PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Captain Awesome

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Captain Awesome » April 24th, 2014, 5:53 am

Any film on the CPU heat spreader? Check to make sure the heat sink is fitting tight and snug on the mount. Also what thermal paste you using if any.

Postby Spitfir3 » April 24th, 2014, 1:34 pm

planning on buying an aftermarket cooler eventually im thinking of either

http://www.amazon.com/ARCTIC-Alpine-Pro ... am3+cooler
OR
http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Con ... am3+cooler

what you guys think?which would be the better way to go regarding the top mounted fan vs the side mount? i mainly want to know if its worth forking out the extra $$ for the cooler master

i won't be going liquid cooling as i don't think its necessary since i don't overclock or anything but this stock amd heatsink and fan is pure sheit

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 24th, 2014, 2:55 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:planning on buying an aftermarket cooler eventually im thinking of either

http://www.amazon.com/ARCTIC-Alpine-Pro ... am3+cooler
OR
http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Con ... am3+cooler

what you guys think?which would be the better way to go regarding the top mounted fan vs the side mount? i mainly want to know if its worth forking out the extra $$ for the cooler master

i won't be going liquid cooling as i don't think its necessary since i don't overclock or anything but this stock amd heatsink and fan is pure sheit

What issue are you having with the stock cooler (too noisy/poor cooling/combination of both)
It helps to know what processor you are currently trying to cool and maybe the type of case as well

I prefer tower heatsinks (side mounted fan) they are very good at keeping your processor cool but suffer from a couple of drawbacks;
1. Cooling of components around the Processor is not as good as a down-draft cooler (top mounted fan)
2. the weight can be a problem for some motherboards depending on the weight of the cooler itself

The height can be a problem as well...it might not fit in some of the narrower tower cases and the fins might not clear VRM heatsinks or RAM Heatspreaders.

I really don't want to advise you to get something that might be overkill for your situation

I had a tower heatsink to cool my overclocked system in the past but my current system doesn't need that much cooling so i don't use it anymore :)

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 24th, 2014, 4:06 pm

Spitfir3 go with the cooler master , fullstop

1.) the contact area is copper (vs alumininum which slightly worse at conducting heat than copper)
2.) it looks like it has more surface area to dissipate heat better
3.) bigger fan means it can move more air at lower speeds, and lower speeds mean lower noise

Just make sure to set the fan to come on only at high loads, I currently using that same fan as a case fan and it very noisy at full speed

Postby Spitfir3 » April 24th, 2014, 5:39 pm

i honestly don't have a problem with the sleight noise of a fan the stock cooler is pretty quiet tbh but i hate its cooling capability, the cpu im using is a amd phenom x4 945 as for case i will be using a thermaltake v4 so space shouldn't be an issue

and yea i was more leaning towards the cooler master i mean might as well get something decent and done as i don't really upgrade my pc that often

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 24th, 2014, 6:47 pm

Yep definitely get the Cooler Master and in your case yes it is worth the extra money
You might only get a small pack of thermal paste that can probably be used for 2 applications.

Those Phenoms run properly hot

That arctic alpine pro might have similar cooling to the oem copper based coolers that came with the Phenom Black edition
The fan on those copper based heatsinks makes a lot of noise when the speed ramps up though

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 24th, 2014, 6:55 pm

I have that same CPU

I didnt like the stock cooler so I used another stock one I got from my friend's x6 CPU

It have a copper contact plate and 4 heat pipes so it good for the while :D

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 24th, 2014, 7:45 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:I have that same CPU

I didnt like the stock cooler so I used another stock one I got from my friend's x6 CPU

Yeah but those loud as fark. Had one in an HTPC and it was too damn loud to use.

Second the coolermaster heatsink, had a few already, performed very well even for overclocking.

Postby M_2NR » April 24th, 2014, 9:05 pm

da der CM HS is d thing self. I have one and it performs.

HCCA it was you who had d noctua fans?

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » April 25th, 2014, 2:17 pm

Fellas help me nah
Need a router for about 60usd any recommendations? In brand,model?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 28th, 2014, 11:45 pm

Some gaming hardware for sale
Offers invited

viewtopic.php?t=445758

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 29th, 2014, 12:53 am

HCCA wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:I have that same CPU

Yeah but those loud as fark. Had one in an HTPC and it was too damn loud to use.

Second the coolermaster heatsink, had a few already, performed very well even for overclocking.

