2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

PariaMan

Re: 2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

Postby PariaMan » October 4th, 2012, 4:03 pm

To me Hybrid is much more palatable to the average driver and it does not require additional service stations!

To me yes try the CNG thing too but why not a multi pronged approach to the problem that includes hybrid vehicles!

Postby nemisis » October 4th, 2012, 5:58 pm

PariaMan wrote:To me Hybrid is much more palatable to the average driver and it does not require additional service stations!

To me yes try the CNG thing too but why not a multi pronged approach to the problem that includes hybrid vehicles!

no politician family have d contract for hybrids lock yet

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 4th, 2012, 6:34 pm

me wah hybrid...

xtech

Postby xtech » October 4th, 2012, 6:40 pm

U making joke used car dealers will be jumping through the roof on hybrid and electric car sales..... I know I not putting no gas tank in my trunk when the time comes to switch gov better have incentives ready

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 4th, 2012, 10:07 pm

^^^damn right....

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » October 4th, 2012, 11:14 pm

2WNBoost wrote:
liquimolytt wrote:We have the answer for switching from Premium Unleaded Gasoline to Premiun Unleaded Gasoline

Octane Plus is designed to improve gasoline engine operation in areas where the octane rating (RON) is too low and causes engine knock, pinging, overheating and other problems associated with lowoctane gasoline. Raises the octane rating by up to 4 points. Contains no lead or other metallic-compounds that could harm catalytic converters.

Intended use
As additive treatment for all gasoline powered cars to increase performance and reduce problems of low-octane fuels. One can treats up to 50 l of gasoline.

Huge savings by switching to Super Unleaded Gasoline and adding can of Liqui Moly Octane Plus.

A car which fills up with 40 liters Premium before increase - 40 liters x $4.00 =$160.00
After increase to fill sam car will now cost - 40 liters x $5.75=$230.00
Additional cost $70.00

Switching to Super Unleaded and filling up same car and adding a Liqui Moly Octane Plus

40 liters Super Unleaded - 40 liters x $2.70 = 108.00
Liqui Moly Octane Plus - $65,OO
SAVINGS - $ 57.00

4 points ain't doing diddly forkin squat for my gdi engine, and i doubt it will for other vehicles that NEED premium fuel.

Agreed
Moving from RON92 to RON 95 is a 30 point increase (point as in 0.1)
You'll need (3 / 0.4) = 7.5 bottles

Switching to Super Unleaded, filling up same car and boosting the octane to Premium levels (RON95) using Liqui Moly Octane Plus

40 liters Super Unleaded - 40 liters x $2.70 = $108.00
Liqui Moly Octane Plus - 7.5 x $65.00 = $487.50
TOTAL = $595.50

SAVINGS over filling up with Premium = -$365.50
:shock: :shock: :shock:

This option may not be the best
:oops: :oops: :oops:

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » October 4th, 2012, 11:34 pm

liquimolytt wrote:
liquimolytt wrote:We have the answer for switching from Premium Unleaded Gasoline to Premiun Unleaded Gasoline

Octane Plus is designed to improve gasoline engine operation in areas where the octane rating (RON) is too low and causes engine knock, pinging, overheating and other problems associated with lowoctane gasoline. Raises the octane rating by up to 4 points. Contains no lead or other metallic-compounds that could harm catalytic converters.

Intended use
As additive treatment for all gasoline powered cars to increase performance and reduce problems of low-octane fuels. One can treats up to 50 l of gasoline.

Huge savings by switching to Super Unleaded Gasoline and adding can of Liqui Moly Octane Plus.

A car which fills up with 40 liters Premium before increase - 40 liters x $4.00 =$160.00
After increase to fill sam car will now cost - 40 liters x $5.75=$230.00
Additional cost $70.00

Switching to Super Unleaded and filling up same car and adding a Liqui Moly Octane Plus

40 liters Super Unleaded - 40 liters x $2.70 = 108.00
Liqui Moly Octane Plus - $65.00
SAVINGS - 57.00

So everytime I full up I have to use one?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 4th, 2012, 11:48 pm

Does your octane booster contain metallic additives?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 4th, 2012, 11:53 pm

In Jamaica "premium" is TT$8.59

that is 115% more than what we were paying

Postby Damien » October 5th, 2012, 12:24 am

Hmm that budget affecting all about yes

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 5th, 2012, 12:26 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:In Jamaica "premium" is TT$8.59

And ppl getting on like they wanna dead....steueps...

