PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

VLDS

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby VLDS » April 6th, 2014, 9:07 pm

Tuners. i need some help asap. mediahint no longer free so going to pay for a vpn and add to my router. Anyone here done this and have any advice on setting this up?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 9th, 2014, 9:51 pm

Cleaning time again...this time I wait too long :oops:

What do you guys use when cleaning out ur rigs...canned air?...never had reason to use it before but this time I would...called supertech and they said that they won't be getting any till Saturday.
Is it effective???

Gonna try a new thermal compound as well

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 9th, 2014, 10:08 pm

Canned air and lysol disfecting wipes, pricesmart has a 4 pack of canned air for $100 (falcon dust off)

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » April 9th, 2014, 10:43 pm

I using something just like dis.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 10th, 2014, 6:22 am

Guise, last night my regulator went into a frenzy with the power, AVR and Over Voltage leds lighting up. Can anyone shed some light on what may be the issue?

Postby ismithx » April 10th, 2014, 6:57 am

TTEC power supply dirty :|

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 10th, 2014, 7:42 am

Had that suspicion

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 10th, 2014, 9:58 am

Ah get the case for free from a padnah, but he didnt give me the front panel so I had to full it with useless drives, only 2 connected
(before this, I cut up a mario's box and used that to cover the holes)

I wanna build my own custom case from wood one of these days, will be a whole lot smaller too

THis is how it supposed to look

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 10th, 2014, 12:06 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Image

Ah get the case for free from a padnah, but he didnt give me the front panel so I had to full it with useless drives, only 2 connected

I wanna build my own custom case from wood one of these days, will be a whole lot smaller too

MDF easy to work with and quite strong.

I built my pcs-inna-desk from 1/2 mdf and it held up very well for its size.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 10th, 2014, 2:56 pm

The Antec Lan Boy Air is a cool case if you into that kinda stuff as well

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 10th, 2014, 8:51 pm

Boy after seeing the pics of your machine I decided to clean mines one time. .. its not as bad as yours but it was on its way there. Installed two additional 2tb drives while I was at it :smile:

desert punk

Postby desert punk » April 14th, 2014, 12:11 pm

I am looking for one of these or anything similar to it to buy

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 14th, 2014, 12:28 pm

desert punk wrote:Image

Have you looked into an Antec Spotcool
I used to use one when my northbridge Heatsink was running way too hot for my liking.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 14th, 2014, 12:55 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:The Antec Lan Boy Air is a cool case if you into that kinda stuff as well

This is a nice case, if you living in a dust free place like a hospital operating room or sumn

desert punk

Postby desert punk » April 14th, 2014, 9:06 pm

kamakazi wrote:
desert punk wrote:Image

Have you looked into an Antec Spotcool
I used to use one when my northbridge Heatsink was running way too hot for my liking.

that looks interesting I might look into but I mainly want the cosair one.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 14th, 2014, 10:30 pm

That's the one I'm currently using...works really well

Finished putting everything back together....gonna have to take back off the cooler and take the GPU apart again to change the thermal paste....the new one I applied is horrible...CPU idles @ 87 and core temp shows all 4 cores @ 100...so its gonna be down again...

Postby shogun » April 14th, 2014, 11:29 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Image

Cleaning time again...this time I wait too long :oops:

What do you guys use when cleaning out ur rigs...canned air?..

That reminds me oui....

That real dusty though dred? :lol:

using a mini pc vac. Some a lil pricy, but makes much quicker work of cleaning the tower. Removing/cleaning them fans are really a b!tch though.

desert punk

Postby desert punk » April 15th, 2014, 6:30 pm

I got one thanks to SnipeR

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 17th, 2014, 12:43 am

Reapplied thermal paste and reseated the waterblock twice and temps are still ridiculously high... :?

What could be causing this???

What I realized is that the tubes near the CPU gets really hot but not the rest of the tubing leading to the rad...it remains cool...could it be that the pump failed???

It was working right before I cleaned it :?

desert punk

Postby desert punk » April 17th, 2014, 1:12 am

I doubt the pump has failed.
Make sure the pump's 3 pin connector is plugged on the motherboard an go in the bios an see what rpm the pump is spinning at normally it's suppose to be 1400rpm or so.
Normally the computer recognizes it as a fan an sets it to auto make sure it set to manual an on 100%fan speed so the pump in the water cooler runs at it's required speed to ensure it cools properly.

If all else fails tap the top of the cooler when its powered on sometimes the pump impeller gets stuck,this happened to me once luckily it worked normal after that without any problems.

By the way what a.i.o water cooler are you using?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 17th, 2014, 1:27 am

Have you tried using the heat sink supplied with the processor. .. Just for testing purposes.

But you really make it sound like the pump has bit the dust... cause you mentioned the tubes getting warmer but the radiator remaining cool.

Hope you get it sorted. ..I have a preference for big air:smile:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 17th, 2014, 2:59 am

It's the H60 (Old version)

I already have the old heatsink on my desk on standby for when I need to test it...just wanna exhaust all options first before I have to take out the board to swap them.

I maxed out the fan speed in the BIOS and still nothing. From booting on cold start it goes straight up to 73 and then climbs from there all the way up to 85 and sometimes peaks in the 90s. If I stay in the BIOS for a few minutes it eventually shuts down because of it overheating.

Postby Spitfir3 » April 17th, 2014, 4:14 am

nt sure if posted already but
for anyone using canned air on a regular i recommend you get this
http://www.amazon.com/Metro-Vacuum-ED50 ... ds=datavac

very powerful blower this thing can literally blow a laptop off a table
you can clean a desktop completely in about 10 seconds with it

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 17th, 2014, 5:59 am

^^^Bought one of those, too noisy and blowing a set of blasted hot air

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 17th, 2014, 8:21 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:^^^Bought one of those, too noisy and blowing a set of blasted hot air

noise yes.. hot air. not sure about that.

we use this in the office and it is the best investment we have made in a long shot. sometimes we have over 15 computer a day coming in from offices and we got to clean them out before we even start working out it. works like a charm!

GG whoever came up with the idea!

Postby Spitfir3 » April 17th, 2014, 10:57 am

agreed it is pretty noisy probably about the same noise level as your standard vacuum
never had a hot air problem doh but its better than a vacuum in terms of cleaning by a mile

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » April 17th, 2014, 11:16 am

Spitfir3 wrote:agreed it is pretty noisy probably about the same noise level as your standard vacuum
never had a hot air problem doh but its better than a vacuum in terms of cleaning by a mile

Never use a vacuum to clean your PC.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » April 17th, 2014, 12:43 pm

My only problem is that if it have real plenty dust, your component would get clean, but other things might get dirty when the dust settle. Unless you doing that outside in your yard.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » April 17th, 2014, 2:19 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Image

Sell meh one of the black drives nah... I missing one... :evil:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 17th, 2014, 5:45 pm

changed heatsinks and still no difference.....it still goes up to 85 and stays there....