Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby tr1ad » December 30th, 2010, 9:22 am

it is dual boot as well.... if i eh want the froyo i swith to wm

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » December 30th, 2010, 9:41 am

tr1ad wrote:it is dual boot as well.... if i eh want the froyo i swith to wm

ent yuh last phone get dual boot as well?

Postby tr1ad » December 30th, 2010, 9:44 am

daas boot

sablo77

Postby sablo77 » December 30th, 2010, 11:15 am

anywhere i cud upgrade my g1 android software plus change my housing

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » December 31st, 2010, 1:02 pm

sablo77 wrote:anywhere i cud upgrade my g1 android software plus change my housing

I don't know.. its not that hard to upgrade the firmware for the HTC G1. Scroll back a few pages cause some1 was asking how to do it.

On a side note, X10 users :-
Newest rom by SE has been rooted with JIT installed, Check it out.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=890728&page=7

Postby RASC » December 31st, 2010, 2:50 pm

Last edited by RASC on January 11th, 2011, 3:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 2nd, 2011, 7:42 pm

Vizio reveals Via Tablet and Phone with Android

Vizio made its name by packing high end features into value-priced HDTVs and it's taking that mentality to new areas, revealing the tablet we spotted in last night's Rose Bowl ad as the 8-inch Via Tablet and a 4-inch Via Phone. Both will be running Android and while CTO Matthew McRae didn't spill any OS details to the Wall Street Journal, the combination of confirmed Market access and odd button configuration has us thinking Honeycomb is in the works when they are released this summer. The only Via Phone details mentioned are screen size and its front and 5MP rear cameras, while the tablet promises a "high resolution" screen, WiFi, three speakers, HDMI out and front facing camera -- but no cellular service.

http://goo.gl/QwVDs

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » January 3rd, 2011, 6:41 pm

Guys, I'm having a hard time configuring tstt email on the Galaxy S. Every time I put in the settings, I get a message saying that it is unable to open connection to server. What am I doing wrong?

Settings are as follows:

Username: xxxxxxxxx@tstt.net.tt
Password: xxxxxxxx
POP server: pop.gmail.com
Port: 110

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » January 3rd, 2011, 6:47 pm

^^ i am having problems setting up my yahoo mail account on my galaxy s also, i keep getting an error.

On a side note, can anyone point me to an animated weather app for trinidad that looks like the one on the HTC Hd 2, looking for any other good apps, suggestions welcome.

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » January 3rd, 2011, 7:39 pm

nevermind
Last edited by zer0xp on January 3rd, 2011, 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 3rd, 2011, 7:48 pm

~*SiLvA MeRa*~ wrote:
On a side note, can anyone point me to an animated weather app for trinidad that looks like the one on the HTC Hd 2, looking for any other good apps, suggestions welcome.

Weather Widget - Free together with Weather Widget - Forecast Addon

http://goo.gl/HhPCk
http://goo.gl/4DcBc

Postby honda hoe » January 3rd, 2011, 9:03 pm

Does it make sense changing my nexus one for a galaxy s?

I think the phones are basically identical

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 3rd, 2011, 9:08 pm

honda hoe wrote:Does it make sense changing my nexus one for a galaxy s?

I think the phones are basically identical

only reason i would upgrade from my N1 is for at least 16GB internal storage and a front facing cam.

and remember only Google phones get OS updates b4 everybody else. ur not even guaranteed to get an OS update for certain phones...

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 3rd, 2011, 9:17 pm

^which is exactly what goin on with the SGS right now... :( :(

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 3rd, 2011, 9:24 pm

^u havent tried custom ROMs?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 3rd, 2011, 9:39 pm

^I've been thinking bout it...but ill hold off for a while. Kinda scared about bricking the phone.

:oops: :oops:

Postby M_2NR » January 3rd, 2011, 10:25 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^I've been thinking bout it...but ill hold off for a while. Kinda scared about bricking the phone.

:oops: :oops:

thought about u guys after seeing this:
http://www.mobile-review.com/fullnews/main/index_eng.shtml#32023

Froyo Coming To American Galaxy S 'As Soon As Possible'

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 3rd, 2011, 10:47 pm

^doesnt help us who bought our SGS through bmobile...we got a latin american version :|

Postby Greypatch » January 4th, 2011, 12:47 pm

ah holding on to my N1 for the moment...will work around the internal memory.

Not too interested in the FF camera at the moment as well.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 4th, 2011, 8:59 pm

CES 2011 madness has begun! let the Android news roll in...

1st off...the Optimus Black looks sweet! hope it's not a 4G phone.

LG Optimus Black and LTE-equipped Revolution coming to CES

LG is busily preparing its CES presentation area right now, where the well known Optimus 2X is being joined by a pair of intriguing new devices, the Revolution you see above, an LTE-connected handset that seems destined to ride Verizon's minty fresh 4G network, and an Optimus Black (pictured after the break). The latter handset promises the "power of light" housed within an "innovatively slim smartphone with the best display clarity." Both the allusions to slimness -- we've found specs listing it as a 9.2mm-thick device with a 4-inch screen -- and display prowess match up to the LG "B" device we've seen leak out previously, which LG itself promised will be launching at CES. Other details include Wi-Fi Direct certification and the world's first two megapixel front-facing camera. It's gonna be a fun week, to be sure.

http://goo.gl/0JK7g

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 4th, 2011, 9:04 pm

ASUS Eee Pad Slider and Transformer are here for those that can't imagine using a tablet without a physical keyboard