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 5th, 2012, 1:11 am

Soul Collector wrote:

Is the main contributor to Jamaica's GDP oil revenue?

Is the Gov of Jamaica raping the birthright of the people of Jamaica to finance their expenditure?

It is OUR oil and gas is the ground, the government extracts OUR oil and refines it and the CHARGES us for OUR gasoline!

The ONLY way most citizens ever see any of THEIR oil money is when the get to buy subsidized gas... and the government is moving to stop this

2 ah allyuh like allyuh need to move to Jamaica yes :roll:

Postby S_2NR » October 5th, 2012, 1:13 am

ingalook wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:

Is the Gov of Jamaica raping the birthright of the people of Jamaica to finance their expenditure?

It is OUR oil and gas is the ground, the government extracts OUR oil and refines it and the CHARGES us for OUR gasoline!

The ONLY way most citizens ever see any of THEIR oil money is when the get to buy subsidized gas... and the government is moving to stop this

dude. dont even bother. :lol:

i fedup of this place and debating with trinis.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 5th, 2012, 4:39 am

ingalook wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:

you are aware that close to 70% of the oil refined at petrotrin is imported right???
powergen,tgu etc get gas at a very very cheap rate (subsidy) in order to keep electricity cost down...

no matter who is/was in power, this fuel increase was going to happen, the country isn't making as much money as we were in the past...there are loans to repay so how else to "generate" revenue....start to cut spending....

from an article on today's newsday..the minister said the entire subsidy on premium was removed, so honestly $5.75 for premium gasolene is very cheap compared to the rest of the world.....trinidad has the 19th cheapest fuel cost in the world...majority of the countries that make up the top 18 are middle eastern countries....

you don't think the "oil" money is used to fund GATE for the young people of the country to go to school...yes a lot of abuse was done and now the system is being looking at...
you aware that not a lot of countries have free medical care like we do??

what is killing our economy is so many social programs but the day any government attempt to stop any, is war and riot in this place....its the gimme gimme syndrome that stifles our economy...unions protesting for more money for less work....i read in an article as well today in which the MOF said part of the removal was for government to be able to afford salary increases of 10% per year for public servants, so you want to beat up, go talk to roget and his boys...when next to go to a government office, demand your birth right in service...
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on October 5th, 2012, 4:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 5th, 2012, 4:44 am

2012 Gas Prices
cost is in $US per gallon....

our cost per $US/gallon = $3.37 for premium/ $1.58 for super

Price.....Country.............Pain Rank
$10.12...Norway......................#52
$9.41....Turkey........................#7
$9.28....Israel..........................#31
$8.61....Hong Kong.................#35
$8.26....Netherlands...............#41
$8.20....Denmark...................#47
$8.15....Italy............................#34
$8.14....Sweden......................#48
$7.92....Greece.......................#26
$7.87....United Kingdom.........#37
$7.79....France.......................#39
$7.77....Belgium.....................#42
$7.74....Germany....................#40
$7.72....Portugal.....................#23
$7.66....Switzerland................#53
$7.59....Finland.......................#45
$7.34....Ireland........................#44
$7.15....Japan.........................#46
$7.12....South Korea..............#30
$6.93....Slovakia.....................#21
$6.92....Brazil..........................#13
$6.79....Hungary.....................#15
$6.60....Malta..........................#27
$6.57....Slovenia.....................#32
$6.55....New Zealand............#43
$6.49....Austria.......................#49
$6.47....Spain.........................#36
$6.46....Czech Republic.........#25
$6.41....Australia.....................#54
$6.38....Luxembourg..............#56
$6.32....Lithuania....................#18
$6.15....Poland.......................#19
$6.13....Chile...........................#22
$6.12....Bulgaria......................#6
$6.08....Latvia.........................#17
$6.08....Singapore...................#50
$5.96....Colombia....................#10
$5.86....Cyprus.......................#38
$5.82....Argentina....................#16
$5.80....Estonia......................#24
$5.71....Romania....................#11
$5.46....Canada......................#51
$5.44....India...........................#1
$5.30....South Africa...............#12
$4.89....China..........................#8
$4.51....Thailand.....................#9
$4.42....Philippines.................#3
$3.85....Indonesia...................#5
$3.75....Russia.......................#33
$3.75....United States.............#55
$3.55....Pakistan.......................#2
$3.24....Mexico........................#29
$3.23....Malaysia.....................#28
$2.80....Iran.............................#20
$2.32....Nigeria........................#4
$1.89....United Arab Emirates..#57
$1.73....Egypt..........................#14
$0.89....Kuwait........................#59
$0.61....Saudi Arabia..............#58
$0.09....Venezuela..................#60

