Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby st7 » January 12th, 2023, 6:07 pm

st7 wrote:realll beat up during a work day... allyuh doh have jobs or allyuh is public servants?

When you could understand flexibility, or have your own business and rest back when you feel like you would understand.

How was school today bro?

school was good, i saw you there hanging around by the gate trying to pick up teenage boys. the palour slow these days i imagine, school start back.

Postby adnj » January 12th, 2023, 6:13 pm

sMASH wrote:
sMASH wrote:Selective breeding.

If ur sick, is either ur weak or tat strain is strong. So in latter case, stay home to prevent a strong strain from propagating.

If ur not affected but infected, then move about. Cause that strain is weak. So when that spread, it would not be a strain that will be too mild to cause trouble.
And if that replaces the strong strains, u will get a mild virus, instead of a bad one.

That effect is being seen now with influenza.

Because people couldn't spread the flu, there was no way to separate the weak from the stronger strains, so all were available when we cake out of lock duwns and back to schools.

So, everybody getting the different stains, mold and strong, and getting take out.

It will take a few more months for the weaker strains to out compete the stringer strains, and go back to being minor.

The lockdowns gave them the opportunity to sell a Vax fir another virus.

Mash,

Thanks but you strayed a bit away from my initial quote which was the effectiveness of masks. Now u mentioned, “stay home to prevent a strong strain from propagating”….if someone does not stay home, how can they propagate exactly? The virus does not seep from your ears, skin, eyes or genitals….it comes from your nose and mouth….cover it.

Mask are effective, people are just uncooperative and inconsiderate.

I like your points about the strain though.
If over 90 % of the population get covee, the masks didnt work.
Masks are like toothbrushes; if you use them correctly, they work great.

Wherever you are right now, look around; get an understanding of the subtly of this post.

Postby MaxPower » January 12th, 2023, 6:18 pm

adnj wrote:Masks are like toothbrushes; if you use them correctly, they work great.

Wherever you are right now, look around; get an understanding of the subtly of this post.

X3000

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 12th, 2023, 9:03 pm

Show me a mask where the manufacturer claims that it can stop the spread of covid-19.

Postby maj. tom » January 12th, 2023, 9:15 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

Show me a mask where the manufacturer claims that it can stop the spread of covid-19.

Along that same line: Show me a toothbrush where the manufacturer claims that it can stop the spread of cavities.

You're one of those paid blogging weird people on Trinituner. Always jumping out with some dotish non-sequitur statement. Like when you said what the minister of education doing to stop crime.

Wear your mask or don't wear it. Hush yuh ass.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 12th, 2023, 9:16 pm

^From Sciatica pain to Covid a gain boi, plenty problems.

Postby adnj » January 12th, 2023, 9:17 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

Go to a mirror. Look at your curry-stained teeth.

Any questions?

Postby st7 » January 12th, 2023, 9:23 pm

maj. tom wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Along that same line: Show me a toothbrush where the manufacturer claims that it can stop the spread of cavities.

You're one of those paid blogging weird people on Trinituner. Always jumping out with some dotish non-sequitur statement. Like when you said what the minister of education doing to stop crime.

Postby MaxPower » January 12th, 2023, 9:38 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

Mmonz dem fellas roasting yuh here boi.

Again, if someone covid positive coughs in your face, what are your chances of getting infected? Pretty high not so?

Now what if you wear a mask, just as medical personnel have being doing for decades upon decades, what are your chances? Soldier we talking about droplets exiting the nose and mouth…a well constructed layered mask can trap these particles.

Fellas we overthinking this Covid thing. We knew what to do all along from elementary school and early parenting which is to cover your nose and mouth when coughing and sneezing and washing your hands.

Basic basic hygiene etiquette.

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2023, 9:53 pm

adnj wrote:Masks are like toothbrushes; if you use them correctly, they work great.

X3000
A mask is not like a tooth brush.
A mask IS a filter, it can only stop things bigger than its pore size.
The pore size of a cloth mask is way bigger than a virus.

Viruses will pass through the labyrinth of fibers, eventually.

But I will play devils advocate.
If the people didn't wear them properly before, so that over 90% of the population get infected, what change that u think it will work now?

If u all want to wear it, wear it. But leff that out of mandatory realm.

Imagine, a govt so wise about preventing covid, allowed masks to worn with exhalation valves.

They don't understand one ass what they doing and why.
All they have is the alarmist play book to rule up the gullible, to take money from the treasury to buy vaxes.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 12th, 2023, 9:58 pm

maj. tom wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Dohtish AF

Toothbrushes were DESIGNED to clean your teeth,

Surgical Masks were designed to stop you from breathing in or spitting while you talk in an open surgical incision or preventing body fluids from squirting in mouth/nose why doing procedures.

Cloth masks were designed to be a fashion accessory.

See the subtle difference? Ohhhh who the hell Am I kidding ... THis will fly straight over you whiny lil beyotches head.
Wear your mask if you want to and stop demanding and bitching incessantly that others do the same.