Here they are: ASUS's duo of Tegra 2-powered, 10.1-inch tablets with unique physical keyboards. Starting with the craziest of them, is the Eee Pad Slider (pictured on the left), which reminds us a lot of HTC's old school Shift with its slide out QWERTY keyboard. The device is planned to run Google's Honeycomb, sports a IPS, 1280 x 800-resolution display, and houses mini-HDMI and miniUSB ports as well as a microSD card slot. The 2.2-pound / .5-inch thick slab also has dual cameras -- a 1.2 megapixel front-facing one and a 5 megapixel one with an LED flash on the back.
We have to say we love the idea of always having that keyboard around, but if you don't want to drag along a physical keyboard all the time, ASUS has something for you too. It's the Transformer, and like the Eee Pad we saw at Computex, it's a 10.1-inch tablet that will come with a laptop like dock with a full size keyboard and touchpad. The tablet part -- like the Slider -- will run Android 3.0 and packs a dual-core Tegra 2 processor, two cameras, and a 1280 x 800-resolution IPS display, however, the dock has an integrated battery that will keep the tablet running for 16 hours on a charge -- the tablet on its own should last eight. We're obviously aching in our seats here waiting to get these two in our hands so stay tuned for some crazy videos of the two in action -- until then we leave you with the specs after the break.

Update: How much will it cost you to keyboard-ify your slate and how long will you have to wait? ASUS says the Transformer will run between $400 and $700 and the Slider from $500 to $800. Expect them in April and May respectively.

http://goo.gl/MJSSv

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 4th, 2011, 9:09 pm

ASUS Eee Pad MeMO tablet takes a pen out of the Courier's book

Yeah, we're in full-on tablet overload mode, but that doesn't mean there isn't any room for innovation. In fact, ASUS's Eee Pad MeMO is surprisingly fresh in its take on this already-so-worn subject. The 7-inch, 1024 x 600 tablet runs Android 3.0 (which doesn't exist yet, but we won't tell ASUS if you won't), with a dual-core 1.2GHz Qualcomm 8260 processor under the hood and dual cameras (1.2 megapixel front, 5 megapixel rear with LED flash). That's all very nice, but the highlight is a capacitive stylus and two included apps to make the best use of it. Media Note is a scrapbook / note taking application, while Painter allows you to use the stylus as a pressure-sensitive drawing instrument. They're probably nothing too special just now, but the prospect of pressure-sensitivity on a handheld tablet is alluring, particularly for the artists among us that thought they'd left the iPad's fingerpainting methods back in kindergarten. MeMO's other standout might not win it so many fans, but it's still worth noting. ASUS calls the device "a perfect blend of tablet and smartphone," and uses a stereo Bluetooth headset dubbed the "MeMic" media phone extender to make the experience a bit more phone-like. We'll reserve judgement for when we see more than a render of MeMic in action. No word on price or release for the MeMO right now, but hopefully we'll know more soon. Until then we can keep our eyes set on Honeycomb's supposed March timeframe -- a river of tablets will carry us there.

Update: ASUS says the Eee Pad MeMO will start at $499, and debut in June.

http://goo.gl/huZxn

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 4th, 2011, 9:12 pm

Sony poster at CES shows unannounced, extremely slim-looking phone (update: probably the Anzu)

Sony's CES banners have been unfurled around the Las Vegas Convention Center here and one of them has a particularly alluring, and particularly skinny, phone to show us. The above image of half a touchscreen handset (more closeup photography of which you'll find in the gallery below) shows a Sony Ericsson brand and what looks like a 3.5mm headphone jack -- the latter of which would suggest that this phone is no more than six or seven millimeters thick. Even more enticing is the promise of "more entertainment at the touch of a button," suggesting some processing and graphics firepower contained within as well -- could it be SE's answer to the dual-core LG Optimus 2X? We get the feeling we'll love this thing whatever the hell's inside it.

Update: Closer investigation of the imagery has led us to believe this is probably the Anzu / X12 that we first saw back in November. That device's claim to fame was a 4.3-inch display allied to a "very, very thin" profile.

http://goo.gl/CTDK1

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 4th, 2011, 9:18 pm

Sony's PlayStation Phone finally gets Xperia, PlayStation logos

We've heard of the mysterious, still-totally-unofficial PlayStation Phone running Android 2.2 in the past, but we'd also heard it could run 3.0 -- thing is, that was back before we knew Gingerbread would be 2.3, so it's possible that those 3.0 rumors ended up materializing as 2.3. Capiche? Anyhow, this is the first time we're seeing the Xperia Play (or Zeus Z1, or whatever it'll end up being called) running 2.3 in the wild, doing its thing next to a white Xperia X10 to give you an idea of scale. The lucky poster actually has two of the phones available, so they seem to be leaking out of factories in sufficient quantities now to suggest that it'll likely be announced soon -- or so we hope, anyway. CES? MWC? We'll know soon enough. Follow the break for the 2.3 evidence up close.

Also notable: these appear to be new hardware builds that feature refined touch surfaces -- notice the engraved circles -- along with PlayStation-themed and Xperia logos at the bottom (notice the telltale square, triangle, X, and circle shapes). The screen shots call out a model number of R800i, which has previously been associated with the Zeus... so this is definitely lining up nicely.

http://goo.gl/2JNYB

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 5th, 2011, 1:23 pm

triad, u cud just flash using a nand and u doh hav to worry bout dual boot an thing and the android does run plenty smoother...cyah go wrong trust me, runnin real sweet on the hd2...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=893948

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=894423