Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby dougla_boy » August 16th, 2012, 1:13 pm

i actually wanna incorporate a little yoga in to my routine. still trying to work out what i like and dont. i know i like running and walking, so that is there and then the yoga, i like it also because i like the whole relaxation thing, and that its good for stretching. for weights i havent decided yet.

also as part of the lifestyle change, i am going to sleep earlier and waking up earlier

Postby dougla_boy » August 16th, 2012, 1:15 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Three-four months without soft drink or any carbonated beverage and loving it.

Also cut down on fast food and doubles. Never felt better.

see that lil fat under ur belly button? cut down soft drink and that goes down also.....

Postby Trini Hookah » August 16th, 2012, 1:26 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Three-four months without soft drink or any carbonated beverage and loving it.

see that lil fat under ur belly button? cut down soft drink and that goes down also.....

Lol.nah man never had that

Would like to get into the yoga a bit as well.

Postby A172 » August 16th, 2012, 1:46 pm

dougla_boy wrote:

lolwut

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » August 16th, 2012, 4:48 pm

A172 wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

lolwut

nahbhaidanbhai yuh could spot reduce fat !!!

AllTrac wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

anyways, in terms of my diet, i will try my best to keep away from the carbs, or at lessen the amount. i did some exercise to day, made a walk/jog around la horquetta, but i started late, so i only made about 1 lap. when i came back i did some push ups (20, do laugh nah) and some biceps and triceps work with a resistance band. i really wanna lose about a 3-5 lbs by the end of the month.......

dan, what are you doing? u just doing stuff willie nillie just so? create a routine, map your starting points, choose your days you gonna do it, set your expected goals (reps, weights etc) plan when you want to increase those parameters, stick to it and go with it. Thats the only way you gonna see improvement in yourself. If you dont do that then you would get demotivated, you wont have a schedule so you would keep putting off doing it as you were never prepared for it and before you know it, you off the train.

lol i know eh, i actually have a schedule.........but just that yesterday i had some sheit to do and i didnt get time to go do it, so i did that pack of ass...lol....

lol ok, just so you know, Cardio to lose weight is bullshiet, even worst is intense cardio.
Ive stopped doing cardio a couple months now

Diet ! Diet ! Diet ! Cardio helps to a very small degree, but it still helps. Intermittent Fasting ftw.

Postby A172 » August 16th, 2012, 4:54 pm

1000 crunches checking in

Postby De Dragon » August 16th, 2012, 4:58 pm

ChristianRD wrote:
A172 wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

lolwut

nahbhaidanbhai yuh could spot reduce fat !!!

AllTrac wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

anyways, in terms of my diet, i will try my best to keep away from the carbs, or at lessen the amount. i did some exercise to day, made a walk/jog around la horquetta, but i started late, so i only made about 1 lap. when i came back i did some push ups (20, do laugh nah) and some biceps and triceps work with a resistance band. i really wanna lose about a 3-5 lbs by the end of the month.......

dan, what are you doing? u just doing stuff willie nillie just so? create a routine, map your starting points, choose your days you gonna do it, set your expected goals (reps, weights etc) plan when you want to increase those parameters, stick to it and go with it. Thats the only way you gonna see improvement in yourself. If you dont do that then you would get demotivated, you wont have a schedule so you would keep putting off doing it as you were never prepared for it and before you know it, you off the train.

lol i know eh, i actually have a schedule.........but just that yesterday i had some sheit to do and i didnt get time to go do it, so i did that pack of ass...lol....

lol ok, just so you know, Cardio to lose weight is bullshiet, even worst is intense cardio.
Ive stopped doing cardio a couple months now

Diet ! Diet ! Diet ! Cardio helps to a very small degree, but it still helps. Intermittent Fasting ftw.

Diet or exercise alone will never allow you to lose weight and maintain a healthy weight. You need a regimen of diet and exercise and some weight training for the best results.

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » August 16th, 2012, 5:50 pm

De Dragon wrote:Diet or exercise alone will never allow you to lose weight and maintain a healthy weight. You need a regimen of diet and exercise and some weight training for the best results.

I am speaking from my own experience. I have done intermittent fasting without exercise and with exercise and they both made me lose fat quickly. Diet + exercise is IDEAL but this is the real world and your Diet is more important.

