Re: National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Postby tr1ad » November 16th, 2012, 1:06 pm

KURMAman wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Amazing how how every tom, dick and harrypersad trade unions are striking under the PP. When under PNM they were all like mouse.

x10..

and during all de oil/natural gas boom as well eh...

You see we have to look at all these so-called goverment trade unions, most of them are run by PNM and would do anything to strike or make any goverment but PNM look bad.

is that propaganda?

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2012, 1:19 pm

tr1ad wrote:
KURMAman wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Amazing how how every tom, dick and harrypersad trade unions are striking under the PP. When under PNM they were all like mouse.

x10..

You see we have to look at all these so-called goverment trade unions, most of them are run by PNM and would do anything to strike or make any goverment but PNM look bad.

is that propaganda?

No it is not Aniset is a known PNM, so is the other half of the PSC

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 16th, 2012, 1:22 pm

A union is merely a gathering of Lazy arse people who dont want to work but want more money

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2012, 1:27 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:A union is merely a gathering of Lazy arse people who dont want to work but want more money

I would not say so, unions are needed to keep things in order. There are too many greedy businessmen and companies that take advantage on the worker.
What has spoited the unions is the undercover PNM operations within the union. PNM uses the unions for their own advantage. Why you think Rowley wants unions on his side now?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 16th, 2012, 1:31 pm

Conrad wrote:
KURMAman wrote:

x10..

Crock of mess, several union President Generals actually encouraged staff to vote in favour of the PP especially as the PNM were making moves to reform local government.

Well tell me why they did not strike/protess under PNM?
where does that leave Aniset and the other half of the PNMs PSC . Dont forget teachers union are pro PNM.

Trade unions have a politics of their own. When I worked in one I couldn't believe the lack of common sense and blatant robbery of the poor man.

BTW, I "participated" (as staff you HAVE to walk unless you have a pretty good reason not to) in a protest that ended in Woodford Sq., that was under the last gov't administration from memory.

I dare say union leaders were in arms with the present ruling party however once they got into office a lot of the promises made were not kept. How else you think several President Generals and other union men got posts on state boards like WASA and HDC?

Postby RBphoto » November 16th, 2012, 1:34 pm

Some cntractors (about 30, various overalls) congregating in Tropical Plaza today. I guess they working Petrotrin turnover and have some grouse.... Will let alyuh know if anything comes out of that, but they eventually went back to work.

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2012, 1:36 pm

^^^ Dude I too had my fair share in a union and could not beleive how it was run by PNM telling them when are where to strike under Pandays term. That union was more concern about PNM mandate rather that seeking whats best for the worker.

Postby j.o.e » November 16th, 2012, 1:38 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:A union is merely a gathering of Lazy arse people who dont want to work but want more money

I would not say so, unions are needed to keep things in order. There are too many greedy businessmen and companies that take advantage on the worker.
What has spoited the unions is the undercover PNM operations within the union. PNM uses the unions for their own advantage. Why you think Rowley wants unions on his side now?

hmmm...wonder who thought of this brilliant strategy?

Nevermind
labour copy.jpg
labour copy.jpg (36.09 KiB) Viewed 1728 times

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2012, 1:41 pm

j.o.e wrote:

What has spoited the unions is the undercover PNM operations within the union. PNM uses the unions for their own advantage. Why you think Rowley wants unions on his side now?[/quote]

Nevermind

where is Aniset. PSC or TTUTA in the pic?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 16th, 2012, 1:47 pm

j.o.e wrote:

What has spoited the unions is the undercover PNM operations within the union. PNM uses the unions for their own advantage. Why you think Rowley wants unions on his side now?[/quote]

Nevermind

Union leaders like politicians constantly change sides to suit their own agenda i.e. maximising their membership dues.

All servants sing for their supper, sadly in the case of governance the "masters" often PUT themselves under the very heels of their servants.

Postby j.o.e » November 16th, 2012, 1:49 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Nevermind

Sorry its only bad to have the support of certain trade unionists? the point is Opposition parties all around the world gather support from the masses that are dissatisfied at the point. Trade unionists,tea party movements, minorities, environmentalists, whoever. All parties have done it locally also. Get over it dude.

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2012, 1:57 pm

^^ nothing to get over dude. my point is why now we have all these PNM lead trade union looking to strike/protess under PP when they had far worse under PNM.

Postby j.o.e » November 16th, 2012, 2:01 pm

you do realise that the PP was supported by the labour movement and anti smelter movement right? Its not a "PNM thing".
The MSJ which was a PP partner was basically a labour party. I think your point is invalid.

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2012, 2:11 pm

j.o.e wrote:you do realise that the PP was supported by the labour movement and anti smelter movement right? Its not a "PNM thing".
The MSJ which was a PP partner was basically a labour party. I think your point is invalid.