http://www.bloomberg.com/slideshow/2012 ... untry.html

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 5th, 2012, 6:26 am

ingalook wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:

Could be wrong, but doesn't Petrotrin import most of it's oil to be refined? If so, they have to pay the market price. We have much more natural gas than we have oil.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 5th, 2012, 6:33 am

According to available information, we still don't have that much natural gas - approx. only 9 years left. We are going to end up in the same place in 7-8 years time, when we have to heavily import CNG to support our domestic use.

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » October 5th, 2012, 7:17 am

Yes, you do need to use it every full tank. If your ride takes 50L of gas, the savings will be more because Octane Plus can treat up to 50L of fuel:
50L x $4.00 premium = $200.00 - Before
50L x $5.75 premium = $287.50 - Now - Ouch!
With Liqui Moly Octane Plus:
50L x $2.70 Super = $135.00 + $65 Octane Plus = $200.

Remember to always follow instructions on label.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 5th, 2012, 7:32 am

shaneelal wrote:
ingalook wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:

Could be wrong, but doesn't Petrotrin import most of it's oil to be refined? If so, they have to pay the market price. We have much more natural gas than we have oil.

They are not importing oil to refine because they don't have enough oil.... they are importing oil to refine because we SELL our higher grade oil and import lower grade oil for local consumption...

That is a non-argument... in fact I think it reinforces the fact that citizens are getting a raw deal

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 5th, 2012, 7:39 am

well boycott the system and stop buying fuel and supporting greed /sarcasm

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 5th, 2012, 8:21 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:well boycott the system and stop buying fuel and supporting greed /sarcasm

and that'll be the day that hell goes cold. Trinis must get to the avenue somehow. Somehow. lol.

Isn't traffic a major contributor to the sucking of the treasury via the subsidy? Once it have no traffic my car getting 50mpg+ easy... In traffic unless the auto start stop on is bun gas city. I does look around and just bawl oui... just gas bunning... wasting... yuh dig?

I only responding cuz you quote me

Seriously though for me:
Before subsidy reduction in premium I would get 500 km per tank off of 52 litres when driving hard (anywhere from 50 kph to 200 approx) with ac.

After subsidy reduction I switched up immediately just to see how things go. No AC, set cruise control on highway to 95-100 kph, windows up, sunroof closed, air con fans blowing air from outside into vehicle...vehicle is projecting to get about 850 - 900 km per 52 litres now
My average fuel economy so far is 5.9 litres per 100 km ===>52/5.9x100= 881 km Worse yet is that includes some city driving. The more highway runs the better for me so it conceivable I can get 900+ as long as I plan properly.

Now that I see VW says I can run RON 91 I feeling to fill super now. I miss meh zorcing

So lemme quote you again. I agree 100% at some point over the years I realised from the 90s to now we are an 'a/c' country. Why? Gas cheap. We drive,.. no zorce, and most can't control the suspension in the almera. Why? Gas cheap. I went out last night with the car - first time since preems gone up. Talk bout drive slow! I'll prolly realistically get 750+Km to a tank maybe even 850km+ if I keep this up. I don't wanna say 900km yet. But trust me with the efficient dynamics tech I wouldn't doubt it. I lack discipline. Plain talk.

You miss zorcing??? Dread the car makes a sound at 4000+ rpm that... never mind. That cargasm will be handled elsewhere. lol

On the road last night? BMWs, a couple forresters (turbo'ed) but the fastest cars??? B14, AD van, Almera and a corolla who pass we... Why? Super still cheap. She who laughs last oui. Ironically I still don't regret selling my ranger. I missed cornering and driving a car. F diesel oui. lol Dem judgement soon come... lol.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 5th, 2012, 8:22 am

silent_riot wrote:According to available information, we still don't have that much natural gas - approx. only 9 years left. We are going to end up in the same place in 7-8 years time, when we have to heavily import CNG to support our domestic use.

