Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:we do not want to officially state on trinituner.com where the roadblocks are being held as this may aid the criminal element and those wishing to avoid the police. This would be counterproductive in our opinion given the purpose of having this state of emergency in the first place.GTcruzer wrote:On a side note.... anyone else for an "Official SOE Traffic thread" (i don't know if one already exists, didn't notice it)
During a state of emergency, sacrifices will be made by the public at large ranging from loss in particular civil rights to being inconvenienced. We feel that the inconvenience of not knowing where the roadblocks are and by extension where there is traffic is, is a small price to pay during the next 15 days carded for the state of emergency.
If users wish to post about traffic pile ups during the state of emergency they are free to do so, however we will not be making any announcements of such. If there is a traffic alert that is pertinent to public safety or regarding an accident or other non-security related reason we will be sure to announce it to our users.
you try again, exactly where in that document has the words "martial law"?AbstractPoetic wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:as a lawyer I'd think that you would not claim two different things are the same, unless of-course it was part of your defence.AbstractPoetic wrote:So technically, Trinidad and Tobago is under Martial Law following declaration of state of emergency?
Martial law is the imposition of military rule by military authorities over designated regions on an emergency basis—usually only temporary—when the civilian government or civilian authorities fail to function effectively (e.g., maintain order and security, and provide essential services), when there are extensive riots and protests, or when the disobedience of the law becomes widespread
A state of emergency is a governmental declaration that may suspend some normal functions of the executive, legislative and judicial powers, alert citizens to change their normal behaviours, or order government agencies to implement emergency preparedness plans. It can also be used as a rationale for suspending rights and freedoms, even if guaranteed under the constitution.
T&T is currently under a state of emergency, we are NOT under military rule.
1. I'm not a lawyer.
2. Trinidad IS under martial law as is stated in the Emergency Powers Regulation of which you can read here:
http://www.news.gov.tt/E-Gazette/Gazett ... 202011.pdf
3. The protective services can shoot on sight, arrest without warrant, enter and search your property without a warrant, and arrest any or all persons in an outdoor gathering at will, along with other powers. This IS Martial Law in which the entire country is currently subjected to.
4. Try again.
GTcruzer wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:we do not want to officially state on trinituner.com where the roadblocks are being held as this may aid the criminal element and those wishing to avoid the police. This would be counterproductive in our opinion given the purpose of having this state of emergency in the first place.GTcruzer wrote:On a side note.... anyone else for an "Official SOE Traffic thread" (i don't know if one already exists, didn't notice it)
During a state of emergency, sacrifices will be made by the public at large ranging from loss in particular civil rights to being inconvenienced. We feel that the inconvenience of not knowing where the roadblocks are and by extension where there is traffic is, is a small price to pay during the next 15 days carded for the state of emergency.
If users wish to post about traffic pile ups during the state of emergency they are free to do so, however we will not be making any announcements of such. If there is a traffic alert that is pertinent to public safety or regarding an accident or other non-security related reason we will be sure to announce it to our users.
didn't mean to get in the way of the law. i was think about it strictly from a commute point of view, not from avoiding roadblocks. oh well, was just asking anyway.
racy lady wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:U.S. Navys are being spotted in the Caribbean Sea. USA doh play that.
there's more than one?
Grudge wrote:Three shots just ring out in Diego Martin (Jasper Ave), hopping is the police.....
AbstractPoetic wrote:racy lady wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:U.S. Navys are being spotted in the Caribbean Sea. USA doh play that.
there's more than one?
Yes. Goes to show that this whole scene have little to do with a war on crime. Did you catch what the AG stated on today's interview? Intelligence information was what resulted in the SOE. It's bigger than just domestic affairs.
might still be domestic but may peak the interest of the international community.AbstractPoetic wrote:racy lady wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:U.S. Navys are being spotted in the Caribbean Sea. USA doh play that.
there's more than one?
Yes. Goes to show that this whole scene have little to do with a war on crime. Did you catch what the AG stated on today's interview? Intelligence information was what resulted in the SOE. It's bigger than just domestic affairs.
*$kїđž!™ wrote:so they know saying a little about the real reason for the soe.....
hearing sandy saying that it relates to the 22m drug bust and the soe has prevented mass loss of life cause their intelligence revealed something big........
businesses would have been affected and mass lives wold have been lost.....
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you try again, exactly where in that document has the words "martial law"?
re-read the definition of martial law. We are NOT currently under military rule; we are STILL under the rule of our democratic leaders who were voted in by the people.
rfari wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:racy lady wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:U.S. Navys are being spotted in the Caribbean Sea. USA doh play that.
there's more than one?
