3ne2nr fishermen

mrlantra

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby mrlantra » October 9th, 2014, 12:46 pm

Yes it works both ways and the size is species dependent, eg, a red snapper under 10" has just matured and probably hasn't spawned as yet and taking it out of the ocean removes it from any chance of breeding in the future, but at the same time you want the genes of a big 28" red to continue in the gene pool. I'm mostly going by Florida regulations where I have fished and their fisheries have improved significantly while during the same time I notice ours have not.

Postby meccalli » October 9th, 2014, 1:02 pm

Hehe :angel:
The issue with releasing Large, strong and healthy fish is a genepool one and really significant to the policy of quality vs quantity. Lets say theoretically, there was a need that called for all males above 6ft and 200lb well built, say a war in a small isolated island. Say they all die lol, and there are only shorter and smaller people to continue to populate it, the results would be as we know- generally and eventually the average height and weight would fall for fully mature adults, providing the war demands steady manpower over the years as big" genes decline in frequency.

While certain fish species are migratory, generally, local populations tend to stick in an area that can support them and breed in particular spots that are favourable to spawning. This reduces the chance of external genes from entering the population.

When you catch large, old and prominent breeding fish in an area at a steady rate over a long period of time, you end up with a severe lack of pretty much 'big fish genes'. Its survival of the fittest in the natural world and the most fit specimens are always going to be the ones that out compete others to pass on their genes. When smaller individuals are thrown back while monsters are harvested, you have a population with fully mature individuals that are much much smaller passing on their genes. So while conservation efforts may lead to you having a larger amount of fish stock(Quantity), the overall stock will be composed of smaller fish(Quality). This doesn't happen short term but over many many years of bad fishing habits like that.

Examples like haddock that has been pushing 15 years of conservation shows little improvement in quality of stock because of the initial damage. A local thing I could point out is waliacke, the average size of a redfish caught 10 years ago and now is chalk and cheese, chaguaramas still loaded with them but whereas a 3lb fish was a normal occurrence, now its a trophy. Locally I think people just catch and take every and anything lol.

Postby meccalli » October 9th, 2014, 1:12 pm

While florida manages their fisheries very well, they suffer from this issue as well. Bag and size limits can't fix a problem like that. To see it, you have to look at the harvest weights of species over a time period. They've had a serious ban on red snapper since the gulf of mexico oil spill,to the point of overpopulation right now, yet their quality hasn't improved because of that keeper size factor. The gulf of mexico average haul of snapper went from 16 million lbs in 1965 to 5 million in the space of 15 years. That's why you can't fix it no matter how much limits you set. Its a practice of a concept that will help it and thankfully that's the general trend being adopted by the majority of ocean reserves and hotspots to date.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » October 9th, 2014, 1:19 pm

That explains Florida's size limits, for some species they have min and max size limits, that allows the genes from the large fish to continue and the smaller ones to grow. In TNT we have no enforced regulations to speak of so big or small all fish caught are generally kept even if they are not to be eaten.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 9th, 2014, 5:00 pm

I don't see Trini ppl following those type of regulations anytime soon...it starts with yourself, if u try to conserve and teach youths about conservation, one day we will see things turn around...

Postby meccalli » October 9th, 2014, 6:42 pm

For every kid that learns its value, there's 50 more who pick up their bad habits from their parents. Recreational and commercial enforcement would see alot of people clean up their act. I know we have game wardens but if we had some dedicated officers checking up on popular spots and depots. But you're right, its the attitude ultimately that will benefit us the most once we're all on the same page for the greater good and the future working fishermen.
Then again you have people like cda who more concerned in axing the lil fishing community down there. :roll:

In other news, picked up a carnage 130-200 the other day for my speedmaster. Rod has some serious backbone. Looking forward to trying it out on some big mangrove snappers.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 9th, 2014, 7:08 pm

Where u gettin den big mangrove snappers? Carry ah brother nah....

I believe the wardens den lazy and don't really enforce any regulations an laws...they are already short staffed and they don't reall enforce anything...so is ah hard scn wit dem...I heard that the long liners now hav some regulations dey need to follow...they can fish for a certain period of the year, a specific distance offshore etc...