Postby De Dragon » August 16th, 2012, 5:57 pm

ChristianRD wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Diet or exercise alone will never allow you to lose weight and maintain a healthy weight. You need a regimen of diet and exercise and some weight training for the best results.

I am speaking from my own experience. I have done intermittent fasting without exercise and with exercise and they both made me lose fat quickly. Diet + exercise is IDEAL but this is the real world and your Diet is more important.

There is no universal plan, different things work for different people, so you experiment and gauge your results and find(and stick with) a plan. Also a plan with flexibility of exercises,meals etc tends to be one that you stick with as the monotony does not step in and cause you to lose focus.

Postby sharkman121 » August 16th, 2012, 6:06 pm

AllTrac wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

Ive stopped doing cardio a couple months now.

disagree with this, Hiit cardio plus proper diet and consistency and you will blasttt fat off.

Also weight training with low rest intervals also replicate the effects of a cardio workout.e.g squats/deadlifts with 15 reps and 30 secs rest. Anything that put you in the target heart rate zone.

Simple: workout + water + proper diet + rest = fat blasting

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 16th, 2012, 6:49 pm

maintaining a hard cardio at least 6 days a week (30-40 mins @ 175-190BPM), plateau for a month on 182 BUT I lost another inch from le waistline.

not bad.

Postby M_2NR » August 16th, 2012, 8:18 pm

sharkman121 wrote: rest

this! Once you're not getting it, youll be looking for trouble. And that's a next topic by itself. Some say 8 hours sleep is good etc. again. It's all up to the person.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 16th, 2012, 9:17 pm

good to see thread back up....

2sweet

Postby 2sweet » August 17th, 2012, 7:19 am

Does anyone know where I can purchase Quinoa in the east/west? I sometimes get it in the health food store in ellerslie but not consistently.

Postby dougla_boy » August 17th, 2012, 7:39 am

gonna be visiting this ched a regularly now.

Postby noshownogo » August 17th, 2012, 8:00 am

Liking the discussion in here.

I myself decided to cut back on all junk food, carbs, starches, sweets etc. and increase the intensity of cardio I do daily. I've also reduced portions by now eating on a dessert plate instead of a full dinner plate. Been doing this for the past couple months.

The lathargic feeling I'd get around 3pm is gone completely. I sleep better, wake up feeling energized and much more alert during the day.

There was a period where my brain would almost coax me into needing snacks or junk food, but I feel like I'm over that hurdle. I can now easily visit these same fastfood outlets with friends and not have the craving.

Postby dougla_boy » August 17th, 2012, 8:28 am

nice to hear noshowgo!!!!

anyways, i have a brethren who was overweight since he was young, he has tried many diets and so forth.

he actually has successfully lost alot of weight using a combinations exercise and 2 diets

1st diet

separate you food groups. so instead of having a lunch with the diff food groups, eat just one.
not sure how it works, will get back to u on it.

2nd diet is a 1 week a 2months thing.

1st day - fruits only and water or green tea without sugar, no bananas

2nd day - vegetables only, and 1 potato only

3rd day - 8-10 bananas and skim milk

4th day - fruits and vegetables

5th day - beef and tomatoes only

6th day - beef and vegetables only, no tomatoes

7th day - brown rice and vegetables only

its a real mad kinda diet nah.

now i aint putting it up for people to just go do it, but i would like to hear yall opinions on it.

Postby sharkman121 » August 17th, 2012, 9:41 am

Dougla boy i personally try to keep it simple, here are the foods i keep in my house.

Chicken breasts, oatmeal, tuna, salads, whey protein, brown rice/pasta, water/orange juice, raisin bran, salmon, lean turkey, whole wheat bread.

Postby AllTrac » August 17th, 2012, 9:51 am

2sweet wrote:Does anyone know where I can purchase Quinoa in the east/west? I sometimes get it in the health food store in ellerslie but not consistently.

check Vanilla bean in monroe road.

c@ri$$@

Postby c@ri$$@ » August 17th, 2012, 2:43 pm

^ i think i saw it in Hi-Lo

Postby M_2NR » August 17th, 2012, 4:02 pm

Dear Diary, (lol jk)
Ah eat a snack yesterday. My first of that type in months. I saw Tayto Potato chips came back in the grocery :oops: I ate a whole pack yes.
I dunno if I felt bad doing it though. I guess it's ok to indulge once in a while?