Postby maj. tom » January 12th, 2023, 10:04 pm

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 12th, 2023, 10:10 pm

https://examples.yourdictionary.com/analogy-ex.html
"How to use an analogy with simple explanations"

Its sad that you actually need to read this :shock:

Postby adnj » January 12th, 2023, 10:14 pm

drchaos wrote:
maj. tom wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Dohtish AF

Toothbrushes were DESIGNED to clean your teeth,

Surgical Masks were designed to stop you from breathing in or spitting while you talk in an open surgical incision or preventing body fluids from squirting in mouth/nose why doing procedures.

Cloth masks were designed to be a fashion accessory.

See the subtle difference? Ohhhh who the hell Am I kidding ... THis will fly straight over you whiny lil beyotches head.
Wear your mask if you want to and stop demanding and bitching incessantly that others do the same.
See those stupid kids you have at home? Swinging from the refrigerator door, drooling and pissing themselves? That’s because of contraception use error.

Postby MaxPower » January 12th, 2023, 10:15 pm

Friends,

We are having these exact discussions we had from the very beginning of this Pandemic.

What have we learnt?

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2023, 10:16 pm

tell them nah, when the fake stats talk going to start?

MaxPower wrote:Friends,

We are having these exact discussions we had from the very beginning of this Pandemic.

What have we learnt?

Postby adnj » January 12th, 2023, 10:23 pm

pugboy wrote:tell them nah, when the fake stats talk going to start?

What have we learnt?
How many hospital beds does St. Anns have set aside for the stupid-crazy surge that just started?

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2023, 10:30 pm

What have we learnt?
Allyuh need to learn the masks don't work.
And to stop mandating it cause u all feel frightened

Postby redmanjp » January 12th, 2023, 10:41 pm

the virus travels via droplets. not by itself. those droplets will get trapped in the mask once its a multilayered one. sure some may escape but it would be much less than if no mask was worn and less viral particles are less likely to infect - and even if they do less virus means low chance of severe infection resulting in a stay at hospital.

Postby adnj » January 12th, 2023, 11:02 pm

sMASH wrote:

What have we learnt?

The slow kids are making noise again.

High performance biodegradable aerosol respirators for SARS-CoV-2 prevention

https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/1 ... pdf=button

wing

Postby wing » January 12th, 2023, 11:02 pm

sMASH wrote:

What have we learnt?
What's the Delta P across a cloth mask vs a N95 mask?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 12th, 2023, 11:10 pm

maj. tom wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

That would be toothpaste or mouthwash.

Why do we think that a mask manufactured to stop droplets during surgery or to stop inhalation of dust will prevent spread of a virus? The manufacturers don't even make that claim :D

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 12th, 2023, 11:14 pm

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:

What have we learnt?

The slow kids are making noise again.

High performance biodegradable aerosol respirators for SARS-CoV-2 prevention

https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/1 ... pdf=button

If I were a manufacturer of masks I would put that on the box. But wait, no manufacturers have done that as yet even after extensive research

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2023, 11:14 pm

wing wrote:
sMASH wrote:

What have we learnt?
Instantaneously or across a time period?

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2023, 11:16 pm

redmanjp wrote:

the virus travels via droplets. not by itself. those droplets will get trapped in the mask once its a multilayered one. sure some may escape but it would be much less than if no mask was worn and less viral particles are less likely to infect - and even if they do less virus means low chance of severe infection resulting in a stay at hospital.
Yes it works for droplets. But the droplets dry out and reduce in size...
Evaporation, bro...

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 12th, 2023, 11:19 pm

wing wrote:
sMASH wrote:

What have we learnt?

So in the start when the experts said definitively that wearing a mask was MORE dangerous than not wearing one, what were your views?

Postby adnj » January 13th, 2023, 12:17 am

Full moon tonight. The trolls have turned into jackasses.

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2023, 12:51 am

adnj wrote:Full moon tonight. The trolls have turned into jackasses.
Mask up and jab up, to stop the spread of covee.

Postby paid_influencer » January 13th, 2023, 7:26 am

Postby adnj » January 13th, 2023, 8:07 am

maj. tom wrote:Found some more info: the booster shots are not updated bivalent vaccines. Same old J&J and Sinopharm from last year. No Pfizer, Moderna or Novavax updates. Yeah you can take those as a booster, but what is the point? That's like taking the 2021 flu vaccine for the 2023 season since we now know much more about how rapidly Covid-19 evolves.
Together, the two studies “suggest that with this rapidly evolving virus, vaccines developed for different strains are not going to add a huge difference in terms of protection,” said Dr. Greg Poland, director of the Mayo Clinic’s Vaccine Research Group.

It appears that human immune systems “imprint” after exposure to the first mRNA COVID vaccines, experts say. They are primed to respond to aspects of the original COVID-19 strain that are shared by all the variants, rather than the novel mutations sported by newer variants.

“It may be that people’s immune systems are so primed to respond to the ancestral strain spike protein that a reformulated booster is unable to fully stimulate the immune system because it has been ‘imprinted’ by the original version of the virus,” said Dr. Amesh Adalja, a senior scholar with the Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security.

The upshot — people will receive a temporary increase in COVID-19 antibodies from a bivalent booster, but the antibodies aren’t necessarily that much better at targeting newer variants.

If you've been previously infected, and studies indicate that nearly everyone has, exposure to a newer strain will have no incremental effect on your immune system, either.

https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMc2213948

https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMc2213907