Postby meccalli » October 9th, 2014, 8:16 pm

Hmmn, interesting.
Once the moon good, we fish the mangrove inlets down mayaro. Have some nice fish inside there once they show up. Its around by those set of expats houses right before guaya. All them mangrove streams 2ft and deeper holding nice tarpon, snook, grouper and snappers. It easier on low tide when the fish out of the root network and concentrated on the deeper channels.

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 11th, 2014, 8:19 am

Anybody could verify if manzan water still hv seaweed?

Postby joker » October 11th, 2014, 12:23 pm

last weekend manzan had minimal traces of sea weed did no fishing cus the tropical depression was passing tru , water was real nice .... los iros real nice for the past week did no fishing also .

proton17 , you does cast out behind the breakers?

Postby joker » October 11th, 2014, 12:23 pm

last weekend manzan had minimal traces of sea weed did no fishing cus the tropical depression was passing tru , water was real nice .... los iros real nice for the past week did no fishing also .

proton17 , you cast out behind the breakers?

Postby meccalli » October 11th, 2014, 12:40 pm

Went chag this morning, big green ray and 2 moray eels lol. Had a manta ray leaping out the water as well. The 4.5:1 gearing on my okuma really helped me put the heat on that ray, pretty short fight for its size.

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 11th, 2014, 12:52 pm

Serious manzan water nice. It clean or brown. Actually u hv to kinda read d water and find a nice gut to throw into for cavalli and pompano. When d tide rising though d pompano does be on d sandbar in shallower water.

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 11th, 2014, 1:06 pm

Postby joker » October 11th, 2014, 1:48 pm

IM NOT sure for this week but last week before the full moon it was green not the normal brackish.
had a big tide on wednesday

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 12th, 2014, 9:28 pm

Fishing was alrite in the gulf today....did some trolling for ah couple hrs...hold 15 king/carite mix, a bechine, sapate and 2 cavali...pics shows wat I kept...I also go a nice hog snapper on ah free dive...

bumpie

Postby bumpie » October 13th, 2014, 6:11 am

Ryan nice catch , u does eat fish every
Day, remember too much of it ent good.

Postby meccalli » October 13th, 2014, 6:19 am

Nice hog, i'll take that all day lol.

Postby 1UZFE » October 13th, 2014, 7:18 am

ryan99tt wrote:Fishing was alrite in the gulf today....did some trolling for ah couple hrs...hold 15 king/carite mix, a bechine, sapate and 2 cavali...pics shows wat I kept...I also go a nice hog snapper on ah free dive...

Ryan let go some sardine on a boy...
D small ones..

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 13th, 2014, 8:19 am

I does eat fish every so often, I share out wat I can't eat an keep what I can eat...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 13th, 2014, 12:43 pm

Ryan you hold that hog snapper in the Gulf?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 13th, 2014, 12:44 pm

Nah, spot off d north...

krazed

Postby krazed » October 13th, 2014, 3:38 pm

ah lil something from yesterday.. fingers in big pain dealing with dat cuda..
1413228936203.jpg

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » October 13th, 2014, 3:43 pm

That's a really nice hogfish.... One of the best tasting fish in the sea right there, but you have to dive for them like Ryan says he did. They don't really take bait so but they take a spear in dey ass almost every time lol

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 13th, 2014, 7:14 pm

Reelplace, I see ah vid dey were catching dem on line...

Postby joker » October 13th, 2014, 7:22 pm

ryan dais de big cooler?

Postby meccalli » October 13th, 2014, 7:24 pm

Still it's really rare and really hard to target them with all the bottom competition before they can get to your bait. Sandfleas and shrimp apparently work well if you fish long enough to feed everything else lol. Mayaro have plenty, we usually get them when they pull lobster pots.

Postby joker » October 13th, 2014, 7:43 pm

what is a sand flea?

Postby meccalli » October 13th, 2014, 7:48 pm

sea cockroach lol, like what you find in abundance east coast.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 14th, 2014, 9:42 am

Heading Icacos tomorrow... not sure where we gonna hit but the boat man say earlier the better.

Taking :
1 Caster 30lb x 300+ ft
1 Caster 30lb x 500+ ft
2 Casters 50lb x 300+ ft
1 Caster 70lb x 300+ ft
1 caster 100lb x 600+ ft
1 8ft shakespear with 30lb mono x 250+ ft
Misc.; hooks, weights, spoons, rapala's
Bait is shrimp, herring and any small grunt we catch banking to be set on the 100lb... :mrgreen:

Cooler to be packed tonight.