AP, who/what is ur source for US Navy spotted in the caribbean sea?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:might still be domestic but may peak the interest of the international community.AbstractPoetic wrote:racy lady wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:U.S. Navys are being spotted in the Caribbean Sea. USA doh play that.
there's more than one?
though they are just rumors, I've heard all sorts of stories ranging from the SOE was put in place because of a coup plot, to the SOE was put in place to prevent a labour uprising. I reiterate that these are just RUMORS and there is no proof as of yet behind their claims.
AbstractPoetic wrote:rfari wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:racy lady wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:U.S. Navys are being spotted in the Caribbean Sea. USA doh play that.
there's more than one?
AP, who/what is ur source for US Navy spotted in the caribbean sea?
I have my sources. Located somewhere off the coast of South Trinidad. Don't know if it relates but quite frankly I have my suspicions alot is not being said.
No dear, there is a technical difference between martial law and a state of emergency. In the former, the entire government is overthrown and replaced with a caretaker (and temporary) government, usually the head of the military. In the latter, the government is simply authorized to do more things than before.AbstractPoetic wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you try again, exactly where in that document has the words "martial law"?
re-read the definition of martial law. We are NOT currently under military rule; we are STILL under the rule of our democratic leaders who were voted in by the people.
Duane, I don't know what to tell you. The fact that law enforcement can come raid your place without warrant or put two bullet in your head for violating a curfew sounds constitutional to you, I'd imagine?
You do understand that the imposition of martial law accompanies curfews, the suspension of civil law, civil rights, habeas corpus, and/or can include the application or extension of military law or military justice to civilians? Not all components NEED to be in place for martial law to take effect, however, on the basis of what is presented and enforced in the Emergency Powers Regulations of TT, it fits the bill. Also, perhaps you can check back in the history books of Trinidad in the 1970s when martial law took effect. Not much difference then.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:No dear, there is a technical difference between martial law and a state of emergency. In the former, the entire government is overthrown and replaced with a caretaker (and temporary) government, usually the head of the military. In the latter, the government is simply authorized to do more things than before.AbstractPoetic wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you try again, exactly where in that document has the words "martial law"?
Duane, I don't know what to tell you. The fact that law enforcement can come raid your place without warrant or put two bullet in your head for violating a curfew sounds constitutional to you, I'd imagine?
You do understand that the imposition of martial law accompanies curfews, the suspension of civil law, civil rights, habeas corpus, and/or can include the application or extension of military law or military justice to civilians? Not all components NEED to be in place for martial law to take effect, however, on the basis of what is presented and enforced in the Emergency Powers Regulations of TT, it fits the bill. Also, perhaps you can check back in the history books of Trinidad in the 1970s when martial law took effect. Not much difference then.
so as I said before, we are NOT currently under military rule and not under martial law; we are STILL under the rule of our democratic leaders who were voted in by the people.
rfari wrote::|
AbstractPoetic wrote:rfari wrote::|
All I'll say is...all these random arrests in the ghettoes,
Stephon. wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:rfari wrote::|
Makes my heart smile
bluefete wrote:Stephon. wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:rfari wrote::|
Makes my heart smile
So Stephon: The big shot, respectable, business men and women who living by you and responsible for financing the cocaine and guns that the boys and girls in the "ghettoes" using,and also for financing the PP and PNM, must continue living like normal.
IMO, this curfew should deal with BOTH the financiers and the pushers.
AbstractPoetic wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:No dear, there is a technical difference between martial law and a state of emergency. In the former, the entire government is overthrown and replaced with a caretaker (and temporary) government, usually the head of the military. In the latter, the government is simply authorized to do more things than before.AbstractPoetic wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you try again, exactly where in that document has the words "martial law"?
so as I said before, we are NOT currently under military rule and not under martial law; we are STILL under the rule of our democratic leaders who were voted in by the people.
Then it is safe to assume you are of the opinion that you and other residents of TT constitutional rights are the same as it was prior to the SoE?
Stephon. wrote:bluefete wrote:Stephon. wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:rfari wrote::|
Makes my heart smile
So Stephon: The big shot, respectable, business men and women who living by you and responsible for financing the cocaine and guns that the boys and girls in the "ghettoes" using,and also for financing the PP and PNM, must continue living like normal.
IMO, this curfew should deal with BOTH the financiers and the pushers.
I'm not going to comment on something that is just he say she say BS.
Stephon. wrote:No, what you're doing is slander as you do not have any proof to present. I guess it's just a Trinidad stereo typeAnybody in a "cool spot" in a business suit that manages a business, automatically finances the drug trade
AbstractPoetic wrote:rfari wrote::|
All I'll say is...all these random arrests in the ghettoes, seizure of ammunition (8 thus far), curfews and the whole bit is all a circus performance. Unfortunately you and your civil liberties were taken away for the pappy show.
If folks cannot see the bigger picture here, I don't know what to tell you.
rfari wrote:AP you remind me of this woman