Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Chimera » December 23rd, 2022, 9:31 pm

adnj wrote:
︎ Sort your fittings by type and size.
︎ Put each in a separate, clear plastic bag.
︎ Store all of the all of fittings in a larger container dedicated to a single size of pipe.
︎ Seperate and store valves, compression couplings, traps, etc., by type only - keep all of the sizes together.

yeah i doing exactly that right now

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2022, 9:32 pm

there has been a shortage of 3/4" unions for the past few weeks, months

Rovin wrote:pvc small fittings even lengths of pipeline imo still cheap so when i have a lil something to fix i always buy extras in case when u doing d fix u realise u didnt account for something & u dont want to get ur self in a bind where u dont have water

new fittings & pipelines is something that doh spoil so better u buy\have extra than less especially when u doing something after hardware closing hrs or on sundays or holidays ...

Postby Chimera » December 24th, 2022, 6:29 am

pugboy wrote:there has been a shortage of 3/4" unions for the past few weeks, months

Rovin wrote:pvc small fittings even lengths of pipeline imo still cheap so when i have a lil something to fix i always buy extras in case when u doing d fix u realise u didnt account for something & u dont want to get ur self in a bind where u dont have water

new fittings & pipelines is something that doh spoil so better u buy\have extra than less especially when u doing something after hardware closing hrs or on sundays or holidays ...
Bhagwansingh trincity has for sure.
And all dem pump supply shops

Pics vs what I always have...to what I presently doing
20221223_195908.jpg
20221223_195906.jpg
20221223_195852.jpg
20221223_195847.jpg

Postby Dave » December 24th, 2022, 8:42 am

I bought one of these years ago for that purpose.
https://pin.tt/adv/334363_small-siphon-pumps/
hindian wrote:Where can I get a manual hand pump to put oil back into my gearbox and to fill diff oil?

Postby Rovin » December 24th, 2022, 9:49 am

last time i bought fittings was about 2mths ago so i didnt see any shortage of anything back then

just a heads up for those who dont know - price club also sell pvc fittings at decent prices ... just last saturday gone i bought some 3/4 plastic taps for $10 there when all over is at least $15-20, where it going pipers does teef out d metal taps

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 24th, 2022, 10:19 am

What's the cost on a PVC bender?

Postby pugboy » December 25th, 2022, 5:55 pm

any hardwares open tomorrow (boxing day) ?
need some nuts and bolts

Promised a padna in bamboo to weld up a lil bed for charity and have the time now with some steel I have.

Postby Dave » December 25th, 2022, 6:41 pm

Yadali in Mt Hope would be open.

Postby pugboy » December 25th, 2022, 6:47 pm

location?
on main rd ?

Dave wrote:Yadali in Mt Hope would be open.

Postby Dave » December 26th, 2022, 8:00 am

Corner Mt Hope Rd and Emr in the vicinity of Bermudez

matix

Postby matix » December 26th, 2022, 8:07 am

DMan7 wrote:What's the cost on a PVC bender?

1/2”, 3/4”, 1”? For electrical it starts at $25 and goes up.

Postby Dave » December 26th, 2022, 9:29 am

He didn't open
pugboy wrote:location?
on main rd ?

Dave wrote:Yadali in Mt Hope would be open.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 26th, 2022, 10:29 am

matix wrote:

What about the cutter?

matix

Postby matix » December 26th, 2022, 10:40 am

DMan7 wrote:
matix wrote:

What about the cutter?

I bought a Klein for $350 maybe 8 years ago, still using it to this day. There’s some rattans branded ones for $50 to $100

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 29th, 2022, 2:10 pm

It's there anywhere locally that sells rivnuts?

If I don't get through down here I'll just bring it in with the tool

Postby *KRONIK* » December 29th, 2022, 2:12 pm

Kronik wrote:It's there anywhere locally that sells rivnuts?

Lotec/python

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 29th, 2022, 2:23 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:

Lotec/python
Where python is?
Lotec as in the one on the rivulet 2 mins away from me?

Postby pugboy » December 29th, 2022, 2:44 pm

yea on rivulet
phaeton is the name of their branch in tacarigua

Postby *KRONIK* » December 29th, 2022, 7:23 pm

Kronik wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Lotec/python
Where python is?
Lotec as in the one on the rivulet 2 mins away from me?
Yea

Postby Rovin » December 29th, 2022, 7:35 pm

boi generally speaking is to bring ur own ting & to fack away with some local price killers yes ...

matix

Postby matix » December 29th, 2022, 10:20 pm

Bring it in, way cheaper and you’ll get a variety of sizes.

trinigoon

Postby trinigoon » December 31st, 2022, 7:56 am

Hey anyone interested in an Ridgid impact wrench kit R86212 Pm or call meh
IMG_20221208_213548.jpg

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 31st, 2022, 8:02 am

^Only if it's free. :D

hindian

Postby hindian » January 4th, 2023, 10:49 pm

Guys where will I find 3/8” x 2” brass nuts and bolts tuh buy? Or something to stand up to high heat cycles without rusting or corroding? I have a 50+ year old arc welding machine that works perfectly but the lead connectors are steel nuts and bolts that on they last legs so the arcing and heating up the leads and the connectors inside the machine. Suggestions welcomed.

Postby adnj » January 4th, 2023, 11:27 pm

hindian wrote:Guys where will I find 3/8” x 2” brass nuts and bolts tuh buy? Or something to stand up to high heat cycles without rusting or corroding? I have a 50+ year old arc welding machine that works perfectly but the lead connectors are steel nuts and bolts that on they last legs so the arcing and heating up the leads and the connectors inside the machine. Suggestions welcomed.
Brass fasteners are usually available at a yachting supply store. Try Peake Trading in POS.

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2023, 5:19 am

they must have been loose to be arcing

hindian

Postby hindian » January 5th, 2023, 5:40 am

pugboy wrote:they must have been loose to be arcing

Yes because they started rusting and not making proper contact regardless of how many times you clean it. I’ll check Peakes for that hardware

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2023, 5:47 am

see if you can put on detachable lead connectors like dinse type

you should consider a modern igbt inverter welder
size of a shoebox and less than 10lbs in weight for almost same power
will cost you less than $700 to skybox in

hindian wrote:

Yes because they started rusting and not making proper contact regardless of how many times you clean it. I’ll check Peakes for that hardware

hindian

Postby hindian » January 5th, 2023, 6:14 am

pugboy wrote:see if you can put on detachable lead connectors like dinse type

you should consider a modern igbt inverter welder
size of a shoebox and less than 10lbs in weight for almost same power
will cost you less than $700 to skybox in

hindian wrote:

I would like to upgrade but I can’t justify the purchase because I don’t use it all that often maybe 3 times for the year so it might be more practical to keep this one going with minor modifications/ repairs. It’s the old school shunt type transformer welder made in Italy EMacs is the brand name. I already upgraded the cooling to a 6” brushless type a few years ago. The duty cycle is off the charts with that little machine though. It takes anything I can throw at it. I did all the steelwork myself with it when I was building my house a few years ago.

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2023, 7:58 am

you need to weld more