soil. Don't be surprised that the US never told the T&T government anything because they knew that nothing would have come out of it if T&T did the bust (like the previous busts in Point Lisas) so they wanted the shipment to pass thru our port and reach the US meaning THEY can make the bust themselves then come down here to brace people.

If the government plays the arse like what they did with Ish & Steve, the US can use force like what they did in Jamaica in 2010. When the US wanted Dudus Coke, Prime Minister Bruce Golding make a set of excuses until the US directly and indirectly put force on his administration. Check the article:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-15147228

If the DEA is still here, I suspect they are still collecting evidence and/or have their suspects under lockdown making sure they don't leave the country - either by doing it themselves or forcing the government to have them under lockdown until their case is complete and the verdict given by the US grand jury.

Most sensible post in the thread

nismoid

Postby nismoid » February 7th, 2014, 6:09 pm

any updates on this? anybody get lock up yet?

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » February 7th, 2014, 8:50 pm

Oye, two weeks done pass, nobody remember this but we on tuner...

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » February 7th, 2014, 10:16 pm

D news yesterday say d trail gone cold . Money talks bull sheit walks