Side note:
I think by now everyone would realize that this is all opinions, no one is saying to do this and that. It's all up to you and what works for you. It's good to see everyone chipping in their ideas etc.

Postby sharkman121 » August 17th, 2012, 7:28 pm

M_2NR wrote:Dear Diary, (lol jk)
Ah eat a snack yesterday. My first of that type in months. I saw Tayto Potato chips came back in the grocery :oops: I ate a whole pack yes.
I dunno if I felt bad doing it though. I guess it's ok to indulge once in a while?

You talking about indulgence?? i out of tnt on my honeymoon right now, each meal breakfast lunch and dinner is well over 700 cals. melted cheese on pasta, deep fried sh*t and fruity alcohol drinks :lol:

i just know that i have alot of work to do when i get back cuz i def putting on extra pounds right now.

Postby M_2NR » August 17th, 2012, 8:53 pm

sharkman121 wrote:

You talking about indulgence?? i out of tnt on my honeymoon right now, each meal breakfast lunch and dinner is well over 700 cals. melted cheese on pasta, deep fried sh*t and fruity alcohol drinks :lol:

i just know that i have alot of work to do when i get back cuz i def putting on extra pounds right now.

:lol: :shock: :lol:
btw congrats man! and wtmc you doing on tuner?

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » August 17th, 2012, 9:29 pm

dougla_boy wrote:nice to hear noshowgo!!!!

anyways, i have a brethren who was overweight since he was young, he has tried many diets and so forth.

he actually has successfully lost alot of weight using a combinations exercise and 2 diets

1st diet

separate you food groups. so instead of having a lunch with the diff food groups, eat just one.
not sure how it works, will get back to u on it.

2nd diet is a 1 week a 2months thing.

1st day - fruits only and water or green tea without sugar, no bananas

2nd day - vegetables only, and 1 potato only - keto

3rd day - 8-10 bananas and skim milk - the fcuk. 1 large banana has 30g of simple carbs (x10)

4th day - fruits and vegetables

5th day - beef and tomatoes only - keto

6th day - beef and vegetables only, no tomatoes - keto

7th day - brown rice and vegetables only

its a real mad kinda diet nah.

now i aint putting it up for people to just go do it, but i would like to hear yall opinions on it.

Ketogenic diet and carb cycling.

You have access to the Internet. Do some research on different diets and see what you can work with. What works for him may not necessarily work for you. (nosarcasm)

Postby A172 » August 17th, 2012, 10:02 pm

lift some weights and get sufficient protein as well

makes no sense losing weight to just end up looking like a smaller version of chit with the strength of a 12 year old schoolgirl.

Postby sharkman121 » August 18th, 2012, 12:02 am

M_2NR wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

:lol: :shock: :lol:
btw congrats man! and wtmc you doing on tuner?

wifey sleeping :oops:

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » August 19th, 2012, 11:36 pm

2sweet wrote:Does anyone know where I can purchase Quinoa in the east/west? I sometimes get it in the health food store in ellerslie but not consistently.

Peppercorns WM

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 22nd, 2012, 10:44 am

Thread dead?

Got to 181 on Aug 25, then I went to the US for 2 weeks, where I sorta threw caution to the wind and et some crap, and drank some crap.
Spent the entire last couple weeks on a recovery diet
180 as of Friday 21 Sept.

Started back using 8oz skim milk, 1 scoop whey for b/fast, it's clean and keeps me up until lunch.
Still avoiding sugars and simple/refined carbs, working out so far.

Target is 170-175, so I'm almost there - considering at the start of 2011 I was 255!!!!

Waist actually down to 34 from 40 over 20 months, so I'm feeling good. My diet experimenting is slow, but works.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 22nd, 2012, 11:58 am

What's your height VD? You'll be the same weight as me soon!

I'm 165...but nowhere near lean.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 22nd, 2012, 12:17 pm

I'm 5ft 11.5 in.