Gosh....for living in a country dependent on oil and gas you all should learn terminology. We have 9 years of Proven reserves. As exploration takes place we get probable reserves and then there is possible reserves (3Ps).
Whenever ppl speak of gas left they speak of Proven reserves. Doesn't mean there isn't anymore out there in our acreage.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 5th, 2012, 8:30 am

Ok, natural gas will never run out.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 5th, 2012, 8:38 am

silent_riot wrote:Ok, natural gas will never run out.

That's not what you said initially.

narvin

Postby narvin » October 5th, 2012, 8:52 am

You all sit there and feel that the reserves will not run out. Does any of you work in the Oil sector or know what is really happening. Wake up people, there are smaller countries than ours which are far more self sufficient than us who do not even depend on oil and gas. We depend on Oil and Gas reserves but you all need to realize it will come to an end. It does not replenish it self as we take it out of the ground. As for the the other fields/acreage that they possibly have reserves, do you own a company that is willing to spend money to find it? Which is why they will never tell you the truth because it will stir up and cause chaos. What kills this country is the people and their gimme mindset together with the mass corruption in all aspects be it government or wherever.

Postby SR » October 5th, 2012, 8:54 am

drove my car last night
nothing passed me
:)

subsidy needed to be reduced for years now most just never planned for that to happen
people need to learn to drive more eonomical....use the correct fuel for thie vehicle....car pool as we have too many cars on the rd for the population we presently have

governemnt needs to improve on public transport systems
and decentralise POS

Postby crazybalhead » October 5th, 2012, 8:57 am

narvin wrote:You all sit there and feel that the reserves will not run out. Does any of you work in the Oil sector or know what is really happening. Wake up people, there are smaller countries than ours which are far more self sufficient than us who do not even depend on oil and gas. We depend on Oil and Gas reserves but you all need to realize it will come to an end. It does not replenish it self as we take it out of the ground. As for the the other fields/acreage that they possibly have reserves, do you own a company that is willing to spend money to find it? Which is why they will never tell you the truth because it will stir up and cause chaos. What kills this country is the people and their gimme mindset together with the mass corruption in all aspects be it government or wherever.

Yes, many of us do. We can also express ourselves with better grammar.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 5th, 2012, 9:06 am

Gas should be cheaper than it was before the increase... for all the reasons I gave before...

Postby nervewrecker » October 5th, 2012, 9:07 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:
ingalook wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:

you are aware that close to 70% of the oil refined at petrotrin is imported right???
powergen,tgu etc get gas at a very very cheap rate (subsidy) in order to keep electricity cost down...

no matter who is/was in power, this fuel increase was going to happen, the country isn't making as much money as we were in the past...there are loans to repay so how else to "generate" revenue....start to cut spending....

from an article on today's newsday..the minister said the entire subsidy on premium was removed, so honestly $5.75 for premium gasolene is very cheap compared to the rest of the world.....trinidad has the 19th cheapest fuel cost in the world...majority of the countries that make up the top 18 are middle eastern countries....

you don't think the "oil" money is used to fund GATE for the young people of the country to go to school...yes a lot of abuse was done and now the system is being looking at...
you aware that not a lot of countries have free medical care like we do??
what is killing our economy is so many social programs but the day any government attempt to stop any, is war and riot in this place....its the gimme gimme syndrome that stifles our economy...unions protesting for more money for less work....i read in an article as well today in which the MOF said part of the removal was for government to be able to afford salary increases of 10% per year for public servants, so you want to beat up, go talk to roget and his boys...when next to go to a government office, demand your birth right in service...

If that is true about the entire subsidy removed and that is the final price i'd say we getting gas at a steal of a deal. :shock:

Second part in bold though, our health care system sucks big time man, common. :roll:

Postby tr1ad » October 5th, 2012, 9:10 am

ingalook wrote:Gas should be cheaper than it was before the increase... for all the reasons I gave before...

you'll have to go back to 1962