I realise that putting the fan to blow air towards the CPU produces less noise

When it used to suck and blow out, it used to produce a lot of noise, and it used to stop when u put something infront it, it had some kinda weird vortex obeah thing

desert punk

Postby desert punk » April 29th, 2014, 12:56 am

BitFenix Spectre Pro 200mm fan is the best 200mm fan I have come across so far.It pushes a lot more air compared to the coolermaster's megaflow 200mm fan and also thinner by a few millimeters
Tech specs
Dimensions (mm) 200x200x25mm
Current (A) 0.33A ±10%
Speed (RPM) 900 RPM ±10%
Air Flow (CFM) 148.72 CFM ±10%
Air Pressure (mmH2O) 1.26 mmH2O
Noise (dB-A) 27.5 dB(A)

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 29th, 2014, 8:45 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
I realise that putting the fan to blow air towards the CPU produces less noise

When it used to suck and blow out, it used to produce a lot of noise, and it used to stop when u put something infront it, it had some kinda weird vortex obeah thing

Well i always have the fans blowing air down on the heatsinks (push configuration?). Was probably the decibel rating and rpm of the fan that attributed to the noise anyway.

M_2NR wrote:da der CM HS is d thing self. I have one and it performs.

HCCA it was you who had d noctua fans?

The only Noctuas i had were the ones on the noctua heatsinks, never had any case fans by them.

Most of my case fans are coolermaster or thermaltake. The ones that have high static pressure are the ones i use on liquid cooling radiators and dense fin heatsinks.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 30th, 2014, 5:54 pm

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 1JM0NZ8642

is good buy, no?

5 ports external
2 internal

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » April 30th, 2014, 6:20 pm

Thin blue line on my monitor decided to show up today... So will be needing a monitor soon... Anyone has any for sale?...

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 30th, 2014, 9:31 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1JM0NZ8642

is good buy, no?

5 ports external
2 internal

Not bad. At least it using a sata power connector instead of the usual molex.

The only usb 3.0 device i have is a 16gb flash drive so i wouldn't have use for so many ports :lol:

But just in case i needed some in d future (like for an old board or something) i bought 2 of these:

http://www.unitek-products.com/en/produ ... .php?id=84

knthprks

Postby knthprks » May 6th, 2014, 11:46 am

anybody knw where i can get an asus maximus gene vi locally today?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 6th, 2014, 1:36 pm

i don't believe i am going to say this
Have you called The Wizz or Circuit Zone to see if they have

HCCA

Postby HCCA » May 6th, 2014, 8:52 pm

^^Yeah wizz does have dem kinda high end ting in d store.

Czone too expensive doh.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 6th, 2014, 9:41 pm

If I told you I got my cooler master 690 II for 800 from czone what would you say

That was cheap at the time considering if I had to bring that thing in. .. I still go because sometimes you find real gems at prices that make you wonder:smile:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » May 6th, 2014, 11:31 pm

kamakazi wrote:If I told you I got my cooler master 690 II for 800 from czone what would you say

That was cheap at the time considering if I had to bring that thing in. .. I still go because sometimes you find real gems at prices that make you wonder:smile:

Hmm...i got mine for $350 used :lol:

Got a haf 932 from prw a few years ago for $700.

The only thing i got cheapish from czone were two pairs of floorstanding speakers. Then prw had them for $100 less a few weeks after. :S

I does use RaPtoR to bring in my full atx cases, does save plenty on shipping.

HSA

Postby HSA » May 16th, 2014, 2:31 pm

Hey fellas..got a gtx 680 2gb for sale..asking 1600. anyone interested?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » May 16th, 2014, 6:17 pm

HSA PC REPAIRS wrote:Hey fellas..got a gtx 680 2gb for sale..asking 1600. anyone interested?

Best price dey fadda, old tech now doh :lol:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » May 16th, 2014, 6:40 pm

HCCA wrote:
HSA PC REPAIRS wrote:Hey fellas..got a gtx 680 2gb for sale..asking 1600. anyone interested?

Best price dey fadda, old tech now doh :lol:

It might be old news now but these cards still performing real good, enough that I don't need to upgrade till the next gen come out. Dat is a bess price btw, should sell quik.

HSA

Postby HSA » May 27th, 2014, 3:41 pm

ah ketchin mih royal to sell it...men lowballing < $1000....i rather keep it.....

HCCA

Postby HCCA » May 27th, 2014, 8:19 pm

HSA PC REPAIRS wrote:ah ketchin mih royal to sell it...men lowballing < $1000....i rather keep it.....

Welll keep it, not like it weak or anything not to. Have some nice games come out already to play on it.

I may have take it if i didn't have ah gtx 660 and ah gtx 670 already.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 28th, 2014, 4:27 pm

You guys seen the benchmarks for watchdogs??? :shock:

Hopefully nvidia releases drivers for better optimization soon

Postby Trini Hookah » May 28th, 2014, 4:35 pm

There was an update just Monday.

Postby Morpheus » May 28th, 2014, 5:37 pm

Hi guys. Where sells decent coolers for amd processors? Always had fan on heatsink before. Want to try the radiator types with cooling media.

Thanks