Did you not read where I said the PNM unions, Aniset, other half of PSC and TTUTA.
Anit smelter movement is not a trade union

Postby Hook » November 16th, 2012, 2:20 pm

Please remind us what a "PNM union" is.

Postby zoom rader » November 16th, 2012, 2:28 pm

Hook wrote:Please remind us what a "PNM union" is.

Within certain trade unions there are high ranking members that take/follow PNM directives. I was a member of one of these certain trade unions are saw it first hand when Panday had his first term in office. Thats is what is meant by a PNM trade union, its looks like a normal union but is controlled by the PNM and does nothing for the worker.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 16th, 2012, 2:41 pm

I would just like to thank ttuta for their day of rest, I was able to get transport easily after leaving home an entire later this morning

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 16th, 2012, 2:45 pm

Hook wrote:Please remind us what a "PNM union" is.

that is what would have happened had msj gotten through with their intended coalition with the pnm....

Postby Hook » November 16th, 2012, 2:49 pm

Cool, thanks.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 16th, 2012, 2:52 pm

I hope you know I jest eh man Hook....

aight it stale....ah gonna do ah 20 push ups just for dat... :oops:

Postby Hook » November 16th, 2012, 3:01 pm

:lol: I realize you kixing long time

Postby j.o.e » November 16th, 2012, 3:46 pm

you know what amazes me about this Gov't and its supporters. You all win the election have a huge majority. Won seats previously prized by the PNM.
Yet still there all these ppl working against you covertly, the media,unions,bloggers etc.
Just run d damn country.. obviously ppl who were not traditionally your voters took a gamble on you. Do a good job and keep them on your side.
Trade unions and the media are not there to be your friends...they have a love/hate relationship with political parties and their agents. Just do d wuk you were hired to do. If the PNMites yall speak of were so stubborn and numerous you would not have had a chance to run the country.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 16th, 2012, 11:35 pm

successful rest day for teachers as the majority of schools had a low student turnout

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/TTU ... 57621.html

TTUTA to 'rest' 2 more days next week
Story Created: Nov 16, 2012 at 11:01 PM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 16, 2012 at 11:04 PM ECT
The Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers Association (TTUTA) is planning another two days of "rest and reflection" next week.
Teachers stayed off the job yesterday in protest over the slow pace of negotiations for a new wage offer.
TTUTA president Roustan Job said the two days of "R&R" next week could be avoided if the Chief Personnel Officer (CPO) improves the current wage offer on the negotiation table.
"When you do the maths, it's between four and five per cent," Job said.
He made the statement at a Joint Trade Union Movement (JTUM) media conference at Communication Workers Union Hall on Henry Street, Port of Spain.
"The teachers are getting fed up and the visible action would be stepped up. Next week Thursday, Friday will be R and R, rest and reflect. That is the point they push us to. We are out of the schools today (yesterday), we are hoping that good sense prevails on the part of the CPO and her employer."
Job said the teachers would like to be at their jobs, but were "forced" to protest to improve their wages.
Teachers also staged a picket outside the CPO's office on St Vincent Street, Port of Spain, which Job and the leaders of the JTUM joined after the conference.

Postby Hook » November 17th, 2012, 6:37 am

:lol: low student turnout, but teachers generally don't have any sick leave left in November

The few schools I pass on my way to work, I hardly saw students, but the car parks full as per usual. In my mom's school, 38 out of 50-something teachers showed up.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 17th, 2012, 6:47 pm

Hook wrote::lol: low student turnout, but teachers generally don't have any sick leave left in November

not really.......they are entitled to extended sick leave.......

Postby Hook » November 18th, 2012, 6:13 am

^^^ and ministry is going to approve extended sick leave on R&R days? :lol: right...right...

Postby X_Factor » November 18th, 2012, 9:56 am

i am sure those who dont have sick days to take will go to school
based on the leave regulations, the ministry could even cause problems if teachers apply for occasional leave on those days as well

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 18th, 2012, 10:12 am

Hook wrote:^^^ and ministry is going to approve extended sick leave on R&R days? :lol: right...right...

yes...of course.......once you have a medical......

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 18th, 2012, 10:13 am

X_Factor wrote:i am sure those who dont have sick days to take will go to school
based on the leave regulations, the ministry could even cause problems if teachers apply for occasional leave on those days as well

u guys dont get it dont u......

once the students stay home then teachers wouldnt mind going to school.....would be an easy day to rest and relax in school........

Postby X_Factor » November 18th, 2012, 10:19 am

^thats partly true
but the ministry calls for the records of present and absent for both teachers and pupils
so if the teachers do go to school, the ministry will have the records and when they go to negotiations they could laugh at the union and show the figures therefore not taking the union serious
so if the teacher does go to school for an easy day,it really defeats the purpose